(2011/03) Mar 2011

Fel: I just went to FB and watched ur son swimming happily away!! Awww... super cute and strong!! May I know where to buy those 'swimming pool' diapers and tat awesome mushroom float? So, we just wrap the diaper on boy boy, dun need swimming trunks hor?

Super happy! Gotta bring my boy do more activity. My mum always let my boy watch TV, sibei jialat. -_-"

Airmez - Swim diapers Huggies brand supermarket, kiddy palace all got sell... It's disposable kind...

Mushroom float i bought from KP... $19.90... Cheap cheap

Yeah yeah my boy loves swimming too, have brought him to the pool a few times. We went in the afternoon around 3pm and swam in the shade. No float though, we let him use the flat board from my niece, can see in my fb. Rem to apply sun block!

limlim: read from some websites...can intro tofu (made by soy) to the baby and observe....if there is no rashes...then is ok ...

Has anyone let their babies try egg yolk?

ST, I heard some bb will have rashes after having tofu. You must monitor closely if you wanna intro tofu to your bb. But it's okay to try de. Egg yolk if I didn't remember wrongly think 9 months onwards can intro le? But think I will put it to later part.

Saw this news from South China (again):

China hospital disposes of live baby: report

A hospital in south China has suspended four medical workers for mistakenly diagnosing a stillbirth and disposing of a baby that was alive, state press said Friday.

Health authorities in Guangdong province have launched an investigation into the incident on October 26 at the Nanhai Red Cross Hospital in Foshan city, the Beijing News said.

Liu Dongmei -- eight months pregnant -- had been rushed to the hospital with internal bleeding and stomach cramps.

She later had an emergency birth, but the baby was neither breathing nor crying when it came out and its skin had turned purple, the report said.

Believing it was dead, the medical team disposed of the child but did not follow proper hospital procedures, it added.

When Liu's sister-in-law asked to see the body around 30 minutes after birth, she was handed a yellow plastic bag containing the infant and found it was still alive, said the Foshan News, a local website.

"I opened the plastic bag and saw the baby's hands and feet moving, the stomach was going up and down and air bubbles were coming out of his mouth," the paper quoted her as saying.

She was further shocked when she saw the baby was a boy -- not a girl as the family had been told, it said.

According to the Foshan News, nurses had told the family the child was a girl in an effort to blunt the blow of its death.

In China, baby boys are often viewed as more precious than girls, as many families can have only one child as part of the nation's population policy and desire a male heir.

Following the discovery, the newborn was rushed to intensive care where he remains in stable condition.

Officials at the hospital and Foshan's Nanhai health bureau refused to comment on the incident when contacted by AFP.

China's healthcare system -- once widely praised for improving the health of millions -- is now panned as costly, underfunded and providing shoddy treatment, especially in poorer regions.

Liu and her husband are seeking to sue the hospital for 300,000 yuan ($45,000), the Beijing News said.

The head of the maternity ward, a doctor and two nurses have been suspended pending the results of the investigation, it added.

actually there are many incidents like these happening everyday in their country, just that not reported. wonder how many babies, young children died wrongful deaths. more and more stories are coming to light cos ppl are more educated and the media is getting more powerful.

I gave Lucien tofu since last month. Sometimes when we having miso soup in Jap restaurant, I will give him bits of tofu. There's a recipe on tofu in the First Food book. And I've given him soy and ikan bills stock many months back.

Just started introducing egg yolk this week. I read it's better touse yolk of hard boil egg than to separate the egg white from the yolk before cooking. Cos some egg white will still stick to the surface of the yolk. I just mash up the yolk and put inside the porridge. And try to get those omega 3 eggs. Babies can eat yolk everyday till age 2 from what I read. Lolzz

lim, why only till age of 2? So Lucien likes egg yolk? mix into porridge sounds nice. I will try it on Javier after 9 months.

ST: I never take pic wor. Either you mash up the hard boil yolk and add into porridge when ready to serve or u take the raw egg yolk and beat it and add into porridge when cooking.

Enfapro selling for $74.95 for 2 at Cold Storage. Offer till 10/11/11

I just saw my new maid with her BF at Novena Sq. What should I do ah? Tell me agent speak to her?

Have not been here for long time. Congrats to Airmez on her #2! Not an easy one after #2 is out.

Just back from holidays without the kids... Was very sad & cried at first but no regrets.

Yes, m still bf. Brought my barang barang & pump whenever I go... the plane, train, rush back from shopping everyday to pump b4 dinner,...but ss dropping too.

Been like zombie cos hubby go outstation. Late to work in the morning & come back on time everyday for almost 1 mth liao. Sian...Anyway, had warn him not to go unless necessary.

Feeding cereal & plain porridge + milk. Introducing vege soon. Plan to buy Philips steamer & blender (been thinking for so long & still thinking...). So far I only know Rachel wanted to get one.

Anyone has any comments & recommendation?

Leon, besides me... many mummies actually also bought and used one already..:p

its been serving me well and so far no stains at all..

i've used it for peas, carrots, spinanch, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, avocados....

I love it and no regrets in getting it!!! let me know if u need to get it... i can help u buy online.. cheaper than retail now $199.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Munchkin Straw Bottles & replacement straws

Finally the time has come for most of our babies to move from milk bottles to sippy cups and to straw bottles soon....

I wanna order again.... RY been using hers from 10mos till now... i wanna change another also... else dunno how much unseen germs inside liaoz... :p

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003ZYE7FC/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER

pack of 4.. cheapest... i expect to be less than $9 PER BOTTLE.. if the shipping dun dua me... The last time i spree it was about $7...locally is selling $12.90 i think....

I'm getting the replacement straws also...

http://www.amazon.com/Munchkin-Replacement-Straws-2-Pack/dp/B000RFFQEI/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1320571587&sr=8-3

Abt $6 for the pack of straws. (2 sets)

We can share the pcs if some mummies only wants 1 set....

So those keen, please PM me okie...

subject: Munchkin Straw Bottles & replacement straws

Thanks.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

P.S: No choosing of colors but i'll show everyone when the stocks arrive and we can choose from there 1st come 1st serve basis....

thanks!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Leon, Rach: The Philips steamer & blender is a great tool for me. Have been using for about few months liao, I usually made 14 cubes (a week supply to freeze) of puree for lunch and dinner. Very easy to use, but mine got stain lei (from pumkin, carrot or sweet potato) - does not bother me lah. I just make sure I wash off the vegs. Find it a good investment. I even use to steam tofu for bb.

Hi Rach, KTeo, thanks for the comments. Should not have any regrets of getting one. Cant take it anymore...

Rachel, I went to metro causeway pt just now & saw them selling bundle set of blender steamer, plate, sipping cup, 3 bottles @ $200 or the usual box of blender & plate set @ $199.

If it's online, how much is the price? Mind to share here or I email u?

Plan to go taka tmr to find out more cos I have voucher to spend. But if online price is better, dont mind getting it.

Thanks mummies for your valuable comments & help!

Morning mummies, I need help... Noticed that my boy has been doing this shoulder twitch for the past few days. His shoulder will shrug up to his ear and he will drop his head to his shoulder. All his other behaviour are normal and he is happy. Is this normal? I'm very worry.

end of long weekend and back to slavery! super not in the mood sia... i wonder if i landed in the right job not...

need to rant abit here..... paiseh ar! something happened last week when i was in beijing... my hubby had an argument with mil over Janelle. Cos mil felt tired looking after her and even said nasty comments about us not paying her on time (we usually pay her end of the month, but sometimes, overdue by 2-3 days than she can ask why last month never pay etc). she also commented that we pay her 300 is not the market rate! biang, in the 1st place she initially even told us dun need to pay loh! moreover J is her own granddaughter leh... isnt it a bliss to look after your own grandchild ? moreover, J is only there on weekdays day time loh! how much you want us to pay you ? if she treat this as a job, than her mentality is totally wrong! she can even said that looking after J is we 欠 her de... She even commented that ever since she look after J, she dont have her life anymore.. cannot go travelling, cannot go out with friends.. well, in the 1st place, she should be aware of the lost of freedom before deciding to look after for us right ? Most importanly, she said she cant cope with housework & baby at the same time blah blah...i can understand her.. cos fil and bil are very dependent on her. they never wash plates/ cups at home de. Dinner must be served de. So i can understand her frustration to maintain the house and look after J at the same time.

Then after their argument on friday night, i went pick J up on Sat, can see mil like not very happy/ enthu. When hb told me when i reach home on sat, i cried... cos to me, i dont care what happen between the mother & son.. but pls dun ever let me find out that my J is neglected or wat. i scolded hb cos i told him, he is clearly aware of us needing mil to look after J.. why must he let mil have the opportunity to say all these nasty and hurting things ? though i not present at their argument, but after hearing it, i also dont feel good. but what can i do ? hb dun wan my mum to take care of J (cos he felt mum cant handle 3 kids), we dont want to send J to infant care. Than there really isnt anyone else for J liao.

So the improvement will be that hb will go pick J from mil place everday by 6 (so that mil got sufficient time to cook and rest but importantly is that hb felt since mil can made such remarks, her heart to take care of J wholeheartedly is no longer there than for what leave J there till 8), than J will follow us for dinner (hb & I usually take our dinner before picking J up), suggested part time maid for mil but not sure if she will take the idea.

arrgh! imagine you reach home, the 1st thing you hear is all these craps!

paiseh for ranting on a blue tuesday ... cos after all these, it really affects my work as i am seriously thinking if i landed myself in the correct job not. all i want is a stable job with good pay, less stress... but in my current job, i need to travel at times, my bonus is heavily tied to the goals and objectives. so if i dont meet my goals and objectives, i can ended up with pathetic bonus. moreover, bonus structure here isnt that fantastic... work is stressful cos need to meet goals and objectives... arrgh!! i really dunno sia...

Jojo - observe him for a while ba.... maybe is a new trick that they discover ....

For J, i realised that she like to blink her left eyes.. dunno learn from where de. i also asked the same question of dunno is there something wrong with her eyes or wat... just need to monitor hopefully will go off by her own.

time flies.. J is hitting 8 months soon... and has reached certain milestone... like crawling forward to reach for an object, listen to instruction.. when i tell her YES/ NO, she is able to understand. scold her, she will tilt her head down and not look at me. When i told her go pick that object, she will crawl towards it. She is able to cruise alittle while standing and holding on to the table. able to differentiate between hi-five, clap hands and goodbye.. after a hard day at work, it is really a bliss to spend quality time with her.. she also motivated mummy to Jia you as well..

i thought of getting educational toys for J... any suggestion ? went toys r us last week but only bought those blocks sorter...

looking for those that can teach ABC, 123 etc.. my nephew used to have a spider soft toy that went on singing the alphabet song, identify the alphabets etc.. and i thought that was quite good...

limlim- sigh, you can ask the agent to talk to her lah but I doubt she'll dump her bfren. I spoke to my maid about safe sex and responsibility and how I'd have no choice but to send her home if she gets pregnant and the damn fool goes and gets pregnant that weekend. Nice wrong, mean wrong. I've decided it's a flawed system and there's nothing I can do about it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

erm...i think educational toys abit early la..

now more on motor skills..

kiefer can pick up the puff and stuff into his mouth himself..

but of cos also got drop la...my dogs will assist to clear the floor..LOL

I have a brand new tin of Nestle NAN HA stage 2 (900g) + 2 tins of 400g to let go at $40...think NTUC selling at 39+ for the 900g one...

Just bought one new tin and now suspect that he is lactose intolerance... coz he get diarrhea after taking milk... and almost after every feed...

think the pd suspected that he might have cow protein allergy and put him on HA milk.. but now even HA oso get diarrhea so got to change him to enfa Lacto-Free milk....

Haiz if i know all this i would have just Bfeed him till he is 1year old and not stopped after i go back work..... well too late for now..

anyway if you are keen, PM me just in case i missed out the posting on the thread...

Good morning ladies!

Thanks for your well-wishes, Joc and Leon!

Just received my staff's resignation this morning, talked about Tue-blues. Gonna interview and train again. Sianz...

Super no mood to work at year-end. Thinking of visiting Bali (thailand no hope), may I check with you ladies, infants < 1 yo, no need to buy air-ticket hor?

Airmez,

Good morning!!!

Infant need to buy ticket, if dun buy, then pack in luggage and check-in. hahaha!!!

Infant need ticket but just that the amt is only like the taxes & fuel surcharge.

Go Bali wow!!!! Shiok!

Wow.. dazel, you sound energetic this morning!

I sibei sianz.. staff tendered. Din expect resignations before AWS. Thought he will die die tong until Jan 2012. Nowadays, outside mkt so good meh, how come I look right, look left, no such 好康lobang leh??

Haiz...

Energetic har..... coz weekend I off duty mah and recharge my battery leow.

hmmm, resign at this period of time, he must hv quite good offer to forgo the AWS.

Btw, yr boy sleep in yaolan? Was thinking if I bring my boy go holiday how har? Coz day time he sleep in yao lan, either hotel provide yaolan (which is confirm dun hv) or bring the yaolan or let him play till he KO.

airmez: infant hv to pay la...but its infant rate..and always try to request for bassinet...

quite cheap only..

kiefer air tix to korea cost about $550, 1/4 of our price.

ST: i didnt break into half..u try, it melt in the mouth one..

i giving gerber one..smell and taste good..

happy bellies one he finished...i still prefer gerber though...

he is now taking the puff and pigeon fish one..

dazel: Yup, my boy still sleeps in yaolan. But my ma these 2 mths introduce him to sleep on bed. So for night sleep, 11 pm - 6 am, he will be sleeping on bed. The rest of naps etc will still be in yaolan.

Ya hor, havent tot of yaolan issue. My mum told me last time she fixed a temporary hammock (between hotel sofa and dunno wat furniture)for my bro when go overseas...

Airmez,

My boy at night after dozed off will trsf him to bed till morning, only during afternoon nap, tried trsf him to bed but he woke up.

Hmmmm, not a bad idea hor, use hammock as yaolan. OK, then I can plan holiday leow.

Airmez,

not bad le. ur boy can adjust very well to yaolanless... =)

dazel,

i am wondering if i shld intro yaolan to my gal.. she sleeps on bed now.. but like every 15-30min will wake n look for me! faintz.. =(

2Ks,

how's ur HCP?

i got mine but havent open ceremony.. =)

dolphingal,

u mean at night also? In fact I regretted yaolan lor, as later hv to wean off and now my boy got a problem, if he goes out and wanna sleep, he cannot sleep (coz no yaolan), can't sleep in pram also. Unless sleep in car when the car moving.

Dazel,

At night,the 1st hr she fell asleep,she will still wake n look for me... after that ok...but recently she will scream while sleeping then wake up...

If u put ur boy in pram n start moving?does it helps?

gal.dolphin: ok...so far not too bad..its helpful in frying..

i cooked cereal chicken in it, fried the chicken in it..

but when to stir in the cereal, i still prefer my wok..

Dazel: I started to bring my boy out more often. But he's too curious and refuses to sleep. Usually i put pupsik or if maid tags along, she carries him via sarong (she dun like to push pram). Yah, the times he slept are in the car. But lucky he din make a fuss when he's kaikai-ing with us.

dolphingal,

Can't lor, put in pram & push no use. That's y if want go out hv to see timing.

Airmez,

Same lor, no matter how tired refuse to sleep, if u use pupsik he sleeps? but what position? I only know how to use the side and he upright, this position cannot sleep leh.

but he dun make a fuss when wanna sleep which is good.

My boy diff leh, if he wanna sleep, keep rub & pull his ears and make a fuss lor. So if want to go out, the timing hv to catch nicely one.