(2011/03) Mar 2011

Hmm.. Pixie house tues I can't make it.. Friday should be ok. but need to check c my dear partners going or not...

But can don't so early like 11am or not?? Lol...

Wed also must see my partners ok or not leh... Otherwise dunno how to go??

2kS, way of storing ebm to reduce metallic taste posted by pooh bear. the following from the LLL website:

The key is to scald freshly expressed milk before storing it, to deactivate the lipase enzymes while leaving many, if not all, of the nutrients and immune factors intact.

To scald the milk, put it in a glass or BPA-free plastic container and heat the container in water. You can use a pan on the stove, a crock pot, or -- the method that many mothers find easiest -- a bottle warmer. Just make sure it's not the type that turns off automatically when it gets too hot.

Measuring with a digital cooking thermometer, heat the milk to:

144.5F/62.5C for 1 minute or

163F/72C for 15 seconds or

180F/80C and immediately remove from heat

Place the container of scalded milk directly into a bowl of water and ice (glass may crack; use a plastic container for cooling). The ice bath cools the milk quickly and prevents bacteria growth. Once the milk is cool, store it as usual. Try a few test batches before you start to build a stash.

Microwaves aren't recommended for scalding because they heat unevenly and you can't tell when the milk is at the right temperature.

Gatherings:

Gathering at west, pixie house @ jurong east

Tue or fri?

1. Allets/Janelle (both dates ok for me)

Gathering @ Jaime place (4th may, wed)

1. Jaime/Charmaine

2. Allets/ Janelle

3. Felina / Eden

Pixie, your house got Dog a not??? I'm afraid of dogs... lol...

2k - Wow... Thanks for telling me lei... Usually see till eyes shoot bird one..

haha.. Didn't know got this method...

Gathering @ Jaime place @ Farrer Park (4th may, wed)

1. Jaime/Charmaine

2. Allets/ Janelle

3. Angelia/ Cherelle

Thank Jaime for open up your place.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lin - Actually nurses only in name only.. Nice to hear/pleasing to the ears..

But actually we are just EDUCATED MAIDS....

- Change bed sheets

- Take Water, take their hp, remote control la

- Pour water

- Feed them

- Change Diapers (Think about poos with blood, omg, the smell)

- Serve medicine (oral, IVs, chemotherapy la)

- Call doctors (to nag at them to come and do this, come do that)

- Poke patients (take blood, insert iv cannulas)

- Bathe/sponge patients la

- Attend to all the nuisance call bells, some patients will be so F and tell us, you are MY MAIDS... They just keep pressing the call bells every few minutes to irritate you, call for nothing la... Or call for stupid stuffs...

E.g. This patient which his family visiting him... Son was sitting beside watching tv, he press the bell to ask us to pass him the remote control, WHEN THE SON IS JUST BESIDE him....

haiz...

Worse, everyday go to work, Kena scolded left right upside down by our SISTERS (Matrons)...

Everyday (90% of the time) so busy till GOT NO TIME TO EAT...

All nurses got gastric problem one...

So in short, don't ever let your CHILDREN be a NURSE... It's terrible...

1. Jaime/Charmaine

2. Allets/ Janelle

3. Angelia/ Cherelle

4. Felina/ Eden

But if we scald e milk Liao, can we still store in feeezer for 4-6 months? Cos afterall e milk has some sort gone thru heating n cooling Liao.. Anyone knows? Till date my ger ok with febm.. Not rejecting yet.. But as she grows older n wiser , I not sure Liao ..

Thanks Shirley...

Although i m not very comfortable with this method la but I m trying to see how..

Allets: normal freezer ebm can only store for 3 months.. Not 4-5 months..

1. Jaime/Charmaine 

2. Allets/ Janelle 

3. Angelia/ Cherelle 

4. Felina/ Eden

5. Pinky bubbles/ Caleb

so angry with my hubby last nite....

I need help and asked him to help me to warm milk and he can ask such stupid question: where is the milk??

I hv already told him to WARM the milk ...obviously the milk is in the FRIDGE!!

1. Jaime/Charmaine 

2. Allets/ Janelle 

3. Angelia/ Cherelle 

4. Felina/ Eden

5. Pinky bubbles/ Caleb

6. Tres / Chloe (tentative coz may need to go back to work for a while)

Yes, my bb is still rejecting the bottle... So tiring......

Ladies who got mastities before

After getting over fever, does this affect milk supply?

Diaper bags,

Mummies who been going out, watt diaper bag is practical n how to make the bag lighter? ESP when going out alone.

West side gathering

Pixie I would love to join in a gathering hope by then my mastities is fully cleared .

Yest gathering was really fun, like finally get to meet so many of you =)

But so tired coz never take afternoon nap. Hurhur..

Tue or fri?

2. Milktea/ Ethan - Only mon and fri coz am back to work liao =(

And hor... you all really must help me with Ethan leh, I still quite worry I couldn't handle on my own, but at least if gathering is at home, I not so worry.

I can also open my house for west gathering, but my place very kiddo-unfriendly. Lolx.

All the sharp edges and carpets..

Told Hubby we need to replace the carpet with playmat.

He -_-

Lol

Ps Annie, I tried to put him into Pupsik yest.

F.A.I.L.E.D....

His legs very long, I tried your method then he gek until his legs very stiff. Hahaa..

I think next gathering I bring him and Pupsik then you all help me can? =P

ST, men always like this. And everytime b4 bringing bb out, we are the ones pack this pack that, etc. They just stand there happily only.

Dazel,

Yar lor... Then when discover forgot to bring something, they will blame us some more... Peng...

Freesiajen,

Helo helo... Wow, you got 3 kiddos? How you cope? Are you a sahm? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. I always admire those wif more than 2 kids...

Posted on Friday, April 29, 2011 - 8:56 am:       

1. Jaime/Charmaine 

2. Allets/ Janelle 

3. Angelia/ Cherelle 

4. Felina/ Eden

5. Pinky bubbles/ Caleb

6. Linda/ Clara ( what time the gathering? I will have to chao at 12!) if not I have to skip!

Butter8,

for me my milk supply dropped quite a bit... but after pumping 2 hrly again it came back lah... but now it dropped cos i pumped like 6hrly kind? hahaa...

west gathering

will love to come man!!! but that is my cold is completely gone and for Jovan too!!!

2KS: yes, I was the one who posted about scalding breast milk to reduce smell. Glad that you find it works.

Shirly: thanks for re-posting it.

allets: after scalding still can freeze as per usual recommendation (3 mth for normal freezer, 4-6 mth for deep freezer).

haha I saw so many mummies got so excited when e word 'MJ' is posted.... Lol

Yes I can open house at my mum's house too for mj session. I don't have lg mat there too. But have a spare queen size mattress to lay in e living room. Can play mj while maybe my mum n pixie's helper help jaga Bb for us? Hehe.... Maybe next wk pixie house first, following or 2wks later my mum house?

Tue or fri?

2. Milktea/ Ethan - Only mon and fri coz am back to work liao =(

3. Won_mummy/Bernice (both dates ok for me)

1. Jaime/Charmaine

2. Allets/ Janelle

3. Angelia/ Cherelle

4. Felina/ Eden

5. Pinky bubbles/ Caleb

7. Linda/ Clara ( what time the gathering? I will have to chao at 12!) if not I have to skip!

2ks- yup, I know normal freezer can keep 3 months.. But after scalding i thought will have to keep shorter Ma since went thru temp change .. But now I know Liao..

Btw, saw at evelyn's place ur diaper pouch.. E one u put wipes n diapers .. Where u get it from ar? Looks convenient cos just pack everything in 1 pouch.. Thought of getting 1.. Tia!

1. Jaime/Charmaine

2. Allets/ Janelle

3. Angelia/ Cherelle

4. Felina/ Eden

5. Pinky bubbles/ Caleb

7. Linda/ Clara ( what time the gathering? I will have to chao at 12!) if not I have to skip!

8. Caecilia/Cayli

tres: i forgot to add my own name =p

Jester

Oh so sad no wonder Bb get fussy or hungry faster. I fully latch even when sick so I dunno how much he gets.

My boob so swollen n pain n big but Bo milk?!? So useless big for nothing. Pump also nothing maybe few ml.

Will the other breast produce more then ?? Any tips on how this works lol?

End up lopsided boobs ah or feed one side only hur hur

2ks/lin: she's pure japanese spitz breed, normal one, so she's way over-weight now. most japanese spitz i know weigh around 6-8kg. =p

butter8,

ehhh... i pump exclusively de leh... but i think hor latch on the affected breast first so that it can get emptied first... then continue latching on the other boob?

no sad lah.. my boobs big before preggie... everyone tells me i sure got milk... hahaa.. who knows after giving birth bo milk leh!!! so upset... but now i see open!!! motherhood not just abt giving bm to baby... =) got then give..dun have i also like that lah...

Pixie actually me Thursday also can leh ... If I change to thurs.. Will the rest kill me ...

How ? Can change to thurs but if pixie dun appear u all go after her :p

U all ok with yum cha .. I jsut order enuf for the pax coming coz but I think won't b super full if it's treated as lunch bah

Unless after tt u all wanna stomp to city sq mall thereafter

Got metro, Tom n stefanie, mini princess , n this boutique shop for kids call mom's cottage for kids shopping .. 5 min walk n got gong cha ... No queue one

Newton suites .. Tt super near united sq ... My co director stay there coz I process his rental payment :p

Addlet .. U go bebelove.com.sg

They selling the diaper clutch at half price I got mine there

The brick n mortar shop is at city sq mall call mom cottage

Jaime

Thrus I cannot Liao- cos exam still onz on friday!

the best is Friday! TGIF!

Then my boy exam gg to end last 3 papers and I can bring him along too;)

But is ok if u all go ahead w thrus!

I will givE a miss this round n meet u on Friday in ikea

Shirley /2ks i alsonwanna reduce the smell

If no bottle warmer , no thermometer to check temperature ...how to scald

Can explain more lay man ... I very worried all my storage no one wanna drink lor .. At least If less metallic I cn smuggle into my son milk lor coz he took the febm ...

Reduce means no more smell at all ah ?

Any mommies has ameda dual pump to sell??? My pump motor is dead and service centre says it's not worth it to repair so I'm looking for a second hand one....

Annie, ya, was an auntie who knocked my door. haha.

cae, so nice, yr dog dun bark, my dog barks alot, esp when there are sounds outside my door. Always startle the bb. But think he got used to my dog's barking liao.

Lin, chao by 12 ah? So far, most gatherings at abt 1pm, can u make it around that time? If not, gotta meet up at abt 10am, which is super early.

Jaime, Yes yes. I wana go... yum cha sounds good, but abit pricey also. Anything!

1. Jaime/Charmaine

2. Allets/ Janelle

3. Angelia/ Cherelle

4. Felina/ Eden

5. Pinky bubbles/ Caleb

8. Caecilia/Cayli

9. Chen/Jareth (4th or 5th also can)

Butter 8

Diaper bag .. I have a Kate spade ... The bag in itself also got some weight oredi unless u r using a stroller if not I u are slinging Quite heavy lor . Not practical .. Only practical on stroller

I saw linlee using the Carter diaper bag .. Think quite light weight n many xompartment

I use a long champ coz i don't wanna invest in another bag n I don't bring bottle .. Just diaper n my nursing cover but if u have bottle better to use those with Many compartments

My fren's shop at oub centre sell Carter diaper bag .. U can add on fb .. The little wardrobe at oub centre

Chen

Jaime one maybe early cos she need to cook later evening la.

Her is probably start at 11 so just nice for me to catch up then chao;) if not I have to wait after may 16- then no nid chao so early as my boy will start his cca n stay back till 6! Waahh

Is ok -'u all go ahead w thrus la[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Of coz pixie .. U r my saviour ok .. Without u I can't sling charmaine then I can't go out ...

Yumcha ex ah .. I dun know leh I saw the brochure at my home but didn't check the price

If not Oh chang kee ?? Do they deliver ?

If wanna make it easier for me I just provide some drink .. V hang out at my place then later walk to city sq mall for lunch .. There got Aston kitchen but lunch time got queue

Don't think u all want swensens again right ...

Got manhattan fish market , olio cafe , paradise inn ,

Butter

My hub bought me coach diaper bag but honestly speaking- the bigger the bag- I find it very nuisance unless someone carry for me the bag, if not so bulky n big can realli get in the way of carrying bb too!

I got my little carte pink bag- free organizer- can put 3 bottles avents, 1 thermo flask, 1 milk container, pampers, cream, wipes, my walket, Hp, handkerchief, n the side compartment, I put 1 big avent bottle+ emergency tutu !!

Jaime : i'm alright with the day... Food wise , i also anything... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Allets, me loh! My boy initially who okay with frozen ebm but recently rejects it! So I dun dare to buy chest freezer Liao. Now fully latch or give chilled ebm.

Tue or fri?

1. Allets/Janelle

2. Annie/ Javier