(2011/03) Mar 2011

so shag!! Both boys dwn w flu bug.. Brought them go tuina.. N today damn lotsa ppl!!! I waited at least 2hrs for both to get done.. Thou didi fin quite fast cos he's bb get to go first..

Jav is almost recovered jus gotta put e med bag.. But didi jus started last night haf to go back next 2 days somemore.. Sian! Super tired, daddy's at work n came hm to feed both n myself n pump.. Finally can rest awhile nw b4 Jays next feed..!

Happy 1st month to all bbs who's celebrating today!

2ks; 500ml!! Mine aft 8 hours is abt 450ml only.. Hurhur..

Ehh, actually u n pixie can try giving yr #1 ebm leh.. Hehe.. I gave Jav n he takes! So happy!!! =D

but my febm haf prob Liao.. So I try nt to store as much nw..

Pixie, think u shld try giving febm..N see if yr bb takes anot.. Cos I tried w Jay.. He refused to take.. Will scream n cry n aft much struggling, only takes most 50ml.. N he wld rather nt drink anymore.. =(

n I even tried mixing more fresh to febm.. But he still doesn't tk.. Tts y nw my febm think can throw Liao.. Sigh!

Sinmey: my boy also takes arnd 200ml.. Do u mix any fm for yr girl? Or jus let her drink total ebm..? Hee.. Does she knows it's yr ebm or tot it's still her fm?

Angelina: u seem to b coping v well! Can still shop arnd.. Hurhur.. Stay positive n happy ya!! =D maybe one day we shud do a playdate tog w those w #1.. den our #1s can play tog n nbs can play tog too!! Hehehe..

Summer's mommy, my friend gave me one trollyjoy carrier. Although is not a good brand but just use it temporary. But carrier can only starts using on Bb when they are 3 months? When then can start using carrier?? Coz Bb's neck still not strong leh... I also thought of bringing Bb out to try out different carriers to see which I like.

SN,

I'm using Pumping Pal handsfree strap from Mumsfairy. The best investment I've ever made. Used it for 19 months when I pumped exclusively for #1 & now also. Can use computer, watch TV, nap, read book, etc while pumping & pumping doesn't seem like a chore any more. Don't need to take out bra or clothes. Just unbutton/lift up the top & release the flaps of the nursing bra, then can use the handsfree strap liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Allets, ok will try that the next time i pump!

Last night i noticed a pea size lump at the outer part of the areola. I totally freaked out. Read online tt lumpy breasts are quite common in lactating women. N it could be a blocked duct. But till now the lump still there leh... Didnt reduce after latch on or pump... How how how.... Worried... Any mummies with the same issue? The lump doesnt hurt at all..

My boy finally ok w bottle feeds using nuk latex teats!! Yeah!

So I have some brand new avert teats n bottles to let go.. Anyone interested?? If yes then I bring to rach place on 15 apr to lalong... Anyone??

How much do your 16 day old Bb drink?

I mostly bf but for 1/2 feeds I intend to give fm or ebm. How much should I prepare for him?

Yeah pixel!

Nuk is my lifesaver agn.. He drank 130ml n slp 3 hours straight.. No fussing no screaming.. No need to torture my neh nehs.. Lol

But hor.. He v smart lei.. Will cry n fuss if I feed him w bottle. My hb or maid.. He'll guai guai drink.. Hope he'll phrase out of this behavior soon.. Otherwise I can bottle feed him at at nite then Chamz!

rach i have maybank cc

finally i am gg to give my girl her first bottle at 6 week old..crazy mummy ..hahahah...hope she likes it..no choice liao...need to give her bigger EBM feed so that she can knock off or no need my BB n i can attend to #1 for his bed time as my hubby went out 2 weeks biz trip [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jeraldin, I find tt using glass bottle chilled ebm warms up faster... I'm using pigeon glass bottle and the water level must be higher than the ebm water level... v fast will warm up... 3-4mins can le.

Pixie/Summer's mommy, NUK latex teat really good n close to breast nipple? I thinking of changing bottle to NUK. Like more convenient than tommee tippee bottle. That tt bottle shape very troublesome.

Pooh bear, hmm i was also wondering whether it's a lactiferous sinus, as there seems to be others around the areola but this one seems harder and more obvious to the touch.

I shall check out the mumsfairy strap tomorrow. Bringing my son for his checkup. Think the hospital sells it.

Hmm although confinement officially over, i dont feel like gg out at all. Everytime go out need to think abt my pumping schedule haizzz. N tonight gotta start night duties le....

Think my career now is mooing.. When I took out my Pump parts from sterilizer , my mum commented 'pump milk again? Thought u just pumped?!'.. I was like that was 2 hours ago that i ended my pumping session.. So yes, it's moo moo time! Everyday I look forward to my last pump at 1am cos after that I get to sleep until next day 8am, but with hard hard breast..

Oh, i cant rem who asked abt the avent warmer. Im also using that. But it heats up the bottle but not the milk. Very frustrating especially when yr bb is alr screaming in hunger. One trick is to set it one level higher. If you are heating 50ml, u should set it as 80. Another way is to wait till it stops beeping.

Allets, me too! I keep washing the pump, sterilising and then assembling them again. I also look forward to my last pump for the night. Now i decided to sleep later (also 1am) so that i dun have to wake up middle of the night to pump...

SN, I think Gleneagles, Mt Alvernia & Mt E sell the Pumping Pal handsfree strap from Mumsfairy. You can check it out.

Actually when my #1 was older (about 2 months old), I stopped sterilising the pump parts after every pump. I just sterilise once a day. For the rest of the time, I put all the parts in the fridge after pumping & took them out for the next pump. Read about this method online (since BM supposed to be store in fridge for at least 48 hours).

Jaime

I dunno I wanna attend or not lei...lazy to travel down. Any west side mummies attending? Cam go together???

If I not going I post u ok?

Annie

nuk as I know is closest to real nipples. Especially the latex ones. If u wanna avoid nipple confusion, try nuk

Need to tap on ur network.. Any idea where I can get replacement cover for pigeon rapid steam sterilizer ? My cover dropped onto e floor n now got a crack all e way to e center..

Am abit concerned.. My 1 month old ger used to drink 100ml.. But for these 2 days, she can't seems to finish her milk.. Always either left 20 or 30mls than she will fall asleep n refuse to suck..'when force her, she Wil make e eh eh sound n than somehow force all or most of her milk out.. Like that machiam Eat like no Eat right? Than she will continue to sleep for 3-4 hours before asking for milk again.. Is it normal for bb to Regurgitate so much milk? Sometime milk csn come out from nose even.. If we dun force her,'e 70-80ml that she drinks will remain inside..'once forced, these consumed milk

can all be merlioned out.. How? Worried she underfed sia.. Need bring her go see doc or is it normal? When will bb regurgitate less?

allets,

For my #1, when he was about 1-2 months old, his intake also dropped a bit. But we didn't force him to take all the milk. Maybe after the growth spurt, their intake may drop a bit. As long as they're gaining weight, no need to worry. Regurgitation is common in babies less than 6 months old. It will get better as they grow older.

Annie: i didn't know tt bottles so fat until I saw yr pic... I dun think got suitable thermal container to fit it...

U better change brand soon if u tot of, scared wait bb get used to the teat lor..

Lilprecious: today I gave kyler he finished lor, then just now gave febm and he drank too... Heng ah..it's good la..

Now I m thinking should reduce my pump or not...

Lilprecious, maybe i will bring my son for tuina as wat u have sms me.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u now everyday bring both ur sons for tuina session ar?

Annie

Yup like wat pixel say.. I also think the nuk latex teats is v close to our nipples. But lifespan of latex teats v short one.. Once be come sticky mus change Liao. Nuk has bpa free bottles nw too. U may wanna get one or 2 to try first. Cfm Liao then get more but rem to get more teats on standby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2Ks: I mus try febm fr Jav den.. Hurhur.... Maybe I'll do it tmr.. Hehehe.. Yea! Can save fm money Liao.. Haha!!

Hazel: not everyday la.. Haha.. It's cos both sick nw.. So no choice lo.. I believe in tcm fr children rather den western med.. Jav went twice n he's Better alrdy, tmr no need tuina alrdy jus cont w his med bag.. Nw I'm jus hoping Jay gets well too!!

Mummies- for e 5-in-1 jab, is itlisted under e health booklet rite ? My ger tmr going for hep b 2nd dosage .. Than when should take e 5 in 1 or 6 in 1 leh?

aiyoh, so comforting to see another mommy awake at this hour. First night doing night shift. then bb woke at 1330 for milk. I couldnt sleep since 1130. Then my mom woke up also and offered to feed baby after i prepared the milk.. after that she disappeared with baby in her room. I find it quite counterproductive leh, for her to wake up also. What for 2 people wake up, one to prepare milk and one to feed? I would rather do everything myself. I understand my mom wants me to rest lar, but then, if she wants to wake up to feed baby, then she might as well just prepare the milk too, but she still doesnt know or didnt want to risk preparing the wrong amount of milk...fainted......

Pooh bear, I did think about whether i could sterilise once every 2 pumps etc, instead of every time. It's really so tiring to wash, sterilise and assemble every 2hrs and it's even worse if it's a middle of the night pump. There was once, i did a middle of the night pump and just left the pump in my room and reuse in the morning....since the temperature at night is cool, i thought should b ok.

SN, sometimes I also just leave the pump parts & reuse for the next pump. If it's less than 4-6 hours, should be ok (I read that you can do that for room temperature).

allets - u gg polyclinic or pd??

if poly,

u need to check if the polyclinic got 6 in 1 not..cos 6 in 1 like dont need to take second hep b at one month old...

but if 5 in 1, bb need second hep b..

im doing mine at poly, bb alr went for second hep b at one month old... next will be 5 in 1 at 3 months old..

Sigh mummies... Mi Mia for awhile.. Super zun!! 4D also not so zun! Mi kena breast infection down w high fever of 39 degrees.. Sian! Went gp he say pump from another breast then feed but hor e other breast output less than 60ml so goto supplemt w fm. E one kena infection can fetch up to 90 ml then goto all pour away. So heartache! Now cannot latch n my mum don't let baby sleep in my room so feelin abit down n loss.. Now wake up every 4 hrs to pump but can only feed bb w milk frm e good breast.. N I cannot go near bb.. Will bb refuse to latch after I get well? E stupid fever don't ho down leh.. Also since supplemt w fm, after I get well full bm will bb reject?

babybride,

Got the followng from the LLL site: In addition to antibiotic therapy, most doctors agree that mastitis should be treated by continued breastfeeding on both sides. Breastfeeding "dilates the mammary blood vessels, thus improving the flow of blood to the area. The flow of milk also helps to clear milk ducts of infective organisms".

Continued breastfeeding is important during a bout of mastitis because weaning would increase the mother's chances of developing a breast abscess. Continued breastfeeding will not be harmful to the infant because the mother is likely to have passed on bacteria from her milk before she experiences symptoms of mastitis. Weaning would deprive the infant of antibodies to the bacteria that would be transmitted through the mother's milk.

The mother needs to reduce the fullness as much as possible at each feeding to ease the inflammation and expel any milk plugs that may be present. Some babies may be reluctant to breastfeed on the infected breast because of an elevated sodium content in the milk. If the baby cannot be persuaded to nurse, the mother needs to express milk to keep her breast soft.

Normally, the mother should be advised to breastfeed on the affected side first. However, some mothers find it too painful to follow that advice. They may prefer to breastfeed on the unaffected side first, then switch to the affected side after the milk has let down. Some mothers express or pump some milk from the affected side while breastfeeding on the unaffected side.

How do we know that we got breast infection? What is the cause?

babybride, take care. A no. of mums got it too but they are still continuing with breastfeeding. To me, supplementing with FM is not a big issue but it really depends on your bb. Different bb reacts differently e.g some will get nipple confusion and some won't. Supply will definitely go down so gonna pump regularly to get the yield. Jiayou!

allets : im not doing confinement, n no cl for me. thats why i've been out several times. but mostly just 1 hour here n there. if wait til baby 1 mo then can only go out on may de [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

annie : next week okay for u?

val : no cl for u, ur baby 1 mo already?

rach : yes im using it almost everyday. can wash or not?

bored at home so just gaigai for a while to get my coffee lah :p

pixie : next week is good for me

angelia : today is the day.no cl for u, no hubby for me

summer mummy : when can start using bjorn?

lilprecious : sounds good. u like gymboree or royce kind? can bring them tog. or ur welcome to my place if u want [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

what is a good sling for baby below 1 mo? my baby is only 10 days old,i want to try tobring him out with sling instead of stroller. any reccomendation?

Angelina n summers mummy: I'm using bjorn too! I tried pupsik but after a while got backache so back to bjorn since my girl is over 3.5 kg anyway. Angelina, bjorn handbook says can use after baby is 3.5kg. Do u already have a bjorn?

Oh mummies!!! I'm so excited!! My girl woke at 430 last night after sleeping at midnight after last feed.. But didn't drink much n slept thru til 7! There's hope!!!! She might sleep thru the night soon since she doesn't seem interested in milk at 430 feed n was sleepy anyway!!!!!!! Mayb I'm just deluded but I need more sleep! Lol

Angelia! Jiayou! Will b ok without CL! Don't worry!!

My Maid had to leave due to back problems plus she dun really like the increased workload of 2 babies.. n my new maid only coming on Friday or so. These past few days n the next week I'm still alone lOr.. I feel for little precious n 2ks now! I'm also juggling housework n babies! N my no 1 only goes 3Hr playgroup no cc.. So mostly at hm n nerds me to engage him. Utterly exhausted!!!

old navy dress to sell

http://m.oldnavy.gap.com/product.html?dn=op839456012&dv=1&shopid=1&pdn=oc26190

Mummies I got this in a black L... Tooo big...

I wanna reorder a M.... But anyone wiling to get this from

Me? Has to be someone bustier than me, and a bit bigger than me la...

Old navy 30% ends tmr.. So I hope to reorder if possible..

Worn once... For my baby dedication svc last Sunday..

Price negotiable.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Allets

remember babies goes thru growth spurts of ups and down. Dun force ur bb the remaining if cannot finish. Just let ur bb finish that 70-80ml lah

they will do so from birth till grown up. My son now oredi 3yr+ goes through growth spurts. Some days eat, some days dun eat, some days eat a lot. He's been like this since newborn n it's very natural

a bb grows in many ways. The body develops certain part of your body eg brains, muscles in stages. That's why u will see sometimes ur bb wants lots of milk or no milk. Remember, sleep is the body's way of building their body. When a child or bb sleeps, they are actually very active inside building up cells, blah blah

so let them sleep. Sleep also got spurts one. All depends on what ur body choose to develop now

Every child body is different so what ur body choose to develop first is different. That's why some walk faster, some talk faster etc. But when they develop something they need food n sleep so different periods require different amount of food n sleep.

pinky pink..ur maid leaving..i stil haven started my maid search..my hubby say confirm wanna get maid liao ..but he wanna get burmese maid..n he out of town for 2 weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so i must really search ard n talk to the agency etc..

any one got experience with burmese maid.? how r they? hang in there , no easy with 2 kids..but i suppose will survive some how...

i never been to Royce..if u all gg let me as well...but he will need to miss class if its weekday...

bad news..my girl didnt take the tommee tippee bottle too well..sighh..today try avent..if cannot wil try NUK..sigh..sigh...i tot takin bottle is easy coz my #1 loves the bottle..luckily stil have time..

i oredi bjorn Charmaine from last mon..think its easier on my back as well..the sling weight is all on one side..i think it is a long outing ie a few hours....Bjorn will be better than the sling..

pinkypink, how's ur sleepy wrap..feel like getting but if i get this kind, my hubby wont carry lor..so girlish..n i oredi have a bjorn..

i am luckier than 2ks,lilprecious for now coz my mum still ard.her reaction time even faster than me...esp with #1..so before i can attend she oredi there to attend to him...

but she wil be gg home to msia in 2 weeks time

in may hubby gg outstation 2 weeks again...i very gung ho, i dont wan any one to help me..ie no mum n definitely no MIL even though i know if i ask either one wil come n help again

will i die of exhaustion? actually if i am healthy n feeling ok i should be able to handle coz i only need to cook for #1, for myself i can ta pau food n do the laundry..

is only when i feel sickc, headache, then wil be tough...

do u think its kamikaze..but i really wanan slough it out on my own

Allet/ fel

6-1 also got hep b but cos our bb Health book indicated 2nd dose

But under this 6-1, bb will save 1 jab n go for hep b at the 2nd month

Allet- Clara now 2 months old

I share the same experience w annie n a few mummies who also have these freaky one with the milk xoming out from nose like vomiting from no where

Clara also like that when she was abt 1 Month less,she drank as little as onlin60ml n everytime. After burping her, we placed her back to her lying down post n she will freak out the milk from mouth n nose!

So panicked till we brought her see pade n were advised that every bb demand differently. So long she drink well, n also take note once she wan to increase her milk supply is the time when she keep suckling the milk which u normally give her n not euff ;)

N try not to overfeed her if all the long her demand is like that[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it's take a while till our bb ask for more

N try to burp sitting post for at least 40 mins- cos pade told me that bb size small meant lung n stomach small so milk can flow backward if lying down after burp ( although you did hear the burp) but for me, after Clara burped, I still continue to burp her n let her sit on my lap postion before lying down her completely on her bed;)

LELONG LELONG!!!!

CHEAP CHEAP DIAPERS...

There's this mummy selling:

3 pkts - BN Mamy Poko M-72 = $19.00 each

Self collect at Yishun MRT...

Cheaper than retail price right?

Can collect on friday since gg to Rach's place...

Siao liao la, damn aunty, always looking for cheap deals..

Can contact her at: