(2011/03) Mar 2011

chen: cos the principal checked nearby IFC price all above $500 lor...so she think her side too low...

but bo bian lor, cos its very hard to find vacancy in sbw for IFC

any one knows about Klorane dry shampoo? read from Jan forum that some of the mummies bought this from Watson.. is this effective?

2Ks: me also havent changed and pao $$. Not to mention havent bought new dress and CNY goodies... Not to mention, those bb stuff...

Good morning mummies. I just woke up. Today my bb so guai, never kick and disturb me to wake me up wor. But I was abit paranoid and worry, so I woke up and keep talking to my bb, ask him to wake up and kick me. Luckily he really wake up and kick me in response. Then I more fang xing. He must be very tired today.

2ks, now IFC also hard to get vacany by now right? Jia lat, ytd my hubby sounded out to my MIL about looking after our bb again, then she gave us a feeling like she suddenly don't want to look after bb. Initially she was so enthu in looking after bb. I think if in the end she decided not to look after our bb, I might need to find for a nanny near my house also, but is really difficult to find one nowadays as these nannies also expect alot and not easy to find someone which you can feel good with, and reliable or not you also don't know. How how? headache lah....

Chen,

the previous nanny for my #1 is $600 (include her lunch & dinner & washing her clothes), one to one .. i prefer nanny coz of the focus & more personal care lor ..

2Ks,

your boy is at Blk 351x ? think their fee also bit lower than market previously.. Agree with Chen that all kids has different learning pace .. my nephew can't talk till he 3 yrs old lor, now every top in class in primary school ...

anyway, did he likes music/tv ? maybe u can sing with him or train him ur own ?

Milktea - it's really sad... But I feel the way she explained, meaning the doc didn't handle her case very well.

I think it depends on the doc u get also...

Goin to work now a days is a draaaag...

Sinmey - but was thinking of washing hair every 2-3 days or alternate days.. so those days hair not washed can use this dry shampoo..

2ks, yr school also did market survey, that's why up their pricing... haiz.

airmez, me also no new clothes, will be wearing old ones ba. haha. I bought new pyjamas instead. For confinement wear.

sinmey, yr nanny good lei, include clothes washing. At least you've been familiar with her liao.

valerie, if maid, are u gona leave yr bb and maid home alone while you work?

allets,

ooh .. i am ok to wash hair every alternate day leh .. & lazy to use the dry shampoo ... but depends on personal lar .. i know some ppl really cannot take it even 1 day nvr wash hair one ..

Valerie,

hmm, the cost is not much different for nanny, IFC & maid .. it's personal comfortable level ba .. i just dun feel good to leave the newborn to a maid(foreigner & might not have experience taking care bb) and also a stranger to stay in my house .. & i dun have anyone to be at home and 'watch' my maid.. so maid is out for me .. but of course having maid, u can rest the house core & cooking to them lor .. there's pro & cons .. maybe for another few yrs when both my kids are older & i need someone to cook for them ( at least can complain to me maid is not behaving .. haha).. & between IFC & nanny, i chose nanny ..

You may wan to consider the pros & cons & your own preference ba ..

Chen - my mum wants to work part time. So she will be home 2 weeks and work 2 weeks. But for the 2 weeks my mum is working think I'll go crazy in office thinking of my baby.

Sinmey - I see, true also. I don't feel comfortable ESP when baby is only 4 months old.. But haiyo headache when everyone needs to work =.='' maybe the nanny is a good

idea! Ur nanny goes to ur place?

Urgh I need to wash my hair everyday. Hope I can go through confinement hehe.

annie: exactly lor...nowadays cc/ifc so hard to find vacancies..

thats why i cant change even though i dont quite like the school..

cos its really convenient for me to pick him after work if my hubby is not available.

i dont wanna go to nanny cos they wont learn anything there, and no guarantee that nanny is good la..

but then there is flexibility la...

headache one la...give birth liao still got so many things to think about..

our govt still tot so easy...

sinmey: thats why lor..i tot he only 2 yrs old mah, still early, true that those younger ones can speak more than him, but they got siblings mah...

still expect me to go back and teach...

i where got time during weekdays...by then finish housework pack stuff already almost his sleeping time le

i used those dry shampoo before leh...and i dont think i wanna use it again...

rather really wash my hair..

this time round i try to see how many days i can tahan dont wash my hair..

dunno really or not, cos i keep having migraines after that leh...

or perhaps i should cut my hair shorter...

hello mummies....

talking abt confinement bathing? my friends suggest that 1st wk dont shower at all. just wipe w damp towel. she says she feels her pores r wide open. mummies, is it true?

2nd wk onwards then she shower alternate days, but still din wash hair. 3rd wk then shower daily, but wash hair alternate days. (btw, either using herbs or water boiled before)

Morning Mummies!!

starfruit - I did not tailor made the cupboard at Ikea, I only bought the off-the-rack chest drawer then hubby has to fix it up himself =)

2ks - I also intending to place my bb at the IFC at blk 351... I actually emailed them previously and they say full house need to be on waiting list... chose this IFC cos most convnient to fetch bb to and fro... the IFC standard drop? hard to find nanny in sbw leh, my colleague ask me to go stick flyer at lift lobby...

Chen,

No, i sent my bb to nanny house before i go to work .. then pick her after work ..

2Ks, yea, nanny is more flexible lar .. at least i dun have to take leave when she sick lor .. but again, it's heng/suay one .. i went to the nanny house b4 engage her.. again u dunno if they r good .. but ifc also not much thing to learn right ? i totally agree that cc teach them more thing .. i sent my girl to cc when she turns 18mths .. she learns a lots lor .. & talkative ..

xiaofeizhu: u referring to care corner rite..

yes it is always full house...i have to take that also cos convenient lor..

the standard so so only la..

but of cos for the price i am paying, cant expect much bah

sinmey: ya...nanny is really more flexible..

no..#1 do learn alot from IFC leh..

in fact, the attention in infant class are much more better than PG/N1...

the school ifc ok although there are a few china teachers...

just the N1 dunno whats wrong...

Linda,

wah... onli 38 39 weeks then can start drinking coconut wor! but wat if delivery earlier lei???? stone!!!!

btw... alot Feb mummies delivered their BB in Jan le wor!!!! getting more n more exciting... by nx mth... our mummies here might start sharing their birth story too le!! hahaha

Chen n 2Ks: i agree.. IFC n CC tog sure v expensive.. sigh! but wad to do.. actually im considering a 2nd choice.. to stay hm look aft other children n get a helper to help.. cos if i go out n work, im still in the same line.. so, was thinking shud i work frm hm instead.. i've always had this thinking..but dono whether it'll work.. but Jav is def going to CC.. so at least i only gt to handle 1. hehe..

Belinda: really? haha.. okok.. mayb u can call n enquire.. but ive gt frens going n find him talk quite relax den don like him.. sooo, still depends on individual ba.. u can always try, if nt suitable can still change ltr on when bb bigger..=)

Fish,

i start drink coconut since wk32-33 .. but once every 1-2wks.

then once every wk after i reach wk36 .. & maybe twice every wks after wk38 ...

2Ks: actually, hw can the principal gif such comments abt yr son.. its nt professional at all.. if she meant to talk to u nicely n try to discuss wad they can do to help him pick up faster..its acceptable.. but nt acceptable tt they gif such comments n somemore ask u bring him for speech therapy.. as educators, they shud noe tt all children progress differently!

lilprecious, can work from home and also keep eyes on bb is a good choice lei. I vision to be like that also, if I'm out of job some day. I love kids! haha.

Anyone needs nanny, can approach lilprecious... wahaha.

lilprecious: that is why we are so upset about it u know.

supposingly at 5pm, the whole class will go over next door to watch TV, but from monday onwards, 3 of them (including my son), stay back in existing class cos the principal think they are too active and will affect the others. and she even emphasized that she had to incur extra manpower to do this.. i was so damn pissed...

so i asked her, this arrangement will be until when cos its not healthy ma, maybe my son will think how come the rest go over except him...

she said she dunno until when until she think he wont affect the rest lor.

come on la, which kid really sit down there gong gong one rite...

and supposingly he should be communicating with the rest, yet she separate him...

she still say what u know, she said they have a right to "expel" the child if she find that he/she is not managable..

is that a threat or something...

u hear liao will angry or not..

Chen: ya lo.. but i cant tink of anything to do frm hm.. n i cant afford to stay hm n do nth.. i wan Jav go CC to pick up things n so he wld learn more things frm peers.. hehe..

i even tot of setting up hm classes w peers for the younger ones.. like mayb frm 8 mths onwards, do some easy flashcards n music.. hehe.

2Ks: i really think u shud condemn this sch n principal! i cant believe these words wld come frm an educator! wad does she mean tt she has the right to 'EXPEL' the child if he/she nt manageable.. in a sch, u r supposed to try to keep all children under control! wad lack of manpower.. if she thinks her sch is lacked of manpower, den she shud think n HIRE somemore.. tt's her sch prob.. nt an EXCUSE to remove children frm their extra activities.

n really, thou yr son only 23 mths, he will feel left out n will think why isit he n other 2 frens are BANNED frm the TV..n he wld tink whether did he do anything wrong or wad..

oh my, wahhh, i v agitated.. cos i don und y are there such educators(principal) somemore... to gif such silly n irresponsible comments! ya, u r right, hes supposed to communicate w the peers n nt kept aside w no peers! *#@&&% angrrrryyy!!! if im u, i'll scold the educator upside down! n aft studyin so much, they shud know exactly tt children frm 18 mths to at least 2.5 yrs.. attention span is def shorter den the older ones n def cant expect them to sit dwn there n nt move arnd... =S HOT HOT!hear alrdy super HOT!!hahaa

2Ks,

walao .. i think something wrong with this cc .. not sure if can complain to MCYS .. i personally think that they should help the child growth, not hurting their little 'zi zhun xin' lor ..

My #1's class also got 1 hyper boy, always sat on highchair one when i pick her up.. they nvr seperate him, but he'll sit in highchair .. i asked the teacher, she told me coz he will 'bite/pitch' the classmate. Usually they won't do that, but if they are short handed/think they can't watch him all time, they will put him on highchair for a while. But i do see him playing around with others leh .. felt pitiful for him, but my fren's kid got biten by him b4 leh ..

sinmey - haha I haven get down to working on that yet so definitely not me....

2Ks - Do your child fall sick vey often when at the IFC? And do you know how many bb to a caregiver at the IFC? Now I can only hope to be given a place at the IFC to 'dong' for the first few months when I go back to work and while I try to find other solutions ie. nanny to settle the bb... tough issue to tackle...

2ks, ya, agree with lilprecious, educators are suppose to encourage positive learning. How can they use the word 'expel' on a small boy, not like in sec school where the kids are big enough to decide their own choices.

Xiaofeizhu - I got same problem as you. But my mum don't like the idea of IFC.

2k - I think children should be treated fairly too. I remember when I was young and the teacher put me at one corner I felt so lost lor and during my mum time, the teacher is always right.

Lilprecious - I feel u hehe.

lilprecious: u also think something wrong rite? got more she said ah...

and i still got to lower down my voice to talk to her u knw, cos i am so call at her mercy...

at one point, i am still thinking of enrolling my son in zoophonics to make him learn more..

and even next week we are bringing him to a PD for assessment...u think necessary or not?

at one point, i even tell myself to enrol in some courses or what? or maybe i really lousy i dunno how to teach?

sometimes i think i am a bad mummy u know...

i am trying very very hard to improve and do everything...

but i only have 2 hands...i cant cope

xiaofeizhu: max babies over there is 10 and there is 2 + 1 teachers.. but the IFC is vvv small...

falling sick, definitely will la...it was bad until he turns 1 yr old, then got slightly better.

but bo bian lor..

but he really learn things at IFC la...only IFC ok, now PG/N1 i think attention lesser, so i find so so only

lilprecious: then u knw what she said, i was telling her next week we are bringing our boy to a PD to assess whether is he slow then i am going to give her the report.

then she said i misunderstood her, said she is to feedback only..

shit lor..

u mean u as educator u dunno that some kids sure active one meh...somemore u are principal leh.

and my boy is a december baby...he is definitely slower than others mah, then he got no one to talk to him at home, how can she compare with those that has siblings...

oh my...i am so stressed u know...

Sinmey: if the child bites/beats.. its a process, yes.. but for the sake of other children, we may haf to seperate the child frm other children.. but nt to remove frm classes.. =) normally in such young ages class, dere's at least 2 or 3 tchrs.. n if we haf a special case where we needa pay xtra attention to, one tchr(the xtra helping out one) will b in charge of holding on to the particular child n still cont joining in the class, jus extra attention on the child so he/she doesnt attack other children.. if nt its diff for the tchrs to explain to other parents too.=) we cant avoid such situtations in CC def..=D

Valerie: ya lo..=( haha. i feel bad nt being able to watch Jayien grow like hw i watched Jav grow.. its really a process where nth can b brought back.. =( sighhh..was thinking if i really becum nanny, i will use my cam n capture all the first things (flip,crawl,walk,etc) n pass to the mummies so even if they missed it at least gt pictures to see! hahaha..

2Ks: mmm, u tot of transferring out of the sch anot? i jus feel wadever the principal has said is too negative n not acceptable at all.. its gonna bring on lotsa negative tots to yr son as he grows w them..

if u wan my opinion, i'll tell u.. nt necessary.. ive seen children talking only as late as 2.5-3 yrs old n even a K1 kid who cant talk properly... like wad my PD n me believes.. don force the child if hes nt ready, he'll b ready one day.. gif him the time to open up n explore.. we can feed him w lotsa words one day but hw many can he pick up its all up to individual.. of cos, if u say the kid is old as 3 n still gt prob talking, we'll start to get worried and mayb bring him for a chk or sth to confirm hes nt having speech delay or prob articulating.. yr boy is only 23 mths.. nt even exactly 2 yet.. he still got space n time to figure out all dese.. wads more, boys r always slower in speech den girls for the beginning stage.. nt to worry..=) i was telling my hb e other day tt Rayanne thou younger den Jav, shes able to speak more words den Jav.. but i also haf frens daughter older den Rayanne who cant speak as much as her too.. progress and speed in picking up things all depend on individual.. =) don b stress.. every child is special in their own way.. some children faster in speech, some faster in motor skills, some faster in writing.. etc.

hmm, i do kinda agree tt Dec bb will kinda b slower den his peers born in same yr, nt cos they cant grasp the concepts well, but cos, they were out ltr, def learn things later ma! haha.. sooo, nt to worry.. i feel gif yr boy some time, he'll pick it up eventually.

no need enrol classes or wad.. no one can teach u hw to teach yr child.. all dose taught in classes r jus theories..totally diff in reality i feel.. we jus do our best, as long as u gt talk to yr son whenever u can, feed him words when u see things n point to him, try to explain to him wadever u wan him to know.. u did a good job alrdy.. =) jia you!!!

sorry for lo soh post.

can tell me yr sons CC name.. i condemn tt stupid sch n principal man. hahahaaaaa

lilprecious

harnor, i was telling 2ks that my son, who is turning 3yo in a weeks time, just started to speak 1 mth ago!!

and i was soooo worried coz i checked with PD and PD says usually by age 3 if still all baby talk then can bring for assessment to cfm if got speech delay or problem articulating.

but 2ks boy only 2yo leh, so sure got time to develop speech one de...

my son went to pre-N last year from aug - dec, the teachers all said he is ON TRACK for speech even though i think he is not. see see see! the teachers all told me to relax, take our time, my son will talk in time one. as long as we adults understand what he means, baby talk or not, is considered passing grade liao

2ks

jiayou

u not alone. u see me, my son 3yo then started toking lo