(2011/03) Mar 2011

milktea: i just damp clean it with water..

but so far ok leh, cos i used mattress protector..

airmez: u can try agencies...agencies usually should be able to make it still

2ks... Actually I only ever used nuk n pigeon wipes then got lots of mp travel packs with the pull up pants.. N find it v nice n thick. I think can fit pigeon box too... Maybe they'll launch the box here next time

BUT it's like almost 11 bucks when not on disc!!

pinkypink: yup i like that too...i alternate use with pigeon ones...

cos its water mah, wipes hands already wont sticky sticky..

but then hor...stupid dont have flip top, so when bring out abit tougher la..

hmm...i think i should ask hubby to order one carton of mp wipes too...

airmez,

ur ah lau sayang u ma ..

CL confirm better than confinement food catering lor .. so long he pays it .. u deserve it .. quickly settle this .. haha

Agencies confirm can make it de .. last time my col, her mother said do confinement for her, end up only cook nia, washing & nite time nvr take care bb one .. my col become so stress and her hb decided to get a CL .. they got one within few days though ..

sinmey: same lor..my own mum also backed out after doing 2 days of Confinement for me lor..

heng still managed to find a last minute CL...

allets: sticky flap after a few uses not sticky anymore lor..

usually i transfer to a case...

airmez: for that one month, my bb zzz with CL

-hey mummies...

ask you all, when washing bb clothes, do you all hand wash or use washing machine wash??

Pixie, for lunch, me feel like eating wanton mee or chicken mee.

airmez,

yea .. for 1 mth, bb sleep with CL .. i only wake up to pump..

2Ks, stress hor .. heng u still can get the last minutes CL .. did u pay extra ?

sinmey: ya...was very disappointed with my mum..cos she volunteered one..

end up she is the one who talk nonsense like, why i no milk, wanna make her grandchild hungry, then said she tired, not easy to do...

then after that i engaged CL already, she still said, why never engaged earlier, should have engaged earlier..

please lor...must see got money or not mah...

i didnt pay extras, heng lor..

i considered heng, cos after confinement 2 days is CNY..

heng still got CL take my case

Jialat, me now trial and error, dun remember which mth archive we had on confinement aunties..

So just a fast recap. Confinement aunties' job duties are:

1) take care of bb and mother;

2) cook for mother (normal meals + tonic soup);

3) do marketing;

4) boil bath water and red dates soup;

5) wash clothes

so she wakes up in the nights to feed bb, and sleeps in the day, izzit?

Thanks for your advices!

I have the following to sell:

1. Brand new Avent Airflex Newborn Starter Set. A handy collection including two 125ml/4oz bottles, two 260ml/9oz bottles, teats, a soother and bottle and teat brush. Retailing at $49.90. Letting go at $40 only.

2. Avent Orthodontic Silicon Pacifiers - one pair for 6-18 months. Retailing at $12.90. Letting go at $12.

Collection in Punggol, or elsewhere can be arranged. PM me if keen.

2ks

u not crazy. #1 time, i handwash all his clothes till he was ard 1yo...even till today, #1 clothes handwashed at mil place. at my place, too lazy, i machine wahs

Chen: yup! I saw my frens daughter who's on her thumb, no pacifier.. The thumb is..... Quite terrible. Cos keep sucking on it.. N when she hurt her tt particular thumb, wailed n cried.. Nt cos of pain but cos she cldnt suck on tt thumb. Aft seeing hor, I quite glad Jav on pacifier. Cos at least pacifier can remove, but thumb cannot..! =P

Airmez: think they only slp at night ba.. Mine wake up early bathe bb, prep breakfast n lunch, den feed bb,Do hsework, until noon, if she's tired she'll nap, when she wakes she'll start prep dinner n till aft she gif bb milk, make him slp den

she'll slp. But in btw, anytime bb cries or wad, she'll wake n look aft.. But for my case, cos my market quite far frm my plc, so she tells my mum wad she needs n my mum will buy n bring it over my plc in e morn for her.. =)

Jaster,

Me too, feeling heavy and yesterday night couldn't sleep at all, backache, stomach feel heavy. When I lie side way, bb keep kicking sideway, dunno isit telling me that I am lieing too sideway.

Btw, any mummies worries that you might lie too side way and press on tummy?

me feeling moddy too, last week I even cry cause when I was in the train, standing infront of the reserved seat, no one give up seats to me. So end up hb say me, say " if this person doesn't give up his seat, then dun keep standing there, stand elsewhere so that someone might give up seat to you."

I so so fedup and I cried cause I feel that he shouldn't say me and instead of pushing the blame to me, he should help me find seat.

who can tell me where to get this???[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5022474.jpg]

Roughly how much does it cost????

hmm... i realy dun know, coz it's mostly new, so hand wash should be sufficient right???

hmm... ok, after my breastfeeding class last Sat, i'm confused. The nurse encouraged latching coz it will send signals to the brain to produce more milk..so they dun encourage pumping.. like that then how? I wana zzzz at night during the 1st month of cofinement leh.

halo milktea,

i went to see the shears cot over the weekend liao...hubby find it abit smaller than standard cot size and wood is abit light..

in the end we settle for a cherrywood cot instead...u leh? decided what u want to buy for baby cot liao?

milkshake - must be the hormones at work again.. cos i think the emo-ness come back n find me again at last tri.. last fri, i broke down n cried when my hb went to bed without waiting for me.. i can stil rem telling bb that daddy never wait for us.. haha.. thinking back, it is so hilarious loh..

airmez: i allowed my CL to nap in the afternon if baby is napping too...

they also need rest mah...so i am fine with it..

i just let her know my requirements...

pixie: i used to handwash my son clothes...tot handwash clothes can last longer??

tres: actually pumping also signals to the brain to produce milk leh..

difference between latching and pumping:

1. latch - produces the certain amount of milk that baby drinks, seldom have extra

unless u latch already then try pumping again..

but from what i see, not in this case will have more milk, maybe another 10/20ml

2. pump - regularly 3 hours pump means every 3 hours sending signal to the brain to produce milk...

and will have a few let downs...

baby might drink 150ml only, but u might be able to produce double.

for me, during the 1st couple of months, i latch and pump alternate...

until when 3rd month, i wanna wean baby off my breast cos going back work soon mah, then i convert 100% to pump.

dont stress ok...

Hi Fish,

you can get this from kiddy palace. I got mine in Kiddy palace when my #1. Can't remember the cost. You can check the price there.

boymum baby bride..

okie okie!! I will go n find it... coz i tried to find but cannot find anything at all... that why i thought of going JB to buy since i'm going JB this weekend...

btw.. mummies,

another question...

For my own uderstanding la!!!

in few weeks time, we gonna delivery le.. just wonder, if we bleed or water bag burst after office hr (eg.. at nite)... wat should we do??? call gynae and rush to hospital after bath?? or just rush to hospital without calling gynae???

then if we bleed or water bag burst during office hr (day time)... we call clinic then rush to hospital or just go hospital straight away???

fish: u can buy the da fong ai from JB...very cheap there..

i remember i saw that in KP...

if my water bag burst at home hor, i will call the gynae then after that bath then go hospital..kekeke...

Airmez> when ur confinement?? My mum fren is a CL... She's been doing it for many many many years but I didn't get her cuz mums fren.. Abit weird la.. Later know all my pattern and dun want my mum to come here and chit chat with her.. Haaha...

I'm not sure if she's taken up for march.. But she's currently doing a confinement in spore now I think...(overheard my mum talking on the phone..)

If u want then PM me.. Forgot she's $2100 or $2000.

confinement duties:

morning go marketin, come back boil longan drink and bathing water... prepare breakfast for me.

After breakfast I dry clean with the water. She clear the mess.

(she didn't have to wash our clothes then cuz HB asked her to just machine wash baby clothes and she washes her clothes with our clothes in the machine also..

This time wil set different rules..)

Then prepare lunch.. Takes more time cuz got cutting and all that to do...

Usually by 11-12pm is lunch...

After I eat she wash and cleans up kitchen..then her lunch.. Prepare for some dinner 料, then she sweep and mop the floor... Sometimes the room and living room also..

Then tea break she will prepare a cup of Milo or enfamana with apple or bread or something..

Then she bathe and takes a short nap while bb is sleeping or read newspaper or uses her phone to SMS or call...

I'll be on Internet or sleeping..

And she finished her chores so I'm ok...nite time she cooks and wash and bathe again I think.. Can't rem Liao..

In between, she changes baby diapers.. Oh yah.. Bathe baby.. Nite time she sleeps with baby and me...

I wake up to latch and only get her to bottle feed 1 time at 3am.. So I can sleep from 12-6am...

Latch 12am.. Sleep till 5-6am or I think I woke up to pump at 3am also.. But at least it's faster.. Finished pumping in 15-20min... Baby latch was 40min...

So I wake up pump.. She wake up feed.. Then I go back sleep til 8-9am then up for breakfast and prepare to latch baby again...

Most important I think not just nite sleep.. Day time sleep also.. When nothing to do.. Go sleep... Then u won't feel nite so tired...

There's no way not to wake up at nite to latch or pump.. Else ull have hard rock breasts Lo... Either ur supply will drop if u continue to have hard rock breasts cuz uare telling ur brain too much supply.. No need so much... (that's why engorged ma) and after a few days ur supply will drop drastically...

So u confirm have to either latch or pump every 3hrs to increase ur supply, ESP in the first month la... So... Really no luxury for 6-8hrs sleep straight de la..

Got 3 hrs straight undisturbed very good liaoz..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So day time sleep also.. Won't feel so tired..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fish,

See your questions with so many question marks, make me start to gan chiong too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'll call gynae when I'm unsure whether to admit hospital or not. If i'm sure, will not call.

As for bleed/water bag burst, I dont think i will "rush" down to hospital straightaway bah, most prob i will go home, bathe 1st, and time my contractions bah. Again, if unsure, will ask gynae.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ooh, not to mention, whack a shiok shiok meal 1st, before admit to hospital... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2K, to sleep thruout the night, means in the day time, you latch and pump extra hard ah?

Like what Rach says, for the 6 hours of sleep (say 12-6) won't your breasts feel engorged????

Rach, will pm you for contact. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So now you have a maid. What duties do you intend to assign your maid, with your CL around? Ask maid to support CL or both do different duties?

As for washing clothes, u said u wanna set different rules this time, care to share?

airmez

agreed totally. whack a shiok meal before going to hospital...

i checked in at 3am or 4am i think, coz need to induce at 5am +...

so i had mac, and then before driving off to TMC, i drank root beer heehee

rach: i ok leh...i nvr wake up in the night for the past 14 months to pump leh...

then supply also nvr decrease...

engorge i still can tahan till morning 7+am then pump

tres: what i do is, i pump last round at 12am before i zzz...then i wake up at 7+ then i pump...

dont wanna waste time to latch cos slower, pump faster to clear the breast..LOL

i can tahan leh...sleep important..kekeke

during the day (note: for 1st 2 months only), i latch and pump alternately...

sometimes if i see bb latch awhile nia, doze off or dont wanna latch, then i will pump after that

AirMez,

haha!!! sorry if i make you kan chiong, coz my memory getting bad nowadays, so watever i think of asking.. i quickly post and seek for advise..

I know waterbag burst, still can wait at home till we feel the contractions pain.. but wat if we see blood???

hmm.. Airmez, just spoken to my CL (a few days back).

My replacement CL says she doesn't do housework, except cooking, looking after bb. I was like ...WTH!! Told her that my previous agreed CL says she will do simple housework like washing and sweeping the floor. Anyways, I have my helper liao, so she will manage the house whereas the CL will focus on the bb, that's why I wanna zzz more @ night to make my CL work for her money lah!! pay her $2K plus she wants me to apply work permit for her wor!

Fish: I think i will do the same, be it waterbag burst or see blood bah.. still will time contractions. Maybe other experienced mummies can offer advice?

I'm also a kan cheong spider, by nature. But my ah lau will always chanting "ai zai (in hokkien, means 'be steady')". So me will just take it easy, most impt is my shower and mega meal!! Haha!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tres: i 'interviewed' my CL, i told her my house is bigger than my sis, got 2 dogs and a monkey (my son), and no maid, is she ok..

she said ok then i chose her

my previous CL was good, she handwash my son/hubby clothes, iron his clothes, clean up my dog pee tray/urine/poo...wash toilets every week..

too bad i lost her contact...otherwise i sure take her again

Babybride, noo.. I haven got a chance to pop to Tampines!

Cherrywood is a brand or?

So you gotten your cot liao?

2Ks, other than the MP wipe's box which you got it from BKK, what else is cheap to get from there huh?

Thks for your advice on cleaning of the latex cot mattress. Maybe I should get a sheet protector as well.

Fish, it's up to you if you wanna give your bb pacifier anot. To me, I will give but I plan to stop at age of one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I don't want to be strict and tough on everything. So if they too cranky, I will give pacifier and sarong (if needed) to handle them easier. I have friend who very stubborn in her mindset, she totally reject the idea of carrying her bb too much/rocking bb/putting bb in sarong, end up she only gave herself a hard time smoothing her bb and she got mild depression. I don't wanna make myself go ki siao if I have a difficult to look after bb.

Haiz, I kena insomnia for the past two nights. Terrible.

//

Week 33 of Pregnancy: Insomnia

Third-trimester insomnia strikes more than 75 percent of pregnant women — very tired pregnant women.

How unfair — that when you need it the most, you can't get it. You keep on telling yourself it's the last opportunity for a long, long time (at least until your baby's sleeping through the night). But you still can't get any. No, not sex, woman — sleep! Third-trimester insomnia strikes more than 75 percent of expectant moms — very tired expectant moms. At 33 weeks pregnant, all the hormonal changes, the midnight treks to the bathroom, the leg cramps, the heartburn that won't quit, the fact that you can't get comfortable when you're in bed with a watermelon where your tummy used to be, and the anxiety you're likely feeling about the impending birth of your baby (and the fact that you still haven't decided on a name for your baby) all contribute to your inability to catch some satisfying z's.

Looking for ways to summon the sandman? Worrying about it won't help, and neither will staring at the clock watching the minutes tick by. Instead try a warm bath and perhaps a warm cup of milk before turning in, avoid exercising, eating, or drinking too close to bedtime, and solicit your partner for a massage (you deserve it!). If sleep still eludes you, read a book or listen to soothing music until drowsiness sets in. If nothing works, at least you can be comforted knowing that this may just be Mother Nature's way of getting you ready for the sleepless nights ahead.

//

milktea: girls clothes at bkk very cheap and nice...they have laura ashley there...

wacoal nursing bras, maternity undies can be found at bkk too...

then geox shoes for kids less than 2 yrs old (singapore dont have)

erm...cant think of others besides food..LOL

Annie, I totally agree with you on pacifier and sarong. No doubt we try to avoid allowing bad habits on babies but we have more than enough mummies telling us how all babies are different.

So I think there are times we have to choose a less than perfect method. To help us emotionally too.

2Ks, Ohhh.. Bkk food!! Coconuts!! I love them too!!

Ok pull me back to reality -_-

Those that you mention, can't possibly ask my cousin to buy for me. Haha..

So I should just get the MP wipes in a box right?

Err.. other than departmental store, you have any idea they sell it in their "BOOTS" pharmacy?

Isit worth getting MP wipes there? Any idea?