(2011/03) Mar 2011

2K> confinement not scared heaty one la... Supposed to eat as Heaty as possible la... To keep body warm...

The amount of ginger and sesame oil we eat during if eat during normal days.. I think 3 days we nose bleed liaoz.. Haha...

But surprisingly during confinement our body can still take it de... So brown rice is nothing..

My mil whole family eat brown rice daily one okie...

Me thinking to get brown rice for confinement to eat also...

Mix with white rice la...

pixie: cos i was like using vvvv hot water...then compress until breast abit red red...

but shiok la..cos clear the one lump one lump then can see milk coming out...kekeke

rach: yup...maybe i should buy some brown rice too..

ok i go chong pang get some this weekend...

u can try 'elephant' brand rice, they have white & brown mix together...chong pang got sell...

small packet around $4

2ks

same here....u go "ooo, ahhh, ooo, ahhh" but u can see the effect leh...

i have 1 designated hanky for this, now still keep. must go dig out liao

pixie: hahahah~~~i go 'ouch ouch ouch' leh...

i also have a designated hanky and a small tub for this purpose...everytime bring to the room lor...

Su he Yan is.... Let me try 苏核丸.. Think is like that...

It comes in a round ball.. Open up inside many many small

Small pills.. Like po chai wan like Tat..

U can go traditional medicine hall to ask...

Quite siong leh... $2.50 each time.. CL says day n nite take.. I said no need la.. Save money once a day can laioz... Hahaha...

Allets> my CL says brown rice.. Pure red ones.. Dun mix with white rice ones..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Actually herbs can just walk in to any medicinal shop and ask confinement use.. They will recommend..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Up to ur discretion which need or not la..

I Nv get cordeceps.. Too exp for me liaoz...

I've posted the link for donuts... U click and see...

There's description too..

MOQ: 20..

I just contacted supplier for best price liaoz... :p

( I'm not getting frm babyhub... But reliable source and authentic Naforye donut relief packs..)

HI mummies,

i got a question and hope you can help. If i am using medela freestyle pump, i can pump straight into the milk bags? But the milk bag is not medela milk bag. is it ok?

Fel> yes!!!! Liver!! I was thinking liver or kidney.. Can't rem Which one... Hahahaa.. Never take bio leh...

I'm only pure physics and pure chem student... Haahhaha...

shirley: medela milk bags right, there is a 'loop' to go over the funnels...thats why it can be use to pump direct..

other brands, u prob got to hold it...

sorry i dont quite like to pump into milk bags...cos sometimes i kalang kabok, wait i didnt hold properly mah...

lilprecious, glad that u are fine now...

wow, u mummies bought chinese herbs liao, me got nothing. Me no confinement lady and doubt my mum knows anything about these. Think just red dates and logan tea for me.

allets, confinement recipes can be bought from major book stores. I bought one for my friend some time ago. And yes, I'm very excited about D day too...

Pixie> no worries... If dun have I'll go back my mums place take the same basin I used previously... Hahaha..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks for searching..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2k> yest went NTUC bought 5kg royal umbrella white rice laioz... And mum bought me 3kg organic mixed brown and white... HB already fast hand fast leg mixed both packs together... So I'll See if can salvage some for confinement consumption... The rest is daily consumption frm now till then liaoz... Haha..

Last Sat I also bought herbs for confinement liao... expensive sia... already bought from herbs wholesaler, cant imagine if buy from normal medical hall, sure kena chop until jialat jialat... all stock up in the fridge. Also replenish tonics at ZTP. Birdnest and Pao Sheng.

Rach: Ya dong cong cao is soooo damn expensive!! Machiam eat gold like that. haha... U can consider getting cordyceps capsule at a small fraction of the real herbs.

Then went to kiddy palace and ntuc to buy Bb cleansing necessities + diapers. It was a very tiring day... crotch painful and walk like penguin.

Sourduck> no u pump into the bottle that comes with ur pump... Then pour into the milkbags...

How are u going to secure the bags to the outlets if u pump straight into milkbags??

So just use the 4 bottles that comes with it... And u prob need to store the milk inside the bottles in the fridge till u have enough qty then pour inside milkbag..

Not advisable to open close the milkbag so many times...

And initial supply also not 100ml kind.. U prob pump 2-3 times min to get 100ml...

Else very exp to put 20-30ml into 1 milkbag...

alohaa/rach: i never take dong cong cao leh..

cos MIL said nowadays dong cong cao alot of fake ones...good ones are vvvvvv ex..

so she told me to eat others...

personally, i dun like 2 use the donut relief pack. Cos too small. Prefer to use hanky or face towel n soak with hot water. Sold off my donuts after couple of tries. For tonic, i b avoiding all roots herb again. Last round, my gal kena the breastmilk related jaundice. Cos she follow DH blood type. End up admit to hospital for 3days for high jaundice. PD told me to avoid roots type tonic in diet. =(

Thanks 2Ks. I was still thinking if pump in office can just bring milk bag but i guess use bottle more safe.

I think i better call my CL to confirm the herbs to buy first.

shirley: if yr supply stabilized, u can use milk bags...e.g, each side can pump at least 150ml...then can make sure the bags wont be wasted...

but then hor...other brands milk bags doesnt come with the loop to tie over the funnels...so that means u got to hold the milk bags yrself...

and unless yr hands very stable...

otherwise i dont recommend, cos milkbags afterall is soft type, flimsy..

2k> yah cordeceps for the can afford it ppl... The amount paid for 1 box I can use to buy 2 months of longan drinks ingredients...

Chen> refer to the list I posted yesterday... All of them are to be put together and make the longan drink...

U can imagine how bu the drink is..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Or u can just walk in to a reliable and trustworthy medicine hall and ask what u need to get.. They will advise...

I think 一分钱一分货also... Some of the herbs got difference in quality between buying at reputable halls like EYS & HOCK HWA or ZTP compared to those traditional ones la...

But some things I'll buy frm reputable ones.. Some I'll get from traditional ones...

2k> red dates though common also increase price k...

My mum was telling me it was $7/kg.. Yest I buy already $9/kg lo....

Thanks Rach for explaining. I will use the milk bags most likely after i going back to work coz i putting the bb in the infant care and i thought its better to give extra packet of milk bag to the infant care centre.

2ks, i think my hand also nt very steady..heheh..will pour the EBM from the bottle to the milk bag when my supply is there

how long u going to breastfeed your BB ya??? i was taugh by the teacher from 'childbirth course' last week that we have to let BB to drink from our neinei for at least one whole mth, then intro bottle to them... but izzit too late to intro bottle to them after one mth???

then she said, is better to let BB to drink our breastmilk for one year wor!!! wah.. that's reli a long period of breast feeding wor!!!!

I need mummies here to advise how long u gonna breast feed your BB???

fish

no expiry date for breastfeeding.

govt recommend at least 6 mths.....you can bfeed up to many many years...ive heard of 8yo still drinking bm

HI Fish, i was told by the infant care person to start bottle feed on 2nd mth but start with 1 bottle feed a day then 2nd week increase the amt of bottle feed to 2 times so that they can get use to it once i place them in the infant care after my maternity leave. She said best to breastfeed at night also.

Fish> rayanne is 16mos and I'm still breadtfeeding..

Usual is ard 6mos - 1yr.. PDs also advise min 6mos if possible...

Can intro bottle slowly.. Reason is some babies have nipple confusion and may not want either breast or bottle after a while once they have a preference..

Best to have a routine.. So baby knows..

Example day time latch, nite time bottle feed..

So bay understands at nite is drink from

Bottle... But I'll Only give 1 bottle a nite Max during confinement... Just wanna have a 6hrs rest...

And latch thruout... Cuz need to increase the

Miserable initial supply... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby no need herbs for bathing..

But we do mix a bit of what I use for her...

It comes usually in packet form nowadays..

1 day 1 pack.. So u just Need to buy 30packs Lo...

Hock Hwa selling $2 a pack..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning Mummies!!

Had a busy weekend... I'm starting to feel tired more easily now as compare to tri2, can't walk for long also...

lilprecious - tkae care and rest well ya =)

Rach - I still want to get the bravado nursing bras, will PM/email you tonight k... thanks for advising me to get L size, after I tried, indeed fit nicely and its comfortable...

Fish - I think I will target to BF at least 6 mths according to the guidelines, if I can tahan to go longer I will try lor...

You gals are making me gan chiong over the herbs... think I also need to go stock it up soon lol... just went to stock up the concentrated birdnest from EYS over the weekend...

love this forum cos is like wikipedia! so informative...

btw,any idea what is dry shampoo used during confinement and where to get it?

also, do we need to get bb oil? esp to apply on bb when they have dry skin? wat brand is good ar?

shirley: i suggested u check with yr IFC first, see how they prefer u to bring the ebm to school..

cos diff school diff styles..

like my son ifc, they prefer me to store ebm into milk bottles, that means 3 feeds there, i will bring 3 feeds of ebm...

cos they want to minimise the handling/transfer of milk from milkbags to bottles...

rach, thanks! I've copied all the herbs liao, shall go get them and ask my mum cook. hee. Btw, can order the nursing pads from u also? saw on LLL webby. Are they good for wearing with the bra, so that nipples can't be seen? My nursing bras can't really be worn out lei, can see nipples and no support. Are LLL bras like that too?

Fish, of cos as long as possible. The recommended is up to 2yrs. I bf till 7mths, cos of the immunity. And I was back working, my environment wasn't condusive to pump, have to do it in the toilet, which I dun like.

I was fully lacthing my gal cos 24/7 with her, when started night classes,and not home, she refuse to take the bottle. My hub had to put up a long battle with her... Also duno wats the best way out, but good swtich bet nipple and bottle after 2nd month shld be fine...

Nway, the real benefit of bf to me, is the cost saving on formula milk. haha.

allets, dry shampoo for washing hair can be bought from chinese medical hall...

bb oil, erm.. i never use lei. Just used a little for cleaning the ears with cotton bud.

fish: there is no right or wrong when u wanna stop bf...

must see also yr supply, whether u can cope/managed..

so tentatively dont have to plan how long la..

but can set a target to yourself...so at least u can try to do it..

like me, i target myself to bf at least whole ML period i.e 4 months, then end up i extended to 6 months, to 9 month, to 1 year end up to 14 months...

chen: same lor...i think bf save alot of milk powder $...for the past 14 months of bf, i only bought a tin of milk powder...very shiok...

i just told my hub...a milk cow is producing milk again soon...

during the 2 months, i alternate between nipple and bottle...cos i dont wanna bb to get use to my nipple...

then very bad to let him go cold turkey

2ks, ya lor, think i must be smart to alternate this time. Was really tough to get my gal drinking from the bottle then. During feeds, I had to hide in the room, even cried with her, while my hub battles. haha.

2Ks

oh yah..thanks for reminder.. last nite lyin on bed then rem.. wanted to ask helper keep also forgot..

just asked her to dump everything into fridge.. ahha.. :p

xiaofeizhu

I'm placing orders for Bravado tonite.. please rem to send in ur orders... else once close..and if supplier no extras... then no more liaoz.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ah...my concentrated birdnest..still got 2.5 boxes.. yest i just asked... the SA says once open put in fridge... (CUZ Confinement cannot take cold ma...)

then he said take out a teaspoon..mixed with warm water and eat... or dip in warm water then eat...

so i think i'll just mix in warm water and eat... morning and nite during confinement.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

allets

i bought warming shampoo.. i used that the last round too.. although didnt feel much difference.. but the ingredients.. oki la..

someone posted here some time back.. i bought both bottles from her.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

that time i bought shampoo and body wash.. maybe i'll go find the body wash from the seller... only 1 place in spore sells leh..

tried to find supplier dun have....

maybe need to find the one that sellls the ginger cream... when i got time to go down... hehehe.. :p

baby oil... can use J&J baby oil.. but baby skin hardly dry.. they are very soft and nice la....

else u can use California Baby...I'm ordering one last batch of CB stuffs on Wed.. to be in time before CNY...

with other sprees... dun wanna clutter my house also..wanna clear all by CNY..else HB kpkb....

if anyone wants anything else from California Baby, let me know fast.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] By Tuesday nite with payment please... (am broke liaoz.. no extra $$ to pay first for u!! :p

chen

no need nursing pads ba.. i use the padding inside (Bravado BSS) and stick on Pigeon Breast Pads.. hahaha...

LLL Strapless nursing bra comes with thick padding! Very good!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I still have some ready stocks if u want.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

refer to the links i pasted on 8th Jan... the model wore the bra without the padding.. but the real thing comes with thick padding.. i like!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yah... think i have to use a bit more bottle this time round... but.... scared too much bottle dun want my breast.. hahaha..

but saves alot la... no need wash bottles too..save detergent.. whahhahah.....

But if #3 is not coming.. i dun mind BF another 2years.. though its tiring.. hahaha.. :p

rach & 2Ks,

Thanks for the explanation on the herbs. Noted on the importance. Think I should also give my CL a call to check what exactly to buy.

>> LLL bra

rach, am interested to get one but not sure if I can fit in. lol.. did not dare to order earlier on coz the sizes listed seemed small.

wow.. thanks all mummies for all these useful information on breastfeeding! hahaha!!

okie.. i shall target myself to breastfeed at least 6 mths and switch bottle and nipples so that BB wont get used to the nipples and reject bottles...

btw.... now having very serious backache everyday... can we use that kind of tiger balm or similar medicine cream to apply on the back to relief the pain??

ST..

wow.. u gained 12kg, gynae already asked you to control le wor... my BB onli 1.7kg at 32week, and i gained 20kg le... gynae didnt say anything abt my weight!!

Fish,

Gynae said: wah ..12kg....CNY is coming...need to control a bit....after that he said ..it's ok to eat lah ...no need to worry -_-|||

RACH- what is Su he Yan is.... 苏核丸.. ??

LAILAI- I oso looking at Ingelsina Marco Polo car seat- very firm but costly at 458 bucks leh OR britax the one you bt.....but I havnt look at Nania yet..will go dwn to one of the distributor to see look..if any mummies here got any good nania car seats model to recommend, do feel free to share too..

MILKTEA- PEG PEGERO P3 is good mah..but it at the high side..bt heavy wt abit..

some mummies here already bt PEg PEgero SI le..

hey ladies, just want to ask... are you all wearing any makeup? I've stopped using ever since the start of pregnancy but since CNY is coming... tot of dolling up leh! hahaha... any brands to recommend that is safe to be used?

2kS--hehehe... can share which model you using..? this wkend I going dw to see look..

Jaster- can jus put loh...CNY coming..of course mus doll merimei bah