(2011/03) Mar 2011

Ooh and CL also asked me to buy pure brown rice... To fry and she will make the fried rice tea for me...

She said need to wash and sun dry then fry in pan???

Was thinking she come then do can or not??

Tmr gonna go search for brown rice...

Thought sharing with u all.. Was attending e annetal class today n e instructor was sharing that for e initial few days after delivery, when gt engorgement, can use e cold cabbage approach to soothe e engorgement.. Cosme breast is in production .. Of cos best is Bb latching on frequent lah.. But once supply kicks in, like Wat e rest of e mummies said, cannot use cold cabbage cos will dry up e well..

Rach- btw, tried e L size disposable undies.. Now size is just right for me..

Also managed to change most of e sizes to L except for 2 pkts of M size..

Rach, i was reali thinking if i should buy all those confinement stuffs now... cos maybe buy after cny price will drop... now very near to cny liao so price sure increase de lor :S

Milktea> man... It's like penguin Lo... Walk also pain.. Faint...

Think dunno is walk too much or baby turn down laioz....

Zenia> that's Braxton hicks... False contractions...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

It hardens for a while then softens rite??

Rach, it only softens a lil lo... whole stomach feel very tight and uncomfortable... machiam a big hard ball infront :/

Thanks butter8 n pinky..=)

Butter8: Tom n Stefanie gt sell? I go chk it out soon.. Hee.. Thnks.

Rach: think Rayanne feels meimei coming.. Wan to stick to u more.. Recently Jav will cry fr nothing n ask me carry too.. Hmmm.. I mus call CL mayb tmr.. Cfm the items needed n ask my mum go get!! =S

fr me, if I carry jav too long I'll get backaches n tummy droop feeling. So far no crotch pain yet.. =)

Zenia: mayb yr tummy tightening or stretching..

Alleys> I would suggest best not to use cold cabbage.. To me it's like killing off the supply...

Either get the donut relief pack or just use cloth soak in cold water... But I will use cloth soak in hot water and put over breast... Soften it and pump out... Safer...

There's enzymes in cold cabbage la... Later supply dunno kick in or not... Lol...

Ok Lo... Whichever u are comfortable in... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good that u managed to change the sizes..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lilprecious , dunno leh... now tummy like streched until got tiny red dots le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] anyways, u feeling better liao?

Zenia> if uve been following the thread.. 2k has insider news that prices gonna increase liaoz..

Think china no stock or something... Prices will all increase..

It'll just get more and more exp till dunno when...

So better stock some now...

Was told some items next week will increase price again...

Good quality bei qi today also oos Lo.. Want also dun have.

Left the cheaper ones only....

ya, i kinda saw these threads too... hmmm, shall get my mum to go check out with the medical hall on the situation. keke, thanks! will update when i have more info *wink*

Rach

Hi 5! i also feeling kan cheong liao cos only left abt 7wks to go.. I ask hb to stk up the herbs for the longan drink.. he say wait till CNY over wor.. by then dunno px still exp anot. My CL also called me ytd to go n buy the herbs n cfm tat she'll buy the herbs to boil for me to bath..

gal, I also feel below pain, like being pressured, esp after walking too much. its becos of lower placenta this time round cos 2nd pregnancy liao.. think doc mentioned tat its normal. as long as no spotting, not to worry. jus rest n dun walk too much.

prob ZZz:

anyone had difficulties zzz? i cant slp properly these days.. bb too active kip moving n somersaulting inside there.. day time i got dizzy spells.. so scary. the type tat u stand up n feel tat the whole world is spining ard u kind.. like nw.. I'm tired but cant slp.. so decided to come in n read.. hahaa

lilprecious:

aiyo u take care n rest well.. u say saw "blood" I also worried for u.. I also going thru the terrible 2s btw.. can die negotiating n trying to discipline my gal everyday. luckily she goes to sch in the daytime if not I probably vomit blood liao..

Zenia: yup, better except fr the cramps n bad bad headache. I think I'll call gynae n try walking in fr appt tmr, don think wanna wait till wed.. =\ mm, I think most likely stretching ba.. My tummy feels harder these days too.. Mayb bb no space. Haha..

Summers mommy: prob slping.. See I'm still here u know.. Haha.. I'm having sucha bad headache yet can't slp jus rest lo... Yup, the blood came frm the intestinal infection thou.. So I'm nt so worried. Phew. Ya lo, tts y Javs going in cc aft CNY, bu she de but haf to.. I can't imagine taking care of 2 all by myself frm day till night.. Think I'll go bonkers.. Haha.

Esnow> everything I bought yest are for the longan drink...

They all either help to 补气 or 补血...

Technical use I'm not so sure.... But what they hock Hwa person suggest coincide with what my CL says need to buy...

Some of the items can also be used in soups and food cooked... Like bei qi can be used in the tonic soups also...

Gou qi zi used in steam fish and vege...

Wah... I love confinement food!!!! My CL cooks nice food for me and I'm missing them already.. Haha..

Vinegar pig trotters!!!! We gonna need to buy so much ginger during confinement also man..

Every dish is Ginger Ginger Ginger...!! But those BF takes a bit lesser la... Just in case baby will have jaundice but actually there's no direct link.... Hee..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

good morning mummies!

rach: i also have that kindof feeling....

cant walk for long now lor...

walk like penguin...

milktea: i am using peg perego P3...what's up??

rach: can dont sun dry the fried rice...imagine u sun dry then the air or what dirty will collect dust also leh..

u wash already just air dry abit...then fry it dry and keep in container...

maybe i should get some too...

i will be sick of red dates drink lor..

Xuelyn> ya Lo.. So sng leh.. I dun walk also sng la... I only change position on the bed the crotch like wanna drop liaoz...

If I wanna get out of bed also gotta endure the sng-ness for a few sec... Then stand up again... Faint.... Very Cham...

rach: most likely after CNY price wont drop also...

cos china now weather problematic, alot of places oos...

and herbs need time to cultivate mah...so i dont think these few months will drop...

and my MIL told me, the price will keep increasing more lor...

and later u buy maybe left those not so nice one liao, cos oos mah

allets: no no no! dont use cold cabbage unless u wanna slow down the milk lor...

cabbage will sort of reduce the milk flow...if u wanna help with engorgement, i suggest u use cold/hot compress...its is less harming..

esnow: dang shen is vvvv important during confinement...

dang gui also required, bu xue...

but dang gui during pregnancy CANNOT eat

bei qi also required, this one for what i am not sure la

summer mommy - so far no issues with sleeping except for weird dreams that i have.. last nite the "Engagement" and "Enffacement" keep on repeating in my mind.. haha.. machiam study english like that..

Rach - as for pig trotters with vinegar, the instructor was also telling us to consume after 14 days, when jaundice on bb is lesser..

was curious what Dang Gui is for - only know that in preg, must avoid that totally..

As for herbs, i usually buy from those not branded stores near my ah ma place.. ah ma brought me to her frequent patronised store so the medical hall dare not charge high.. bought my cordyceps per box at $220..think those at EYS, Hock Hwa all marked up prices de.. moreover the medical hall seller is a part-time TCM practioner at Zhong Hwa Clinic.. so his herbs cant be that bad lah..

2ks - thanks! will most prob use cold towel instead or the donut that you all mentioned to soothe engorgement..

any idea roughly how much is 1 donut selling ar? Rach, you got lobang?

allets: actually depends leh...

herbs there are many kinds...but of cos we wouldnt know how to choose like...

i say dangshen ok, dangshen got many kinds, from skinny like a pencil to fat like a liquid paper...

so of cos dont buy the skinny type la..

then hor..some packaged herbs, of cos easy la...cos its cheap mah...but the quality dont expect too good ok..

so what i usually do is, i add my own into those packaged herbs...

btw, u knw some confinement agencies they also sell their herbs, also from a practioner from somewhere...but the herbs....i see liao i shake head...cos its really those lower grade kind

allets: i only used cold relief donut when i wanna cut down on my pumping...

starting i always use hot compress, as hot as possible...it will so called open up the ducts and sometimes i see milk droplets flowing when i do the hot compress

need to seek some advise.

i'm having trace of blood in my discharge. Does it call for alarm???

i'm currently in my wk 30.

allets: personally i think donut better for cold relief...

cos hot u need to soak in and wait...by then soak it then transfer to use on your breast, it might turn cold already...and then u need to wait...

if u just use hot towel and hanky, immediate u can compress

sunesis: of coz it call for alarm..

but yr discharge is it after u poo u clean up then u see blood?

2k> so need to fry the rice ourselves ah??? Can let CL fry or not?? Hehehe...

She was telling me over the phone now still got time I can prepare for her the rice... I was thinking then I pay u so much for what??!!? Lol....she said will boil together with longan drink leh...

I think she dun mean preparing the rice just on it's own...

But I'm not sick of longan drink one leh.. I'm not a water person cuz water is sooo bland...

So I like longan drink...

Btw, I think it's best not to put rock sugar if mummies can take it.. Best to avoid salt and sugar during confinement...

2Ks:

after i poo have... so i thot quite ok so i went to work. then just now i went toilet, still got trace of blood leh...

but it's not a lot like period that kind la.

i'm also having cramps but i think cramps quite normal la... like menses cramp

rach: i think let the CL do...its a couple of hours thingy...

since she know how to do it...hor?

my CL dunno she know how to do it or not..

brown rice better ah? i scared heaty..

last time cl used white rice fried with ginger...

alternate drink with red dates drink...

red dates drink long liao i sian mah...

sunesis: u clean and check is it from anus or meimei...

if meimei then u should call yr gynae

hmm...

ya... i think i observe and see.

but i clean already leh... its not like coming from where. it comes among the discharge. cos normally i will have some white to yellowish discharge.

2k> yah.. That's why yest good bei qi already no more.. The guy also said ppl know prices increasing all buy and stock up...

I doubt the Price hike is due to CNY also... It's like what u said conditions in china... So I foresee everything more exp even all the way to April and beyond...

Oh btw, my CL makes me take su1 he4 yan2 too...

Dunno what are the exact Chinese characters...

It's a box of 10 for $25-30... She was telling me she bought at $25 yest at Chong Pang cuz she's currently doing for another mummy due Jan...

I think I ate 30boxes last round.. 去风...

Everytime after I eat I will burp all the air out... By 2nd - 3rd week very much less burping le...

So she reminded me to buy now in case price increase also...

rach: go other stalls and try bei qi see have or not...otherwise wait increase price again...

i believe later part will left those poorer quality herbs...

those wolfberries, red dates are common ones, can dont stock up la...

su he yan is what i am not sure...

Allets > jaundice if will happen usually happens between 1st few days... No need 14 days la...

Jaundice is caused by the inability of the baby's kidneys to break down the blood... That's why they turn yellow...

Baby inside our womb now has different kind of blood as us...

Our blood make up of haemoglobin... Our foetus is not...

Can't rem what it is now...

So the moment they are born and come into contact with oxygen... The kidney supposed to convert this baby blood into our kind of blood... Failure to do so will lead to jaundice...

That's why the longer they stay inside us the better cuz their organs more developed.... Hardly u see babies at full term with very serious jaundice... Usually the premature ones..

But subject to individual baby..

The statement is not vice versa...

So actually ginger itself had very very Low connection to jaundice... Prob just cuz the color looks like it... And old folks in the Past links to it....

But 1st 12 days no chicken, eggs etc hor...all chicken products after 12 days... I think cuz of all the wound we have.. Down there.... I didn't have chicken till 3rd week I think... Cuz CL see me already need to soak in salt water daily... Advise hold back chicken..else worse infection...

2K> yes donut relief pack can be used hot or cold...

Keep in freezer-cold

Soak in hot water - hot

Some of my mummies bought 2 sets last time... 1 for hot & 1 for cold...

But I think not necessary.. 1 pair enough..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rach: yup...i knw can be used hot and cold..

i have one..

but i think it take times to warm the pack..cos quite thick mah...

put cold better, leave it in fridge only...

2k> donut in hot wont turn cold so fast la.. It only needs 7min max to soak... And then u can put on ur breast for a few min...cannot too hot also.. Burn ur skin... I got once greedy put boiling water inside... Put on my breast I jump up la.. Then skin turn red... Hahaha..

Common sense needed !!!!

Hot towel is just as good too... Just soak inside water, squeeze dry and put on breasts..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Few min diff..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rach - huh? only $8-$9? cos i rem seeing around $20-30plus leh.. is it the same one?

anyone interested to get?

su he yan - what is that?

as for the fried rice tea - can we use zao mi (brown rice)? my mum used to fried that.. but is for other purpose.. think is lower cholestrol or something.. cos when i told her fried rice tea, she say zao mi leh..

ask my mum wat other herbs to buy she also dunno leh..

Rach - Count me in for the donut relief pack... I want 2 pairs...

Btw bilirubin is broken down by the LIVER... not kidney.... (don't mind me huh, occupational hazard)... Haha...

rach: i abit bian tai...i used vvvv hot water...to soak my hanky..

faster...can see effects...LOL...

usually after i compress, i sure see droplets of milk dripping...kekeke

allets: those herbs rach mentioned above all necessary lor...

if u dont wanna buy so fast, can skip the red dates, wolfberries 1st...

but get the dangshen, dang gui, bei qi 1st...cos keep increasing price...scary...

otherwise u may prefer to use those prepacked herbs...but pls note, those pre packed herbs quality not as good hor..

2Ks - thanks! will get the individual herbs this weekend .. dun think getting those pre-packed cos the quality not there..

Rach - pm u ..

btw, any idea where i can get recipies for local confinement dishes / soup? think i better prep recipes for my mum and tell her what i want to eat.. cos see the dishes she cooked for my sis, not much varieties..

today hb on leave brought #1 to cc, then i reached the ground floor of my blk, saw my hb walking back and saw my bus zooming off...so i asked my hb to send me to the mrt. as i was late, i was running to carpark....with hb behind shouting at me to stop running LOL

2ks

actually i oso grab and use my son's hanky, soak in vvvvv hot water, and put onto my breasts....not bian tai lah. its so practical to me

rach

i tried looking for the saltpan but i cannot find. either i junk away during moving or i packed to some obscure place....i dont remember junking it away leh

if i can find, i will whatsapp u ok? else....no more saltpan for you liao, paiseh

allets

i think i saw books on confinement food. in chinese somemore. at popular. they are having sale on books (clearance) and its in those "pile" when i was browsing thru

hope that helps