(2011/03) Mar 2011

Rach, s228 comes with optional infant car seat tt can be attached to the stroller.... according to hb... i nv go read the specs leh, i only see if the color is nice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif]

Zenia: I Hv the infant car seat that can attached to the Capella stroller... But it's kindof small I find, the most maybe can use for 6 to 8 months.. But good la can de detached then can bring everywhere

ya, 2ks... i'm aware of tt too. hb say it's convinent for the first few months lor... then later we'll migrate to a bigger car seat fr 9mth onwards lo, depending on how big my gal grows...keke

zenia> u dun intend to go out alone with baby?? Else u have to consider the weight.. Else how will u go out with baby alone?? U intend to carry in arms or sling or carrier??

So dun say weight is not a concern.. One fine day when u go out with baby alone then ull know..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pupsik pouch

http://www.pupsikstudio.com/baby-pouch-slings/

Anyone else keen??

I just pupsik Rayanne to GIANT and back... As usual, I call it my miracle sleeping pouch cuz when Rayanne was younger, she would KO the moment her butt hit the pouch...

And today is no exception.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

It was her sleeping time but I needed to go for lunch and hence I pupsik her and went out...

She KO from 12.30pm until... NOW...

we went had lunch, bought stuffs at popular, giant, and came home and all the while she sleep like nobody's business...

Reached home I remove the pouch and she woke up a little..

Latched her and she went back to sleep.. Lol...

Although I can't manduca her now, I can still pupsik her!! How great is that...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyway.. Keen mummies, please PM ME.. thanks!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rach, i think i'll prob bring her out in a carrier or pupsik lor, i don drive so to bring a stroller out with her would prob be too difficult. keke, tt the plan for now... if u can pupsik Rayanne then i tink i should do the same too *wink*

Zenia: I use my peg perego out alone, took mrt, drive, up down escalator also no problem la...

I am quite short... So I think 6.5 Kg stroller is no prob at all...

When bb is still light still can sling la, when heavier it won't be too good for your back.

No matter how good a sling is, it will still add on pressure to your back...

Just my two cents worth ya...

Butter> I would think carriers are better suited for babies > 3mos.. Cuz their back and neck not so strong initially...

So 0-3mos would be better with a pouch/sling..

Cuz they can be cradled..

Unless u dun intend to go out at all before 3mos..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

It's quite tiring to be cradle holding in the arms if u are gonna be out long..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pouch/sling ease the aches...

Carriers would be very helpful when babies are older...

Cuz they would be heavier and more straining on the back and shoulders...

Carriers will distribute the weight over 2 shoulders.. And babies get to sit upright... But some old folks would still advise against sitting in carrier at too young age as not so good for their backs... ESP if u are out for Long hours...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I still alt between pupsik & manduca even when Rayanne is older at 6-8mos...

Short distance and near I'll use pupsik...

Lighter, easier to carry and use...

If I'm Gonna be out whole day(which is very frequent) or at least 6 hrs, I'll use manduca cuz it'll be too straining on the back and shoulder if i use pupsik...

I rarely use strollers in fact until I was preggy...

It was more of Bo bian... Then I tried to enforce Rayanne to sit in strollers (before that it was very much when we are taking cab or going out with HuBbY then we will use strollers...) so my sturdy Capella was a white elephant for the initial 8mos.. Rarely used.. Or when I do meet ups need to carry ALOT of bags then I use stroller...

So alot really depends on ur schedule, preference and timing and how big the baby is...

All sling/pouch/carriers/strollers are good and meant for various use on various occasions..

It really voice down to WHAT IS YOUR NEED/BUDGET?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Some ppl no budget, probably have lived with either just 1 of those I mentioned throughout the baby's life and do not own so Many, or dun see the need to have so Many..

Some just used stroller throughout.. Never used sling/pouch/carriers at all... Etc etc...

So its really up to each household's need/preference/budget/situation.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hope my long winded post helped answer some

Of ur doubts..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hahaha... Though I owned 2pupsik, 1 manduca carrier, & now 2 stroller... Not that I'm rich...

1 Pupsik was bought when I was preggy.. The other was a prize..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Manduca was very handy and allowed me to walk abt handsfree and could go wherever I want to...

ESP good when u are traveling.. (strollers may be too hassle and bulky no matter how small ur stroller is..)

Capella was good... My latest WTP hauck buggy is lightweight and practical for current use...

So when need arise, ull probably look for alternatives if u can manage.....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Personal view on bb bjourn is like manduca can go hands free n do wadever u like w yr hands.. Hehe.. N pupsik pouch is cool.. Esp for the beginning stage for children cos they r small n' flimsy'.. I personally prefer pupsik to mim sling cos it doesn't need to b adjusted at all.. Jus put over yrself n put bb in .. U're ready to go!

Mim sling I only started to use when Jav's older cos I was nt good in adjusting the sling.. But nw, it's a gd use to me cos adjustable since I gt a tummy nw.. Every wkend I use it to sling jav to slp in church.. =D rach n cae they all haf seen hw I use both sling n pupsik to make Jav slp when we r out. Dats wen I was still using graco, cos he refuse to slp in it.. Nw with the pooh stroller, he will slp in it .. So sling only use when we go church.. =D

I mus say sling n pouch take the weight off u when u r carrying the bb.. Tts y it's a gd help.. I used to go out .. No stroller only sling.. hehe..Soooo.. It's still up to personal preference to wad u all like.. N hw u all feel comfy w the bb..

On the other hand, I've read reports of slings being unstructured due to the soft cloth they are made of n thus bad for the baby's spine, especially when in the cradle position cuz the spine is slightly curved.

I used a bjorn in conjunction with a pram since Sunay was ard 6 weeks old. I initially he'd mostly be in the stroller n I would only put him in the bjorn when he was cranky, etc.

As he grew older I used the bjorn for hours n hours out with him n stopped alqays bringinger out the stroller. I asked my PD if the bjorn had side effects on baby boys cuz I read smthg about it affecting them as they are 'hanging by their crotch' but he assured me that it's ok if placed correctly.

I also had many slings n 2 pouches (kancheomg first time mummy, bought everything!!) however I never got the hang of adjusting the slings; n the pouches I felt were nor hood for sunay's spine, so slowly gave them all away [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So after so much lor sor-ness; I think slings, pouches n carriers all hv pros n cons, parent has to take the final decision based on wat they are physically comfortable with and their beliefs. This time round, I'll still use my bjorn till I feel baby too heavy n straining my shoulders, then switch to ergo.

Just my two cents [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pinky, same here.. Haf read reports heard ppl saying abt bb's spine being affected or sth.. But I still tried it cos Jav was a cranky bb since young n PDs tell me I needa hold him close me.. Cradle him.. Even when slping.. So frm young, I always felt Jav is a v insecure lil boy.. Even till now.. Dats y he prefer a small n compact pram like graco to a bigger n more spacious pram like lucky bb or Capella. Tts y even till nw in places w lotsa ppl tog like church.. He still prefer me to hug n cuddle him den he'll slp.. Hehe.

Therefore, my conclusion is Same as pinky.. Up to own preference, bb's character n hw long n hw convenient it's to YOU n BB.. =D hehehe.. N I'm gonna get bb bjourn this time.. Haha!

My experience in sling, pouch n stroller.

I started with MIM sling. Although in the initial is a little hard to use, cos no experience. N i bought 2nd hand, so no saleperson to guide me either. but after awhile, once i get the hang, it a breeze. I prefer the sateen material the most. smooth for bb, n easier to adjust the ring.

Then after hearing many mummy recommending the pouch, i also bought a 2nd hand to try. When compare to sling, although, i guess it might b easier for 1st time mommy, cos juz plop bb in. But i prefer sling over pouch cos sling can adjust to different bb n mommy size. n also to individual carrying preference (high, low, tight, loose, etc.) So after awhile, i sold it off n stick with sling til i move on to toddler carrier (patapum carrier).

Whether goin out alone or with hubby, i still prefer carrier over stroller. especially goin oversea!! cos easier, no need to carry stroller up n down, over escalator, through crowds, etc... n my gal easily KO when close to my body. I guess the close proximity make her feel secure? But this is also mainly bcos, since young, hv been carryin her instead of lettin her gettin used to stroller.

When i was pregnant the 2nd time, then i had to stop using carrier. cos can no longer strap on my waist. So we started forcing her to either walk, her daddy carry or stroller...

So i guess, firstly hv to decide u prefer stroller or carrier (b it sling, pouch or toddler carrier when older). For stroller. if alone, ur transport is bus, then will u b able to handle a bb n carry up a stroller at the same time? Else it b taxi to a nearby MRT station.. Then pushing a stroller wont b any issue so long within MRT distance liao.

Juz sharing my experience.

One more thing... Sunay had reflux as a baby so he needed to be held upright alot n I found bjorn helped alot cuz I was handsfree yet he was upright n secure, easy to burp him. The bjorn covers baby's back n head so as a kancheomg mummy I felt secure [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pinky> yah! I also had same concern when I started using pouch initially.. Cuz the spine is curved when we cradle the baby in it.. My mum was concerned too...

But I dun use it for that long hours inside pouch so still okay..

I've never checked nor ask PD abt it before.. (maybe the next visit I'll ask!!!:p)

I was so worried that Rayanne may have a curved spine instead of straighter looking ones.... But I was concerned when I used carrier too... Haha cuz even while sitting upright the spine also looks curved... But I think moderate use la...

Must let them lie flat every once a while...

Strollers the best in this case cuz baby can just lie flat in it for hours... But like u said... Pros and cons Lo...

Cons with strollers will be less mobile and walking longer distances... instead of taking steps need to find ramps...

So yah... Parents, u decide what is BEST for YOU & YOUR BABY!! no one can say what u do is right or wrong so long u know what u want to achieve...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And what is best in YOUR OWN situation...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Poky> yes I agree with what u said... Pouch is so much easier to handle for first time mummies compared to slings..

I had a MIM for 2 weeks while waiting for my pouch to be sent back ( i made an exchange)

I bought a 2nd MIM to try and I couldn't take cradling the baby on every outing.. Very sng...

It's too much cloth to pull and tie and adjust...

Though I agree it's more flexible and can be adjusted to mummy and baby's size and position.. I have no prob using it but didn't like it cuz too much cloth... Made it very hot and I didn't feel the ring was secure... Ahhaha... Always have a feeling the ring let go how.. My baby will drop... Though I know it won't really happen....

But pouch in my Case is so much a breeze to handle...

The moment I received my pouch... I sold off the MIM sling... Haha...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I guess I will try to train this boy in pram from start. Will save money n use bjorn when out in not pram friendly places or traveling as w my first.

I think I will put on weight after al this festive season. :9

How to pass cny without eating more too?!

rach,

actually the sateen material is not that thick, thinner n more comfy than the cotton or pouch. My gal sweat alot in the cotton sling n pouch.

I used the xtra cloth to cover bb if in cold area , else, juz flip to the back. =p

Not sure if older, the "ring" will slip or not. Cos i cahnged to carrier when my gal is abt 4-6mths? cos stable enuf to use carrier, n too heavy to feel comfy in sling... =p

But hubby want this round to first let #2 get used to stroller right from the start instead. Then we wont hv the issue that when she older, she will reject stroller...

so c lor,,, if bb used to stroller, then my sling n carrier b "useless" liao lor... lol

But stil feel that parents shld decide first if they want stroller or sling/carrier first. cos once u buy a sling, tend to made use of it instead of wasting it. then gradually wont use the stroller til like us, pregnant again, n can no longer sling the first one.. then bobian, used back stroller. haha

Fel,

Hankies, i buy some soft hankies from BP, n some normal "rougher" hankies at the bb store in bugis area. the rougher one used for rubbing, the softer ones, i used for the face. =p

Towels, juz normal ones... from OG, isetan during sales lor...

Poky,

where is the bugis store exactly?

Went to bugis ystr to look for it but to no avail. Thot it's opp the guan yin temple but all sell joss sticks etc. Didn't see a shop named cheong choon there.

Lin

Lin> cheong choon is at Chinatown selling strollers all that...

The bugis shop is behind the Fu Lu shou somewhere there one... I dun have the address offhand but I only know how to walk there...

It's a small shop selling bootee, mittens, NB singlets, towels etc... Most stuffs are packed in like 5-10sets de.. So must buy in bulk like that... The last time I went there I only bought a pack of mittens and bootees....

I dunno how to buy things frm these kind of shops de... Lol...

Cuz abit like messy and dusty... I walk ard then grab mittens and left... That was in 2009 la... Hee....

hi rach...thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] seems like quite a lot of peeps have been around a long time...

Hi Kris, yeah the last 6-7mos since we discovered we are preggy ba...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gee whiz...guess it's better late than never. never crossed my mind to join a forum but a friend of mine who gave birth in oct has been talking a lot about it so i figured i should check it out. always good to get some form of "enlightenment" from different individual experiences.

so i'm guessing this is your second?

fel> towels and hankies can be brought frm neighborhood shops... Some are really cheap and good.. Bedok interchange should have many such shops... Some sells like 6pcs for $3-5 etc... Towel can get 3 for $10 or even $3 each kind..

OG, Isetan also can la.. Better quality and more exp.. Like $9.90 each kind... Hehe...

The ones I got frm frm neighborhood shop is softer and nicer to use than those from bbmallonline.. So rough and all out of shape... The wash cloths i got were diamond shaped... Not square Lo.. And so rough...

Got mine frm Chong Pang market... CHIP LEE near the food center.. Cheap and good and soft... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kris> haha yah.. My #2...I always ask my newly preggy frens to join forums too..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Get some extra help & knowledge won't harm..

But of cuz we are not professionals here.. All just sharing our own personal experience and situations...

Just take what applies to ur situation and sieve out those irrelevant info..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can be quite time consuming sometimes to read everything cuz we have real active mummies here and this thread moves super fast!!!

U can go to profiles> preference and opt to receive email notifications to replies to ur post and read frm the emails...

Easier... That's what I do... At least I dun have to keep logging in to check if there's new posts...

Whenever someone post something after u posted, they will send u up to 100 notifications.. If after 100 emails u dun post anything, they will stop sending u emails le... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So if u keep posting every now and then, ull always receive emails and can read frm there...

When u want to post something just click the link below and it'll bring u to the thread..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks for the info rach [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] looks like y'all be seeing me around...lol

just bear with me if it's like things that have been talked about or mentioned.

btw, which doc/hospital are you going to?

Kris> sure..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm going to Mt A..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rach>i see...i'm seeing Dr LN Sim at TMC...was recommended by my GP

Anyone going to TMC or have been to TMC? want to know if it's worth going for the tour they provide...

Welcome Kris! =DD hehehe..

Poky: i agree! the sateen is indeed much more better than the cotton.. hehehe.. i haf the cotton one.HOT and difficult to adjust.. i saw frens using the sateen one, really much easier to adjust..boohoo.. i tried to sell off my cotton one in the beginning but cant..so i jus stuck to it..=(

Summer's mommy: yes..polliwogs still on..

Rach n the rest?? =D anyone wanna join us?

playdate for bbs n tea for mummies!

here's details again.. pls add in yr name if u wanna join!! =D

Date: 27/01/10, Monday

Time: 2pm

Place: Polliwogs (East Coast Park)

(we can hang arnd the park if there's no rain?)or any other suggestions?

1.) lil precious & Jav

2.) Rach & Rayanne

3.) Caecilia

4.) Pinkypink & Sunay

5.) summer's mommy & summer

limlim n hazel!! wanna come??

L3x,

The bugis shop is "Shen Kwong Trading", 269C Queen St #01-246. It actually "diagonally" opp the temple... bside the road to outside.

As wat rach says, the store sell some of their items in "bulk" (half or 1 dozen). But some clothes are also sold in 1 set. depends... at the outside of the store, got sell individual. (tops, pants, etc) machiam like lelong, $1-2 per piece type. but condition may b not as good. Or as rach mention, dusty? But those inside the store, same as any store lor. =)

They also got sell those for infant size clothes, towels, hankies, bloomers, children panties, etc.

So far, i like to go there to buy for my gal the the $2 per long pant as night pants or her panties (selling in half a dozen).

tempted to buy the towels there also. but i alrdy bought it earlier, so didnt hv a chance to buy the towel there. got some quite cute design... =p

lilprecious,

ya lor. My first was also cotton.. usually all advertise "pure cotton" clothes, mittens, etc... so tot , the same applies for sling... hahah... then found out, cotton sling so jiatlat!! my gal sweat like ice cube in the sun.... sateen so much better, sleep so much comfortably inside. also, the ring also so much easier to manage! Actually, i cant remember if my cotton stil ard. cos everything I packed inside 3 large boxes liao.. duno if the cotton inside, or i sold off liao.. cos i bought 2nd hand, so sell off cheaply, not that "lugi" lor... haha..

aiyah... too bad,, today. the end of my HL, goin back to work tmr. else, can join u mommies to polliwogs with my gal as i live in the east... the last few meet up at north, so i skipped... lol. Polliwogs not bad... my gal like it there. =) Remember to bring ur n kiddo socks! else, hv to buy over there...

should i buy wrap towels for my bb? something like those swanddle cloth wraps? i always see ppl wrapping their bb in cloths, but wat are they actually... *so confused* :S

Kris,

Welcome to the thread.

I had my #1 at TMC.

Wld advise u to sign up for a few of the hospital tour to compare, if u hv the time. At least, u can get a better idea of the different rooms in the different hospital. U can c the acutal difference in "size, amenities, etc", b4 making decision. Unless, u alrdy make up ur mind to juz b at the hospital that u currently seein ur gynea at, then no need to go for the tour lor. But since u alrdy seein gynea at TMC, might as well, make the little more time to go for the tour to hv a better idea?

Zenia,

swaddle cloth juz to swaddle n keep bb warm n feel secure only. some use towels, muslim cloths, wraps. depends on ur liking. different material, for different weather, some material thicker, so bb may get too warm if in hot weather.... so long as u feel it comfortable for ur bb, it ok liao. I think.... Personally, i use wraps or terry like towel. Cos it easier to swaddle, but then I b pointin the fan directly at bb to prevent her from gettin "heat stroke" instead... hahha

poky,

thx for the detailed info!

starfruit,

i bought mine frm baby kingdom so it will be delivered in feb. but when i tried out then, i was able to close it using 1 hand. was 24weeks pregnant den. i'm 1.6m only. hee... the salesperson said it's actually not tt heavy. the most 6-7kg. but i like it sturdy so i bought it lor.

Lin

Lx3- is it 6 to 7 kg?..

i oso thot it about 6 kg...when i google..it wrote 8.5 kg..wierd hehe..this S705 can be rotate towards you the direction nt bad..!