(2011/03) Mar 2011

Oh yes.. depends on ur milk output also...

last time before i know, i already bought 6 milk storage bottles... so i also use that.. when the 6 are used up..then i use bags..then when the bottles are being used and washed and have spare empty ones.. then i used bottles again....

initial days dun need so many bottles/bags... its later on... esp if u go back work.. after pumping storing in milkbags defintiely more convenient.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pixie

yes!!! its mummy's preference cuz we are the ones washing it and smelling it.. after rinse off also no smell liaoz.. wahahahahhaa.....

me also not mint person.. nv like peppermint ice cream kind also.. lol... so orange is the next best.. citrus smell.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pixiepixel - ah ha.. its u.. i keep u in mind [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Must make sure got milk then first.

I also heard frens telling me if u get the FM bottles (or isit empty new bottles?) from the hospital, can re-use to store BF milk in future at home.. then we save up on buying bottles.

actually mummies, do u all worried abt the freezer space? i am worried caz freezer need put BM and also food..since during confinement month my mum will be cooking for me and for rest of family including my uncle family..so in total, she cooking for me and 6 more pple...freezer got enuff space meh?

how u all manage huh?

prestorabb

yes the glass bottles ...

TMC will give if u ask lar...

aiyah i didnt like glass bottles and my sis recently THREW OFF quite a lot. i should have advert here so that some mummies want can pick up at my sis place hor....very waste :p

those fm bottles that they give u after discharge, you can wash and keep reusing. actually its better, coz glass warms up faster. so no need to wait long for the bottle to get heated up. just put on the teats and drink direct from glass bottles

Fish, terrible feeling hor??? i already tried standing up to work but after awhile felt aching again..sit also ache, stand also ache...

drinking cold water will cause the backache huh? i didnt know and kept drinkg cold water since preg leh..

how to defroze or warm milk bag? Is it bring down the frozen milk bag from freezer compartment down to the fridge compartment for it to defroze then after that pour out the defroze milk from the milk bag to milk bottle then use warmer to warm it for feeding?

babybride

i dedicate all my freezer space for milkbags and it was full during my confinement months...

my mom who helped me in my confinement just made sure that no food is being freezed i.e she bought enough food to last a day or 2 kind. so all kept in lower portion of the fridge...

remember to dedicate a portion of your lower fridge for the bm...you need the space to store thawed milk and the bm that have not been freezed. i recommend you the chiller part (where you have sliding drawers)

when i moved my bm to my mil's TINY fridge (coz returning to work n bb drinks in the day), she gave me freezer door space ONLY. so can only put 6 big bags of lansinohs

babybride, ya, storage space in freezer was quite an issue to me. It really came to a point when I had so much supply and no space in the freezer. Almost desperate to borrow my neigbour's freezer, but pai sei. Even my friends thought it was vanilla ice cream. Faint.

I also don't quite like having raw food in the freezer with bm, I find the smell lingers around my milk bags. So when my mum shifted in with me early this year, I asked her to keep and bring the fridge over. I'm in a very cluttered home now. Goodness!

rach: i bf for 14 months la...i didnt give up...

i have to stop because i went japan for holiday so i decided to stop before travelling..

this time round i tell myself must be fair to bf for 14 months too...

desitin original there is really a smell, but PD recommended that lor..

but i used super long la...my SIL bought for me one, otherwise i think creamy is good enough...

erm...i also ran out of storage space...i think i prob invest in a deep chest freezer this time round, cos at least can store 6 months...

milkshake: i use both milkbags and bottles... milkbags to store frozen milkbags..

but i suggest u dont buy too many first, u can try those glass bottles first (u can get from hospital when u discharge, then can the caps from the pharmacy there), temp use that 1st...

i have friends that bought many packets of milkbags end up all never use, cos she eventually gave up on bf...

I've got one qn on breastmilk storage bottles... how do you mummies label the details on the milk storage bottles??? Cos unlike milkbags there are labels for you to write...

Just now someone was asking abt north mummies meetup right? If its after work for dinner, I don't mind =)

annie

bingo

dun warm the milk in the bag directly; always pour out your desired amount in a bottle and warm accordingly with whatever equipment you have.

if your fridge is not very cold, can bring out a day before. if your fridge is very cold kind (like mine coz its always empty haha), then bring out 1.5days in advance into the lower portion of the fridge. remember always to seal up the bag with food clips etc so that your bm will not get any "smell" of the things u have in your fridge (eg cooked food or meat etc)

prestorab: yes, u can request for empty glass bottles from hospital...but then hor...each bottle storage is 90ml only, and u cant pack to the max cos expansion when heated okie...

babybride: 1st month i no issue...cos hor...supply not like water yet leh...dont have enough to store, only enough for feed...

but by the 2nd month, i have alot to store, my fridge is 2 layers, so top layers i put BM, lower level i put food..

so this time round, i believe it will be more, so i intend to get a chest freezer to store...

super busy today! cos tmr got company wide event and today settling all the logistics and last min stuff..

but managed to read through all the posts.. informative on bfing.. but dont have the time to jot down.. maybe when the time comes, ask you all again..

Rach & Pixie - pm you on Desitin cream and Lansinoh milk bags.. TIA!

regards

xiaofeizhu

my sis used stickers labels

for me, i just go by memory. i space/place them in such a way that they go by rows and columns and those further in are those older ones. once enough to be in a milkbags then i'll pour and ziplock. then i write the dates on the milkbags

IF i really cannot remember, i will write down the dates of the outputs on paper according to the rows & columns that i have "created" in the fridge. then i magnet the paper onto the fridge

errr makes sense?

chen: me too.....i ran out of space and end up i gave to my dogs...end up both of them put on weight..keke..

xiaofeizhu: i use paper and scotch tape to tap the glass bottles...

then later when supply really alot, i just use milkbags...

i used blue eggs milkbag...

erm, i didnt store all the way to 300ml la, cos my bb cant consume that amount also..

then if i keep defrosting the BM, the the daily fresh one will have to keep again...

so usually i only give one feed of frozen, the rest is fresh one.

i have a separate tray that i bought from daiso to place my milk whether to defroze or fresh one..

then defroze meat one, i usually put in the lowest level..

shit...now start to think...that area is going to be occupy by milk again...now i put drinks one...sianz...

fridge how big also not enough to store...

babybride,

ya lor!!! but i try to force myself to have some short short walk after sit at my desk for 1-2hrs... then those exercises i learned during childbirth course, try to apply on it... to reduce.. but seems no result!

hahahaha

2ks

^5!

i have like half a dozen of trays (those like a storage plastic box comes with rollers) meant for handy storage in fridge from daiso...i use them to store the milkbags in the freezer compartment & the chiller compartment. keep my milkbags neat n tidy, and from toppling down (avoid leakage, if any)

Thanks all mummies for the reply on milk bootle and milk bag.

but I am confused... when we discharge from hospital, they will give us free bottles?? what are the bootles for? we need to ask them, then they are give us?

btw, am i coorect that only bag can be freeze?

Thanks Rach & Pixie!

I was tempeted to by the Pigeon 1 yesterday until I saw the refill pack being so liquid... then I remember that we mentioned before! Thanks thanks!

Pixie, how do you thaw out frozen BM, do you use the traditional method of hot water in a mug or need to use those milk warmer kind?

pixie: with rollers ah?? good? i think i need to get somemore too...average can keep how many bags?

cos if i wanna get chest freezer, i need to pack nicely...label properly...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4873941.jpg]

Ya.. same with milkshake, is that means bag is the only one can freeze, how abt storage bottle like this???

yup yup...i used pureen mint and i just started orange...actually both also ok la...

if no mint, i get orange..

i going to stock up more...

milkshake: when discharge from hospital, the glass bottles u have to request one, they wont give u if u never ask...

the bottles can be used to store bm...

last time when i discharge, i was given many packets of disposable teats, so i just attached to the glass bottles and feed direct...

glass bottles also can freeze, just that dont pack to the brim.

2ks

u use blue egg rite, its smaller than lansinoh by a bit, so i dunno how to agar for u...

if i fill the lansinoh to brim with my bm, i can store 6 of them. coz box is rectangle in size, its 3bags x 2 rows...the have handles to let u pull out the box. like drawers like that

later i free take pic n show u all

fish

via cups can be frozen and reused

they recommend that you throw them away after x number of usage but i throw them away ONLY if they get out of shape. coz they can be sterilized too!

tres

i THAW my milk in lower portion of fridge. but i WARM up my milk with hot water in a thermal mug. i didnt use any bottle warmer lar

but i think lots of mummies used bottle warmers here...

2Ks,

then how are we going to tell them to give us the glass bottles free huh? paisey leh.

how many you manage to get from them last time?

dunno if Thomson will provide or not leh?

Fish, you are fast to get the bottles. =)

pixie: yes, if free take pics show me....i need to think of how to reorganize my space and make use to the max...

i also use normal hot water to warm up my milk...

i have a thermal mug that i bring out to warm up my BM too when i am outside..

pixie: u used what brand thermal mug? i used to use thermos brand, but think its spoilt already...trying to find another fat type so that can squeeze in the wide neck bottle...but cant find leh..

bee: i bought mine from metro at $6 but heard KP is cheaper? $5.40 or something?

someone mentioned last week..

milkshake: i just asked the nurse that push my baby to me, that i would like to have glass bottles when i check out...

the nurse quite nice, she passed me one big bag...

but of cos no cover one, cover i bought at pharmacy downstairs, think 3 pcs $1+ or $2 (cant remember actual price)...

yes of cos TMC will provide bottles...i give birth there de

Thank you confirming the method of de-frozing bm, pixie! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi I've got low blood count according to blood test. Apart from iron supplements wat else can I take?

I get fainting spells too. Can take chicken Essense?

Great info today here abt bf n products. I'm those lazy sort of mum whom dun really stock up. Cross fingers indun have fussy bb. I used all sorts of diaper my hubby buy after I give birth. The rest i order from Cheng choon like pigeon wipes. Even Nepia can order.

Milk i stand by enfa last time cuz my friend work there but this round I'm open to try new brand.

Bf I can't remember wat my plan was but it was prob bf at hospital plus some supplement fm. I got some fm from hospital to bring back. But I latch on day n pump at nite. Lucky my first can inter change. Dunno abt second.

2ks

some cheapo thermal mug which is a company sponsored gift...no brand one lar! its not very "thermal" like tiger or zojirushi though. i throw a thick cloth over the bottle to speed up the process

i use the same mug when i go out too!

bee

pureen sells 5.95 at kiddy palace, cheapest in town for "non-sale" periods

any mummies know if ntuc card can purchase metro vouchers? if yes, then i can get the vouchers and buy the detergents..hehe. can accumulate points at the same time.

jialat...my fridge to start of with is already not bery big caz last time tot only 2 person in house somemore dont cook much..so buy small one loh..now panic loh

freezer now without any baby already pack w pizzas, ice creams, frozen food that can go into instand noodles etc.. i dono where got space to keep the BM...went online to search for mini freezer but cant find leh except those commerical ones

then when my mum comes over for confinement mth...die loh..her own fridge at her hse already filled to the brim loh...

somemore she already tell me she wan to buy food for a few days one caz my hse further away from mkt as compared to her hse..faintz..

bee: KP is kiddy palace...

pixiepixel: the thermos one i am using come with a cover lor...so sometimes i just pour hot water inside if i need to warm only one feed, less one item to bring out i.e. hot water flask.

but so far i cant find a thermal cup that is as fat as thermos that can place in wide neck bottle..

unless endo brand

babybride

i bought a big big fridge coz i know family can expand from 2 to 3 to 4 to 5 to 6 pax(plus your parents or in laws)

so i got myself a huge one hor, and its always empty hahahaaaaa

got good n bad lar

babybride: there are smaller freezer in the market...like these 2 i show u..

but also provided u got space to keep leh...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/board-post.cgi?action=posting_upload_form&what=show&img=4874078]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/board-post.cgi?action=posting_upload_form&what=show&img=4874081]

2ks

u mean a typical wide neck bottle like avent or pigeon?

my thermal mug can. but its like a normal mug, so its kind short. cannot cap it close if i insert a bottle leh!!

somemore the lid is not very airtight kind leh. so i borrow hot water everytime when im outside. and i slot the chilled bottle of bm into the mug. saves space....

pixie: yup...the pigeon kind..cos its very fat la..not all thermal mug can go in lor..

mine also cant cap it close if i insert a bottle la..

what i meant is i keep hot water in the mug, so when i wanna warm, i can just use the water in the mug, no need to bring extra water flask lor.

bo bian liao...think i got to buy the thermos brand again...i dont quite like it...but thats the only one that can fit my fat pigeon bottle

2ks, u know roughly how much the ones in the picture costs? i went searchin even for rent freezer but can only find those for commerical which are really big ones loh..

I need to prepare space caz i dono how long my mum wil stay at my hse leh...scarly she stay til i go back office after my maternity leave...caz she kept saying she dont feel i can take care of baby by myself..sigh