(2011/03) Mar 2011

Angelina:

I do experience the sharp pain once and gynae says its due to the plancenta position is low and for me is 3rd bb, so more common to experience.

if you experience this again,do lie down flat to rest.

Babybride:

It happen to me before too, my aunty say maybe bb dun like the food I took. Dun dare to try again on the same food though.

I've got horrible constipation. Tried more juice, brown rice n oats etc. Sigh the bad side effect of pregnancy for me.

Btw wats a cinch?

I guess I missed all the gatherings while I was away ?;) how did it go?

Heads Up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Philips Sale 30 & 31 Oct at the usual Toa Payoh venue. Go early to get baby stuff cos goodness that booth is the most crowded!

I wanted to reply to Tres but when I finally finished with all the readings, I can't rem the date she posted for the Prenental course in Dec. LOL!!

Tres, when do you think we should sign up for the Mount A Ladies card?

I think I will too since there is:

10% off prenental course and

S$100 off one beded/

S$80 off two beded.

The membership fee for the card is S$98 for two years so there are some savings lah but not much.

Rach, thk you for arranging spree etc. I know it's alot of time and effort.

BB Rabbit, can I use your discount card as well for the maternity clothings? Hope to get some for weddings and yrend events. Where's the shop you recommend btw, coz after reading I can't find back your posting liao. Keekee.. Thks.

Philip is also Avent.

They have milk bottles which are quite popular.

I intend to get the steriliser for milk bottles! But I usually wait for their warehouse sales.

And first-time mummies do take note not to buy too many milk bottles, coz I read not all babies ok with what you buy, so just buy 2 for a start to test water first bah. =)

2Ks, choice of hospital is KKH... Thanks for addin [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2Ks, can you help me update?

Gynae said 99% boy. Haha..

This Sat is my detailed scan, and my 20th week.

I think I felt afew baby kicks yesterday night.

And Hubby's in luck to feel 2 of it too. Hahhaaa..

I kept saying: bb, say hello to daddy too and it just happened.

Also I noticed there were kicking when I lie flat on my back instead of side. I suspect bb don't like me flat on back. Haha..

mummies - which brand's milk bottle is better? wanna get myself ready for the expo sale..hehe. i heard some will leak, some difficult to close tight, etc. any recommendation?

milktea - you mentioned dont buy too many. how abt e newborn starter kit? is it best for 1st time mummies to get?

also, which brand's steriliser is better? do u all buy e warmer too for food n BM?

Hi pixie,

can upload the what to-buy list for bb? thanks!

talking about milk bottles, understand Avent ones got diff teats for diff bottle sizes.. usually for new born, do we need to get the 0+ mth de or is it ok to use the 1+ mth de? cos their 260ml bottle comes with the teat that is for 1+mth de..

regards

pixiepixel: I would like to have the list too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

milktea: is the Avent steriliser cheap during the sale? Tink i saw outside selling at $150.

won_mummy: my frien reco mi B free milk bottles..

won_mummy

usually mummies here either use avent or pigeon...i think thats the majority. avent the teats cannot buy from other brands. coz their teat base is big...but if you buy pigeon, you can get their wide neck bottle (also wide teat base) or standard bottle (which you can buy other standard teats and slot into the pigeon bottle...eg if you dont like the pigeon teats)

got good n bad...

some mummies buy glass bottles...coz they say heat up faster. most likely these mummies have feeding-demanding babies lah...but the response is when the bb grow up, mummies dun dare to let bb hold their bottles coz scared fall n break. then forever your bb wont get to learn how to hold a bottle

got good and bad again lor...

sterilizer

buy pigeon! its BIG enough for pump parts + bottles + teats

if you get avent, the capacity is smaller.

imagine i use the avent electric duo pump, the pump parts + bottle set (1 set) barely can fit into the avent sterilizer. but with pigeon, i can fit in nicely all of the above and add even more stuff

i didnt buy warmer. i just use a thermal mug, pour hot water, put in the milkbottle, throw on a thick towel over the bottle + mug...very fast warmed up too liao...my own DIY method

this thread move so fast, i haf a hard time catching up...

been so so so busy with no.1 going to childcare, falling sick etc...

plus busy with work...

so are u all going to the Philip sale? Wonder if I can ask anyone to help me get the powder to descale the steriliser?

won_mummy: I think Avent bottle will leak. sometimes very frustrated... but my girl is ok using that so I din change.

Won - cos I use the avent pump so I have advent bottles (need to get new ones) and then my #1 was super fussy (at 4 mths when I had to express and give her the bottle) and I had to get like nearly every brand from NUK to Tommeetippee. Tommee is to me the most annoy cos I can't see the amount of milk clearly but that's the bottle she LOVES and still drinks from. Sigh.

It's a common complaint it seems. So buy a few bottles but not too many.

esther - wat is that? they sell separatly kind? brand is B free?

pixie - tks! oh, thats a v good idea for warmer! so sounds like pigeon is a better brand for us now?

btw mummies, last week when I was at john little marina square, i saw them selling pigeon brand's pack, think its for 1st timer. comes w sterilizer, warmer, 2 med n 2 small bottles, selling at $99. (just in case you need)

Shall go expo this weekend to see if can get cheaper than this.

sunesis - avent will leak? which is e brand that i heard when close will have a click sound? avent?

I bought the avent digital steriliser set..6 mins to complete sterilise and can see amount time left.. it comes as a set with 2x 150ml + 2x260ml bottles.. currently selling at $189, but got it at $140..

my sis prev used pigeon steriliser.. in 3 years, this is her 3rd steriliser.. she mentioned the fault is always at the switch.. either cant press down or dun jump up..

eh, not so sure if avent has the prob of leaking bottles leh.. cos both my niece & nephew all supporters of avent bottle..never heard of bottles leaking leh.. avent bottles looks nicer than pigeon ones.. heehee..

regards

milktea: yours updated long ago leh...

won_mummy: heard pigeon sterilizer always got the base plate problem, but some swear by it..i am using avent sterilizer.

i didnt used a warmer too...i find them too slow la...then baby u know, cant wait one...i used traditional method, mug + warm water...very fast lor..

initially i also used avent bottles, cos i like their quality. but cos their bottle is soooo fat, i have to find bigger mug to bring out to warm my BM...too much a hassle...so in the end i change to pigeon...

my son using pigeon now..

sunesis: think the descale powder not sold separately leh...i ever ask but the sales said they dun sell? dunno how true is that

Milktea, the classes starts 2 / 3 Dec.

I think the Mt A card, just send in the application form w the cheque can liao! Think must get the card before we sign up the antenatal classes, ifnot got no discount.

I also bought the Avent sterliser during an Isetan sales.

So the philips sales will also sell breastmilk pump by Avent? Is it good? better than Medela?? can give advice?

tres: individual preference on pumps...heard more ppl prefer their manual...

my 1st pump was avent single duo electric pump...and i condemned it...

backflow and breakdown twice...

i need half an hour to pump using that...whereas for medela only 15 mins done...

my pigeon sterilizer never spoilt leh. must know how to take care. cannot let the hot water condensation pool at the bottom of the sterilizer (outside, not inside).

anyway my avent sterilizer i bought pre-loved so its not digital. but the more water i pour in, it takes so long to sterilized!

for mummies who intend to express at work, and have microwave in their office, i recommend the avent microwave sterilizer...

i use that for so many mths...trusty

coz you pump 2x in office. some mummies (like my colleagues) dont bother to wash and wait till later in the day and pump again. but milk gets hardened and stuck there. else some of my colleagues they use hot water to pour over, and re-use for the 2nd pump.

for me, i wash after every use and sterilize it when i want to start expressing

oh btw, my list is missing bottle, fuits & vege cleanser. i recommed pureen. its thick like mama lemon. dont get pigeon. so watery and you need LOTS to wash away milk fats!

oh dear....looks like its a 'heng-suay' thingy on e brands we buy.

esther - tks! hmm..but i dont recall seeing it selling outside. will make a trip down to look around to compare

pixie - tks for ur list. v detailed. just realised there r so much stuff to buy!! lol

abt sterlizer again, how abt not using any of this, use traditional way of boiling once every morning? haha...which is better?

won_mummy, I heard from my friend that "Dr. Brown" milk bottle is good as it really reduce alot of colic and is like breast-feeding, nipple (teat) is softer than Avent one. For those who wanna bf, you must remember to choose the right nipple(teat) so that it can be as closed as your breast nipple in order not to confuse the baby.

I'm gonna get Dr. Brown's milk bottle for sure. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2ks

avent duo is double electric pump

uno is their single electric pump...do you mean the uno? i hate the uno...so wasting time...

i used their duo...also chop chop in 15mins. i like the hard suction

for teats, i will definitely get the nuk rubber ones. downside is, i need to change it frequently coz it gets slimy or whitish

mummies just remember how to sterilized your teats:

-if you are getting rubber teats eg those looked brown, sterilize them in hot boiling water ONLY

-if you are using plastic teats eg those looked transparent, sterilize them best in sterilizer

Aaa : thanks for the info. I never experienced it before through out my 1st pregnancy. Will check with my gynae on my next appointment. Thanks again

Butter - Cinch is a kind of modern tummy wrap which will help to regain back your flat tummy... u can google for more info on Cinch Tummy wrap... Very popular in US

Feeling so down with runny nose, sore throat n irritated eyes. My dog also had swollen face n vomittin since last nite. Took mc already but later hav to bring her to the vet.

Mummies, can we take manuka honey now to help me in my sore throat?

Lin

Pixiepixel, thanks for your list.... Gosh, seems like there are ALOT of things to buy! oh no, there goes my slack weekends!!

2Ks: If using Medela pumps, can we switch to Avent bottles? I heard that certain bottles matches the pump and vice versa, so much determine which pump to buy first right???

tres

not alot actually. looks like alot but if you go to a fair eg taka baby fair or kiddy palace, almost 50% of the list stuff can be settled within 1 shopping trip....

u reminded me...i have home furniture/fittings to buy AND baby stuff to buy. there goes my weekends....already very bz liao now dunno how to squeeze out time

Angelina:

I didn't experience this during my #1 and #2 too. Gynae advise not to sit or stay in one position for too long too, got to move around abit. Also from sitting position to standing got to do it slowly, else will feel pain too. Hope this helps.

Hi Mummies, i heard Philip having sales on 30 and 31st at their office in toa payoh next weekend. My friend just sms me and tell me. So if you getting Avent pump, bottles etc, maybe can wait and go their warehouse office next weekend. I am waiting for my friend to send me the brochure

BB Rabbit - They are two different brands.. =)

Shirley - PLease share with us the information when u have it k... Thanks in advance

Talking abt pumps..do you normally use single or duo electric pumps?? im still considering..

last time used duo but only 3 wks, so wasted $$.

pixiepixel: ya..the uno...i forget le, cos i condemned it...and got my monies refunded..

i also like pureen washing detergent...mint flavor good...is orange one nice??

i have friend using dr brown, but after the colic period (below 4 months), when she wanna switch to normal brands...she has problem leh...so end up 20 months still using dr brown colic...

20th mth bb wont have colic already...

bee: i swear by double pump...save time lor...

Just now i was in a bus, suddenly had a sneeze.. Ouch!!! The impact SHOOT all the way to my vagina, so damn painful, i had a shock man..

Usually nowadays if cough or sneeze, it so called goes together or affected our uterus (what i mean is can feel the impact), but just now that incident really scare me man... sudden sharp pain when sneezing..

tres: medela can't fit avent bottles...

there is no issue that the breast pump must fit with certain milk bottles la.

cos pump usually will come with its own bottles. after pumping just pour into your desired storage bottles...

only initially when pump into bottles, u can direct feed cos supply not as much.

but when your supply increase to 300ml and baby only taking 120ml, you eventually still need to transfer the milk out into other storage...

no issue for me, i am using medela pump but i pour into avent bottles cos can store 300ml and comes with a sealed cap...i also use avent via cups for storage...

hope you understand what i means...

wah pixie,

after I saw u mention abt pigeon steriliser, I so tempted to get new one.

yah the avent steriliser very small... but i dunno am i going to close shop... shld buy new one anot..

me and my hubby still debating abt closing shop.

the gynae dun wanna confirm the gender, but most likely girl...

hey 2ks,

i ever bought the powder separately before. Must go and queue up at the spare parts counter.

but i very lazy to make a trip there because its very ulu and i dun drive.