(2011/03) Mar 2011

chen: thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and you are most welcome..just hope u all wont feel fan to keep seeing my update.

those confirmed gender one please inform me as well hor...going to create another column

Finally lunch time, waiting for my surprise lunch from Coll. busy mrn. With the poking pain, my mtg was dispruted.

Lailai- If there is fat transfer, i offer u the 5kg.

Pixie- Hug hug. Me too. I m always ard 50-53kg. Now i weight 61kg. The nurse as well as the gynae also make the same comment, o u dun look this heavy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

just wanna share some info i found online about avocados. for ladies with MS, seems like eating them helps.

Avocados are also rich in B Vitamins which may help with morning sickness or other nausea, and the are high in folic acid - essential in preventing abnormalities whilst the baby is growing.

They contain monounsaturated fat - the 'good fat' and are free of cholesterol and sodium. The avocado also contains the most dietry fibre, with 60% more potassium than a medium banana.

i had some this morning and it seems to help my MS. you can put the fruit in a fruit blender with ice and then add some honey. quite nice.

BB Rabit: taking your 5kg with thanks ;p maybe i should start a fat bank.

Avocado milk shake>

add milk to the fruit n some ice... Without ice also can...

Thick creamy and rich!! It's even nicer if u add pure cocoa or gula Melaka....:p

Talk abt weight;) I hope in another 2

weeks when I go back to see dr Adrian for my 4 mth, I will see the gain in the weight scales! Cos now ( touchwood), that my MS has stopped for 10 days, and my appetite increase better.

But do u gals feel that u get hungry easily???

Cos since ever my last horrible MS was over, I must eat my breakfast n lunch n dinner in time, if not, my mind will play a trick to tell me to vomit like that and I have to control myself!

Also, do u all also feel the pulling at lower abdomen getting more tight? Or tense??

Now as I m lying down, I feel better than i walk

andrea, hmm i ate 1 slice durian cake plus many many durian cos my papa keep buying mao shan wang every weekend haha, but i tell him to stop buying le to be safe. cos me and hb both are tall genes, if bb continue growing at this rate, i am worried abt the delivery haha!

spongehat/lailai, i can also spare u 5kg! sighhh. actually i read that 1st trim not supposed to gain alot of weight de, even zero weight gain is fine de lor, so u girls dun worry. 2nd and 3rd trim confirm will gain de. So if 1st trim u dun gain is good, after delivery less pounds to shed ma!

pixiepixel/BB rabit, sayang.. me too!! ytd i felt so disheartened after seeing the 5kg gain, then when i went for the scan, gynae says i am not fat that's why easier to see the gender too. I almost hugged her haha! After that hb also ask me to eat more and "grow fatter" so bb got more space to do butterfly stroke in my tummy - faints!

rach, wow u lost 20kg after delivery hur - good job! Your 1st trim din gain alot compared to me leh... dun worry, maybe after this delivery you'll be even slimmer than after #1. that's what happened to my friend, cos she says looking after 2 little kids is much much more xiong and she lost alot of weight hehe!

airmez, u r super funny!!!

Avocado? Tastes nice or not? I wanna try it too! Appetite not very good today. =/

Audrey, ya I'm still in week 11 nia...so really can't wait for trimester 2 to come! I want good appetite like Airmex! Your HUBBY very funny leh! Butterfly stroke somemore! Lol.

Chen, hehe. *wink wink*

Linda, I've been getting hungry easily all the time but I don't have appetite yet gonna squeeze some food in. Very xinku. Milo n Ensure are my best friends. *hugz*

I got voucher from Mothers Work to let go at 20% discount. Valid until May 2011. Let me know if you are interested.

my gf hor...1st pregnancy she also stuck with alot of weight, but after 2nd pregnancy she lost till left 3kg pre pregnancy leh...so envy..

she said due to sweat during confinement...

she didnt bath for 12 days and then she wear sweater at home...bring baby go see PD also wear sweater go out leh...bao ba zhang...

wonder i can do that or not??

Brand new set AVENT UNO SINGLE ELECTRIC breast pump. With 1 year international warranty from Aug 2010.

Throw in free adaptor for singapore socket as this is a US Set.

UNO can be used in 3 ways, manual pump, electric and battery operated. Socket head is US parallel pin, voltage can be used in Singapore.

Interested, please PM me or email to [email protected]

Lailai: hmm. actually avocado doesn't have much taste. it tastes refreshing bah. that's why if you add some honey, then will have some sweetness to it. it's also quite filling. it's my new bff now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Milo can take a temporary backseat.

Linda: i'm in the same boat as Lailai. i get hungry almost every hour but not much appetite. but gotta force myself to eat something or i'll be nauseous.

audrey: actually i can't wait for my appetite to return so that i can enjoy mooncake festival in peace and start piling in the calories... kekeke

2ks

u sure bo??

my 1st preg i lost all the weight gained, and even more. not due to sweat but due to bfding leh...i was even slimmer than before i got preggy leh!

sweat can lose so much weight meh? theres only so much water & waste you can sweat out mah...

pixie: i dunno leh..i just went zoo with her last week..and she look so slim lor..her baby only 1.5 months old...so envy sia...

pre pregnancy i was 45kg..after give birth and bf for 14 months, i am stuck with 10kg extra...

still 55kg leh

2ks, yr gf's method very extreme leh. Singapore so hot...wait kana heatstroke leh....

I think exercise is the best way to lose weight! Will regain my jogging regime after confinement!

Spongehat, okay. I may try over the weekend. Let u know if it works for me! =)

2ks

pre pregnancy i was 65 then i gained 18kg till 83kg...then after i deliver, i lost all the 18kg within 4mths, and after continuous bfding, my weight dropped to 60-62kg...

that was slimmest in my whole life. once i stopped bfding, i gained 1kg within a month! sad sad...then slowly gained back to original 65kg...and then slowly to 67kg. been 67kg for very long liao. heng no weight gain since i knew i was preggy

lai lai: she ok with it leh...but it is really fast. 1.5 mths left 3kg to go leh...

haiz...what to do...i got fat genes

pixiepixel: when i look at my old clothes, i was wondering how come so mini de...now aiyooooo...

i didnt lose weight even thought i bf so long leh..maybe cos i pump exclusively instead of latch

2ks

i pump exclusively oso leh!!

i can tell you, as long as you empty ur boobs, it doesnt matter AT ALL whether you latch or pump...confirm + guarantee 100%...

i dont know why so many mummies customers telling me pump exclusively cannot let down lah, no milk flow lah, blah blah...can one de!

pixiepixel: i cant empty my boobs leh...if i empty i need to buy extra fridge...LOL

who said pump exclusively no let down, i have several let downs leh...

must testify that breasfeeding really helps lose weight faster. My frens who bf, slim at a faster rate than those who didn't.

Oh yes, advocado milkshake is yummy! And it's good food for us and baby. Like rach, I'll make my own on most weekends and top it off with chocolate syrup or gula melaka. Most Indonesian restaurants make this as their dessert.

2ks

wah lau eh, i tell u hor, my lansinoh milkbags customers, they have common grouches

1. no milk (most frequent qn)

2. cannot let down

3. why milk output drop

i think so many email i wrote, so many sms ive typed, can compile to instruction manual liao...

btw, i sure empty my boobs. my fridge is big to start with and its empty most of the time so i store all my milk in my fridge...yes there were few times i had to chuck away some milk....but.....

got empty=got produce milk=your body consumes more energy=lose weight faster

no empty=produces lesser=body dont need so much energy=no lose weight to the max

so i'd rather lose weight and buy extra fridge if need be :p

Talking abt weight gain, haven't gain any weight though 1st trimester is almost over, still at 42.5kg. Have started eating better, only feeling giddy once in a while.

Ahem, sorry ah...first timer here...know nuts about BF. What is let down?

And I always hear my colleagues saying they no milk so give up on BF....how to persevere the BF journey?

Andrea, u r so slim!!!!! What's yr height?

pixiepixel: besides lasinoh u have other brands? been using blue egg and i think its cheap and good..

to me, i think a good pump actually helps..and of cos hardworking. some ppl su kak su kak timing pump, of cos no milk la. our breasts very funny ma, u train them to produce milk at this time, so they are like factory at this time they will produce milk ma.

my freezer really packed to the brim during that timing...my kitchen dont have extra space for those deep freezer la..

i dont throw away my BM, i give to my dogs..hahaha! dont waste ma...

Yah, me same as lailai... also knows nuts abt bf. Why some mummies choose 'latch' while others choose 'pump'? kum sia, kum sia... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2Ks: Give to dogs? why dun treat ur hubby 1st? kekeke... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

andrea: i can transfer some fats to you too...u are so skinny!

lailai: let down means like tap splashing u know, just imagine as a mini tap (aerola) shots out milk...

lailai

when its time, you come look for us in here, we sure encourage not to give up yah?

most commom mistakes mummies made was they tried hard but no milk so they stopped. actually milk will come in eventually...(different body varying different time/period)

therefore, never give up even when you dont see milk!

for full explanation of let-down, see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lactation

Gers- I m feeling so depressed, moody and tired n crampy........just wan 6pm to come fast.

Pixie/ 2k- Good to have u gers here. So encouraging. I hope i got milk when my turn come.

Ooh this BF talk is informative! Like lailai and airmez, i am an absolute noob when it comes to BF too.

2ks, so that's what let down means. I think i saw a scene in the movie "Grown Ups" where the mum had a let down, though hers is more like a hose than a mini tap lol.

andrea, oh my u are so light! i think the only time i was 42kg was in primary school oops... please eat more! :)

2ks

i only bring in lansinoh. blue eggs i tried before. their storage limit is very small...less than 200ml only rite? and they leaked easily (when i used them). lansinoh i can store up to 300ml per bag, which is quite a lot if you have over supply of bm

airmez

many reasons. i think the most common reason why ppl pump exclusively was because we have difficulties latching our babies onto our breasts. latch or pump still the same effect - you think of the long term goal: your bb is to drink your bm. thats all it matters. pump or latch; your bb also drinking your bm

most mummies (hardworking ones) latch liao and pump out the rest. this way, we produces more milk.

i always tell my customers, you control your brain, not your brain control you. you tell ur brain how much to produce, not the other way round

airmez: there was once which i dont want to waste the milk so hubby drank it...LOL

my dogs always very excited when they see MILK!

latch-pros: convenient, anytime, anywhere, no need to wash bottles, no need to warm it. bonding with baby

latch-cons: wouldnt know how much bb is drinking, on standby always, no one can help to feed/take care if you are not around, hard time making the baby switch to bottle.

Starfruit,

I have not buy yet as i am not 18th weeks yet. You have to be 18th weeks above to be eligible to buy.

My sis-in-law bought it for $420 ( $320, one time cost, for protection for MTB until delivery. $100 monthly for the yet to be born baby. It is like buying life insurance for the baby and with coverage since first day of born.)

airmez: some ppl pump is because bb cant latch properly, nipple pain, nipple problems like short nipple, inverted nipple.

but pump can monitor how much baby is drinking...

during the 1st 2 months, i pump and latch baby, latch is more to snack, cos i have one short nipple, so baby can only latch on one side...but i wanna try and feel the bonding, so i mix both.

until 3rd month, i give bottle 100% cos i want to get back to work, dont want baby to get use, and also wanna monitor how much he is drinking so that i can gauge the timing too...

I latch 24/7 after 1st 3 mos cuz no space to keep my EBM at all.. Pump n throw.. After 2 rounds of throwing I decide to stop pumping. Kept my pump n latch full-time..

The most easiest career of BF...

Take off bra n feed.. Finish wear back bra..

I mean remove the hook only la.. I wear Bravado ma...

No washing, sterilizing, cleaning, drying needed..

Super fuss free.. Even right now as I'm typing this.. My #1 is latching.. :p

Waiting for more milk sample to come then I can wean her off... If I ever get to do it... Lol...

let-down actually is the hormones sending signals up to your brain, and your brain will send signals for your nipples/breast muscles to start eject the milk...

the TMC books (a set of 3) quite informative (although outdated), those who goes for the FBI will get them. one of the book touches on bfding (i think written by wong BB) and it explains almost everything

bb rabit: all mothers will have Milk!! It just that how much only...to me my logic is if hardworking, drink lots of fluids, sure have milk de...

i super encourage bf de...i guide a few ppl on bf already...but too bad, they eventually give up cos they feel its take up too much of their time.

Wow, thank u pixel & 2ks! Very very useful and informative for first-time mummies. =D

I have a gf who is super into BF. Let her son latch till he was 3-4 years old! But during BF, u can't get preggie? That's what happens to her. No menstruation for 3 years!

ive actually been thinking - if i could latch on my #2 this time round....would i do total latching? but like what 2ks said, i would have a hard time switching bb to bottle when i go back to work.

my #1 didnt had a hard time switching to bottle coz he was given the bottle at 2wks old.......

hmmmmmmm thinking, thinking

most prob 50-50. from start, latch in day, bottle feed at night

2K> I agree with the pros n cons u mentioned EXCEPT the need to know how much baby is drinking.. During prenatal class, the teacher was saying... There's no need for us to know.. Inshort, it's none of ur biz how much baby is drinking.. When baby us full, she/he will unlatch...

So no need to worry...

So I never bother to know how much she drink..

Enouh she will unlatch.. 3 hrs later I latch again or earlier or later... But I'm almost with her 24/7.. So I can do this la...

It's really tiring la... And no ME time.. But after 1 yr also used to it Liao..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lailai

yes and no lah actually. it depends on your body. for the first few mths if you pump or latch totally, you should not have menses, thus you cant get preggy (natural contraceptive)....but some ppl wont get their menses back even their milk output drops; some do

pixie: i dont want to freeze 300ml...cos son wont drink 300ml that much per time...usually i freeze 180ml per time...so i defroze one pkt each time...easier for me..

me opp, i use lasinoh, it leaks twice...so i switch to blue eggs...but pigeon milk bag is the best i find, no mess at all..

rach: u are suppose to stop bf when you are pregnant leh...think it contract something...its not healthy for the other inside u...

latching is more or less a habit to baby...like human pacifier...might take some time to quit

Lai lai> u didn't hear me?? I'm still latching my girl... And I'm in this thread!!! So it's not true that Bf won't get preggie...

It depends on when ur body starts ovulating.. Once ur body starts ovulating, u will have menses or not, and u will get preggie!!

My menses came one month before I was preggie and I knew my body has started to ovulate again...to me.. Ovulation means my body is ready for another kid...

Just didn't know so zun... And so fast.. Hahahaha...

I only have ONE menses since Nov 2008..

My menses returned after my girl was 8mos and it never got a chance to return again.... Hahahhahaha...

Pixel, thanks! I'm clearer now...=D

Rach, WAH!!! U r AMAZING can! I'm speechless. U so zun ...can buy 4D or toto already! *mouth agape in disbelief*

2k> latching contracts the womb..

But it's so far so good... Difficult to wean off tried n failed so let nature take it's course...

Slowly introducing FM Lo... Else only end up I quarrel with HB everyday cuz he doesn't allow his princess to cry one.. She cry only I kena... So i sacrufice Lo...

I have frens fren who BF till birth.. Dunno how she do it...

Dunno if I will do it... Hopefully not.. Hope to wean off by 2nd trim over....

pixie: u can have a mixture of both...

rach: u do not need to know how much baby is drinking cos you are with baby 24 hours...

i am not always with baby...i need to monitor the timing and how much he is drinking so that i can pass the info to the infantcare teachers...

they are not there specially to take care of my baby only, you see...they got timing one.

and latching i find take up too much of my time...baby average takes half an hour to latch...and if i pump out, i take just 10 mins...

time is precious to me...