(2011/03) Mar 2011

Hi Fish,

i just read abit, and dare not scroll down liao... the bb is so sweet and cute, too heartpain... cant risk to burst out crying in office...

I want to join in the MUMMY list.

Nickname:Flowerly

Home:Tiong Bahru

EDD:29th Mar 2011

Gynae:Dr Paul Tseng:

Hospital:TMC

BB#:1

I have checked all sorts of gender calender. They have the same results. Will know soon when the time comes......

Anybody did Prenatal Testing for Down Syndrome? Wonder is it necessary?

I wonder what was the first feeling when you found out you were pregnant?

>>> I was very tense, sad and stress out as I was full of worries. I worry about baby safety. How to raise him up? My figure as well. No more pretty clothes for me.

>>>But after few weeks, I started to get better. It seems that emotions get over me.It is like a roller coaster.

Fish, owe u some updates on the FBI, i've checked my previous hospital bill. I had a $60 discount for hospital ward (4 bedded) and 5% off professional fees. Total, i saved abt $138 on my hospital bill.

Had my NT scan yest, I signed up for the SBI and got 10% discount off the bill.

The goodie bag's not too bad. They've revised the parentcraft books and they're very useful reads.

Puan Sri,

I also roughtly read, i only focus on the photos, it said something like, this BB in JB got 100++ of tumor all over the body, then BB went for operation, but in the end didnt manage to survive, BB parent carrying the BB before she died.. and BB juz died peacefully!

maybe my explaination not very good! but it is a very very touching real thing, and and i'm itchy eyes and hand, go look at all the pics.. and i cried infront of PC early in the morning... now eyes sore sore!! stone!!

Fish, i saw the pics in ur link...such a sad story..realli pitiful..the bb only survived abt 7 mths if i read correctly

Don cry too much u will affect the mood of the baby.

Cynthia

Yes, agreed that many SAHM are to feel tat way and I'm not really that bothered with it. I see it in a different perspective.

We are there to nurture our kids, cos at such young tender age it is where they starts to pick up and learn. They tend to model after someone close.

We are there to witness every "First" thing that they do, lift their head, flip, stand and walk. All these little things are sweet memories to us which is the joy of motherhood. I dun wan to be away and not doing this or that for the little ones. I learnt and baked their 1st birthday cake, sew their 1st night sleeping gown. etc. So I find it worth being SAHM even if I dun have the financial abilities to bring them for shopping spree or send them to Montessori.

RE: Why so many Kids

Some may just like one, some may like many, it's all dependent on individual's preferences.

I personally like have everyone sitting together for dinner. Especially so during festive seasons, like X'mas, CNY and even bdays. It's where I call my family n home .

I had a friend who's a single child, he once told me about his ordeal and I kind of felt for him. His mom was sick and dad still works. And he works in the Ministry of Home affair, and shift time is very long. That very faithful day, he returned from work in the evening and saw his mum on the floor, turning blue already. He could not revive his mum. He reprimanded himself for not getting home in time. He was angry that he did not have siblings to look after his mum when he's at work (he's a bodyguard to someone impt) no way he can simply leave work with notice. He felt that the burden of taking care of his parent were just on him. He felt lonely. He told me if ever he's got a family, he wants more kids. He doesn't want the role of filial being held by just one kid.

morning ladies.

have been feeling good recently, no cramps, no sickness. now getting worried. i think i am getting paranoid.

Now at the clinic waiting for my NT scan and then see my gynae. How long does it take for the oscar test result to come out huh??

Me me me...im going for the blood test in nuh next week. My gynea adviced me to go for it..so im okie one. Dun worry so much..

Ah. Few hrs huh. Ok ok. Hope I will get to know the risk soon.

Bee - oscar test is a combined test of NT scan and blood test + maternal age to calculate the risk of having a down syndrome child.

Hi Flowerly,

Welcome to the club.

As for the Prenatal Testing for Down Syndrome, I be doing it next Sat. My gynae will do for all her patients. Understand some gynae will look at the mothers' age, etc to determine whether to do the test or not.

The 1st feeling when I found out I was pregnant? hmmm... I couldn't believe it as it was not planned and I bought 2 different brand test kit to test. hahaha!!!! Then after both shows positive, the feeling was shock, excited, etc and was like why? how come? when? all the ???? came out. After 1st check-up, emotions get better.

Same lor, worry about figure, complexion, etc. But most impt, be happy and stay cheerful and dun think and worry too much.

oh ya talking abt figure..remember to find a good jamu massage lady to do the post delivery massage. it realli helps big time :>

Val,

I already booked my massage lady leow... hee hee, kiasu. My mum was saying I crazy, confinement lady have not book yet book massage lady.

Bee,

I still drink lemon tea just that request for no ice. Only stop drinking my daily coffee but drink tea instead.

thx gals...haiz..feel terrible need to restrict intake and yet not comfortable..haiz..

btw, u gals started applying the stretch mark cream??

Which type/brand you recommend??

btw, saw a m-t-b colleague heating her lunch in microwave oven.. can meh??

i dun dare to eat microwave food when im preg...feel not very good..hmm..

bee,

I started the stretch mark cream immediately I found out I pregnant, i.e, around 3 weeks. I using Clarins Stretch Marck Control cream.

As for microwave food, all along I dun really like it as find the food taste different after being microwave.

bee,

i started the strech mark cream 1 week after i found out i pregnant too!

anyway, same with Panda, i'm also using Clarins Stretch Marck Control cream.

oppps...i still taking my own sweet time..haha.

my hb saw my stretch marks so wana me to apply fast...i gave up actually as i had some after #1.

hmm...okie, tell my hb to buy since he is the one asking me to ask u gals...haha!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi, just to check, can i travel to thailand this sat? I am 8 weeks pregnant as of today. have to travel for work...

going to see gynae tmrw..

Panda, u got good massage lady to recommend?

last time i tried baby bellies not bad but i was thinking to find another one cheaper. hw much ur lady charge u?

Val & Bee,

I booked Rosita and read some review in SMH forum said she not bad. She charge $450 for 7 session. This is her blog

http://www.traditionaljavanesemassage-rosita.blogspot.com/

I got another contact named Siti, my friend used her for her 2 birth she said she is good but her price is also more ex, if not wrong is $620 for 7 session. I can give you the contact if any of you wants.

Alternative, you can check out below few website :

http://www.malayheritagejamumassage.blogspot.com/

http://www.jamumassage.com/packages-prices

http://www.originsjamumassage.com/Jamu-Postnatal-Massage-Package.html

I guess the stretch mark is also depends on individual. Some applied alot yet still got stretch mark, some didn't really apply and no mark.

i used Palmer's cream and no stretch marks too.

THanks Panda for the info abt Rosita. i rather go for $450 than $620..too costly liao..

Moshi Ladies- This thread is moving so fast. Was not well last 2 days, having cramps. Feeling better after injection. Looking forward to my scan tom.

Personally I salute to SAHM. U gers give up so much for yr little one. I wann to do that, but due to high expenses/ medical bill of love one, i cannot do that. As a working mum, i guess i will miss out alot more, which money cannot buy back.

As for stretch mark cream, i have yet to use any. Order from rach with some mummies here. will use when arrive. Currently using normal body cream, if not, i cannot tahan, can feel the stretch.

Wow, so fast book massage lady liao. Me yet to even settele confinement and who to care for my little one. Initially my mum say she will help me, with the maid. But now, she worry that she cannot handle. HAI....Shall stress over it next wk.

anyone ate the XO fish noodle at Holland area? Not too sure if we can enjoy it cos the XO soup is quite strong. Yummy...

can eat?

Hi Jazz2,

The books said alcohol is bad for bb... so i gave up rum and raisin ice cream just now (sob). Tat XO fish beehoon is NICE!! but better refrain bah. Super strong XO - hard liqor leh.. I think they pour the XO when they about to serve, so dun think the alcohol has evaporated when we eat. love their prawn paste chicken wings too. YUMS!!

ya, Airmez and Panda Hut,

I also crave for the XO bee hoon soup. but i think Airmez is right, they do pour in XO when they serve...

hey BB Rabit, hope ur feeling better. is this ur first child? my mum will help me take care of my gal and my newborn next yr together with the maid while i do confinement. so my mum will cook for me the maid do all the housework. wont be tough for her then.

Hi Jazz2, the holland XO fish noodle has shifted already. i don knoe whats the blk no. but i knoe where. its along the mrt DOVER line under one HDB. beside Singapore Poly.

i doubt we can take XO..its alcohol ..no-no to alcohol for preggies :p even though i oso like the holland XO fish noodles