(2011/03) Mar 2011

val: some mummies opt for c-sec with epi, wonder will they have the feeling of cutting or not?

the nurse forced me to use pee pan...OMG, so uneasy lor.

another thing i scared is POO lor..when discharged, i asked for lactus syrup to assist me..when wanna poo, so scared the stitches will burst or something lor..

now think of it, i have to go thru everything again...wonder why we woman have the courage to do it again & again

I just experienced extreme abdominal pain & realized it was actually my diarrhoea. Sigh. Hope it doesn't affect my baby.

Bee, I had the same experience last week. I tried eating some snacks every 1 hour and it somehow curb the nausea.

Annie! I agree with tt Description of csect! Got visitor mk joke also cannot laugh!

After cscect u can try to hv a natural birth for subsequent pregnancies- is called Vaginal Birth After Csect. But depends on lots of factors plus most gynae will prefer fr vbac no epi n no induce. Scared give epi then if the uterus stitches got rupture the mother also cannot feel then night b too late.

pinkypink

after my c-sect in the evening (done at 6pm), i could walk the next day liao. the pain was not much. i cannot cough or sneeze. and in the middle of the night, i had a coughing fit. but i LUN and LUN until my face red red...the nurse came in to take my BP saw me, panicked, tot what happened to me

after i c-sect liao & then after my parents left for the night, i quickly run to the toilet and wash my hair, wash my face. so technically yes i got up few hours after i c-sect....

M

ppl choose c-sect for many reasons (breached position, problematic labour etc)

recovery should be same? coz my sis went natural, i went c-sect and we both could walk at the same time

pros and cons of both, really

2ks, can feel the skin being pulled n stretched but no pain. I did csect with epi.

My gynae try to give as few meds as possible, this time sure ask fr lactus. Shall go write it down man!

Starfruit - I've been using the same ziplock bag for the clothes and diaper changes for the past year ahahaha. So no, it's not costly. Can get from ikea as well they have the big and med size ones.

Pixie! U good! My csect ended ard 4pm so next morn then I tried to get up, almost died'!

Day 2 I bathed by myself, but must keep remembering don't bend, stretch, etc. Otherwise crazy painful! So difficult to wear panties! Cuz cannot bend down! Hahaha

Hi Annie,

I tin you can pack your things if not too heavy and put into box..and you can leave to them to pack into bigger boxes and shift.. but honestly then, I would "geng" MC that few days when the co is shifting.. so as to avoid seeing and involving in it..tin about it..

tidying wardrobe and packing light clothings I tin is fine woh..it not like you are shifting the wardrobe ..should be ok..

Hi Val, means after c section, still can natural birth?..hmm..seems like both natural and c-section got painful portions ..scary...

pinkypink: how about the scar...how big was it now? does yr gynae support VBAC?

i tell u hor...if i never take lactus syrup, i think i wont even dare to poo in one week lor..

thats why i told my sis, must remember to take from dr upon discharge

I heard sometimes it depends on situation. My friend wants natural but in the end, delivery is emergency c-section. I didn't ask the reason.

pixiepixel - those are reasons, health reasons, good reasons to do a c-sect NOT oh I don't want my hips to get bigger... that's just silly.

starfruit12: labour is really scary lor...no matter natural or operation...

but dont think so much ya...it will go naturally de.

2ks - as i dun have contraction pain before, so hor, with the epidural... i machiam a painless delivery and i dunno when to push... in the end, forcep

pinkypink

did u wear binder on day2? i started to wear a binder liao so i guess it helps?

yah...6pm c-sect. parents visited me...9pm left...i run to toilet to wash hair (coz i scared my mom dont allow me to wash hair if i go home - she do confinement for me mah)

ur "cannot wear panties" very FUNNY :)

Starfruit, VBAC depends on what the gynae advise u..they can judege the situation better for u if u can do VBAC.

M, ya i think if a mummy is healthy and no other problems with the pregnancy, natural delivery is always the best...recovery is much faster than c-sect.

i was lucky my stitches recovered in abt 5 days..i have a fren who normal delivery had big tear and the gynae did the stitch badly had to go back hospital re-stitch !!! i tell u its her worst nightmare..sit on the balloon cushion thingy for weeks..

come to think of it i think i was lucky to have smooth delivery with fast recovery..i pray for the same thing next yr.

2ks, the scar can see la but not very ugly. Some parts almost invisible. But the sides quite ugly. The csection scar recovery depends on ur skin actually, hw well it heals.

Now my gynae says if everything ok then can discuss vbac but tell me nt to stress ab it nw. Lol

sunesis: i tot epidural can be adjusted rite...like by the time baby wanna come out then can reduce the epi isnt it?

otherwise the nurse will tell u when to push??

better than me, i keep wanting to push...that results in the natural tear

about poo hor

not that i dun dare to poo. i just cannot poo leh. NO poo, even though i got food intake.

i ate 1/2 a papaya DAILY

so in 2 days, i eat 1 big big papaya, just to push out the poo...i think too heaty?

i cant pee after i delivered. coz the pee was in a pouch. when they took out the tubing. then i got urge but i can feel it flowing thru my tract....but just cannot come out *headache*

Tt time by the date of my scheduled csect, I was alr 4cm dilated n felt almost nothing! Lucky tt was the day I had chosen to deliver anyway!

HI M, thks for sharing, will knw where to get the ziploack bags le..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi 2Ks, sounds scary for sit timers cos dont know wat to expect..seems both methods got flaws..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

HiVal, thks for sharing..

pixiepixel: papaya also cant take too much if u are breastfeeding leh. u didnt eat it cold hor....

next time u can try lactus syrup...its helps...

pinkypink: aiya..4cm dilated..so wasted that yr baby was breeched position, must whack backside man

2ks, tts why! stubborn right! Until nw still stubborn! Lol

I tried all the different positions n exercises to turn the bb but he refuse!!

2ks

i got chronic problem with poo

i cannot poo properly. i ever finished a whole bottle of lactus and my poo oso never came....i poo like once in 3 days kind

only dragonfruit & papaya helps me to move my bowels.

vegetable, fibregel, lactus, prune, banana = all cannot

my bowels very stiff wahhahah

got 1 time i had a bad pain in my stomach. so i went CT scan. the doctor said, i need to clear my bowels coz got lots of waste there...stuck

sometimes i didnt poo, until my lower back hurts. coz the colon expanded with waste and its very "sng" backache

pinkypink: then u must start telling #2 to be good...turn properly..LOL

pixiepixel: oh..sorry to hear about that..must be tough on u..

i all along dont have constipation problem de...and i think my #1 also inherit my this point...better dont be like the father, a few days never poo only, he will fart, think the mosquito will also die upon smelling it lor..

hahaha.. talking about poo poo.. my cllg has opted for a normal delivery.. then suddenly her bb poo poo inside her tummy.. then no choice she had to go for C-sect already..

2Ks - i choked on my biscuit! hahaha

My placenta was low for #1, thought for sure will have to go for c-sect, even heard some malay ladies can massage the placenta up BUT that's a HUGE NO NO, it's very dangerous. Anyway, so every night my husband talks to #1 from 20 week asking her to help Mommy push up the placenta and at 36 weeks it moved wayyyy up, more than enough space. Whew.

starfuit, thanks for the clarification. I won't be involved in my company moving coz normally they move office during weekend and by professional movers, no need to move ourselves. We just need to pack our own stuff into boxes and name the boxes.

Thanks for the clarification about VBAC. I think it really depend on individual maybe. For my friend, her gynae advises her for all c-sect. No natural birth anymore. Also, I heard c-sect can only give birth to 1-3 babies only, depending on individual body again. So those who want to have more than 2-3 kids better go for natural birth.

And yes, there are ppl who opt for natural birth but half way through can't give birth naturally for some reasons then had to go through emergency c-sect. For this case, the mother has to pay two delivery fees (natural + c-sect), am I right? This is what I heard. Pls correct me if I'm wrong. If really so, I feel the person is very unlucky to have to go through two types of pain + pay double the cost!! Gosh!

What? bb will poo inside us? I never hear of this! I only heard of the following cases:

1)the baby is entangle by the umbilical cord so end up have to c-sect.

2)the baby is too big for natural birth.

3)the baby is in wrong position.

4)the mother no strength to push further, send to emergency c-sect.

2ks, my EDD is 6th March, not 2nd March anymore. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val

I dun have scar leh, totally gone by one year. Even the skin tone is the same lor. Wear bikini no problem, can't tell or see any lines unless you stand with 2 feet to search for it.

2ks

As far as I remembered, after my epidural, I was immediately helped to lay down on the operating table. In fact, I was sitting on the table when they administered the epidural. Not painful, cos the contraction and kicking and punching by the gals were more painful. I had this very nice nurse who let me hug her tight when I was given epidural. thanks to her for the comfort that she knew I needed most.

Within 5 mins, lower body all numb liao. Den doc walked in.

Doc: Hi Catherine! wah you look very tired leh!

me: Of cos! gastric pain and contraction for so many hours liao.

Doc: Dun worry, it's be over soon!

Den I saw him holding something in his hand, thot it was a kidney dish with some cotton balls.

Doc: Cat! Can you feel what I'm doing?

Me: Yeah! Yeah! I think you swiping my tummy with cotton ball hah?

Within 10 seconds from my reply, I heard my elder gals scream liao!

I thot : Opphs! it wasn't cotton ball, he was cutting me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And next thing you know, within 45 seconds, my second gal is out.

After that, everything was in a daze for me until he finishes collecting the cord blood, and stitching me up. Although they are premies, both gals' APGAR score was 9. So I was very assured that they will make it.

Annie - Yes... Baby's first poo called MECONIUM... It's super thick tarry kind, accumulated over 9months..

When in distressed during labour, they will poo... Once it happen, it almost always result in EMERGENCY C-Section... Cos if baby inhale the POO POO... They can suffocate and deteriorate till we know what la...

I've read before, there's this mom who's son inhale meconium, went emergenct c section... Her son on anti biotics for first five years of his life... Imagine SHIT/FAECES going into your lungs... Severe pneumonia and many more scary things can happen!!!

ST

They just want to check if both parents has it and if they do, got to be find out whether it's Alpha, Beta or Delta. You can google to find out more. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Finding out just to find out the probability of the baby being inherited. At least, in future any thing happens, the medical experts knows immediately what measures to take rather den doing the guessing game.

Annie,

My brother was delivered covered in green poo years ago so it's possible to have baby poo in you, just before birth when the water bag broke. So even before they washed him, they put him beside my mum to let her take a look but he was all green. My mum just said take him away den they start extracting the poo from his mouth and nose.

It has always been a joke in the family, that my brother was born out of green poo.

Lin

I went thru emergency c-section for both my no.1 and no.2

n0.1 is because in distress n poo meconium ... the fee for the delivery plus hospital stay is close to $10,000. The gynea, never give me choice in the 1st place... I told him i wanna to try w/o epidural n he told me that he only deliver for me if i take epidural...n he said this during my 37th week !!baby is not even ready n he advise me to induce just to convenient himself and during delivery he is like emotionless... n even say im FAT...oh gosh!! so I will never go back to this gynea again...

no.2 I wanna try VBAC, my no.2 gynea respect my decision... however baby grew like 700-1kg during the last 2-3 weeks and head also bigger than average hence after 18 hr of trying natural n w/o any epidural .... i give up cos mid wife n gynea say too long may stress baby, so go for emergency c-section again...this time fee is $5,000 plus only... im grateful to my no.2 gynea for giving me lots of time to try for natural birth when i ask him for more time , so although my 2nd time is more painful but i feel in control n more fulfilling... i experience childbirth...only my no.2 head too big n my Pelvic too narrow... but at least I tried... =)

No.3 this time must go C-section... no choice

ST,

Usually if wifey have thalassemia, Hubby need to do blood test too. If both party have it, they will advice e percentage bb will get or not. I am a carrier but lucky Hubby not. But unlucky is my eldest gal got some red or white blood cells issue. PD only advice to do further blood test when she slight older and now everything still alright.. Usually thalassemia only occur in women not men lo.

Finally gotta chance log in. Too much post to chase and I only have a quick wink. Too tired as e gals not in school lo. Actually natural birth or csect let natural take it's course. If no choice then go for which felt good to own. I will hope natural as mine all natural without epi. Faster recovery too. I m those can't sit lay still haha.

Mrs Teng,

Been SAHM not easy too... Will indirect let people look down this how I felt after I m a SAHM till now... 4yrs Liao! As we have no earning power and can't talk much. Well maybe some people financially fantastic well so jolly can afford plenty of stuffs. But my case no choice with on help. I also don't understand have so many kids for what at times haha!! Let them make us anger with all sorts of tantrums, sickness etc hai.

Good night mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]