(2011/03) Mar 2011

annie, i don think u shld stop walking when near to EDD unless u have spotting often before ur EDD.

for me walking is the only form of exercise left when ur heavily pregnant at 8-9 mnths. unless ur gynae say totally no walking and mus be bed rest.

cause if u don have spotting and its very near to EDD n ur cervix haven dilate, it is advised to do more squats..squat up n down...so that ur bb will faster be born...good for ur cervix too.

sunesis: boy usually wont drag till edd i think.

mine was delivered at 37 weeks..

fish: i have friends whose water bag leaks/burst when they are not at home, so they use the normal sanitary pads to absorb the amniotic fluid. dont need special pads..even after give birth i also didn use maternity pads...cos those loop kind, i dont like it..i still prefer the wings type..so i used my normal super long pads after birth.

ok, when waterbag burst, the water is like warm warm de, then it wont like gush out...it will flow slowly...just that u feel wet so uncomfortable. i wont say its like peepee, cos sometimes pee flow can be quite fast too...

hope that clarifies...again, this is my views only..different people might think differently.

Sunesis, so far heard from frens n the elderly, boys usually deliver earlier..but of course we cant always rely on these hearsay..its all up to God:>

my gal was delivered 3 days b4 EDD. i was talking to her weeks b4 EDD telling her to take her time and come out when u like but pls come out when the gynae is in SG..cause my gynae was on holiday over the weekend b4 my EDD.

n guess what? i think my gal understood what i was saying cause i entered hospital on the day my gynae flew back in to SG and gynae rushed down to hospital and within 5-10 mins my bb was ready to push her head out...i was so excited at that time !!

omg thinking back of that very day im so touched n happy when i see my gal pop out...very exciting!

val/sunesis: for me, my gynae advised me not to walk too much...cos i had a pre-term labour at 32 weeks...i nearly delivered a premature baby..

but also almost near due date, i walk like a penguin la...so i rather dont..LOL

M

Not scaring you but you have to see how old is your #1 leh. A friend of mine gave birth to #2, so decided to send her 18 mth old son to CC, ended up falling sick, den kena HMFD when she was still doing confinement, ended up both #2 and mummy hospitalised bcos they also contracted.

There's pros and cons of sending kids to CC at tender age.

~ they'll learn to be independent and socalise more.

~ they run a higher risk of getting sick, which some believe is letting their kids be immune to virus, which I totally disagree but the concept of being immune to virus means you got to be exposed to the virus before you can get immune. There's thousands and one strains of flu virus around. An individual can't be immune to all in their lifetime. Only benefit of exposing kids to virus is that, when they grows bigger they are not likely to get it again but that doesn't guarantee that there won't be new strains mutating in the near future. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

~ learning at home is no lesser than learning in CC. I self-taught my gals with flash cards, trigger memories with flip cards, etc. Both my gals can count from 1 to 20 before they reach 2 already.

2Ks - damn broke already with 1 maid from monthly pedicures I have to reduce to once every 3 months and no more branded bags, ppl around carrying kate spade and coach diaper bags (but I think waste of money) I got a funky purple nike bag as a diaper bag and it's awesome.

But yeah maids are expensive and the hb is spoilt lah. He grew up with a maid, I didn't, so he's used to someone serving him, I still rather get things myself. Just that I am so grateful that I have someone to walk my dogs and help look after my baby when I'm working, cos the grandparents are still busy having fun, visit twice a week max.

tks mummies...so much info abt delivery n how e waterbag flow is like...i was curious also..hehe...tks to fish n annie to pop e question..hehehe

i haven thought abt delivery, but now thinking abt bb's name le....lol

btw, do u all feel skin more dry nowadays? my face used to be oily, but lesser now. then, my back used to be clean, now lots of pimples. is it normal?

Ms Teng - [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I can't afford to stay home if I could I would till they got older.

Won Mummy - yup normal. I have small spots all over my face, damn annoying but I think it'll start to get better soon. Just scrub your back I guess ;)

mrs teng: for me i dont have a choice but to send my boy to IFC. the kids need to go school sooner or later. even later they will also contract the virus. infact, from what i seen, those send to school when baby was 18 months, more tough cos difficult to get the kid to get use to going to school, separation anxiety. and also their recovery after illness takes very long. compared to my #1, initially he always sick but now even if he is sick, he recover in 1 or 2 days (touch wood of cos).

i have 2 friends that send their kids to cc once they turn 18 months. 1st one, 1st month only go school 1 week, remaining sick. 2nd one, sick every week...

u are sahm, so you have ample time to teach yr kids..i have to leave it to the school to do it...

again, its up to individual preference...

Mrs teng, ur kids can count 1-20 b4 2 yrs old...my gal now 15 mnths still don wan to say ABC and 1 2 3 even though i teach her..

she doesnt go sch, don knoe if i shld start worry..she always luv to play don knoe if she absorbed learning all the things she is supposed to learn

For me I choose to work coz I guess I am not used to no financial freedom. That said becuase of #1 my monthly facial becomes once in blue moon, manicure .. I can't remember when the last time I did Liao, so sometimes may be able to afford the facial n spa etc but no time due to #1

When I got cut hair if when my #1 does his afternoon nap n I sneak out while hubby keep watch.

I use to have pre natal yoga weekly , pre natal massage , facial when I carrying my #1 .. now no such luxury due to #1

Unless I sacrifice weekday lunch time to do but I can't function without proper lunch

2ks

True, it's individual's preference. My hubby is the type who wants me to take care of kids, no CC for them type. Anyway, for me it's more cost effective getting maids den sending my girls to CC, cos it's double the amount. And even if they go CC, I still need one maid to help out during weekends and off-CC hours. So the cost of the additional maid is lesser than the cost of sending both gals to CC.

M

You use big Nike bag, hahaha I only use those huge linen bags from those EGO friendly organisations. Very good to use. 2 years on and still using the same bag.

At least you have PIL coming over to help leh, my PIL dun know disappear go where. Everytime got lots of activities one. Friend's gathering are more important then grandchildren's welfare.

Last time my confinement, I din do leh! EVeryday got to go hospital to deliver EBM for 20 days, den got to wash my hubby's clothes, my clothes. Den when babies come back, I got to do marketing during my confinement time, wash bottles, wash babies' clothes, my own clothes, bathe for babies etc. That time no maid I very cham leh.. PIL just come and see babies, dun help in feeding or changing diapers. All the do, sit down there and watch tv. Somemore must serve them teas and snacks. Den they keep saying, go rest lah. We'll look after babies for you. Yeah rite! before I could close my eyes, baby cry liao and they come and ask me, WHAT TO DO HAH?

WTF! I demanded for 2 maids from my hubby.

Hi 2Ks,

Thanks for the update list yah!

Can update my EDD is 10 March.

Just went for my gynae check-up and was given a jab as got some spotting last week. The gynae quickly gave me a jab and lucky the spotting stop and today went back for 2nd jab.

Val

Got to talk to her more frequently, encourage her to talk, even if she's talking nonsense, pretend you understand her and she'll learn to talk even more. At 15 months is a little to early. Repeat her favourite rhythm with her, mine started off with twinkle twinkle little star.

If you like, send her to playschool for a short period of time. When she socialises, she'll wants to speak up more. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello Mummy's out there, me having my 1st bb and EDD is on 03/03/10 =) not sure will change as time goes.. now bb is 13weeks "Happy" can't wait for next month check up to see how bb doing =)...

Last check up have spot me having high Sugar when me went for the pee test.. =.= got to cut down sugar intake...really bored whenever come to eating... Me tried to look for some cooking book that teach some easy healthy food but didn't seem have lei..

Any Mummy's able to intro?

thanks mrs teng for advise i guess im kiasu wan my gal to talk a lot. haha. she loves music and always shake her body to the music but she don sing.

Hi serene, i guess u have to skip sweet stuff like cakes, durians, ice cream...

healthy cooking wld be soups and steaming n simple frying. every week make sure have soups and steam fish lor. thats wat i tell myself to eat haha

when ur sugar level lower, then maybe u can ask ur gynae whether u can indulge in cakes or ice cream occasionally.

Hi Val, yalo.. trying to avoid those having "lots of Sugar in it" and normally me just buy the product without looking on the Nutrition Facts chart now have to! a bit headache haha..

Me use to eat all kind of fish but now keep reject it, worry bb can't get the all nutrition from the fish.. hai.. Happy for you able to eat fish..

Serene, don worry..ur having morning sickness now right? i oso hated the fish smell and cant eat last time...but for this my 2nd pregnancy i can still eat fish...

after ur nausea goes away u shld be able to eat fish.

Val, Hopefully!! currently very tired already MC for 2 days =p so sick to go to work everyday.. Wah this your 2nd preg good news =)

O man.. me just throw out while tking pills... shit man...me hate tking pills..

M: me too...i dunno how many months i didnt do pedicure lor..now everything buy is spend on the kid 1st...

mrs teng: i will still work, its for the benefits like medical, cpf, medisave etc...

i think i will go crazy if i stay at home full time.

but its really nice of yr hub la, to get 2 maids for u...

Fish Hu, haha.. sorry typo me think me throw out just now blur liao..... my last check up is shown 3 Mar 11.. tml turn 12week.. =)

Wow, I just back from lunch and saw a long comments! Gotta take some time to read through everyone...

Val, thank you for the info.. so I shall see my bb is boy or girl, if it's boy then I will take 1 week b4 EDD and if it's girl I shall work till I deliver or just take 2 days b4 EDD.

won_mummy, me too! Having lots of pimples (or acnes) at my back which I previously don't. And also the front part, near my neck have a lot of pimples too! My mum told me when she was conceiving my brother, she also had the same pimples at the back and when she conceiving me don't have, so she is guessing that I might have a boy if I follow her genes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yah Fish, my EDD is 6 Mar 11. Turned 12th week yesterday. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

do you all ladies wanna know the gender of ur bb 1st, before giving birth? My ah lau said why not keep the gender of bb as a surprise? know it on the actual day wor? O-o

val

i think 15mths abit too soon for ABCs an 123s.

knowing your ABCs and 123s, to me, imho not very important. i think soft skills like independence, social, manners etc etc more impt...good foundation, very ez to learn academics

but thats my opinion. i believe in learning through play. not worksheets, and spellings n stuff

so i tend to be more relax with my son. i realised the more relaxed i am in terms of his academics, he more confident he is; thus picking up his ABCs and 123s faster and easier

different parent different teaching methods hor

pixiepixel: hi 5! i also not into academics. my boy at 16 months can already speak words...some words even 2 syllabus words..i am also letting him learn thru play and feel and observe..

so now at 19 months, he can already call my dog name

AirMez, haha.. sound fun to know the gender later on.. but me think alot of mummy's can't wait to know the gender before the bb is born =)

me back from teaching.

very tiring cos of my dizzy spell and my vomit got worse last nite again...

Tdy - I hope I don vomit again but I kinda of feeling shivering again..

CHeck with you all

Does anyone here know if we can do renovation to our house if preggy?

Provided I move out?

AirMez, one of my colleague, she and her hb likes to have this surprise, so she will ask her gynae not to reveal the gender to them. However, I prefer to know early so that I can prepare the bb stuff like clothing, toys, nursing room decoration according to the gender. I don't really like unisex clothing... Also, another good thing is more time to think of the bb name.

Air mez- your hub same as my hub but I still prefer to know soon so that I can stock up all the clothings since my no 1 is already 10 yrs old.

so is a big gap.

Now stocking up boys and girls clothings from my sisters and friends and other toys too.

Annie

When I preggy with my boy, my face very ugly like swollen like tat and ba ba type

With a lot of pimples and acnes..making me very vexed every day when i looked at the mirror

my hormones started when at abt 2 months + and everyone say is a boy. so is true, is a boy.haaaa

serene - if taking pills will make you vomit, did your gyane advice you to stop for the time being?

My gynae told me to eat only folic acid till now

Fish- did Dr Adrian prescribe any supplement to you already? My MIL is asking me not to eat any other except from the doctor. So there goes all my GNC one......

pixiepixel, i havent do worksheets yet..i jus sing songs wif her..let her watch cartoons/hi 5/hello kitty...read to her...teaching her manners very hard...cause my in laws spoil her until i go crazy...i teach her to say please and xie xie. she say please but don say xie xie.

if she die die wan something to touch or to play wif she don say please..she cry n shout till someone give in cause my in laws always give in to her when she scream !!

u knoe my MIL luv to carry her when she was infant..then now she everytime see my MIL mus die die carry even though she can walk. carry her can be 1-2 hrs non stop...

oops im venting my frustration here liao..hope u don find me too boring !

Linda,

not yet lei! only folic acid.. think now we still at our 1st trim ba! i think when we see him nx time, he will congrat us to enter 2nd trim and also might intro some supplements to us!

actually i bought one bottle of supplement from GNC too lei! quite expensive lei... but my colleague ask me not to eat, it better to eat all the supplement given by gynae!

so.. i also dono.. how!!! haha!!!

Linda Lee, o dear take care k.. try to rest many as you can =) try to eat some fruit..

Abt renovation your room.. some old saying try not too.. Do not do anything to the room will affect bb and u too =)

linda: i think if u not around still can do renovation at home..its just pantang..just avoid if u can...no harm avoiding rite..

last weekend, i installed a wardrobe in my son room (bo bian, cos getting more & more stuff), so i hide inside my room with #2 and pretend to zzz...LOL

val: no worries...i believe alot of us here have issues with PIL lor..they simply dont understand...

dont understand why they like to carry so much..

heng i am blessed to have a understanding MIL

Linda, thanks for the advices!! try to make the pills into powder type tml see can work on me a not..

Will advices gyane whether able to stop tking pills on my next check up.. or there other way haha.. so throw face lo.. simpler task also can't tk.. =(

Re supplements: I'm taking fish oil as of yesterday cuZ gynae said ok to start. Plus of course folic acid n hormone pills still.

Ironn calcium tablets start in second trimester right? Forgot liao...

Raffles still gave me a bother-to-be goody bag with vouchers n mummy milk samples. Quite gd! But like do early! I'm only 8 wks!

When I was in working in brunei, my collic who got pregnant are not aware of the bb gender till the day she gave birth. She told me the law there is government doc won't disclose at all.

For me, my in-laws almost after my every check-up will ask me know the bb gender already? stress man!!! Its their 1st grandchild lor.

pinkypink- wah.. so many pill man.. *faint* me now only have 2 already super headache to take them.. woman are soo poor thing.. =(