(2011/03) Mar 2011

treestar,

i checked with my gynae, he said is okie to eat sashimi actually.. but u have to make sure sashimi is reli reli reli reli reli reli reli reli very fresh!!

yup yup, I've heard gynaes saying ok to sashimi too. Just gotta make sure it's from reliable Jap restaurant ba...

airmez: the way u described 象雪一般地幼白肌肤 make me laugh leh!

i jialat lor...same like u i eat everything..

those list u put, i eat all!

even cockles, half boiled eggs...all i take leh...LOL

previous pregnancy i also take, but as what i said, in moderation...

Airmex- Ya, ask Dr Fong tom. But i did ask him on sme food, he say he is not too sure, eps in term of those with herb. I know animal organs are out as they contain high level of vitamin A, which too much is not good for us. I still eat 1-2 piece v rarely. Seafood like crabs, i still take. Did ask, they said in moderate amt, not huge amt. Always make sure our food from reliable source. Eg if we eat chicken rice outside, make sure that we know it is fresh, some stall keep them overnight, not good for us. So usually i eat from those popular stalls. As for hot/spicy food, we should avoid if we have bad MS, mite make it worse. But i know some MTM with bad MS, love and can onli eat hot/spicy food. I really really crave for vinger pig trotter, hope he say can eat tt. Haha

2k- I join other pple spree. Maybe we can do one for ourselves. Hahaha. I used to travel to US for work, the bb clothings there are so cute n nice. Bgt so much for my nephew whenever i go. Now tt i cannot travel, i can onli rely on spree. I wann to get a few more Maternity dresses from ON/Gap. Seem cheaper than SG.

Fish- Really we can eat shashimi? I shall let my hubby know. Think gg to eat tt this wkend!

l3x and M,

thanks for the comforting words! now i feel 'safer'. am visiting my gynae on week 9 too so will ask her more as well.

treestar,

A more costly way to have '象雪一般地幼白肌肤' is BIRDNEST lor..hhehe...but burn big hole in pocket.. =(

and i think sashimi is a big no-no leh. my gynae said always eat food that is well cooked, the rest of the myth, dun believe. But always respect the elders, dun eat in front of them if they dun like it like those supposedly cooling items. then she said if really got cravings for those then eat behind them...hah, she so funny.

Spyria

象雪一般地幼白肌肤' will be good especially if it is a girl... hee... confirm soy milk will also hav this effect cos my aunt drinks lots till her son (now 20 yr old) got 象雪一般地幼白肌肤' hahaha...he really hate his 象雪一般地幼白肌肤' ...always complain...then always go sun tan but only turn red not dark...

I heard bird nest can only take during late 2nd trimester onwards... too early too bu is not good...

Airmez, i can explain why we cant eat all these. Some gynaes tell u ok to eat some say not ok to eat. it all depends on u whether u belive or not.

1) cold drinks (incl 100+)

-too cold not good for bb body constituition health..may turn out weaker get sick easily.

2) hot spicy food

- can eat fresh cut chilli BUT no oily sambal/belachan/oily curry, not good for bb skin

3) vinegar

- it will make bb skin crumpled, not smooth, an old wives tale which i believe in

4) ginger

- i eat ginger during my last pregnancy i dont see why we shld avoid this as its a healthy food

5) SEAFOOD (black pepper crabs/prawns!!)

- avoid seafood as it may contain mercury and of course prevent allergies to bb. ur bb cld be allergic to seafood next time

6) peanuts

- avoid most nuts as prevent nut allergies to bb

8) pig innards

- too much vit A no good for bb, partly is true i believe

9) bat ku teh

- i don believe in this cause i ate bak kut teh almost every wk during my last pregnancy and i dont see any effects.

10) Sashimi

- some mums dare to eat, but if u get bacteria infection diarhoea, u may risk miscarriage.

Maybe other mummies can add on to the list :>

Fish and Chen,

I think sashimi is a no-no only because it is raw got risk of bacteria contamination...but from a fresh source then it is actually good cos high omega content good for baby brain...

I console myself my dipping more wasabi to kill bacteria..hee

bbrabit: i just ordered 3 pcs of ON from overseas spree...i dont dare to buy much cos i scared the size not suitable.

yday i just dig out my old maternity wear...why just 2 yrs diff, i find those clothes so outdated leh..LOL

but i also dont want to spend too much leh, cos after this wanna close shop...but i cant stand myself wearing the same few maternity clothes for the next 9 months.

yes treestar,

from 2nd trimester than we work towards the 象雪一般地幼白肌肤 goal k!

too early bu bb also kanot recieve from us yet cos the dunno wat haven develope fully so nutrients cant be passed over until 2nd tri!

HI Val,

on the vinegar part... could be true...cos my no1 pregnancy i took alot vinegar with my dumpling... lots lots... my no.1 skin not so good...

my no.2 I never take vinegar cos no craving for that ...his skin is good...

ok ONZ.... tmr i will bombard Dr Fong with all the food restrictions, and will come and announce the results!

yah, i LOVE birdnest!! i heard have to start from tri 2, not 1. Cos too early, will cause bb to have asthma... something abt the bird feathers go into the bb's lungs...wah lau eh, this theory is tooo far fetched bah.. -_-"

AirMez, even if you start consuming bird nest during 2nd trimester you also cannot take too much coz bb will get asthma or get phelgm easily after they're born. That is what I heard from experiences.. The best tonic is still cordyceps which can cost more expensive than birdnest. This one bu their fei (lungs). It's best to alternate drink bird nest with cordyceps!

spyria,

Seems that too early Bu... will actually be harmful ...all the very Bu stuff have to wait till late 2nd trimester to start...

A sad story to share;

I hav a colleague who finally conceive after 5 years of trying, her delighted in-law give her v.Bu stuff daily including top grade bird nest since day 1-1st trimester.. despite is 1st pregnancy, her belly grew fast... 3 of us in my company have almost the same due date but her tummy grew like double ours...she is very proud n continue to take the very Bu stuff... by 20th week she looks like full term already, and at 21st week she deliver the baby... sadly as it is too small , her baby only survive less than 3 ays in the incubator... We all think cos she BU too much already... become imbalance.

Val: Dinno pig innards got vit A. that's really not good for bb..

Treestar: Vinegar will cause bad skin ah... sob sob..

I heard take ginger now will cause bb to born with jaundice? or only cant take ginger during breastfeeding? i dunno leh...

Sigh.. 母爱太伟大了!! now ve to start making sacrifices liao. If next time, the kid 不孝, I'll really whacked him/her left, right, centre for making me giving up my favourite food for 9 mths (preggie) + XX mths (BF period)!!! *fuming mad*

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

it is very sad cos we r all looking forward to having our babies together...

doctor was puzzle how come she give birth so early...cos baby is normal.

dunno if vinegar does cos bad skin but when im having my no. 1 I takes lots of vinegar the black type to go with my dumplings... now my no.1 skin is not so good.. partly also due to his eczema condition.

My no.2 I didn;t take vinegar...only little...i take alot of beef cos i heard it have certain enzymes that will reduce the incidents of eczema...n turn out my no.2 skin no eczema n is good...

finally is friday...i dunno wats going on with me... i feel so tired that i hav no mood to do anything after work...just sleep...i can sleep 18hrs still feel no energy n listless...n i wake up i feel my whole body ache...no energy... i think my previous 2 pregnancies the exhaustion not so terrible ... i couldn't concentrate at work too...

Treestar, sad to hear that abt ur colleague. So take beef is good ah? ur beef is cooked chinese style -- 铁板牛肉 or the western steak huh? so u eat well-done?

u cant take ginger during the 1st one to 2 wks of breastfeeding. those who breastfeed may confirm this theory. even if ur bb have jaundice it will slowly go away as the bb kidney slowly adjust.

i heard my fren who did bf for more than 6 mnths totally don touch sashimi/alcohol all the bad stuff so she can continue give the best bf milk to baby. huge sacrifice!

Treestar, ur story is realli sad..cant believe too much BU stuff is oso no good..we mummies realli have a tough job!!!

As for birdnest, the xue yan (blood nest) cant take too much too..mainly i think is take dong yan or some other yan.

Val,

Why cannot take xue yan? Thought is to bu our blood? Last pregnancy i took alot of xue yan and it taste better than other yan, if that's the case, i should avoid xue yan this time round

Treestar, u can sleep 18 hrs at one go!?!?!? wah, really no mean feat... Last night, i also super tired, knocked out at 9 pm, and slept until 8am (11 hrs)... sleep until whole body lethagic and stiff.. ;)

AirMez

I think any well-done beef cooked watever style will be good...

My family got eczema history, mayb cos all never take beef...hahaha

Val,

Yup is it really sad... after that my colleague go on maternity leave n left sg ...never c her again only on MSN...

the part abt bird nest can't take too early is from a reseacher from Brands...she told me to take every week from week 25... dunno the reason also...

But really... everything almost take in moderation even Bu stuff

val

if your bb got jaundice and if you bf your bb, the jaundice will be tougher to go away (as compared to giving fm). but its normal.

so there may be ppl who dissuade you not to bf because of the jaundice but these ppl dun see the end results in the long run *puiz*

AirMez,

Actually is more like lying down for 18hrs.. done that during the national day long weekend...cos i feel so dizzy n feel like vomittingtrying to hold down to control the puke, ... then my 2 kids full of energy... jumping all over me wanna play with me... then i no energy so i hide in my roomn n lie down then feel so useless n gulity for not company my kids...n not doing anything...

treestar, I think is really over if you drink tonic everyday as what your ex colleague did. If drink every 1-2 weeks should be fine ba...

my ex-colleague the mil so gan chiong...prepare the tonic every other day for her... brew it then bring over to her home n make sure she gulp down to the last drop...my ex-colleague, tell me she even hav to drink dunno wat live chick or something guesome prepare by her mil... but she drink it cos she dun wan her mil to waste her effort

mercsboy,

thanks.. yes ameda is ok but still take a while to empty the breasts leeh.. I heard many good raves on PIS so I guess best just invest in PIS and maybe 1 single pump for travelling, I like avent better than medela swing but yes its not as reliable as medela brand..

prettymimieyes,

yes gotta stock up on valves..

treestar,

wah 2 boys!! must be busy chasing each other around!

Old navy/Gap spree

I org alot... Almost 3-4 batches a month.

Another one coming soon...

If there's sufficient orders I can spree.

I always spree for my #1 thread mummies..

Almost regulars everytime.

Personally I have 2 boxes full of clothes waiting for #1 to start wearing Lo..

Buy n buy very addictive..

All Soo cute Lo... Lol...

Treestar, me too! I only have 1 boy but I feel far too tired to play much with him. And he likes to run ard n then run n bang into my tummy... So scary. ESP cuz gt spotting Liao but wat to do...

These 2 days, my giddy spell is so bad. At work. Taking nap soon.

rach- Let me know if u got any spree. But i m still waiting for my #1 spree to arrive to check on the sizes. Not sure if size S fit. Do u have any idea if their size S for maternity similar to our size M

Treestar- Me gg to eat steak more often. Onli well done steak. NO vinger is so sad for me, i tot of pig trotter with vinger this sun [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Airmex- O no, me eat ginger v often, c'so steam fish or stir fried with pork

2k- Just buy a few and test 1st. Me bgt 1 dress onli from ON. Bgt 2 other dresses from a normal shop in bishan, not maternity type, but can be use for v long as they are cotton. me also headaches, wonder how much i wld spend on these dresses. As this is my 1st kid, hubby tell me buy those timeless piece, single colour, can wear for the next BB.

Val- Yr list is so complete. But for But Kut teh, u really got to make sure no herb inside. "cos the one i frequent tell me they add herb. So i avoid.

Bb rabbit>

yah ON sizes are huge.

I'm a usual L/XL in spore..

But I wear their M/L clothes..

Mostly M. Sometimes S.

Bottoms I wear their 10/12 sizes.

I'm talking abt non maternity.

Maternity tops I order S cuz very loose n filmsy...

But need to read their reviews..

Most of their tops should order petite cuz it's shorter..

Else cover buttocks one..

Unless u ate taller than 1.65cm...like 1.7cm...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi budderball, i not too sure abt the xue yan too..cause the eu yan sang auntie told me cant eat too much (maybe too BU)..i only ate like 2 times towards 3rd trimester. the rest of 2nd trimester i ate others.

hi treestar, i don think preggies can eat live chicken stuff...sounds yucky in the first place. my mum told me only can BU tonics when 2nd trimester after morning sickness. i believed a lot of wat my mum said cause she gave birth to 5!!

She had lots of milk so i turned out very fair but my sister is darker cause she had coffee. then another sibling got allergies to prawn cause my mum had crabs often during tat pregnancy.

Rach- THKS. I order a dress, size S. Hope it fit. But i am prepared to alter the lenght c'os i onli 1.59m tall. Usually i fit M/L in SG context. Now looking at Gap. I heard it is also bigger, wan to order S. But alot of S all sold. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

pinkypink,

I told my no.1 boy that Im having a baby inside n so now he is careful not to bump into me..u can try to tell ur boy...u may be surprise cos they will understand... my no.2 dun understand n strangely after im pregnant with no.3 , no2 become very clingy...wanna cling to me want me to carry him everywhere...they say when ur pregnant the youngest child will become more clingy... perhaps it is true... but i really really have no energy ...

Val,

Yes i think the Bu stuff hav to wait till later 2nd trimester...

Rach,

I think im the same size as u..

pinkypink: how to dont carry/chase #1? many ppl tell me not to carry too often, but i cant leh..when they come mummy mummy, how to dont carry them leh...

sometimes he bump into my tummy too...but i know he is not aware of it...

that day i was still chasing after him, end up come back whole night tummy cramp..

bbrabit: i bought M size..i am not slim after having #1. still stuck with 8kgs..sob sob.

i suggest dont get too many those normal dress, cos when the tummy gets bigger, the front part will become shorter...end up in front short behind long (hope u get what i meant). those maternity dress usually is infront abit longer de.

#1 still can buy more, dont buy too flowery or printed types i find, cos after 2-3 yrs...u will feel that those are outdated...plain colors one can last longer i feel so..just add some accessories will do...

rach: oh dear! ON size are bigger ah? i am M size so i should get s instead lor..die liao, i bought 3 pcs all M size de...

Bb rabbit>

next time order petite will do.. It's shorter..

But those denim skirt I will order tall cuz so short!!

Really mini skirt.. Hahaha.. But tall will be few inches above my knee so just nice length.. Got thunder thighs la.. Hahaha..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ya S always oos very fast de....

Normally I spree when my regulars ask me to..

Usually during 30% or 20%...

2K- THKS. me Bgt 2 normal stretchable dresses to tie me thru this period. As i m on injections/pills and huge appetite/ivf, i've upsize from normal S to M/L, depending on cutting. I know wat u mean, those normal dresses will become shorter infront. For me, i am a black or solid colour person, not much formal clothing. No pant/short for me, i intend to stick to dresses. No worries if the sizes too big, can keep for 2nd or 3rd trimester Or even post here to sell.

Rach- How abt Gap's sizes? If i am a m/L now for dresses, can i still order S or shld i order m/L. Aimming 2 dresses now. If u got spree with 20%, think i will tag to yr order, easier.

bb rabit: i like to wear pants/shorts during weekend or went visit the gynae lor. at least i no need to lift up the dress when do scanning ma..

i used to get normal dresses for #1 period, cos i was small size THEN, easier to wear anything...

But now after #1, i expanded, and those old pregnancy clothes some i cant fit into le...

rach: u stay yishun which part? my mum stay yishun too near the swimming pool...and i always go chong pang during weekends for marketing

Bb rabbit>

gap 20% is general code.

Anyone n use it..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So yes I can spree with 20%...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gap maternity I nv buy myself cuz gap very exp usually,, I always buy old navy...

But think gap is slightly smaller than ON.

so u may wanna take M petite?

2k>

I stay near Chong pang..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2K- my thigh is like thunder thigh now, after IVF, no exercise. How to wear short? Plus i m so short. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] So no choice lah. Luckiy my gynae's nurse always give me a cloth to cover myself [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope then by wk 14 i do brisk walking/yoga, thigh will reduce abit.