(2011/03) Mar 2011

hammies30... me! i took a 12 hours flight plus 3 hours transist + 1 hour domestic flight when I am in week 6 to 7... then today i will be taking the same long flight back to singapore .. am in week 10 3 days now...

for the trip here.. wasn't that bad coz didn't have MS yet.. so I just sleep per normal but just make sure I have enough fluid..

for my trip back... i am crossing my fingers coz my MS is quite bad now.. throw up my breakfast and lunch just now... (oops sorry mummies... i know it sound gross.. ) but thankfully biscuit works better for me..

Excited to see my #1 and hubby soon.... heehee plus will be seeing my gynae for a check on monday... will be 10w6d then... excited to see my little one.. =)

Hi hi, i am new here. I am in my 8th week and unlike the lucky ones, i have MS especially at night. It feel comforting to find this forum and read about pple in the same situation as me. Its my #1 as well, so pretty nervous and dunno what to expect [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I am cancelling my business trip next week cause of my terrible MS [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Lets pray hard that our MS will disappear soon!

Hi Hi,

In case, you all need to update my details into new mummies list. mewowo / Yishun / 24-Mar-11 / Dr Lawrence Ang / TMC /1

Hihi, Im also into my 8th week and MS is getting from bad to worst that happen both daytime and nighttime. I was even woken up by MS last night to puke.

Kindly update my details: rainbowbing/ Sengkang/ 24 March 2011/ Dr Irene Chua/ KKH/ #1

rach,

i KS (kian su n kia si).. cos my gal got admitted immediately for high level of jaundice, triple lights for 3days. Her jaundice is BM-related. So after she discharged, I KS, anything that remotely might caused her level to increase, i dun dare to drink or eat. =p

Bee,

i had sore nipples then too. blisters then lead to bleeding. I stil continue to latch my gal with the "better condition" side. will try to squeeze out blood til not much liao, then offer her. Then those EBM quite tainted with blood, then i throw.. Little bleeding, bb can drink with the BM, no issue de. As long it not infected. Like Chen, i tolerated the pain n after few wks, nipples "got used" liao, then no more such prb.

There a avent pdt - AVENT Nipple Protectors.

http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2585694

Suppose to help. I didnt try though. mayb u want to consider?

Sigh... This morning n early afternoon, totally no MS... No nausea or anything.. THough got funny funny taste in my mouth... Managed to eat quite okay...

Dinner... Had full share of super yummy laksa... *poof*

Within half an hour, threw everything up into my best friend aka the toilet bowl... Every single strand of noodle n my favourite fish cake... So sian lor...

Today is already 11weeks + 2 days liao... MS still so bad.. Sigh...

RE: Facilities between Mt A and TMC

Those mummies on subsequent pregnancy, can share the details on the facilities between the 2 hospital? I'm still contemplating on which one to choose leh.

Bcos of my special case, my first had to be done in KKH, wow! it was a very horrible experience. Only think I appreciated was my gynae professionalism and the emergency C-section, other den that everything sucks!

pixie

Huh??

Didn't help?? U got apply before crack or crack then apply??

I apply faithfully after every latch, though painful but by the next latch much better liaoz...

When never apply soooo sore n red Lo....

mewowo

Harlow fren!!!! Welcome!!! Hahahahaha so qiao to see u here!!!! Congrats!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i also ate pig intestine yesterday oh no!

but im careful about cockles becos of hepatitis, so u ladies pls be careful k...

my MS only lasted for about a week, which is during my 6th week, most jialat period. after that seems to subside and im feeling quite normal now .

read that having MS is a good sign rite.

worried now. how!?

spyria,

I also dun have much MS. so abit worried also. the most is nausea and 3 days of vomiting once a day den no more. but luckily i dun have much spotting now. occasional cramps. seeing my gynae next sat, 9th week. hopefully can tell me baby has grown.

i had a colleague who had no MS at all for her pregnancy and her boy was so healthy and rosy when born so i guess it differs for everyone.

Lin

MS - My mom never had MS - she had 3 healthy kids, I didn't have with number #1 and I had it once so far with #2 but I think it's cos I didn't have breakfast. My friend who is pregnant with her 3rd kid has never had MS before. It's just that if you get it- it's normal and if you don't lucky you. That's all, no need to worry.

Sore Nipples - so my daughter was a strong sucker... they actually put that on her chart! So I had a blood clot on one nipple in the hospital and the only thing I could do was to carry on. Plus my nipples were soooo sore. Nipple cream is soooo important, don't forget to pack it in your hospital bag! I got this http://www.medelabreastfeedingus.com/products/breast-care/102/softshells-for-sore-nipples and it helped. So in between feedings I'd used these so nothing touched my nipples cos even the fabric of the bra hurt! So this and medela breast cream helped after the first month no more sore nipples.

Hi Fish,

You can try google too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I do buy some books from popular bookstore. They have pre & post natal food. Library is a good source too. Easy to cook & follow.

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/confinementrecipes.html

http://www.chineseconfinementfoods.com/

Mrs Teng,

My both gals is at MT A, 2 bedded. Maybe I am comfortable with the sisters(nurses) there. Sufficient parking for visitor. Give me a homely feeling. In terms of pricing, my overall bill ok and I got refund of my deposit too. Partly mine is natural birth w/o epidural.

morning mummies.....its friday!!!

airmez - sorry. not trying to frighten you. but i think you must control a bit leh. i have a distant relative, also refuse to listen to her mum, anyhow eat, drink cold drinks, etc etc. she thought everything will be ok n she passed her 1st tri. end up she lost her bb when she is in her 4th mth. then now super regret. i think once in a while craving is fine. but we r all enduring for e seek of wanting our bb to be healthy. so, try endure n cut down these k? esp cockles.

starfruit - abt milk, yes..we shd start drinking milk as long as we can. cos bb will take away lots of our calcium. i think whichever brand is fine. except that its tasty or not. i just finish 1 tin of similac mum. n i think i will stop n just go for fresh milk. cos i find it a bit mafan to make (sometimes got lump, must clear it away) n feel its too thin n too sweet for me.

OMG, this thread is moving so so fast, did not come in just 1.5 day. Thks for all the BF info. I plan to BF for as long as I can, provided i got enuff supply.

BTW, can we take pig trotter with vinger now? Reading so much on CL frm this thread that my craving kick in again!

Mrs Teng- After seeing tt u got horrible experience at KKH, think i will avoid there!

Val- Better find out if the bat kut teh got any herbal used in the cooking process. I was told to avoid them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] My Fav.

Airmex- Wave wave. How often do u see fong yang? I see him once a week as i m the special case. At times, i also see KKH Gynae as mine is IVF pregnancy. But wed was my last visit to KKH, they said i could be trft to pte gynae.

2k- We stay so close! Next time we can let our little one be frens [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] And also shopping spree. Me just bgt smething from Gap for my little nbephew and a dreess for myself [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Won Mummy- My little one was at Wk9d4 when i scan on Wed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 30mm. As per gynae, normal. Cannot wait for next sat, shld be close to wk 11 liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Not only i dun have MS, i also dun feel that tired, despite been on so much medication that Got sleepy effect [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cynthia- Which blk do u stay? Too many posts to catch up! Salute to u for having #3. I used to want 3 kids as well. But now, think i am happy with 1-2. Hope that after this 1st little one, the 2nd one can come natually.

ST- Hihi. My coll said that Lawerence Ang is v good, he is the one at Sun Plaza right?

Seem like so many sembawang mmummies here. So happy.

budderball,

i'm not sure if we can get instant rebate on the test...but anyway.. after calulating the member cards sub fee.. i think if gynae have packages for us... i think is not that necessary to get the memeber le!!!!

Annie Lim,

i'm craving for meggi mee too...

i will boil the noodle 1st then pour away the water, then boil again.. then add the MSG.. but i dont drink the soup la! i juz eat the noodle.. i think it better also ba!!!

I read the link Cynthia gave to me... i realised something... the website said Soya bean, soy products are not good for pregnant women...

Morning ladies. TGIF

Mrs Teng,

I went to Mt A for my no 1. Very very good. Will definitely go back this time for no 2.

The nurses there are superb. kind, patient and gentle. Best they encouraged u to bf. I extended my stay for another day cos bb had jaundice and my stay was so comfy.

Fish- Like u, i got super craving for maggi mee. I also cook the same way as u. Yes, soya pdt is not good for us in excessive amt. It is more of liang type. I've been avoiding that for the longest time, cannot take at all 'cos of IVF.

interesting talk about bf...

i tried 4 kinds of pumps before, inital i tried avent single electric, that one broke down twice! with super engorged breast, still got to rush down to philips service centre to get it replaced. upon 2nd time, i gave up and asked for refund. tried manual too, but too tiring for my hands..

then followed by medela mini electric, noisy and abit pain but still ok.

my love - medela PIS! that one cut alot of my time, just ten minutes each time will do!

bb_rabit: u do overseas spree on yr own huh?

dr lawrence ang is at sun plaza. generally he still ok, but he got alot of patients! while u are in labour ward, he might be doing c-section next door.

gnulyl5, u take a look at this.. i copy n paste from the website.

Soya bean, soy products are not good for pregnant women

by admin ~ February 11th, 2008

The food to avoid when pregnant is soy products. Yet, many pregnant moms go out of their way to consume more soya bean drink, eat soya bean cakes and totally adore soy products because they were told that soy will give their babies fair and beautiful complexion.

As with everything, one shouldn’t consume too much of anything. Therefore, soya bean is not good for pregnant mothers if they consume too much. If you are expecting a baby boy, you may even work against his favour. You may bring up a boy with a lot of female features.

The humble soya bean may play a role in the problem of male infertility, a team of researchers in Belfast has found.

Soya contains the female hormone oestrogen and too much of it is being linked to poor quality sperm.

Dr Lorraine Anderson says she found the link in research carried out at the Royal Victoria Hospital in Belfast.

“What many men do not realise is that soya is not just consumed by vegetarians, it is contained in a lot of everyday processed foods.

The director of reproductive medicine at Queen’s University, Belfast, Dr Sheena Lewis, said the findings were clear.

“What we have shown is that if men are consuming large amounts of soya products, for example, there is a negative relationship between that and the quality of their sperm.

Dr Anderson said if boys eat a lot of soya when they are growing up, it can damage their reproductive capability.

“The key time for that is when a male foetus is developing and in the early toddler years and up to puberty.

“All through that period, if you alter the oestrogen that a man is exposed to, you can not only affect their sperm quality but affect the development of their reproductive tract, so that you can get an increase in structural abnormalities like undescended testes and you can also get other problems later in life, such as testicular cancer.”

Dr Anderson recently came runner-up in a prestigious competition for her work on the link between male fertility and oestrogen in the diet.

2Ks,

thanks for the update... wow.. we got so many mom-to-be here le!! wahahaha.. the list getting longer and longer!!

Anyway where got such things as carry male fetus will not have MS de... lol...

Mercsboy,

my #2 is coming, EDD 26 March 2011 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

detail as follow:

Hospital: SGH

GYnae: Dr Yong TT

during my BFing time with #1, I had medela swing, Avent Electric Uno (single) and ameda double. Gave them all away so I guess I will take your recommendation on PIS! thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

treestar,

cool! I saw bb#, yours is 3, does it mean this coming one is ur 3rd? wow superwoman, I got one now oredi very kanchiong LOL..

welcome mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nining: updated yours...

heard ameda not bad...but the parts always spoilt right...

heard freestyle also not bad...

Morning Mummies!! Wow, soo many posts... read until cross-eye.. hahaha..

You all are very right, seems like me too undisciplined, TOTALLY cant resist temptation of food... me guilty as charged, really ve to calm down abit, and dont go too high when seeing favourite food! Tsk, tsk... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val:

u're my idol!! No vinegar and No SEAFOOD!!! Omisgosh!! ok, ok, me will 忍!!Earlier on, I tried to take HL milk, but LS... so stop liao. Cos i heard it's not good to have too severe LS during 1st trimester... will try to take more milk when into 2nd trimester.

Gnuly:

are u still hospitalised? And hospital provide u with laksa as dinner? so meaning laksa are allowed for preggies, is it? is it? is it?? *feverently praying* [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Spyria:

Yah, cockles are dangerous.. tat's why i felt so guilty when i stole a few bites. But laksa without cockles are really boo-boo... sob sob..

Won_mummy:

Yah, yah... I'll heed ur advice, and control myself from now on.... No more junk food! fish, fish and more fish!

BB rabbit:

I'll be seeing Dr Fong tmr for my 10th week scan. My last scan was quite some time ago @ 6th week to hear the heartbeat. I supposed to go @ 7th week again to measure the bb size, but I couldnt make it due to work committments (and also the queue is killing me). The ladies at the counter nagged at me left, right, centre sia...

nins,

that's rite mine is 3rd baby, hoping for a baby girl this time... i've 2 boys.... not super lah.. now not as excited as 1st n 2nd pregnancy but also worried how to cope with 3 children. will probably put no.3 in IFC.

2Ks,

I've used avent and medala electric pump...find medela better... i sold my Avent one..

but eventually I go by direct latch-on, mush less hassle- when i work baby will take formula...will feed latch-on when im back from work. Im still feeding my no.2 every nite... more of comfort feeding now.

Air Mez,

read in ur thread that vinegar is no-no for preggie... I love vinegar.. dip all my food in it... y is it no good??

worried now..

Fish: Soy products cannot, milk i intolerant. Left only milo. Chiam liao ah... How to give bb 象雪一般地幼白肌肤!?!

Hi treestar!

I also dunno why vinegar is no-no for preggie leh. Just tat some mummies advice against it. Mmm, think i will prepare a list of food and force my gynae to check 'Yes/No' tmr.... heehee

1) cold drinks (incl 100+)

2) hot spicy food

3) vinegar

4) giner

5) SEAFOOD (black pepper crabs/prawns!!)

6) peanuts

7) sotong

8) pig innards

9) bat ku teh

any more suggestions, mummies? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

AirMez,

Thanks for the food list... will control...then again mostly will vomit out..

actually for all my pregnancy i crave for sashimi.. i can't control...i eat it secretly... =P