(2011/02) Feb 2011

Hurray! My breastpump works!! I ask my sil to test for me since she is pumping milk at 10am. Live demo!! My 3 yr old pump managed to help pump 90ml in 20min. So I guess I am all set!!

Ah Ching, I am also revising my Gina Ford book. Hahaha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] have to start my "exam" on Sat!! ;)

@marie: I bought a packet of maternity pads and 2 packets of heavy flow night use pads. But the longest one also quite short compared to the maternity pads leh. Don't know can tahan the flow anot...

@Grace: Oooo.. Okie, thanks!! If I happen to passby I'll go take a look. Hee.. Mothercare things quite ex leh..

Hi Val,

subjective on individual flow but all my frens dun buy d maternity... D longest normal one shd be 35cm long I tink n dats good coverage oredi... Nway, you'll tend to change it more frequently cos naturally we'll feel dat d flow is dirtier den our normal mths n hence no point spending more on maternity pads lor... Maternity is longer but d soiled part will still b d same area n eventually u jus keep chgg new ones ma...

wow.. seem like many of us here dun really hav a good night..

me too.. been tossing left & right to adjust the BEST position for my tummy..

but still try to catch a sleep cos got to wake up at 7.30am for work..

Hi mums,

Juz went to Robinsons sale ..

It is a card members' sales so generally most stuffs are on 20% disc ..

Some still have additional 15-20% ..

Confirmed pigeon is entitled to 20% ..

Did a mental check on comparing the price to Taka sale ..

If u spend more than $30 for Robinsons' kids stuffs, you are entitled to use the $5 voucher + 5% rebate off the statement ..

But for taka, it is a direct 10% off for taka card memberes regardless of the amount spent, with 6% rebates ..

Valeria, don't be sad. Last time woman are more xinqu. No like us now very xinfu. My mom also suffer a lot when having me. She said I'm super heavy and keep on make her very tired so she induce me out. Thought after induce me out will be more relax but not. My stomach keep have wind and end up she can't sleep and need to take care of me. And my grandma will ask her continue the household stuff too. Haiz but nvm now different. We can repay our mommy hardwork and love. My mom always said once u be mother u will know how difficult or hard to be a mother. Haiz feel like a karma to me le. I feel very scare as I very disobey my parent when im teenager =p

Choc, it a confirm I will shower one. I feel I will confirm wash my body. I can't tanhan my body sticky and smelly. Hair still can tie up still ok. Hehe

Ching, wow 6mins ah. Damm fast la. I hope I can push out my bb within 6mins. Hahaha

Baywater, hmm me and Geri plan to go waxing on wed at east side. If u wan can meet us for lunch?

For the placenta I'm still interested to do it. But heard Geri said if not wrong need at least 7mommies to sign up then we will get discount to make the placenta into capsules. They charge $300 for capsule after discount is $270. =)

Valeria, I bought my maternity pad at mothercare. 1 small packet with wings have 10pcs inside if not wrong cost for $6 after discount. I bought it when mothercare having discount time. U can go check it out if u walk pass mother care.

Choc, haha I will ask my hubby buy more maternity pads if not enough. No choice I buy the maternity pads my mom already said why buy so much. Haiz she said it stop around 2 weeks and not very heavy flow. Hmm we will see lor. Haha If still have reminding one I will use as normal pad lor. Hahaha

Choc/wishchild.. U all not getting d Chinese herbal bath for confinement bathing meh? I heard dats good.. Name is da feng cao and da feng Ai...

Baywater,

my MIL was asking me abt my placenta too.. But wat benefits does it have ar?

@marie: Oooo.. Okie, my sil also told me can use just those heavy flow one. I'll try. Thanks! =)

@wish_child: Hahaha! I also very scared karma. LOL~ They always say how you treat your parents next time your children will also treat you the same way. =p Anyway, now that they are going to be grandmother, they'll also be very busy one. And it's like back to when they first became a mother.. Haha!

Marie, I will think of buy the herb for shower. Hehe but must ask my mil what should I eat or drink what herbs during my confinement then I can buy it all in 1 trip. Hehe

hmm I will go find the placenta website for u. Hehe the website I lost it. It got state what benefits it have if consume the placenta.

I know 2 benefits to consume placenta

1. If we consume our own placenta our womb and menstruation will be very fast recover in a shorter time than ppls which never consume placenta

2. If baby fall sick once they consume our placenta the bb will recover very fast. As bb absorb only good thing from our placenta. This is my Sis colleague told me as she make her placenta into powder form and mix it in water. Then feed the baby and her baby recover from sickness very fast.

Hi all, I am alright.. Guess baby decided to guai guai stay in for another day.. I ask her don't check out today the hotel is very comfortable.. Manage to go to bed in the morning that's why now then wake up.. Now I'm really glad I'm on ML.. Really salute those mummies who can still drag themselves to work.. Haha.. Anyway, cramps are gone alr.. Usually come in evening..

Wishchild,

if u're getting d Herbal bath den take note hor dun get conned.. I went to buy from d medical shops at d markets n 1pkt of da feng Ai cost $1.80.. When I search online, there's tis place in tech whye which u can order online, costs only Halfprice @ $0.90/pkt! They charge delivery @$10 per trip.. If u cost in d delivery charge, still cheaper lor! Fyref...

Www.luvbabies.kimsang.com..

End up I sent back to refund at d medical shop n ordered from d Tis website.. :)

Hi anyone order Nissen products from Geri and stays in yishun/sembawang? I am going to collect from her at 4+ later. Can help you to pick up and maybe pass to u tml. Do let me know :> by 4pm.

Marie,

I'm not so sure abt Pigeon ..

Coz Pigeon gives different disc, sometimes 10% or 20% disc at Taka ..

Will be going tonite ..

Can update the forum later ..

grace...yes they replenish the pad n panty daily..

unicorn...i will go taka for the breastpad and maybe pigeon wipes lor... coz direct 10% discount and rebate...

robinson most likely will get the Avent Via cup which I had been eyeing for long and get the $5 off and rebate..LOL...

marie...i got a whole bag of those confinement pkt herbs to bathe...what i meant was..if realli hate the smell..can secretly wash off lor...see how lar...

coz my #1 confinement i didnt use herbs...onli bathe at the 2nd or 3rd week...

Hi Wish child

Next wed?? shd not be a problem. "> confirm nearer the date oki

Marie,I think Geri has earlier post a number of info posting on placenta.... u might want to take a look,shd be in the early to mid dec posting.

pads..

wow.. really need so many ah .. arr.. i pack abt 20 pcs.. thot will be too many.. but now i think i better bring more rather than not enough.. hee hee.. i also prefer adhesive ones.. nv use loop one before..

mummies are starting to count down by daysss..

m still counting down by week.. another 5 week to go .. jia you .. getting more n more excited as each day passes by...

wow.. 6 mins and bb is out... how i wish mine will be as fast too.. ha ha ..

@Val: Yeah, we got the same EDD. Hope our babies listen to us and come out only on 03/02/11 earliest.

I'm thinking to bring 10 breast pads and am scare it's not enough. Hehe.. Kiasu me.. But hubby said anyway he's coming home everyday, so not enough can ask him to take.

Hmm.. You are right about the wipes. Think I better not use them if not I'll jump if it contains alcohol..

@wish_child: Thanks for your update. Wow.. Fiona really take very fast to dilate and give birth le.. Hope she's coping well now.

Hope I can have a chop chop delivery like Fiona..

Can use baby wipes to clean our below? But don't know got antiseptic or not le. If don't have like doesn't sound safe..

@Unicorn, @Grace: Wow.. Your friends used so much? But I heard that TMC will tie 2-3 those loop types pads together so will used up faster.

Yesterday I went to Mothercare and bought a packet of their maternity pads with wings but don't know if it's good or not. It's selling at $6 for 12pcs. So now I've got 3 different brands of Maternity pads (kiasu me!!) with a total of 62pcs. If it's not enough will ask hubby to go get more for me as by then I should know which brand I prefers liao.

@choc: You very bad le, I see those durian swiss rolls I start to drool liao coz I'd been craving for durians for a week or 2 liao but still haven't get to eat..

@Ah Ching: Talking about mucus plug. How do we know when it's dropped?

@Eviangal: I also feel the pressure most when I'm in bed. That's why now I hardly sleeps well already because I'll be awake for awhile after I woke up from the pain when I try to change position.

OFB: Dr Ang will need to do a swap for Strep B if he hasnt done yet.

so on the way he'll do VE.

Anyway I did VE at 1 day to 37 weeks. cos by 37 weeks can deliver so he'll check cervix and tell u when he expect we'll be delivering.

actually VE is like put finger in.. Dr will use lubricant.. so just relax then wont be painful..

something like a PAP Smear..

mami B: i used to practice attachment parenting but since I'll be returning to work so decided to give Gina Ford a try..

hope I can stick to her method and see results.

good luck to u too.. 2 more days

Hi Zanta,

dun need so Many breastpads la.. If reali flow is heavy, u can always insert a pc of tissue in d BP n discard easily.. That'll keep d BP clean...

Try using d procanol lotion.. I read from websites it's recommended for wounds...

zanta: first few days no milk lei.. so dont worry abt the breast pads..

but if u get bleeding nipple, maybe need to use 1 or 2 pcs a day..

but I find that very warm to use breast pads..

breasts very itchy.

mucus plug: i think you'll have brownish discharge or bloody discharge when the mucus plug dislodge..

some people the plug come out in one piece so they have the show

some like me last time.. drop over a few days so i got brownish discharge daily bit by bit over 1 week.

so I dont have the typical show..

@Zanta: 62 pieces a lot leh!! LOL~ I now only have a total of 32 pieces! Which I think is not enough. LOL~ But my sil said she can help me buy if I need somemore. LOL~ Likewise for disposable panties, I only bought 3 packet. LOL~

wow, my son really surprise me today.

I left him in the room and asked him to go to sleep.. so that I can come read the posts.

when I went to check he has fallen asleep by himself.

First time for the last 19 months he didnt need me to sleep with him

@Val: Ya lor, I realised alot of maternity pads don't come with wings, only mothercare ones comes with wings.. But yesterday my mum touch liao said it's not thick enough and told me better to buy those loop ones.. But I also find them very troublesome.. Which brand did you bought?

Your SIL is so good to go through things with you. My SIL said wanna bring me go buy necessary things for baby until I already finish buying almost everything she also haven't jio me go buy. Haiz.. And she said I'm too kan chiong liao when I told her I'm almost done..

@MamaYing: Your hubby is so funny!! Haha.. Ask him if he would like to be your 1st customer or not lor.

Ya, I really hope that the weather will remain like this till all of us had finished our confinement then we wouldn't be so smelly and feel so "gao wake".

@OFB: I'm in my 36 weeks now. Yesterday I did ask so fast need to do VE already and he said yes, coz some ppl might be ready for birth liao. I thinks he wanna get us ready also la. Haha.. Tell your wife it's not as pain as she thinks, just abit of "gao wake".. At first I thought he used a device to check but my hubby said he just used his fingers after putting on glove.

Oh btw, yesterday Dr Ang himself also said my EDD is 06/02/11 so I just take this date as reference liao.. My first EDD is 12/02/11 though..

Zanta, no problem =) Oh i also went mothercare bought 10pcs wings pads too.. Also bought the 48pcs one.. super big bag 1 but that have no wings. haha i hope it enough.

If for the breast pads i only have 1 pieces as sample one and also got 1 is those can reused it. It like towel material and it able to wash one.

bigglamingo, Oh bugis having sale.. i super long never go bugis shopping lor.. hehe

zanta...i doubt initially will leak milk leh...normally for a start is colostrum...

hmmm... bring 10 enough lor...coz we also normally stay hospital max 2-3days nia

order the durian swiss lar..got delivery mah...just pay them the delivery cost then they send to ur doorstep..

i tink i will order 2 for next weekend...then can eat....i so worried once confinement start everything be "confined" hahaaa...

wow...i update ur latest EDD soon...

maternity pads... hey hey..dun say 62 pc alot leh... i got 20*4pkt+20=100pcs..LOL....and i am still going to buy...hahaha

for disposable panties i got 7-8pkt of 6pcs in it...OPPSSS!! i am a kiasu choc!hahaaa

ah ching...dun say in front of him k...some kids super pantang..hehee..type can..but dun tell others...

bigflamingo...omg...BHG also on sale!! cham liao..this week very busy... robinson, taka now BHG!!

EDD...anymore new update let me know k...try to put @choc so i can filter out new update easily [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Afternoon mummies, wow thread moving fast sia. After lunch, my colleague and I shopped ard Bugis BHG and there’s sales on bb & kid’s items! Most of it on storewide 20%!

@charmaine – haha yalor…next time will bring my gal to sample cookies with me yo coz my hubby dun like shop and hardly touch cny cookies de. Hmm, i only encounter numbness if I sit too long without moving.

@jerine – I fully understand ur fear and concern coz tat time discovered my placenta was low and some more my bb in breech position! So I deduce and mentally prepared for csecL Luckily, during my detailed scan on wk 32, my placenta is normal and bb head down! Before that, kept praying to guan yin niang niang as well as talked to my bb to be guai & scolded her if her head dun turn downwards…guess it sort of works Try talking to ur bb and dun worry u still have time for ur bb to turn Now I always talk to my bb to be in head down position after cny coz mummy want natural birth and feed u with good cny food :p besides, i also hoping for rabbit bb too lah…hee

@chocger – tks for sharing and will look out for it. Wow the durian swiss roll looks extremely yummy and does it taste similar like Good & Rich’s Swiss roll?

@mamaying – I used to have oily acne complexion in younger days. Pregnancy makes my skin turn drier!

@trinket – I told my CL during meet up whether is it ok for her to revert to normal rate if bb born after shi wu. She’s perfectly fine with it. Check with ur CL and should be ok but not every CL easy on this coz they want to earn. Scare those said ok but dun do nicely for u.

@wishchild – must shower with warm water leh. I will try to tahan for 10 days, only wipe my body with warm water and put dry shampoo on my hair. After 10 days, will shower and wash hair but of coz with warm herbal water! Hmm where u go for waxing? Scare wax liao will trigger contractions leh….my hubby asked me to trim myself lol.

@marie – tks will go kiddy palace and see…I saw BHG got sell but duno is it anti-mite type. If I were u, I will also ask for refund! But must see how far the journey coz transport spent not justify.

@pinkyval – I also bought 3 pkt disposable panties nia…dunthink it enough if intend to wear for the month of confinement period.

@Ah Ching: Wahhh!! You must be very proud of your boy! I think he's getting ready to be a big brother liao. Hehe..

@Zanta: The maternity pads I bought no brand one. Hee hee.. I bought from the Baby's Boutique there lor. Then I was so shiok to see how long it is. I think it'll protrude out of my panty. LOL~

Ya lor. Since the day she know I pregnant she shared a lot of things with me liao. Tell me where got offers, what should I buy, what to take note, then give me many clothes for my baby and give me many milk storage bag and breast pads. Then whenever she go to OG she'll take note of the price of the strollers then consolidate and send me. I'm so blessed to have a sil like her.

Haa.. My hubby is like your sil lor. Always say don't buy so early. Then last night when my cot has arrived he said anything else we need to buy? I said nothing liao. All bought liao. -_-" Then you never remind your sil when is your edd. And asked her then when should you buy. Or she's going to buy for you when you deliver?

I also hope the weather will be like this during our confinement. Better still everyday rain from morning to night. LOL~

@choc: Need 100 pcs so many meh??? The mensus will come for only a month or so leh. My sil said will be lesser than a month. I think you can change your pad every hour. Lol~

@pyng: 3 packets confirm not enough. But cos I don't know the sizes will be fitting anot. So my sil said I can wear first, if size not right then she can go and buy for me. If only they have disposable bra. LOL~

Mrs Ong, Haha i will try tahan not shower or wash hair as long as i can. But i dont think i can tahan no shower and wash hair for 1weeks.

I going to waxing at golddust. Lot of ppls going there and have good comments. so i going give it a try. haha. Hmm i want to wax it before i give delivery as it more easy to clean myself up and no hair will stuck with blood stain. hehe =P

Choco, I also going order the swiss roll too. For my sis housewarming and sometime i can eat it. Wahahaha..

@Marie: Oh ya hor, can use tissue since our flow is not alot during the first few days. Thanks for your recommendation. Hehe..

@Ah Ching: Think I'll save the breastpads for during when my supply kicks in till it'll leak as I only buy 1 box. Meanwhile use tissue or hanky first bah. But will still bring afew pcs to standby. Hehe..

Oh, now I know bleeding is caused by mucus plug. I kept thinking why is bleeding a sign of labour..

@Val: I also bought a pkt of Laurier F 34cm, so that makes it 72pcs of pads.. Haha.. I remembered Charmaine suggested to buy 80-90 pcs so I buy lor. If can't finish use it as normal pads after lochia finish lor. Haha.. And for disposable panties, I bought 5 pkts liao. @ from Watsons, 2 from Kiddy Palace, and 1 from Guardian. I suggest you don't buy Guardian ones though it's cheaper because it feels rough. Watsons Miine brand and Kiddy Palace ones not bad..

@Bigflamingo: Is witch hazel "xue hua gao"?

@wish_child: I wanted to buy that big pkt too but not sure if they're good so I bought the wings one and try first. Not enough then ask hubby to go buy since he always ask me don't buy so much things. Haha..

The washable breast pads is it from moo moo kow? I feel like buying it le. But let's see if I really need them or not b4 going to buy.

@choc: Can't la, I must control my diet now.. But maybe 1 wk b4 CNY if I haven't pop, will buy 1-2 box to try. How long did you wait for yours to be delivered? Yesterday I asked my mum if I can eat bak kwa during confinement and she said can. Haha.. So happy..

Wishchild/bay water,

Had rufly read thru d Threads from Geri.. Which company is d arrangement wif n cost? In dilemma now, cant decide leh cos pros n cons abt tis ting... U guys gettin it?

Heya all! =)

Sorry guys... I have been MIA a lot as I was using my iPod Touch instead of my Mac to surf.

Yingying is arriving soon and she needs to know who here who stays in yishun/sembawang needs pick up for the Nissen items from my place? She can pick it up for you and pass it to you. =)

Sorry Zantarina,

My Chinese is super lousy. I only know it as witch hazel. It's easy to find. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Val: Baby Boutique sells Pureen Maternity pads I think. Is it white in colour packing with blue wordings? Protruding outta your underwear? Haha.. But I find disposable ones looks bigger le, maybe can stay inside.

My SIL although got a 2.5yo son but half of the things I ask her she also like don't know de coz she's staying with her family and her mum took care of her son till around 2yo then she send him to childcare.

That day when she said I kiasu then I asked her when she expected me to buy? She said Jan lor. Then I asked her what if I popped early? Then she kept quiet and said she's busy with work mah.. Haiz.. I asked her what brand of traditional nappy is good? She said she'll ask her mum and let me know. Now 1mth liao still no reply from her but I bought Pigeon's one already. The most funny thing is after telling me her mum will pack some bb's clothes for my bb but ask me to remind her. So I told her she really very bo sim le. Wanna give me things still need me to remind her. I will pai sei also de mah..

Am placing orders for CNY "New Eastern Bak Gua" through my supplier... Anyone keen?

$42/kg... Only original flavor left... Last date of order: 15th Jan..

Collection date: 22nd Jan (can store up to a month for consumption)...

collection point: to be advised/arranged upon orders...

Drop ur orders if keen...

@pyng: Ask your hubby to trim for you la. Our belly is so big now how to see?

@Val: Disposable bras?? Lol.. Have you bought any nursing bras? I just bought 4pcs from online yesterday.

@Bigflamingo: Is it the white cream which is used to apply on the face? It comes in clear glass bottle? Or it is lotion?

So sorry for my slow replies coz I read halfway then reply, read halfway then reply. Hehe..

Hi mummies.. can i check if anyone went for the OGTT and GBS test?

I failed both tests and kind of worried altho gynae says everything is find so long i take my medication and watch my diet.

Any advise?

Mrs Ong

my CL rates go down after 初十。。。(12 Feb)

what I meant was that, let's say my baby is born on 6 Feb, then she's supposed to come on 9 Feb (after i get discharged from hospital), but I'm ok handling the first few days on my own, so I don't call her until say 11 Feb, so she can come down on 13 Feb, and start the 28 days from then... with the normal rate.

I think it's fair cos I'm only employing her after the rates fall, as agreed. But like you say, some CL might want to earn more, so might feel like I should have called them once my baby was born...

maybe the next time I chat with her I'll casually mention, don't worry, even if I pop before 初十 I'll only call you to come down after 初十, in between I can handle myself.

Nursing bras can be bought for pretty cheap at OG according to some of the mummies. =) If your mammaries aren't 40E and are a reasonable 38C and below, I think it should be easy to find them in the stores.

@Zanta: I bought 2 packets of the disposable panties from Baby's Boutique and 1 from NTUC.

Yaya, I think is Pureen. That one look so long! Initially I thought the packaging is 2 layers of pads stacking on top of another. When I want to pack to hospital I take out and see I got a shock! End up I put it back cos I don't know how to pack to hospital. So I'll be bringing those heavy flow night use pads to hospital.

Hahahha. No wonder lah, I think she offer her help for the sake of offering lor. Or maybe your mil asked her to offer. My sil very independent. Everything also do herself, that's why she knows a lot of lobangs.

Everyone also busy with work mah. But if got heart can use weekend to consolidate info, pack the clothes and bring over mah. From pregnant till now got 36 weekends leh. She 36 weekends also not free?? You very daring leh, tell her to her face that she very bo sim. Hahahaha! But ya lor, this kind of thing very pai seh to remind de leh. Make it seems as though we very greedy like that.

Yeah, I finally bought it last weekend. LOL~ I bought from Triumph. They have offer. Buy 3 get 1 free. But they don't have enough stocks, so I still have to go back to collect the "1". -_-"