(2011/02) Feb 2011

zanta: my boy was feeding 1.5 hourly for the first 2 weeks..

and 2 hourly until 6 mths..

maybe cos my milk not alot or he like to drink a bit but many times...

so u see how to take alcohol?

my 2 bottles of DOM gathering dust at home.

but i find that red date tea really help to booast milk supply and the ginger in it help us to get rid of wind in the body.

i am not sure why confinement need alcohol tho'

Joodz,

Was just reading about varicose veins popping out near the vagina/vulva area. Might be what you are experiencing... article said it should subside few months after birth.

Mimi,

Don't worry. This is gestational diabetes only...not a lifetime thing. Just have to watch yr diet thats all.

charmaine, why dont go kkh straight? Have u went to see doc today? ur bb still kicking u? D take care n if can ask gyna for he/her personal hp no or any no u can call if emergency when is clinic is close.

charmaine, tts really a scare. hopefully everything is ok for your gynae check tml. I think you shld try to rest more. Dont exert yourself. for me, in my 28weeks only. 3more mths to go. sigh.. i seriously hope tt i can control my diet well so that it will not affect my little one.

btw, my little one is 1kg at 27weeks. gynae said its normal weight but i still think tt she is abit on the smaller side. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but i guess i shldnt worry too much for now.

@Zanta: I’ll pass the contact to you tomorrow.. So sweet to be dreaming of your bb.. Haha.. I have been dreaming a lot lately which is seriously disturbing my sleep but not of bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. I suppose 4-5 bottles of DOM should be more than enough ba.. And like what you said, we might not like the taste of it..

Subsequent visits: When are you starting to visit gynae once every fortnightly? Mine is still planned once monthly until 37 weeks then become once per week? I have my appointments scheduled till 38 weeks le..

@Unicorn: Why have to buy button tops? We will be wearing the patients uniform in hospital right?

@MiMi: Relax.. Just follow the dietician’s instructions and things will be fine..

Hospital bag: Can anyone advise what we have prepare? A checklist maybe?

@Charmaine: Don’t worry.. BB will be well and healthy.. Update us after your visit tomorrow.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jootz

Great that baby is in healthy range. Wow! 1.6kg!! My next scan is next Friday. I will be 31 weeks by then. Hope that my baby weight will be in healthy range as well as it was slightly lighter at 26 weeks. Only 893 g to be exact.

Ah Ching

Wah! U really read so many books leh. I only read and follow the Gina Ford book. In the book, Gina does show u hoe to adjust the schedule as u move along with baby. Like if baby wake up earlier than usual, then the feed before this nap need to increase by 30ml etc. Then u will find baby back on schedule again. Etc. Simple instructions like this. Or keep baby awake from 2-5pm so for that three hours, need to make sure baby don't sleep. So play with baby, sing, show colorful toys, stimulate baby etc (which I felt was the hardest to do coz like mummy doing stand up comedy. Quite tiring.) kekeke... I didn't even know got the toddler book. Haha! Guess I will just stick to the same Gina Ford book coz my 3yr old will be in full day school mon to fri. I will be home alone with baby most of the time. Am so looking forward to taking care of my little gal. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can't wait!!!!!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Unicorn

I bot four pieces of nursing dress (t shirt material, home wear type) from mother care. It's so comfy I have been wearing it to sleep for past three years!!! Now still wearing and can use to nurse my number two. U should check it out.

Charmaine,

Just read ur post. A palm size blood object??? That's damn scary. Maybe it's the mucous plug or something. Actually u shouldn't care whether Sunday or not. gynae service is 24-7 you know? Three am on Sunday morning also the gynae have to come and see u in hospital one! Please please head straight to KKH and bring the object there to show the nurses n gynae. We are very close to the finishing line. Do be careful and it's better to err on the side of caution and go hospital if fresh bleeding occurs.

Precious Babi

We wear hospital gown for first day after delivery. After that can change into our own clothes already. I will bring my nursing tee shirt dress cos comfy and not so RA like the backless hospital gown. Friends visiting, photo taking etc... I hiao mah.. Kekeke....

Hi all, i called my gynae and he said as long as I'm not hving fresh red bleeding, no contractions and bb kicking lots, I should be okie and to continue bedrest. He said as I had the haemorrhage just 1 week ago, it's normal to continue having reddish/brownish discharge as long as the amt flowing out is not alot.

Mi mi, usually if mummy is having gestational diabetes, their bb will usually be of good weight, so no need to worry much. Avoid food tat's oily, or high in sugar content and you'll be fine.

i almost wanna type shopping bag.. hahaha

hospital bag - as i deliver in TMC all th while - the will provide top and mittens for bb

1.pants for bb

2. booties for bb

3. toiletries - if u prefer ur own

4. nursing bra

5. panties / disposable panties

6. breastpads

7. sanitary napkins - if u prefer ur own - they will provide a pack of maternity loops

8. jacket in case u get cold

9. socks- in case of cold also

10. make up - for mummies who hiao (like mami b said - not for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

11. a change of clothes for you to go home!!

12. a change of clothes while u in the hospital - bring 2 in case for mummies who c sect

thats so far as i can remember - i will brin hb's extra t-shirt as well actually...dunno this time ....

charmaine - thank god.. please bed rest more yah.. it must b such a scare.. wen i had little clot.. was already scared - wat more u...

hi charmaine, im glad that your gynae cfm that everything is fine and your bb is moving alot. do take extra care fm now onwards. you are a brave woman and im sure you'll be able to deliver a healthy little one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

charmaine: palm size blood clot is considered little? so scary.. i hope tmr checkup everything is fine.. if gynae so okay i guess should be okay bah..

Mimi: dont worry.. at my 27+ going to 28 weeks scan my baby only 1.2kg.. within 3 weeks increase 4kg.. 1kg sounds like a good weight. u dont want it to be too big also later csect:)

Hospital Bag

So far i have packed disposable panties, maternity napkins, socks, maternity bra, breast pad, sweater, baby wear home clothes, swaddling blanket. things i still need to buy are front-open nursing wear. i guess thats about it.. the rest like toiletries and spare clothes i think i last minute then pack cos at home have already.. have i missed out anything? i think like bring quite a lot of things alr.. haha.. my hubby will bring my pump on his 2nd visit to see me..

anyone knws what will Mt A provide and what can i buy so i dont need to use theirs to save cost?

charmaine: pls rest well and monitor.. if I were u I would have rushed down to hospital liao.

Re; hospital gown, TMC dont have hospital gown lei. so must bring your own.

my experience with the button tops.. useless.

most of the time must bf topless as first time bfg so must adjust here and there...

i think most useful will be a large T-shirt.

anyway first few days no milk, so no need worry abt leaking milk.

1 lesson i learnt, i couldnt wear the pj pants I bought cos after delivery, we will still be 6 months preggy size..

Idaar, thanks alot. Was really scared when I was 'catching' the clot coz at tat moment when it's 'gliding' out, i dint know wat is it and how big it was.

Mi mi, thanks alot. After wat happened, kinda 'awaken' that it's already a blessing to be able to carry a bb to full term, regardless of the sleepless nites n backaches etc. I only hope tat my bb will be fine and healthy till delivery.

@Unicorn: I bought mine from pasa malam coz alot of my current sleep wear are getting tight already. They're cheap, $8/set but don't expect them to be v nice la.

@Pootz: Yup, will be drinking the DOM neat. For cooking is use martell or mee jiu I think. For cooking I'm not afraid, is the drinking part which worry me..

@kinderbueno: My friend just 8wks preg and she already start to soak a bottle of martell with herbs for her confinement time to drink lor.. She said drink liao v good, face will look rosy.. I think even when we eat food cook with rice wine still must drink DOM or what to "bu" our health back bah.

@Charmaine: It was really a scare!! Luckily all is well.

@Joodz: I was still blur blur when I read your post till I read Idaar's post. Hehe.. Should be 400gms bah..

@PreciousBabi: Ya lor, I'd dreamt of my bb quite afew times liao and this time round, I could see her face quite clearly. She looks quite like her cousin sister in my dream. Haha.. Hubby said maybe I yearn for her arrival too much liao so kept dreaming about her.

I think from week 32 onwards must visit gynae like once every fortnight if I'm not wrong??

Hello mummies..

When I attended the antenatal class, we were shared on thgs to bring for not only mummy & baby but for daddy too! Besides the practical items listed, the nurse suggested music, aromatherapy or anythg to help u relax.. I cannot really remember but I will list them down & share tmr with u ladies tonite/ tmr.

Oh for daddy, I remembered the guys in the class said laptop, PSP, cameras etc.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Preciousbb,

depending on what u want. If u wan to fully bf ur bb, then no need to feed the bb with formular milk coz bb can tahan for abt 3 days. My friends did that. I will be doing so too. Just afraid that my mil will heartpain when bb not getting any food. Haiz......

@Zanta: See.. My gynae is so different.. Mine only start at 37 weeks.. Alamak.. He always makes me kan chiong.. Gotta check with them again at next visit..

@Nashita: Thanks in advance to share the list..

@Joy07: You mean bb can tahan for 3 days without milk? Can meh? Sounds weird..

Hi I was away since June as too busy to come in.

Due date is 17/Feb and I think I should slowly look out bb essential items. Anyone can give some ideas?

Can anyone give any comment on:

(1) Medela Instyle Pump and (2) Medela Freestyle Pump

preciousbabi: TMC will provide formula milk. we no need to bring.

anyway, the pd may suggest u give FM if baby is dehydrated..

cos dehydrated, urine very little and yellow. not good for baby.

preciousbabi: yah babies are born with enough reserves in their body to last them a few days.. mother nature at work cos not every mother has milk immediately after delivery.. i also told it to my MIL but she was appalled and insisted that if i dont have milk in the first few days i must give formula..

@chairmaine: Hope the spotting stop soon. Take care k?

Mummies, anyone using maternity support belt? Any brand to recommend cos my back has started aching esp when I do hsework... cos I cannot stand seeing thgs messy..

Yah... Pls be prepared all first time mummies.. U will get remarks like u don't hv enuf milk lah... See, he still hungry... Give formula lah, ur milk too thin, no nutrients , etc n somehow u will feel hurt. Hv to block out these. One ear in, one ear out. Easier said than done. Even nurses may tell u the above.

I found these remarks offensive for some reason when I had number one. Maybe also bcoz hormone imbalance so easily irritated.

My colleague shared with us dat you need to block all these out. Breastfed babies absorb the milk better & is able to digest it faster. As a result, ur baby will need frequent feed (cld be less than 3 hrs in between) so u need to share these info with your mom, MIL or CL. Dun give in and start giving baby formula if u intend breastfeed. Even if little, dun give baby bottle feed as baby will get nipple confusion & may reject BF. During the antenatal class, the nurse shared if u cannot BF baby (either cos of nipple issue or baby seperated from u)... ask the nurse to feed baby thru cup & not bottle to minimise the nipple confusion. Most impt, perservere. IN fact, I intend to hint to MIL abt exclusive breastfeeding ie no water even during 1st 6 mths.

From the antenatal class, it is confirmed that the baby has enough reserves to last for 3 days without feeds. During these 3 days, you're supposed to let your milk supply flow. And allowing a hungry baby to suckle would induce it. A full baby is not going to help your supply.

From what I gather from experienced mums, try your best to resist giving Formula Milk. Coz once you let yourself have the easy way out, your milk supply just won't come in full force anymore. Like Mami B warned, relatives, friends and caretakers would ask you to feed the baby more since they are crying. But have faith in nature that your supply would come and the baby would cope.

That's if you believe greatly in breastfeeding. For the long-term good of our babies, we have to hard-hearted and resist all the crying. Have faith!! SURE CAN ONE!!!

@Joodz: Haha.. Ok lor.. :p But I think I will give in to FM if my supply don't come early. Actually I thought of giving FM in the milk so that the bb will be fuller.

It's true that babies have a reserve that can last them a few days w/o milk. The first few days you will be producing colostrum, a yellowish liquid that will boost your baby's immune system. But dont worry, hospitals have formula milk in disposable bottles on standby if you want.

mami B: haha, in fact, i am already experiencing very discouraging remarks. my cousin in law just gave birth 6 months ago was very keen to bf as well, but faced a lot of criticism by the elder generation. as a result she gave up. she could feed her baby while latched on but was unable to express enough milk so her MIL assumed that she did not produce enough milk and fed the baby with formula. my MIL has been bringing up this matter to me recently and keeps hinting that i wont be successful as well. at first i get irritated but nowadays i one ear in one ear out. a big motivation is my hb, whom i have successfully convinced that bf is better so he has been my voice when talking to in laws.

btw, for those who want to build your case against formula feeding, you might want to know that though milk doesnt come in that early, colostrum will still flow a little bit for most. a baby's stomach in day 1&2 is the size of a marble. day 3 is size of ping pong ball. day 10 onwards is size of egg. as such, you dont need a lot of supply in the initial days. this is what i learnt in antenatal class as well as trawling those breastfeeding support groups..

Joodz,

the old generation was brought up to believe that formula milk is better. It's quite hard to change their minds. My confinement nanny kept sneaking formula milk feeds to my firstborn when i took naps or at night. After that it was impossible to get him to latch on. It made me really angry. and maybe due to that, my supply went down permanently.

@nashita - no worries [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@mami b - i intend to get gina ford book by this mth as i heard rave on routine activities!

@charmaine - sound scary but glad u are fine.

@MiMi - For OGTT are you referring to urine test whereby we will take everytime when we go for our monthly check up?

@preciousbabi - i heard hospital will have milk to supply for bb so dun hv to bring lol...

Anyone know how gynae derive bb wt coz during my past few visits, my gynae just gave me an estimation for my bb wt. Will ask her on this when i go for my check up this fri...very curious if my bb grow bigger [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Btw for fetal movements, i feel that my bb movements is more on rolling & vibrating instead of kicking...izit normal?

@pyng: My bb move more than kick nowadays. I wonder is it bcoz of space constrain as bb is getting bigger and bigger now. Sometimes I can see/feel a big bump moving from one spot to another, very cute and funny. Haha.. And sometimes it feels tickish too..

abt FM feeding, actually I did give FM to my baby when he was in hospital.

and later1-2 bottles a day when I returned home.

but i still breastfeed until 14 mths.

i think FM option is bad only if the mummy give up herself.. or lazy to pump to increase milk supply.

Thanks mummies for the info.. So we gotta stand firm during the first few days until milk supply comes.. Haiz.. Hopefully don't have to wait too long.. If not bb so poor thing..

Haha I kiasu mah.. So better bring my own FM in case hospital give different brand then when I change to FM, bb don't like..

@Mrs Ong: My gynae also estimates bb's weight.. He will take the measurement of bb's head circumference and tell us the weight.. So we just listen lor.. So long it's within healthy range can already..

Same feeling for bb's movements! I seldom feel him kick.. Only feel some stretching, tossing and vibrating.. And his movements like one day stronger and one day not too much.. Also wonder if this is normal..

Mrs Ong, the OGTT test i'm talking abt is the one that needs fasting the night b4, they will draw first blood sample early in the morning, make us drown a glucose drink then take another sample after 2hrs. its not the usual urine test. i always pass the urine test..so i suppose its not so accurate.

hi everyone! been a long time since i have post..

tml going for my check up.. can't wait..

hope baby is doing fine n growing well..

Hospital Bag-

i will be giving birth at Mt A..

half done only.. haven't throw in baby discharge clothes n my own clothes..

charmaine: take care n rest more..