(2011/02) Feb 2011

Eating habit

Me not much craving for food. I eat whenever I'm hungry... most of the time I'll choose the healthy ones, like fruits (to prevent constipation), nuts (for the fatty oil for bb's development) oats...

The only changes I've till date is, I eat 2 extra meals which I trying to curb... I've gained 7kg since pregnancy... and I told to watch my weight...now I lost track how much weight I've gain as too sad/ stress to know... haha.. Pregnancy is a happy thing, so I've decided not to dwell on the weight thingy..

Drinking liquid is gd, as it help to flash tonix out of our body, thought frequent visiting the toilet might not be a pleasent.. well, treat it as exercising lor. Haha

I'm unable to eat much during dinner, and half a bowl of rice which veg, meat and fish is able to last me to the next morning.

I cut away from raw, half cook and seafood, just to be in the safe side.. me super KS when I'm pregnant.

The only food i crave for is potatochips "> love it but hv to stop myself as blood clot is forming in my nose... my mum says i'm too heaty...

trying to take plenty of herbal drinks which is supposing gd for bb ">

Pootz-

AMEN! I am believing ours will all shift up k? =D

And nope. Hubby not around and I cannot shift things alone lor.

Baby is gonna bunk in with us first so not preparing any room. Lol. Kae only had his own room when he started P1 hahaha. Even then, we just kept it basic.

At least fix the aircon? That one is not renovation but maintainance? Coz the painting and knocking around etc can wait if u want to acede to their beliefs. Although it is a bachelor's pad, it is still liveable hor? But letz say baby come, u will want at least the aircon working right? =)

For me, I dun care about pantang one. Honest to goodness, I sewed and cut stuff whilst sitting on my bed when preggers and Kae had no cleft lip. Some fortune tellers told my mum Kae cannot swim or go near swimming pool until past 4 years old or will drown before he turns 5. We brought him swimming since he was a baby and he is healthy PLUS he just took up swimming and can swim well. =)

I'd rather settle the place baby is gonna sleep in so that when the baby comes and I am tired etc, we won't have to deal with the dust and the hassle lor.

Baywater-

I can teach u a few recipes that are easy to prep if u want? =) Hehe. I can cook but when I have little time, I prepare these dishes that are easy to prepare and clean up afterwards.

Part time maid might be expensive but then again, I guess for me, I'd rather not have the headache to deal with a FT maid esp coz I have to be responsible for them. I prefer to just DIY and my hubby helps out... itz just me lol. I am the kind when I cook I usually dun wan anyone else in the kitchen pattern (unless i am teaching my girl friends how to cook lah).

But yea I can see that you are feeling maxed out so here's hoping u get a wonderful FT maid this time around!!! AMEN!

That friend of mine is "super mum" lor. She makes her own teaching materials for her kids and damn nice bento boxes for her boys to take to school. I dunno how she copes hahaha. She says she cannot stand mess so she really packs like siao one. I can tahan a certain level of mess but i feel pek chek after a while and will do a thorough clean up. BUT now too tired to really do that so just trying not to feel irksome. Need hubby to step up and help out with packing and throwing and all that le. =ppp

OK taking Kae out for lunch now. He's back from school! =) Ciao Bellas!

@Princess: My appetite so far has been very good as I’ve no MS.. Hence already put on 8kg at 21 weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. No craving for food so far.. Just eat whatever is available, like the rubbish bin collection centre [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. But craving a lot for milo.. Everyday also must drink at least a cup/packet of milo whether hot or cold.. And nowadays toblerone chocolates & panda biscuits after meals.. BB likes.. Hehe..

I’m looking around for cots too.. Can’t wait for the expo fair.. Hopefully can get most of the stuff there so don’t have to worry at later stage..

@Pootz: I was thinking of repainting bb’s room too but since cannot do anything now, will just pack it clean for bb’s stuff to go in ba.. I will only buy a small cupboard/drawer to store bb’s clothings and stuff... You still need to dismantle platform and things ah.. Better not do it now.. Can wait till bb is out? Better be safe than sorry..

@Baywater: Can take herbal drinks meh? Thought it’s too cooling for our body?

TGIF!! 3 hours 45 mins more!!

Halo EveryonE!

Finally i have the time to comment.Been missing cause busy with work as I am covering my colleague who's on maternity leave.. hahahaha! we take turns now. next time will be my turn!

FInally had time to read thru and also comment.

@ Pootz: u were also in the Tue evening class by Mrs Wong? @ AMK Hub right? what were you wearing? and where were you sitting? I was there too!!

PreciousBabi : I am like you...i have no MS or any special cravings. Have already pile on 8kg too! I am in my 23rd week now. I try my best to eat less fattening food though. A lot of mummmies here seem to be in the healthy range of 5-6kg...thats good! 8kg still seems ok i guess...my gynae never say much though I really hope i wun go past 13kg for the whole 9 months!

Guess i ate too much for my 1st trimester! I put on 5kg by end of 3rd month..hahahhaa!

Re: Ligament Pain

Yes, i have dat too.. in fact,for whole of yday i was so uncomfortable. The feeling is a sore and dull pain beneath the bump and near to the groin area...its really quite sore..my gynae says its the ligament streching..like wat Geri said.

Tips on Mrs Wong class

I attended her class and she also mentioned that its good to talk to the baby in "normal language". don't talk in baby language. and greet baby every morning and night.

as the baby is in the womb, they are unable to differntiate night and day..its good to shine a torchlight ard 6cm away from the tummy..to orientate the baby.

listening to classical music helps but do not put earphones on the stomach..like what we see in those advertisments..hahahhaa...

and eat balanced diet, with good intake of calcium, iron and minerals.

Cheers everyone! we are reaching our 3rd trimester soon. Maintain a good posture so as not to have backaches.

Hi KinderB,

Hi 5^, I've been staying in the West area for the past 27yrs. Yishun foreign to me still thou I've stayed here for the past 4yrs...

Am now on the Mon-Fri (Yishun), Sat/Sun(Redhill) routine.

Still pondering whether to shift or not, big decision.

Things so far are good with in-laws and sils, just that no extra room for #1 and #2 lor.

Really thank god my in-laws are easy to get along with....

We can meet up @ Northpt for meals too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Add me in Facebook: [email protected]

Geri,

Lucky you, I got the BH very often when I had #1.

The intermitten freezing feeling (My bump feel as hard as a stone) of my tummy is abit irritating, lucky it doesn't hurt.

Fiona,

I also encounter the "Sng Sng" feeling @ my V area and thighs at times. Not sure what causes that, normally I will just brush it off, elevate my legs up at least 10 - 15mins at nite. (Gee.. I assume not enough blood flow to my lower body :þ)

Hi Gregda! Yes I was there!!

I'm sitting near the toilet side... 2nd row from the back... in front of the lady who ganna asked question on what she ate the day before. Regret, should have choped the back seat... aww, my back after 2.5 hours! Wearing black cardigan... I'm one of those low placenta pple.. so you'll see me not doing those exercises with the rest. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

pootz: i was just thinking about how to baby proof my house last night.. like yours, my house is like the ultimate bachelor pad. i started to realise that all my tables are low-level, and there are dangerous corners all around. i will be revamping my house in december.. throw away all useless stuff, protect all corners etc. i can only do all these myself as hubby no time. sigh, so 'looking forward to it'.. haha..

Geri, many thanks... me accepted that i've no fair for cooking... most insulting it that my h is a better cook than me. He pick up cooking after our wedding.. sigh.... so much for home economics...

PreciousBabi, some herbal drinks are not cooling, but more smoothing.. it will allows bb to hv better skin/ complex so call... but all must take with moderation... ba guo dessert, apple sweet dessert soup, bird nest, etc... herbal soup are gd too.">

BB room.

Drop that idea already. My newborn will sleep and shit in our room.. haha.. try not to move things around. not too much on the patang thingy but, carrying heavy things, squatting up and down might not be gd for the tummy... not too sure if u ladies feel it, I'll hv this sudden feeling that my tummy is 'drop' down when I squat down and stand up...

I even feel that there's blood flowing out of the v area when I out work myself with the household during my maid absent... Thereafter, I'm more careful and try not to squat or stand too long...

kinderbueno, thanks for the kind words. "> My hubby is seldom at home (bz at work) so most of the time, I'm on my own settling the home affair."> That's one of the reason Y i quit and stay at home to be SAHM.

He is too bz, no time for my girl. If both of us are so engross in our work, wat would happen to my girl.... so after much tots, we feels that either party hv to give up the job... so me lor since I earn lesser than him. "> Heart pain to c my income drop initially... so now have to learn how to cope with the allowances. Can't spend too much on shopping "<

Hi mums,

Sometimes, the pain was so sharp that I even had problems to change my top ..

Today I just had a stomach upset, have been running to the toilet ..

Wonder whether it was due to the breakfast I bought from Toastbox ..

The tummy is super painful ..

@Gregda: Haha.. You & your colleague so funny.. You cover her now and soon it’ll be the other way round.. Nice!! But how come your company never get replacement for her? Not fair leh.. They pay you extra ah?

My gynae will comment on my weight every visit.. Haiz.. I also don’t wish to go pass 12kg.. But I think with my eating habit now (hungry every 3-4 hours), a bit difficult.. Haha..

@Baywater: How about barley and luo han guo drinks? You should be happy to be a SAHM.. Can spend all the time with the kids instead of having to see people faces at work.. I’m praying for my hubby to ask me to resign and be a SAHM after birth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].. But I doubt that will happen [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. Haha..

@Unicorn: Take care and drink more water!

@joodz - yar lor.. my coffee table is glass n like ankle height! I can imagine my gal climbing on it! Tv console all sharp edges...

The best thing is, my living room is BLACK. That's why I wanted to repaint it. But the problem is, if i can't do it now, when can i do it with the little one around in the midst of smelly paint or adhesive?

Yeh, we'll probably have to make do with her sleeping on our bed or matress... Coz our bedroom is so small, I can hardly fit a cot! If I can find a cot small enough to squeeze between my bed and the wall, I have no standing space beside it! Sighhhhhh!

@Joodz: Opps, I missed your post.. Actually for the time being you can just make sure the house is clean.. You can clear the low tables and do something to the corners after birth since these will only pose danger to bb when they start on walkers.. But of course, you have to be careful also lah.. In the meantime, you can rest more and don't stress yourself on that..

pootz: look for lead-free paint okay, cos lead is very harmful to young children..

preciousbabi: i will be staying with MIL for half a year or so.. by the time i go back to my own house, baby should be starting to be itchy hand.. so i thought its better to finish doing everything before i give birth, since nobody will be home for so long.. also have to throw away everything in the fridge..

the current condition of my house is like a warzone now.. old receipts everywhere, every spare corner piled up high with barang barang. my mother hates coming over. she says my house is an eyesore.. haha. i admit im not a very good housewife. i have a rough journey ahead. hahaha..

@baywater - Please be careful ok? the thought of blood flowing out your v area is scary! Get one of those hourly maids? 4 hours block only cost you less than $50, i think should be money well-spent, considering the risk!

PreciousBabi... hope ur prayers will be answered "> I feel more relax at work "P then at home... need to do lots more work to meet my H's expectations... my bosses are more easy to please than my H... when I'm working, I can use I'm bz so can't do as excuses... now no such excuses... LOL

Homesafe for BB

Making the home safe for bb is one thing. Teaching them wats danger and pain is another thing. We are not 24x7 with them, so they must understand danger and how not to venture it.

For me, I remove my bed leggings to lower the mattress to the floor... I think thats the only thing i did. LOL

I start teaching and letting her experience pain with supervision of cos when she started to crawl. No pt howering around her... when she hurt herself, she will cry, we will be heart pain... but she will learn not to repeat the actions...

to me, its much better, as it will prepare her for the CC and primary school environment.. where parents are not there for them when they fall. Teach them how to fish is always better then serving them the fish..

@Joodz: Haha.. You often have war at home ah?? Lame joke.. Haha.. Then you better start packing bits by bits now.. Don't wait till Dec! By the time tummy already so big then you will have a hard time..

@Baywater: Thanks! I hope so too.. I will get an answer once my hubby reads that message.. Haha.. Is it really that bad to stay at home look after kids & all the household chores.. Many of my friends also say they rather work.. Which I don't understand why.. Maybe I will only when I become a SAHM.. Haha..

BPC - maybe u tahan for another few yrs then when ur kids are older, can send them to full-day childcare near ur home? very wasted to sell away redhill home leh.. errm.. i'm one of the few dinosaurs not on facebook.. but can always PM me for meet-ups =)

Joodz - looks like our homes are in the same situation.. super messy.. i've junk mail lying all ard.. my parents can't sit still when they come over... cos they can't tahan the mess and will start packing for us.. hahah, just like the good old days when we were still living with them..

Preciousbabi - I also want to be SAHM!! but only in my dreams lah.. it's non-negotiable territory with my hubby.

on home safety - i heard that ikea sells those child-safety stuff that u can stick on sharp corners to protect kids from being cut? My colleague said he has them stuck all over his place.. me thinking of getting some too

@ Pootz: OOH ! i think i saw you but can't remember now ... i think u will know me cause i was the one who got called up to demo the hand and arms massage exercise...LOL! My hubby got to work so was rather late..he came in during that arms massage time.. I was sitting behind you...at the last row..next Tue, go in early to get a seat at the last row? i can imagine..the 2.5 hrs without back support..aaaawww!

@ precious babi: no ah, no replacement and no extra pay for me! SOBS... this is the 2nd time I am covering her. her 2nd child ...each time 3 months of leave..very shack ah....hahahaa..but its ok lah..time pass faster when I am busy at work..

my home is also not suitable for children and young kids.. glass top table with sharp edges..but i think for now, babies are still ok..once they hit 2 years old and can walk and move ard...the danger zone is there.. so no rush to revamp ur homes... but of course its always a joy to do some changes for the arrival of our little princes and princesses.

Hello mummies.. sorry I been MIA. Was down with flu since Mon & thgs are only getting better today. I hope it will go away so I can rest well or go out to relax over the weekend.. I feel very deprived as been cooped up at hm or only running errands or turn up for events on weekend. =)

I haven't been active, posting thgs up but will read whenever I can on my iPhone when making my way to & from work. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Work has also taken its toll on me. Mebbe my boss know I cannot run away now so my load has been increased.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] To be truthful, recently I hate coming to work lor! Sigh....

joodz

we have similar plan as your. After the first 4 months maternity, we would moved in with my parents for 6 months to 9 months because parents taking care and we didn't want to keep moving the newborn between places so early. By 2 years old, we will put the baby into childcare centre. I think it's good to have the baby mingle with other kids instead being at home lonely with my grandparents, learn nothing but hokkien and mandarin? Ha

@gregda - hahah, yes i remember you!!! Can imagine your shiokness being massaged simultaneously left n right! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I was thinking, so sad for those who's hubby isn't with them, coz almost everyone had. Good that yours made it in time at least for a little session. =D

nashita: i feel you... i am also over-whemled covering my colleague who's on 3 months ML...it sucks cause a lot of shit work...and its my 2nd time doing it...just hang in there..and do what we are supposed to do...think positively ya..

it can be the flu ...eat more vitamin C and hope u get well soon.

@ Pootz: i was the only oddball that day..the only one without hubby though he rush down in the end at 8.30pm after work! hahaa!

Corner Bumper from IKEA,

Am using this on all the sharp edges. Better child proof before accident happen. When my Chor Lor boy was learning to walk, he was always in a drunken state, will always bang on the least expected places.

Cabinet/Cupboard Locker or Catch,

I have to resort to this as my son loves to play with the DVD player. There was once I caught him half crawling into my kitchen cabinate! My cornell plates and bowls were placed all nicely on the floor, nearly fainted!

What if he broke the crockery and cut himself... Sweat!

KinderB,

No probs, will PM you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good to know more mummies staying around in Yishun.

@gregda - ok la.. there was another lady who brought her mum along [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Ask him to do better next time! Heheh!

pootz: harnor harnor!

i was a lil sad that day actually.. 1st class and everyone had hubbies with them. one more mummy came with her mum. I was the ONLY ONE who was ALONE ...but really no choice...his meeting ended late...his work is stressful and hetic..sigh..what to do..in the end he reach at 8.30pm and didnt even had dinner...

never mind lah....what to do? Hubby has already done all he can..hopefully he can rush down in time for next few sessions..

see u next Tue! looking forward to it!

Baby Room

I have not prepared a single thg.. My preparation to dat is ZILCH!! :s

No clothes, no cot, nothg... sigh... Actually till now we haven't decide where I will stay aft giving birth.. complex r/s wif my mom. To be truthful I dun mind continuing staying with my in-laws cos my MIL is hsewife, cooks well & can look aft me & baby. If stay at in-laws, baby sleep with us in room.. we got alot of stuffs lying ard the room. Hubby's stuff, souvenirs from overseas trip we made under the bed etc. Hubby say mebbe go put them at storage so got space for baby cupboard & cot. Our hse will only be ready end next yr or yr aft.. really super duper long.. I really sianz!

I read abt food pantang u guys discussed abt a few days back. I am actually non-Chinese & to be truthful, I eat everythg - incl all sort of fruits or watever I feel like eating. Only is everythg shld be taken in moderation. I nvr over-eat any food or fruits even no matter how I like it. Tho nowadays got soft spot for potatoes & may eat it whenever I can be it fried, in soup etc etc. I thk as mummies we shld just take fd in moderation so dat we dun over-gain weight.

As for weight gain, I read in papers yest dat if u're skinny & have low BMI, it is advisable to gain 15kg. Cos if u gain too little, may have trouble during childbirth. See attached article.

@Gregda: Poor thing.. But you seem to enjoying the extra load.. Tell your colleague don’t plan for another bb so soon, if not you will kana again.. Haha..

@Nashita: Why your boss like that one? See you preggy still give you more stuff.. Cruel! You are not the only one there.. I too hate coming to work nowadays too.. I have even planned to resign once I come back from maternity leave provided if I can get another job during maternity leave.. But still have to guai guai for these 3+ months.. Haiz.. Can’t wait for Xmas now..

Good to have your mil taking care and cooking for you.. Very fast one.. By the time your house comes, bb is already 1+ 2 years old.. By then can plan for 2nd one liao.. Haha..

Go to the expo fair next weekend.. I hope to get all stuff from there..

I dun seem to be able upload the article as the allow only 50KB for attachments. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Anyway, it's an article in Home yesterday.

@Gregda: same same...sigh, i actually dunno where to start or wat to look out for... *faintz*

Though the checklist doesn't have all the things required, at least a guide for us to start off with, especially first time mummies.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pootz,

Yes, dun be amazed. Kids nowadays are very smart.

For the corner bumper, have to educate the kid not to peel off lor.

For the drawer/cabinet catch, it will work for younger kids (below 4-5 yr old). Most imptly dun let them see how u open the drawer, they will learn in record time.

@PreciousBabi: My colleagues all seem to be overwhelemed with work & working late.. To be truthful, I kinda work like mad & really speed thgs up so I dun need stay back late. I dunno if dat's the basis of loading me with more work by my boss.

I will also be heading to BabyFair to chk thgs out & thks for the checklist. Will start to prepare hopefully soon.

Thank you so much =)

@nashita - haha, i also haven't bought a single item! I'm still trying to see what i can collect from my friends first. But I was so glad when my gf told me, you should BUY a set of clothes for the baby to come home in when discharged. I'm so happy, coz it's like I'm given permission to spend! =P

princess31,So fast u already at 6mths pregnancy. haha mine still 5.5mths. Hehe. Nice can go see ur bb.

Unicorn, how u feeling? Is it ok? if still having stomach pain do go to see ur GP. Do take care. =)

Hello mummies, I jus went for my detail scanning. Oh everything is ok n went smooth. I have a cd but the cd they will sent to my doc n only can get it for my next visit. Haiz a bit sad thought can get the cd today. Hmm but overall my girl is very active n she lie on her tummy. But can scan her heart, face, lip, kidney, liver, eyes n ear. Haha her face look round hehe. My hubby say like my face round round. Hmm jus now i feeling a bit hard below my belly button. So ask the doc to scan on below my belly button see which part of bb body. Is her spine n butt. hahha.. SO cute..

COOLING DRINKS U CAN CONFIRM DRINK

(of coz everything in moderation)

- Barley (I drink one bottle a day from the TCM shop)

- Green Bean soup (lek dao tng in teochew =D We boil it to drink sometimes)

- Watermelon juice

- Cheng Tng

==========

BRAXTON HICKS & LABOUR

- I dunno how it is lucky coz hahaha BH supoz to prepare u to know what to expect for labour right? =D

To be honest, although this is number 2, I was induced for Kae so I have no idea what it will be like to have contractions, the mucous plug showing and then the water bag breaking on its own etc hahaha. XD So yea itz like a new old adventure for me. Hehe.

========

GREGDA & WEIGHT GAIN

If you are not a dual buy (fatty boom boom) like I was hahaha before I got preggers, it is ok to put on wait. Esp for those who are underweight/ skinny, you can put up to 15kg safely and it is optimum. For me, I was chubbier so I shouldn't put on too much weight. =D Anyway I seem to be losing the chubbiness on my face hahaha. Went from unhealthy weight gain to regular weight gain for pregnancy. Didn't diet but I stopped pigging out at night. I ate so much in first trimester lor. XD

=========

THAT SNG SNG FEELING AT THE VERJAYJAY & THIGHS

Stretching… skin stretching and they limbs supporting new weight gain. =) Yup elevate legs up, do gentle stretches, go swimming (see previous msg haha)

=========

JOODZ

I didn't baby pad my house with Kae hahaha (drama mama music) but we kept a close eye on him and this boy for some reason was quite smart. He didn't go near dangerous corners, never stuck his fingers where he shouldn't, he never ever put anything that was lying on the floor in his mouth, he was just a very different kid man. He still is, to think about it, hahaha.

With Noah, I am more concerned about Kae's LEGO pieces lying about. He knows he must keep the Lego in containers and far out of reach of the baby. I caught him writing his own personal list of things that dangerous for the baby (I found it whilst packing his study table)… amongst the things that he listed down: books that are scary or have monsters and demons, sharp objects, Lego, etc. I will go hunt for it and post the list up for u all to grin and giggle over. =D

===========

BAY

I know how u feel. Ian is always busy too. He works from morning till 11pm or even up till next morning because we need to rush out post production colour grading or edits. =p So it is just me with Kae. I took on less and less jobs on my end coz if not I will be too busy to spend time with Kae and it is not fair on the boy.

And then, there is the constant flying here and flying there =p His cousin was asking me how I can tahan. He flies out of town as much as 6 times a year. Duration away from home lasts from 2 weeks to 3 months (the longest thus far, last year) each time. =p

I actually can earn more than my hubby leh hahaha although he owns his company. But I was earning close to $3k a mth =p

We cut down on some things here and there, but we still manage fine. =) It is about finding a balance.

Ian has made it a point not to work weekends anymore unless he has no choice. He had to talk to his biz partners about it coz the other guys are bachelors and might not understand the commitment he has to make at home as well. But we are all good friends la and they also do ask me for inputs and suggestions from time to time.

EEKS! But no blood flowing right? It could just be ur mucous which is fine.

Yes dun squat and carry heavy things… that one leave to the guys to do. I am gonna get my BFF and my hubby to help out with the cleaning. XD

=======

ON SPRING CLEANING…

My BFF is the only person other than my hubby that I am comfy seeing our MESS of papers and brochures and barang barang. Plus she damn fierce hahaha will scold me if i try to keep anything coz I am being sentimental. OR she can help entertain Kae and help Kae with his room whilst hubby and I tackle our ro

I told Ian le… I will not be doing much of the packing. I will stand by and point here there and he has to take and throw and etc. LOL. ie. I will be the brains and he will be the muscle! KEKEKE! I told him I dun care how, he better tell his other biz partner I am kidnapping him for at least a few days to a week to do the clean up or else he will be so busy and we will never get anything done!

FYI he was flying to and from China for months for a a docu shoot in 2007 and had no time to help plan wedding or do anything for it haha. I basically did EVERYTHING- I booked restaurant, food tasting, came up with guest list, arrangement for tables, found my own gowns and shoes, found his suits (all he had to do was go try), booked the wedding ceremony location, book our second wedding dinner location, order the catering for the second wedding dinner (at NLB The POD, where we had Botak Jones and beer on tap & a more relaxed atmos for friends), DI all the photos we took for our photo shoot, made the deco, made all the corsages, made my bouquet, made the dresses for our flower girls, designed our wedding invites for both the traditional dinner and our friends only dinner… etc. He just had to look good, turn up for the wedding and say I DO! And of coz pay for the bills hahaha.

=======

GLASS TABLES

Throw away. Sell away. Whatever u do just don't use glass coffee tables.

I tell u why ok?

Last year we had a scare when the glass coffee table in our living room suddenly shattered major. #1 was playing outside and we were in our room when there was a loud sound like a whole dish rack full of dishes crashing to the ground.

We ran out and our friend was standing in the midst of the glass in shock. He wasn't hurt (PRAISE GOD… it was really a miracle u know) but around him was a sea of jagged glass of all sizes- from the length of my arm to little fragments.

The glass table was my parents (as is the flat we live in haha) and i think over the years there must have been hairline fractures that were not visible to the naked eye that developed.

I really really really will NEVER get another glass coffee table ever again. =p

=========

JOODZ-

My house is like kanasai also. All the stuff people passed to us, then so many things to clear in our room

The problem is we have a tenant at the moment (my mum's) and our storeroom is connected to her room (which used to be my room when we lived here when I was a teenager) and the storeroom is FULL of things from I dunno when!

I cannot access my storeroom easily so I dun keep stuff there plus there is all this crap to get rid of to make space for our things.

SO… since no store room, our spare bags, our spare everything is all in either our room or Kae's room lor.

It's really quite jialak.

The good thing is the tenant is going back to her native country soon so we will have the room back. She is nice… super duper duper nice… and I will miss her… but it will make it so much more convenient for us.

============

NASHITA

Get well soon!!!!

============

NO WAY I WILL STAY WITH MY PARENTS OR IN-LAWS lol

My Dad before wedding- "U all better dun stay here ah. Wait ur mother nag and nag and nag then everyday fight with her."

My MIL before wedding- "I advice you both to live on your own and not with us because Dad is very particular about the house and cleanliness. Better to stay on your own and maintain a good relationship with him then to move in here and then cause cracks in that relationship."

So hahaha… they both echoed our sentiment precisely. =D

My Dad did ask me why dun I move over to my MIL's place for confinement so she doesn't have to pop over (she's 70) and I said NO NO NO because my FIL (72 yo) needs his rest and the baby will disrupt his sleep and he is very particular although he is SO NICE (really he is very very nice as is my MIL… can't have better parents in law)… so better not.

I think hubby also prefers we stay here so we have our own privacy hahaha.

@Nashita: Slow down your pace.. Nowadays I just act blur all the time coz I already no heart to stay on but gotta endure for the time being.. Sad rite.. Haiz.. Can't wait to leave this place soon!!

No worries, I believe most mummies haven't started buying stuff too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BPC and OFB: I really pei fu you to move over to your in laws place for your child. I prefer to stay at my own place. Bigger and better environment la.. Dont feel comfortable at their place. In fact, so used to own home that mum wants me to be back at her place for confinement for 1 month, I also hesitant. Told her will be there for only 2 weeks.

Now what we do is ferry gal to mil's place on Mon. Dinner at her place on Mon. Wed bring her home for a night, Thurs morn bring her back. Fri bring her home. Previously when she was below 1, We would leave her there on Mon morn and bring her back only on Thurs night. Thats like 4 days of absence with her. We do pop by occasionally though.. And whenever my mum (who stays 5 mins drive from me) could help me, would have her at my mum's place. Cos easier for us to ferry her there and back.

Now with B2, my mil was proposing that she stays at my place for 2 to 3 days a week so that I do not need to keep ferrying our child to her place and she gets to see her grand-daughter more.. Well.. not a bad option for us both.

Baywater: Your cleaning steriliser method sounds cool.. Gona try that next time..

Wish Child: When my bb was born previously.. I got so jealous to see my hb sleeping so soundly whilst I had to get up to attend to her.. So sleepy and tired... yet still need to feed her and after feeding, she poops... Argh!!! And you cant wait to go back to sleep lorz... Yet I cant get my hb cos he has to work the next day...

Haiz.. First timer mummies will understand this when bb is born.. The first few months of night care is a killer...

Pootz: my bedroom was very small too and the cot could hardly fit in.. We had this seahorse foldable mattress and used that for the initial months. We put it beside our bed. As she grew older, we "upgraded" her and have her share our bed. But 1 thing is.. mine is a queen.. So with my dd together with us, it can be quite squishy.. esp she likes to do her karate kicks and 360 turns at night...

When B2 is born, B2 will take over the mattress.. As he grows older, Daddy may have to give way.. haha.. Then when B2 is like 1 yr old, both will be kicked next door to share their bedroom together whilst daddy and mummy have the bed again...

Child safety: My house is not child proof too.. Sharp edges, water fountain, pebbles, low height display cabinet... I tried having the child safety stuff but got pulled out by my gal the moment she started cruising.. My pebbles and low lying decor were also frequently attacked. We had to constantly discipline her and teach her not to touch...

Till today, we are still trying to teach her not to drown out wooden ducks by the fountain and angels or even her toys in our fountain..

She even broke 1 of the Precious moments figurine that we bought to commemorate her birth recently.. Thankfully, the heads that dropped out didnt appear broken when placed on display again... Sighz... Well, she had a hard lesson learnt though.. she cried badly and doesnt seem to dare touch those again... Guessed she dropped it bcos it was too heavy for her...

I think 1 way to prevent all these is to teach them (but be prepared to suffer some damages) or get a play yard.. I didnt get 1 last time... Mayb i should consider 1 for b2.. And also, the trouble only starts when they start cruising around at around 8 or 9 months...

LIST OF THINGS TO BUY FOR BABY (or best still get pre-loved ones... esp clothes coz SOFTER and more COMFY/ BREATHABLE for the baby)

DIAPERS

- Cloth diapers & safety pins (if you are using. I suggest u wash the diapers a few times to soften it first before baby arrives. =D)

- Liners if u use cloth diapers

- Diapers (NB size)

BATH TIME!

- Changing Mat

- Bath Tub (with non-slip base)

- Shampoo, baby wash,

- Kodomo liquid powder (I prefer this to normal powder coz baby can breathe powder in and it is bad for them) OR pigeon powder cake (looks like powder for the face but actually it is a compact for baby's butt... again no flying powder to breathe in)

- Diaper Rash cream (Drapolene is excellent)

- Bath towels

- Olive oil (can use to rub down baby's tummy when it has wind and to soften baby's skin)

- Bath towels, face towels

CLOTHES (pre loved is better than BN)

- Bodysuits sleeveless and pantless(4-5 pieces so u can wash and wear)

- Booties, socks, mittens (4 pairs each, Kae lost a lot when he was NB coz hands and feet small small lah lol)

- Bodysuits with sleeves and leggings (if u sleep in A/C. Have 4-5 to wash and wear)

- T-shirt tops (net net kind or cotton) 4-5 pieces

- long pants (in case go aircon places) 2-3 pieces

- Bibs

========

FEEDING TIME!

- Milk Bottles (5-6)

- Milk Pump

- Bottle warmer (optional)

- Steam sterilizer (optional)

- Diaper bag

- Cooler bag (for storing breastmilk if u have to pump in office or pump outside, comes with cooler pads in them)

- Bottle and teat brushes & tong

- Milk Storage Bags or Freezer Tray for milk

SLEEP

- Cot/ Playpen (look out for those latex mattresses with holes to breathe... safer)

- Waterproofing sheet to put over the mattress

- Bed sheet for mattress (3 at least)

- Either the husk pillow or those two bolsters joint together by cloth contraptions to help make sure baby does not turn in their sleep.

- Baby blanket if need be

LAUNDRY AND GROOMING

- Baby Detergent for clothes (I like Kodomo lol)

- Round tip scissors and nail file ( cannot cut

baby's nails so file it down)

- Soft brush for baby's hair (optional)

- Wet wipes (handy when u go out and need to clean baby up or clean up stuff for baby before using them)

- Cotton buds, cotton wool for cleaning.

- Glycerine (we used glycerine with some water on a cotton wool to clean Kae's gums when he was a baby...)

TRAVELLING

- Pram (optional, self preference)

- Baby carrier (optional, self preference)

- Car Seat (if you drive)

------ THAT IS WHAT I CAN THINK OF FOR NOW (^__^)

SOME STUFF FOR MUMMIES IN CASE U HAVENT BUY YET

Nursing bras (5-6 pairs if u dun wash often)

Nursing friendly tops

Disposable panties (if u dun intend to wash ur panties for the confinement month)

Sanitary Napkins (those extra long, extra wide night kind will be handier than maternity pads)

Breast pads (wash and use kind, if u want to stand by disposable ones for when u have to go out and stuff, go ahead)

Breast Shells (helps with engorgement)

Tummy Binder

Nursing cover

Evian-

Hahaha my hubby prob wun wan to share bed with the kid. We shared our room with Kae for a year initially and it was kinda awkward when we wanted to have COUPLE TIME! Lol.

@Geri: Thanks for the long list. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Will prob start looking ard. I am also kinad waiting for pre-loved items but no news from friends/ family lei..

Nash-

You're welcome =) Dun worry still hv sm months to go still. =D Eg. The pre loved NB clothes i m getting will only get to me in Jan as some1 else is using them right now. =)

Geri,

Hi 5!!! I was induced previously too, this time is like a new round of learning for me.

Eviangal,

Wrt to insufficient sleep, I feel you!!!

But I am a bad wife, will wake hb up to help feed EBM.

There was several occassions we were so tired that both of us ignored BB's cries. I think BB cried till tired and fell asleep :p

@Geri: But at least u're informed abt getting it.. I have no one offering so may have to buy.. Cld be they saving it for no. 2?

Nash-

If u have FB, u can just put a little shout out on Ur profile status about needing pre- loved baby clothes for NB in February. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Ppl started offering me stuff when I started asking hahaha.

Mummies:

I have 2 better makeover offers than the Bobbi Brown one.

1. $25 for a makeover session but only $5 redeemable for Beauticontrol products (under Tupperware). Its from 5 to 7 Nov and 12 Nov. At Tampines or Red Dot Tanjong Pagar. 10.45am to 5.00pm.

Include make up, hairstyling and a photoshoot with an A4 printout.

As this one is not advertised, best you pm me for details if interested. I got this from my friend too..

Thinking of cancelling my Bobbi Brown appointment to go for yet another offer - Estee lauder hands on make up workshop (2.5 hours). But it costs $100 and fully redeemable. No photo shooting option though... Got this through an emailer. PM me if keen too..