Trinket
Hahaha. There's balloting for his school actually and PVs.
Initially, my mum wanted me to put Kae in Rosyth ( I was staying with them before my wedding in 2008 and they live in Hougang). Force me go sign up for PV. But the best part is this, the teacher tending to the PVs went, "Aiya why you all want to parent volunteer so much? Nowadays, neighbourhood schools are very good too and they do have good teachers and curriculum and all. Don't need to send them here. I don't even send my kids to such schools." ROFLMAOLOL! I went home and had a good laugh telling my hubs about it. We actually agree with her.
It is really KIASUISM that prompts parents to do such silly things.
BTW, a niece of mine changed a lot, I feel, after she started attending an atas kindergarten. She was a very sweet girl then became a little bratty. Hubby and I felt so sad. And her parents also feel so pressured coz since everyone else in that kindergarten send their kids to atas school, atas enrichment classes, to do the same. I dunno but I feel the pressure is not healthy on the child- both social, emotional and psychological.
Frankly, hubby and I dont earn a lot at the moment. I am not working right now (hubby also feels good for me not to be under work stress from freelance projects) so only surviving on his pay. Compared to both my SILs' and their family, we earn the least and we don't own a car (we decided not to get one since we live 2 mins from Braddell MRT) etc. And we don't feel like we are shortchanged. We don't see the need to buy branded stuff (unless it is electronics... clothes we just wear what is comfy and looks nice) and refuse to do the keeping up with the joneses nonsense... so we are happy. But my BILs and SILs sometimes worry a lot and they are doing much better than us financially... I recall once I pointed out that, we are doing okay and honestly we have the smallest income of the 3 families leh. Haha.
Sometimes we allow society to get to us too much. Happiness is not measured by how atas we are. U can do well, earn a lot, network with the rich and be the most miserable person in the world. Lol.
As for Australia... hahaha now that hubby is there, I really dun wan to migrate there. We are very "wired" up people and wah lau... the mobile, the internet, the cost of living etc there is high!!! Lol
Having studied and lived in UK for 3 years, in all honesty, I still love living in Singapore. The cuisine, the housing board heartlander atmosphere, etc... lol. I love. =) I love how I am not a second class citizen here and I love the government. I love how it is safe and I dun have to worry about natural disasters and the like.
Ah well... the grass always seems better on the other side huh? But grass is grass whether it is cow grass, atas grass, lawn, etc. Contentment comes from within, not from without. =)