(2011/02) Feb 2011

Pinkyval- Yea neither do I. Investment is an area we are not clear abt too. I do have relatives who are good at it. Might ask them.

Yea Kae has always been this amazing kid. As a baby he never anyhow put things in his mouth and says the most interesting things.

Eg. One day he told us, whilst watching K drama, "Some men ah treat women like vending machine- put the coin in, take the drink out then forget about them." A few mins later at the next ad break- "And then some guys treat the woman like a bottle of water. Drink all the contents then toss the bottle one side. Cannot! Men must treat women like women."

We were like ooooooookay where did that come from?! Lol. I was telling my friend I can borrow his lines for my scripts. (I am a freelance scriptwriter lol)

Pinkyval- Hahaha. Yea. Probably. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But it's always a shock to realise when baby is 8, Kae will be 16++. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Choc- I'm at KKH Pte Suite [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ya, the premium will not change. What i meant is if you are 27 you will maybe pay less than $100 a month. If you're 32, you pay more than $100. $100 is based on 30, so it changes based on your entry age.

I don't really trust these investment policies. You say you have make quite a bit of money with your past investment policy, that is probably because you are still young the deductibles from your policy value are still small. 100% into investment but remember there are deductibles. These investment policies once you turn 30 and after, the deductibles will increase dramatically and sometimes it's not worth to keep it when you are old. All investment linked policies works this way. You think you pay the same premium every year, but it is not true. In fact you are paying more because the deductibles ($$ taken out of your portfolio) increases when you aged.

Ah Ching, Yes you are correct. So indirectly you are paying more when you aged for the cost of insurance although you are still paying the same premium every year. I terminated my ILP because they starts to take more $$ from my portfolio after i turned 30.

zanta, during my 1st pregnancy, i didnt have a chance to wear maternity clothes coz maternity clothing seem very XXL to me. coz im quite petite & during my pregnancy, my tummy not very big only until the 7th, 8th mth then it start to expand abit. i was wearing my own normal shorts & jean until 7th mth, then i start to source for bigger size normal clothes. at work, for those who are not inform, no one notice im preggy until last trimester. so this time, since charmaine comment tat the full panel skinny & ( i love skinny jean! hee..), tat why feel like trying it. hee..

Neongoby, me me! i feel more & more tired every day.. yawn.. so sleepy.. my headache back again.

start having backache too.

re: prufirstgift

i was also told the same thing as pinkyval by my agent.. that the premium wont increase one.. i also like the flexibility as what geri mentioned.. i treat the investment part as a bonus cos i am more interested in the health coverage.. but it also depends on what u all want and seek for in a policy.. i think this policy gives me a better peace of mind bah..

afternoon ladies.. yesterday midnight i wake up feeling that my gastric unwell..

den after that i go toilet n vomit..

Judy, the premium don't increase once you signed but the premium you paying depends on your entry age. Maybe higher or lower than $100. It's so hard to explain. HAHA

OFB: hahaha i understand.. for me my premium is still $100 leh though i am 22 only.. i think premium starts from $100.. so even if you are below 30 u still pay the minimum sum.. haha so cheem.. good to have a guy's perspective in this forum from time to time cos we mothers might be too emotional or kiasu to choose a policy that is financially prudent.. haha.

Just now someone asked if TMC gives any DVD for the detailed scan ... i also want to know if got? Otherwise can pay to get it? What about photos ... need $ also?

Judy, that is really why it's important to have a really good insurance advisor who tells you not only the good things, but the bad things too. I used to buy so many wrong policies ... SAD

Felpoo,

I think you shd stop using the liners for the time being and change underwear instead during the day... feminine washes are not really recommended by doctors.

just had very nice lunch.. economic curry rice.. but im still so hungry.. i feel like i havent had anything yet. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

OFB: yah im surprised how come u are so involved in the forum today.. usually u reply a few times MIA liao. haha.

the food stall person very ngiao, give very little. and i didnt have breakfast(i usually do) so i was starving when i attacked my lunch. but no kick. mouth still itchy. =/

anyway OFB, since you are here, could u give me some advice from a guy's POV? i have some issues i am struggling with recently..

a couple of days ago i was using my hubby's laptop when i chanced upon his gmail account.. he didnt log out after use. it was an email address i didnt knw he had, and inside it were all porn subscriptions.

i am not against my hubby watching porn. in fact, i watch them myself sometimes, and sometimes with hubby. but what i saw in his email disturbed me a lot - they were majority for webcamming sites..

first of all, i am very hurt that he is keeping his email account a secret from me.. also, a few times i use his laptop i see in the history he goes to some xxx webcam sites but i always turn a blind eye(because i am someone who rather dont know the truth then knw the truth and get hurt). other times i also see a tape covering his webcamera, so obviously he has been making use of his webcam for some purpose.

my hubby doesnt do video conferencing or skype of any kind, not to my knowledge..

i fear that he is visiting those xxx webcam sites.. to me, webcamming is a betrayal. watching porn is not. i take it as merely watching a performance, a show.. but if he is indeed webcamming, he is interracting with another girl realtime.. thats the same as having sex with another girl, only that they are not having real physical contact..

my hubby doesnt knw i knw this bcos i just dnt knw how to bring this matter up to him. it hurts me a lot. from his gmail account i knw he was active even before marriage, and up till now..

what should i do? and what are your takes on this? am i overreacting?

@Geri: It's okay. Then he can teach him homework! No need to pay for tuition. Hehehe..

@OFB: I used to buy a lot of wrong policies too. Hahaha! Everyone want to "ka" me. Though they already know what policies I have from Prudential she still keep telling me not enough. Blah blah. Then asked me to buy. I used to have policies from all the insurance company lor. Cos the financial advisor is from IPP. So I guess she earned quite a lot by asking people to buy. Until my hubby, who is then my bf and his mum "review" all my policies and I decided to keep only the Prudential and terminate the rest. So now I trust only my Prudential agent and no one else liao. Hehe..

@Darlest: Ic.. You must b really petite from what you said. My stomach already showed up to b like 6mths preg now. My god-mum & god-sis were so shocked to c my big stomach when I went up to give them mooncakes last sunday. Haha..

Btw, this is the link to the sprees:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/590029.html

I think the organiser whom I bought from did not organize a spree now so you gotta search for another one..

@Charmaine: I just bought the jeans so now waiting for it to arrive. I think it'll probably arrive by end of this mth. The cutting is bootcut de and the reviews said it will loosen after wearing it for awhile so I bought 1 size down.. Now I worry if I can wear it or not.. Btw, if I nv managed to slim down fast after delivery, I will still need to wear maternity wear for the time being right?

@Geri: You have got such a sensible boy.. It must b you taught him well.. Good!!

@Fiona: I hope you r feeling ok now. If you still feeling gastric pain, drink some hot milo ok. Take care wor..

@Felpoo: Your gynae is darn humorous lor!! Haha.. If I were you, think I will b shocked to hear a doctor said this.

Anyone know if there any insurance policies that cover unborn babies? I mean, if touch wood baby is born sick and needs an operation, can any policy cover that?

Fiona- Oh dear... Do rest more and drink more water if u have the runs or are vomitting

I am waiting to see our other insurance agent/ financial adviser to understand more about Pru first. She doesn't sell Pru stuff but understands all terminologies so hope that will give us a clearer and fairer picture.

Bigflamingo- so far only Pru first lor. Last time long ago Manual Life had. Now only Pru. :p Which is prob whyvee are trying to fig it out.

It covers mummy for first 3yrs starting from tine if inception, under pru mum2b then itz a life/ investment for baby from time of inception. Earliest u can get policy is frm 18wk of preg. Latest is 32wks.

And anyway this covers premature babies too. My agent's baby is prematured. And the baby's daily bill of $100 is paid by Prudential. But they only pay $100 per day. So you have to stay C ward cos the baby will follow you.

Bigflamingo- the coverage for mummies goes up to 5k if not wrong. :p It is primarily for the baby's coverage. My other agent thinks 5k up to 10k coverage most ppl will rather just absorb and pay cash. But honestly for hubby and me, 5k is not a small sum also so I was really thinking of getting this. Plus our friend who sells it went into insurance becoz she got cheated by another agent before so she wanted to understand insurance better to help protect her family and herself. She is an old friend and not the sort to badger us or force us into something we cannot afford.

Hubby and I are just waiting to hear more from our usual agent to have a clearer understanding though. He is not in town so I am wondring to wait for him or to go see the goehr agent and then explain to him. Just 5 days more to 18weeks la.

Does prushield cover premmie baby situation I wonder? I am under prushield extra (mum got it for me) and basically it is such I shouldn't need to pay any extra if I am hospitalized for illness and can go under private or first class ward. I know prushield without the extra u have to pay an amt and there is Some co-payment thing. (sorry I dunno the terminologies. Lo.l)

@Geri: I don't think so leh. Cos I also have prushield extra. I have a lot of policies from Prudential lah. Lol~ And that time I got asked my agent does any of my policies covers pregnancies complication. She said no. Lol~ I was thinking if have then I don't have to pay the $320. Hee...

mrs ong, haha..ya lor, so blur of me. *blush* hee

geri, wow! u have such a "dong si" boy! u must have taught him well. got any tips to share?

zanta, ya lor, am qite petite.

wah.. all the insurance talk. see until i blur..

anyway, i know one agent from pru too. but i dun really like tat agent. once u buy from him, he keep pushing the rest of the product. haiz.. thinking of changing the agent.

I just went for an insurance course, and realised that a lot of insurance is not optimal.

For instance, ILPs. Best is to keep insurance separate from investments. when both are linked, you end up getting less of your principal into investment, and more eaten up by insurance. If you buy pure insurance, for the same insurance coverage, you pay a lot less in premiums than if it were investment-linked.

most ILPs invest the bulk of the principal in low-earning bonds so as to fulfil the 'capital guarantee' portion. and the marginal amount that goes into investments is not guaranteed, and at the end of the day you could get less interest returns than if you had put the whole amount in a bank.

For babies, the most impt thing is to get good hospitalisation coverage through a shield plan. also seriously consider buying the rider which covers the co-insurance and deductible cos this can be sizeable during hospitalisation. if not, you end up paying the full cost of hospitalisation because it is lower than the deductible amount (which is usually about $2-3k).

for children, a life plan is not necessary because life plans are meant to insure against loss of the main source of income to a family. a child is not a source of income.

endowment plans may sound attractive cos of the 'expected returns' they promise in this low interest rate environment, but seriously a lot of it is not guaranteed, and over that kind of long term horizon, the financial commitment is substantial.

hence, really think carefully. lots of people buy insurance cos that's what their 'friends' recommended.

insurance agents earn a lot of commission, which is why they push so hard. if you annual premium for your whole life policy is $2.5k a year, the agent earns $2.5k from just your policy, although this will be paid out to him/her within 3 years. it's hard for agents to be impartial so long as they are paid via commission, even if they are not selling only one company's products.

think it makes sense to go and find out more about insurance before making long term commitments. insurance is important cos we must protect ourselves against risks. but i've learnt after buying lousy products that if we bother to find out more, complete coverage can be achieved through much lower premiums than being swayed by marketing...

@bigflamingo: The $5k is a one time payment for the mummy or baby if they have complications. Like for eg, if the mummy has to be hospitilised during pregnancy due to pre-eclampsia then they'll pay the mummy $5k lor.

val

I read the brochure. does the detailed policy that your agent gave you state how much the co-insurance and deductible is for "hospital care benefit" (footnote 5)?

Cos if the claim limit is to $2,500 only after a fairly high deductible (say $2k), then if baby's hospital stay is $1.8k, you can't claim anything at all.

i just wanna complain... my Dr "DUN ADVISE" me to travel overseas! "Go Sentosa lor!"

*sob* There goes my plans for Babymoon!!!!!

pootz

why leh? you got spotting or something?

my gynae gave me green light from 12 weeks to go anywhere liao.

my first pregnancy, at 28 weeks, I went on a work trip to Europe. heh.

rachel

congrats!! nothing like the joy of a mummy with 2 boys who finally gets a girl!!

(although one of my friends with 2 boys just got another boy - but she's ok with it lah).

val

oic... just to share. my gal's recent hospitalisation cost $1.8k after just 3 nights. we bought a healthshield plan and its rider for $350 premium a year in total.

that meant that we shouldn't have to pay anything at all for this whole hospitalisation, and can stay in the class of ward that we wanted.

in contrast, the pru plan would only allow for $300-$400 of claims for the whole stay... and you're paying premium of $1200 a year... of course it covers some other things but must consider carefully.

@trinket: Ya, I'm aware that it doesn't really cover hospitalisation. That's why I thought of buying a hospitalisation plan few years later for him. At least this one will contribute to some savings and covers me & my unborn baby.

At least i know Trinket understands what i was trying to explain just now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

To briefly summarize it, once your baby is born he/she will be covered under the medishield. But a medishield coverage is very basic, so try to upgrade to a private shield like PruShield, IncomeShield, HealthShield etc. Should not be a problem because this is paid with your CPF account. However, these are hospitalization protection with deductibles and co-ins so it's best to pay cash for rider which covers this hole.

Like i say just now, i never encourage ILP too and Trinket also agreed. I think PruFirstGift is a kind of ILP so i don't like it. Premium stays the same is just a big lie, ultimately premium goes up when gets older through the $$ taken out your portfolio.

Back to it.. all the shield only covers hospitalization but there are generally 2 types of policies that covers outpatient. I know is GE Junior Protector Plan and AIA Starshield.

Ya Pinkyval and Trinket, must always look at the deductibles and co-ins. It's a HUGE SCAM when they give pretty high deductibles. Co-ins is fairly common at 10%. Anyway, buy cash rider lor. I hope the PRU agent explain everything well in detailed and not just buy you into this policy.

The PRU policy is pretty expensive for the $100,000 coverage, and some of the hospitalization benefits. The only unmeasureable is the protection for unborn baby. Nothing in the market have it so it is really grey to say if it's worthwhile to get it.

@Judy: Maybe you can start by hinting to your hubby telling him that the other day he didn't log out from his gmail account? Then from there you see what he says?

pinkyval: i did. i asked him, "eh, how come u got so and so email account i dont knw about?"

but all he said was, "i had it for so long already". and then he go act busy. didnt seem like he wanted to talk about it.

part of me tells me this is a small matter, that its the same as watching porn. other part of me feels like this is totally betrayal and its hurting me. my emotions keep riveting back and fort.

@OFB: Hmm.. Maybe I'll ask my agent regarding hospitalisation for my baby. If I intend to get other policies for my baby after he's born that maybe I'll terminate the prufirst gift.

Judy: I only have one advice for you that is to speak to each other and be honest. It's the best solution always! No point making guesses here and still feel insecure. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Judy: Hmm.. If he's not angry about this new email account topic maybe you can ask further? Since he knows that you found out the email account he should have know you happen to see the mails? Then ask him about the webcam lor..