(2011/02) Feb 2011

@Darlest: That's great!! I'm afraid later my hubby don't get a chance to see my bb in the detail scan and I'll b v sad abt it.

My MIL said she remembered seeing her grand-daughter's look when she accompanied my SIL and it's v interesting so she wanna c mine. She said can c my niece's eyes r v big during the scan and indeed her eyes r v big when she's born..

zanta, yes the full panel skinny that i bought is v comfy. I prefer full panel coz can keep my tummy warm. Hmm.. i find the elastic abit fitting too, so have to start wearing so that the elastic will loosen and 3rd tri will be just nice. The panel is not short coz it starts 2inches below my bra [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Charmaine: Ic.. Maybe coz ang mo r much taller that's y they said the panel nv cover the whole stomach. May I know your ht and Levis jeans size you wore b4 preg? And what size did u bought for your ON jeans? Now their maternity clothings got sales le. That pair of jeans is only USD20 now.. Is the thigh area tight btw?

Hi mommies, for the detail scanning is normal scanning or 4D scan? My doc nv ask me go for the detail scanning le.

@darlest: oh dr irene chua is a pretty doc n very patient. Nv rush her patient out her room.

congrate cnicole!!

wish child, ya! tat's wat i like abt Dr Irene. hee..

Charmine & zanta, i keen in getting the full panel skinny. which bp/spree did u go? but i duno which size shld i take. i pretty petite & i wear size 24 for levis jean. btw, since it a full panel, will u be feeling hot when u wear it?

btw mummy, today actually is not my detailed scan. hahahha.. it's just my routine preggy checkup. hahaha... no wonder, i was wondering how come the detailed scan is so different from my 1st time preggy detailed scan. my detailed scan is actually in oct. kekeke.. blur mummy..

@Charmaine: The size I wanted to buy is oos le.. I wonder if the low waisted jeans which I just bought can last me till birth or not.. If can then I don't buy another pair le, save money. Hehe..

@Darlest: We bought the maternity wear from the overseas sprees in this forum. I'm using iPhone now so can't give u the link. It's the 2nd last thread on the main forum page, u try to find c can or not. I also worry that full panel bottoms will b v hot and cause me to itch coz now I'm v afraid of hot!! Haha.. During your first preg u nv wear full panel bottoms b4? I think u can buy size 1 or 2, or u can try their full panel leggings too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Cnicole: Congratulations on your wish come true..!!

long time never chat here.. hope all is doing well.. this two days i'm having very bad back pain.. sua feeling until i can't sleep well.. so many of u going for detail scan already? me still got 10 more days to go.. miss baby Alot.. i also can feel him moving inside.. n is getting more n more power..

Cnicole- Congrats!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MIA for a bit as I am down with a cold and busy helping my 8yo revise for end of year exams. Lol.

I am wearing front panel jeans (my friend passed me hers) from Thyme Maternity and they are pretty comfy. Panel doesn't feel tight but I prefer wearing Cotton On tights with a nice maternity blouse. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Comfier IMHO and it is cheaper than maternity jeans if u want to save a bit.

I decided to be a SAHM when hubby and I made the decision to have more kids. Too many horror stories about maids and our parents are getting on in their years, not fair to tire them out with babysitting. As it is, my Dad retired to help me with #1 and even now still travels to my place everyday to spend time with his darling grandson. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But can tell he gets very tried these days. As for CL, my Dad was my CL for #1. Lol. With this one I will prob have his help again but will try to do more things on my own so he won't feel tired. My son has already pledged to help out with baby but balks at wiping poo poo for the baby and throwing out the soiled nappies hahahaha.

I have started feeling baby's movements but it's off and on. Like I can feel it one day then not feel any movement for 3 days then feel it again. I think it depends on baby's size/ strength and the direction baby is kicking in within out womb. Usually by around twenty plus weeks the feeling will be more regular and pronounced. So if feeling nothing yet, don't be anxious. It's ok.

For pulling feeling, it's our ligaments stretching to accomodate the tummy. So don't panic also. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])

For itchy V, best to ask Doc to check. Don't need to be shy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Very proud of #1, he has finally learned to fall asleep on his own and in his room. No need to sit in with him. He also is able to go to school on his own now (we live near the school) and makes his own breakfast. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Think he is embracing all these new milestones becoz he wants to be a good kor kor and is mindful that the baby will need minding when he or she arrives.

Hubby away in Ozzie now but is able to make it back for 1st Oct gynae visit and has to fly out the next day for another few weeks. Just really happy he won't be MIA for gynae visit... He has a 2wk reservist in Nov to serve as well at Mindef side. :p So far we haven't Skyped as Internet still not up And running where he is living. Only message each other but happy to even hear from him. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Judy- get well soon!

Princess- glad all is well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fiona- Make sure u sleep on left side. It helps. Use bolster as well as that takes pressure off the pelvis area. I also have a slight ache as I am quite big sized in the first place :p I

Medela Swing from USA

-Packaging seal broken but not used(STILL NEW)

i am selling this set @$170

Let me know by PM if interested.Thank u

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4493728.jpg]

Morning mummies~

@cnicole: Congrats on having twin boys!! =D

Anyway mummies last night I mentioned the policy to my hubby again. Hee.. And he said buy the $100 one. =p Lucky he didn't flare up!

And I think I felt my baby moving last night when I woke up to pee at 2 plus. When I went back to bed I thought I felt a twitching movement in my tummy. Even when I placed my palm there I can feel it too! But I'm not sure if it's my baby moving or tummy muscle twitching though. Cos it's quite frequent.. And at 6 plus when I woke up to pee I had the same feeling when I went back to bed. Experienced mummies, is that movement from my baby??

it's raining heavily here at my workplace. Do you guys feel more and more tired? i juz want to stay at home and sleep [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Raining!!!! What a nice day to sleep at home, hehe

Judy,

Congrats on your new discovery.

Felpoo,

All the best to your scan today.

For the V itchy problem, normally i will let my gynae do a vaginal check. I actually am quite ok with that.

Cnicole,

Congrats on your twin boys. You must be really happy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cnicole, congrats on your twin boys!!

darlest, if you are working in aircon place, full panel will keep your tummy warm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

zanta, your low waisted jeans izzit loose now at the hip area? If yes, then shd be able to last till full term. Usually it's the hip area which makes us uncomfy.

neongoby, i'm getting more tired each day. Used to wake up at 7 and sleep at 12. Nowadays, will wake up at 8 and sleep at 11.

hi pinkyval,

i had actually done some homework whole week with these.

With regards to the prufirst gift. i find it too expensive and you are paying a lot more because it is the only policy that provide protection before and during child delivery. No other plan have that. If you want that protection then yay, it's a good choice. Please note $100 monthly is only estimation. If you are older is more expensive.

Also important is outpatient coverage. There are GE have Junior Protector, AIA have Starshield. They are not expensive at about $100-$200 a year.

AXA have a hospitalization coverage called Prime Care. You can consider this if you want higher coverage on top of the medishield coverage.

However medishield coverage offers only basic hospitalzation coverage. You may want to upgrade to private shield and buy some cash rider if you want higher deductibles and co ins.

On top, you may want to buy life policies for them already cos it's cheap when they are young.

I think this is basically all soon to be parents can think about when thinking about insuring the newborn.

Just got news from my colleague(who is also preggy) tt there will be a motherhood baby fair on 22nd-24th oct 2010 @ expo. Think opening hours is from 11am-9pm.

Time to grab some stuffs to stock up. Hope that stroller will be cheaper. I wanna get one.

@OFB: But the plan also includes investment savings and life coverage like mine. Which I also find it good cos I've been making money. And my agent told me the premium remains the same, $100 every month. But as my boy grows older I should be buying more policies for him with accident and hospitilization coverage. Like me. Lol~ So for now, maybe I buy this first..

Hi morning mummies. Yday went to do the detailed scan and told my gynae abt the itchiness. Luckily he nvr insisted that I have to take my pants down for him to check.

But it's really a wonder now as compared to my last PG. I was given a disc which recorded the process of the detailed scanning! I was so surprised by that and I was like exclaiming to my gynae and his assistant. "Wow.. Now so high tech. Somemore got CD!"

And as usual, my gynae with the dry humor said, "Excuse me. This is called DVD, not CD"

Nowadays, everything so commercialized. But everything turns out well. Thanks goodness.

@OFB: And one thing I prefer Prudential also. Since the agent is someone I know and can be trusted. Cos I had a bad experience with AIA once. So I'm quite anti-AIA. Heee...

@felpoo: So what did the gynae say about the itchiness?

So happy for you that everything turns out well and that both you and your baby are healthy. Hope my detailed scan will turn out will too. Hmm...

Hi Val, as what I had suspected, the gynae was telling me off on the changing of panty liner. I told him it was the increased vaginal discharge and I had changed at least 2-3 times a day and he insisted that I changed every 2-3 HRS per day. U now on talking terms with ur hubby?

Littlegirl, nope. Mine is with Dr Henry Cheng at Bishan.

infant care

I also visited when expecting #1. Very sad. Felt like orphanage. A few babies in cots, caregivers chatting amongst themselves (even with people visiting!) no one paying much attention to babies staring at ceiling.

and this was not a cheap one. more than 1000+ a month after subsidy.

Even the reputable brand name franchises, must depend on which branch. Someone I know sent her kid to cherie hearts at harbourfront, so many problems. the 'teachers' kept arguing with the mum, gave milk that was too cold, didn't clean bb's bottom well after poo such that it was all red and raw. bb kept falling ill every month...

however, I would say infantcare / childcare might be preferable to a bad maid if you have no one to supervise. at least it's an organisation, and the organisation has to answer to you. and there should be more than one person there as witness. with maids... i heard so many horror stories i have phobia of every coming close to hiring one.

I'm sure there are good maids, but these are rare. and those that are good, want to leave after a while. or after they get too familiar, they turn bad. sigh.

I was sahm for 14 months, went back to work cos my parents preferred me to get income and support them. they were happy to help look after grandchildren, so I count myself very blessed.

I always think the main challenge of having kids in singapore is care of the child. pregnancy and delivery all no issues compared to getting proper care.

@OFB: Or maybe buy earlier cheaper bah. If buy after the age of 30 then it's not $100. But I don't think premium will increase. Cos the premium that I'm paying now for my own policies never increase also. I think the diff in amount is only when you started signing for the policy.

Hello all, just did my detailed scan yesterday. It's a GIRL! Haha... at first we thought it's a boy because I felt movements very early and hard kicks. Hard kicks started consistently at the start of week 19. And flips and sommersaults. Turns out it's a very flexible girl [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

All the best to all those going for their scans! It's quite fun. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Felpoo: Yeast infection seems common during pregnancy due to lowered immunity so do be careful. If the discharge is not clear, i.e. thick and cloudy/yellowish you might want to consult your gynae. When the discharge flows out, the surrounding area may be itchy and red. My gynae did give me some cream for that but cannot use more than 5 days I think. But it helped alot.

@cnicole – congrats!

@darlest – blur darlest haha think u too excited and can’t wait for the detail scan lol…

@fiona87 – so good can feel bb movement …I din feel it and hope bb can give me some move or kick.

@Geri – wow ur dad power sia! I din hear a man is CL or CM one haha good man! Current bb is ur 2nd and if so, that a big gap with ur son and how many kids u intend to hv? U have resigned or going to resign? Yes if I were u, I will become SAHM but providing my hubby give me ample allowance but think back, I scare need to see his face for money…so abandon the thought. Besides, we only want 2 so be part time I think still manageable to care for bb and hv abit income. My detail scan also on lst Oct [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can’t wait!

@felpoo – how come so cool got dvd, must pay extra huh…i think only certain hospitals…sgh sure dunhv one…

@3sa - strong bb u hv! wonder can take pix or videocam during the detail scan but funny right...think no parents do tat hor.

Val, yeah. It's every 2-3 hours for a change. But then again, it all really depends on the amount of discharge that you are having. Mine is really a lot. Sometimes, the discharge does not shows on the liner but more on the toilet tissue when I wiped after urination. And it was like "gosh.. it's dripping somemore". Pardon my language.

Yday, my hubby went to the detailed scanning with me. That is the first time he had gone with me to the gynae for this PG. I invited him along becos yday was the detailed scanning and I think it's very critical for him to be in there to see the baby thing himself. So yday, my gunae once again it is a baby boy confirmed with the "big bird" there. And my hubby was asking my gynae for further confirmation asking him whether can it be the finger. Guess what the gynae tells my husband.

"You guys ah.. always say it's the fingers. Do you think it looks like a finger? One more "finger" word from you, I will show you my third finger!"

That was cool man.. That's what I and my hubby like most about this gynae of mine. A warped sense of humor.

3sa, my gynae didn't see the infected area as I can describe clearly to him. He prescribed a tropical cream for me with mild antibiotics. But, he didn't tell me about the max number of days that I can use.

Any ladies out there using feminine wipes like vagisil? Most probably, I will need to buy a box to wipe my area as I don't think it's good for me to use tissue paper as there is too much fine particles.

Mrs Ong, I am not very sure about other clinics. I thot it was something across the board with the DVD thing for all clinics. I didn't pay extra. The package I signed up 4 years back and now, remains the same. But when I saw the charges for gynaes during delivery and ward charges, there is definitely an increase :p

So exp. nowadays to hv a baby. And looking at everyone's posting on the insurance, I think I will need to start looking at it. I am a bit lost when I see the posts. Insurance stuff is not my cup of tea. Maybe I ask my hubby to talk to his agent better. He is more money wise than me.

hi val & OFB: maybe I can try to explain abt the premium.. hope I get it correct.

Prufirst Gift is actually made up of 2 plans. Prumum2be and Prulink Assurance.

Before BB is born, the plan will cover the mother.

The monthly premium will be a fixed amt i.e. $100. this premium will be used for investment & insurance.

The cost of insurance will be deducted from the $100, and this cost may vary with age.

So if you are younger, then more $$ will be used for investment as cost of insurance will be lower.

IN summary, the monthly premium remains fixed.

Hope I understand correctly, you can confirm with the agent..

Pru's first gift is 100 / mth for baby and 320 one payment for Pru Mum2b. That's also what I was told. But if u want, can later opt to increase coverage by upping premium to either 200 or 300. 100 gives u 100k coverage, 200 gives u 200k coverage, etc. And it is an investment plan thingee. But the thing I am concerned abt is what are they going to invest in. I know it's India and China stuff. Otherwise, I quite like the flexibility- eg if baby is twenty something and need cash for studies, u can take everything out as long as u leave 1k in there. The 1k will cont to add on interest and u dun have to pay back that amt with interest the way some other policy requires u too (coz they treat it like u took personal loan for those other policies). Also confirmed that the illnesses PruMum2b covers are not covered by any other plans out there. The breakeven age should u decide to not use it for baby's life is 15 or 16 apparently. I am speaking to our usual insurance agent to read those terms & conditions and fine print (she doesn't sell it but is ok to read it for me and explain clearer) although we already heard the pitch from our friend from Prudential. But we are prob gonna go for it.

Hubby and I also applied for Cord Life. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

felpoo.. I think feminine wipes may worsen the condition..

maybe instead of using panty liners you want to use those for urine linkage, like poise?

the liners are so thin.. and my last pregnancy i used poise it was good as it kept the area dry..

@Ah Ching & Geri: The investment thingy is like first year, the premium paid won't be invested cos have to pay charges. 2nd to 3rd year don't know how many percent of the premium (my agent told me but I forgot) will be used for investment, and the percentage will increase every year. So eventually I think by the 5th or 6th year 100% of the premium paid will be used for investment and yet the baby is still covered with life insurance. And the funds will be chosen by your agent. I trust my agent cos so far the funds that she chose for me also let me made quite a lot of money. Mine is not high risk though cos I kiasi. Hehe.. But she said for baby will be higher risk cos very young. And Geri you are right, by the time my boy finish his NS and if he wants to further his studies I can use the money to pay his school fees. Then my agent told me if my boy is naughty then I draw out all the money and leave 1k inside for him. Hahahaha!

Pinkyval- LOL!! So we get to choose what to invest in... Ic. 

I am blessed becoz my mum has bought insurance for my whole family as a gift and services it. My son is fully covered in every area possible- life, health, endowment... so he was so cute. After the Pru agent came, he started telling me he wanted to have a little talk with me about baby that night. 

So this was what our 8yo Kaelen said-

Kae: Mummy, I want to have a talk with u about baby's insurance coverage. Is baby going to be fully covered? Mama said she covered me with insurance from so many companies we all got so confused. So I want to make sure that baby's insurance doesn't get muddled up. So we put everybody's insurance in separate files right? And mummy there's one thing I am very worried about- when baby comes out the minute he is born, he is covered by insurance right? But what if baby needs to do something about his insurance next time but doesn't have money to do it? Can I help?

Then he went on to tell the baby-

Kae: Hi baby, this is kor kor. I love u very much. Next time when u grow up and u need help, u can always call me and we can sort things out together. I will always be there to help u because kor kors always watch out for and take care of their di dis and mei meis

@Geri: Ya, but cos I also know nothing about investment so I leave it for her to decide.

Your boy is soooo cute!!! So 懂事. You really don't have to worry so much about him next time after your baby is born le. Seems like big age gap is not a bad idea afterall... Hehehe...