(2011/02) Feb 2011

but actually the face will still be quite blur, like usual ultra sound. but the sonographer is experienced so she will say, here is the 'cheeks', here is the 'stomach' and all you can see is a blur. hahaha...

@princess31: My edd is 6 Feb. Actually by looking at the calendar myself my first day of week 20 is on the 19 Sep. But maybe cos I went for my previous scan on a Friday so the 4 weeks later also on a Friday which is 24 Sep.

But my baby was sleeping that day. I want to see him wave again leh. Hehehe....

Valerie: hey ya! Now I remember! You're the one with the closest EDD to mine; mine is 5th Feb. But how come our detailed scan dates so different eh? By right should differ by 1 day only ... my gynae said anytime in the week of 13 - 18 Sep is fine, so it should be true for u too?

Haha ... I find that my bb is really active in the mornings. Coz my scans are usually in the mornings, like 8.30 am or 9 am ... and he's always bouncing around... gynae showed me the thigh bone and the arm bone ... it's quite surreal seeing it being pointed out. Somemore, bb had 1 arm up and 1 arm down, so funny ... made it all seem so human and realistic!! I'm still coming to terms that I have something alive in me =) Ur baby can "wave"???? Hee!!!

nm: I'm with Dr. Judy Wong at TMC [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] How abt u?

@Princess31: Ya lor! Seems like my edd is later which I don't mind lah. Hahaha! Today is my 17weeks 1day. Issit the same for you?

Ya! That time when I was doing my Oscar test. Initially me & my mum saw my baby sucking thumb, then we exclaimed saying that he's sucking thumb. Don't know issit he heard us he stop, turn his head and wave! Hahaha! Till now my mum will still say that day he very cute, will suck thumb and wave. It was the first time she went with me that day and she already saw him waving. Then now I think each visit she also want to go liao. Haha~ But too bad my baby was sleeping last Friday when I went for check up.

Princess31,

I checked with one of my friend who is currently expecting, but she didn't have detailed scan either leh. Anyway, i've decided to go for mine and have informed my gynae clinic. Now waiting for them to schedule the date for me.

But hor, the nurse said the detailed scan is to be done at 22 week, but i found it a bit late leh. All of you will do at 20 weeks, right?

Valerie: Yah, it's 17 weeks 2 days for me ... correct leh! :p Actually, now u mention and I'm looking at the calender - it's true our 20 weeks is only in that weekend of 18 Sep ... maybe I should call my gynae and double check if can change to earlier.

Wow!! I would be so happy if my bb waved at me!!! Lucky u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] He must have known somehow there was special audience that day (your mum) so he decided to be extra guai ... ur bb like v obedient and cooperative leh :p Hehe~ I hope turns out like that after birth too!!

@princess31: If you change to earlier that means is week 19 le. So good!

Hannor! Before I went for the Oscar test I told him to be guai guai cos going to take photo for him. Then before I went for the scan last Friday hoping to see gender I asked him to be guai guai, open leg big big for mummy to see. Then can buy clothes and toys for him le. Then he end up sleeping lor. So can easily see the gender. The moment the gynae starts to scan less than 1 minute she told us is a boy liao. Then initially me & my mum don't know how to see so can't see. Then she still scan at the bottom for quite long for us to see and my baby still sleeping very soundly. I also hope he'll be that guai after birth. And listen to me come out only after CNY lor. I even told him the CNY date leh. Hahahaha!

jolin, i'll ask the lady when i go for my detailed scan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess, this timing was fixed by the dept. I'll be 20weeks on 18sep so dunno if will affect anything if i go for scan earlier. Coincidence is my oscar also on a friday. But the troublesome part is if i change the appt for the detailed scan, will need to change my gynae's appt too so that i dun have to go down tmc twice

@Valerie: My clothes not yet reach SG, probably by this week.. Do update if yours are true to size or not when u received yours. $11.89 is v cheap.. I hope my shipping charges wouldn't b so x..

Kayden is a nice name, I also like. And I prefer Kayden to Jayden as it sounds nicer.. Actually, Caleb is nice too but someone I know already used it for her son.

@Princess_cabbage: Ya, for what I know, low blood count doesn't mean you are a Thalassemia carrier as told by my gynae. During my 13 week appt, I did blood test for both oscar and also for routine check and it shows I have low blood count so my gynae requested my hubby to go test his blood too. Luckily hubby's result is ok so Gynae said no worry. Don't think too much ya. Any queries, check with your gynae on your next visit. Stay optimistic!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Cherry: So envy you got such a nice and sweet friend.. I only got a total of 8pcs of clothings from my hubby's SIL. Some of the tops are not even maternity tops. As she's v thin to start with, those clothings which can last her till birth can only last me till ard 6-7 mths i think.. So I guess I gotta stock up more maternity clothings during my 3rd trimester..

@loinky: I had been experiencing light cramps lately and it's making me worry. Wonder is anything wrong with my bb or not. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] The cramp hurts slightly more when I sneeze but lasts for afew minutes and it goes away. Any mummies experience cramps when sneezing too?

So sorry for my long and outdated post. Shall stop here for the time being as I'm still trying to catch up today's posts. Hope you mummies had a great dinner.

Hi Zanta & Princess 31, thanks for both of your advice. Will go get my blood test result tmr and see what it says.

Actually...how many wks wld u start feelg the bb's movement? How does it feels like??

@Zantarina: If your cramps are around the side of your abdomen then it should be fine. Might be due to the stretching of the uterus to accomodate the growing baby. I had some earlier on but the gynae says it's alright. Cramps usually worsen with sudden movements.

Jolin i already bked my detailed scan on late sept which is 21 weeks so i think is ok to do at 22 weeks if u are gan cheong to confirmed the gender again then u may have to change to earlier date coz me cant take leave during 20 week so postpone to another week [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Valerie: Dunno leh ... maybe my gynae count wrongly and advise me the wrong week to choose dates from. Just happen I chose near the end of that week rather than the front. But now I wanted to change to earlier, 13 Sep. I will call my gyane and double-check if it's possible. Otherwise, I will wait till 18 Sep too when I'm exactly 20 weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also hope my bb comes out after CNY .... like u , I must start talking to bb early, ASAP :p Mine not as guai as yours ah!!

Charmaine: I'm planning to check with my gynae whether the detailed scan can be earlier than 20 weeks. Coz when I last went to see her, she gave me option of the whole of my 19th week. Dunno whether she count wrongly or it's really okay. I let u know when she double-cfms it.

Zantarina: Cramps seems quite normal in this tri. Don't worry unless it becomes unbearable or so bad you got to take painkillers. It's annoying but should be tahan-able [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Think of it as bb growing and requiring more space inside u!

On a new note, any mummies-to-be who've quit their work during their pregnancy to rest and prepare for bb? I'm finding it quite a struggle to be at work, coz I'm so tired, restless, can't sit still for long yet cannot do much manual labour etc ... and I go to bed straight after dinner and bath but still feel so tired by the mid-morning after ...

Just wondering if anyone has decided to stop work for now, and what other innovative solutions you've come up with, eg. no pay leave for 6 mths? But scared not enough $$ also >.<

Morning mummies~

@zantarina: Huh. Why your clothes took so long? Mine is the 2nd batch leh. She has 3rd batch?

Oh, when I sneeze I feel pain in the abdominal area too. I think cos we use too much strength bah.

@Princess31: Hahaha! I hope mine not only guai guai now then come out become tyrant lor. But since I went for my 1st scan I've been talking to him everyday. Sometimes like at work not convenient to say out loud I'll say in my heart. Haha~ Then if got thunder I'll also sayang my tummy then tell him no need to scared. Mummy protect him. Lol~ And I'll say good morning and good night to him lor. Hahaha! =p

@wingkei, thanks for the link. hmmm, cant try b4 buying, i scare i dun look good lei. cos i very small size and short kind, so clothes a bit hard to find. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Valerie (pinkyval), thanks. Seems like your hubby would prefer his mother to do for you. Well, if h can visit you everyday, does it matter if he does not move over there with you?

@pootz - I think it's very important to have support during your confinement, otherwise, can develop post natal blues easily. I know, kind of bad to let our mothers go through the nights with us, but I was really appreciative of mine when she did. Maybe you could tell your hubby that it's hard work taking care of the baby at night, you don't want his motehr to tire out. ;p

@valarie: I also talk to my BB every day. Will say good morning and good night to him. Now also start reading story from children storybook to him. got my hubby to tell him story too. quite nice to get hubby involved. but everytime ask him kick to response, no feeling.

Maybe i will sayang my tummy when thunder too, to give him assurance tt mummy will always protect him.

@winkei: Oh ya, regarding confinement, last night I told myself I want to share with you all but I forgot. Lol~ Thanks for reminding! Anyway, it's quite impossible for my hubby to visit me everyday cos his working time is not fixed and sometimes when he reach home it's already past midnight.

So yesterday I asked my hubby again. Initially he said if I'm more comfortable with my mum he doesn't mind, up to me. Then he pretend to cry and said I want to separate him & his son. Lol~ So he went to ask his mum how's the confinement thingy. Then his mum said she has already took 1 month leave. Fast hor??? Now only August and I don't even know my exact date of delivery. Anyway after that he told me nicely said nobody after married will go back to 娘家 to do confinement. Even if mil doesn't do also is the mother move in. Then he said my mum can always cook something for me to eat and visit me and even stay over in our place since we have an extra room. Then I said ok lor...

@little girl: I've not started reading story books to him leh. Don't know what kind of story book to read. Lol~ Any suggestion?

morning mummies.

Last night I had sharp pains, at least 3 times but in different locations, something like a sharp poke pain and only last abt 3 secs each time. It's different from the cramps I had last week. anyone experiencing? I wonder if this is the baby kicking?

I can't sleep again last nite [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] excited about my appt this thur, sigh.....i ask my hubby if he is excited, he said yes, haha

@mummyb: I'm not too sure. Cos my gynae told me on my 16 week check up that now they no longer measure the length of the baby, they'll be measuring the size of the head instead.

@neongoby: Recently I've been experiencing pains too. Especially when I toss and turn on bed. Not sure if it's baby kicking though. Heh.

2 more days!! Soon soon!! =D

neongoby: baby kicks will not be sharp pains!

cos they are still little and surrounded by fluid.. baby movement shld be like flutters

Ah Ching - if it is baby kick, i m not so worried, now u got me worried [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] juz now i also experience similar pain but not tat intense, milder. I will monitor and see, hopefully can wait till thur to ask the gynae

Morning Mummies,

Sweetie Wong,

My gynae's clinic nurse just called me and said my gynae would like to see me first on my 20 weeks (26 Sep 10) and will arrange for the detailed scan later. Don't know why my gynae needs to see me first leh, wonder if he will ask me no need to do the detailed scan or not. If i insist to do, i think still can, right? I worry that my gynae ask me no need to do leh.

Re: Gender

Actually i am quite confirmed that my baby is a girl leh. I believe in my gynae and am very excited with the arrival of the baby. Before that, i thought i am having baby boy hence i keep projecting baby boy's face when i talked to my baby. haha. But upon knowing the gender, i started to project baby gal's face when i talked to baby, hehe.

Neongoby,

I experienced the same pain as you described weeks ago. It's short sharp poking pain and only last less than 2 seconds. Normally it happened in the morning and evening and can on and off last for 2 - 3 hours. At first i was quite worried also, but some mummies told me that it could be due to womb expanding, then i feel not so worry anymore.

Now the pain doesn't occur anymore, instead i am having something like streching pain on my very left and very right abdomen.

I did a search just now, the sharp pains could be due to the ligaments stretching to accomodate the expanding uterus, whew.... i hope it's like tat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jolin - now u can call u BB 'mei mei' guai guai ok? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Neongoby,

Haha, but me and hubby prefer to call her "bao bei" or "little princess" hehe.

Hope you are able to find out your baby gender in the next scan ya.

mummyb: Should be quite large already...maybe 10 cm? At my 17 week scan last week, gynae said too big to measure, so she measured another part (can't rem whether circumference or length) then she convert to estimate weight of bb - 140 g. Sounds v light hor!

Neongoby: I am also beginning to experience occasional sharp pain. Just this morning, when waking up, I felt it on my left side. I wonder if it's bb waking up too? Previously, my pains were more the dull type in the side. Still have those but now mixed with the occasional sharp ones. Quite unpredictable and not ongoing all the time; comes and goes. Sounds quite normal as quite a few mtbs are experiencing similar thing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Val,

Scary to have have both mother in law and mother at home leh... later both have different methods of doing things and have some disagreements. Visit can la... but stay a bit scary thoughts to me.

morning mummies.. i had a very very bad dream and end up oversleeping.. i dreamt that hubby had another wife.. like polygamy.. this wife is pregnant too, but she has suicidal tendencies.. so hubby bring me and the other woman to india for holiday but seperate room.. then hubby spend all his time on me and leave the other woman alone in the room cos hubby love me and dont love her.. end of the day hubby got to return to the other woman and i try to contact them but i cannot.. then i found out the other woman kill herself.. and i suspect she kill hubby too.. then her spirit is trying to come and take my baby..

i am a little shaken up.. cos i ended up with my hubby because i was the other woman.. the third party.. i feel its karma..

@OFB: Haha~ I'm more scared if my dad coming over also lor. My mum and mil both very chin cai people. But stay also stay for a night, not throughout the whole month. So still ok. But I don't want my mum to be so tired lor. Cook at home then have to travel all the way to my house and bring it to me.

@Judy: Don't scared don't scared. Dreams are always opposite. *hugz hugz*

oh no, Judy, whether you are the third party or not, the truth is it's all in the past, both of you should look forward, your hubby chooses you to spend the rest of his life with him. Just tell yourself it's the hormones at work that makes you think this way.

wow so many posts!

princess 31:

I am with Dr Paul Tseng of TLC at TMC. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] seems like many of us are with TMC [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Youlin:

My Edd is one week after you but based on scan dates, my bb seems long (CRL) hence the edd keeps changing. Now i dont know to follow scan picture dates or what doc calculate.

Ladies:

I did my OSCAR at Dr Henry Cheng at Bishan (although I am with TMC). Dr Cheng did give back six scan pictures which measures the bb's NT, nasal bone, heart, stomach,limbs and CRL.

I am very eager to have my detailed scan but i guess i have to patiently wait for 5 more weeks before it happens.

I have friends whose gynaes do not perform detailed scan so these friends go to CAMDEN MEDICAL to have one themselves.

Judy Tay:

It's just a dream, dont dwell on it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Seems like during pregnancy, we have alot of wierd dreams. ...

Happy thoughts [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]!!

neongoby, i have tweeting sharping pain just above my v. It's bearable and comes and goes v quickly.

mummyb, i take the normal round panadol when i'm having headache but i limit myself to 4 per day. My gynae says panadol is fine for preggies but coz it's still a medication so we just control ourselves to take it only when necessary.

judy

yah don't dwell on it... you might have been third party but that's before marriage right? my friends like to say that all's fair game then.

shoes

mummies, any idea where to get nice flats that have good sole grip and not more than $40?

@mummyb: Ya, it's ok to take panadol. But don't take those extra strong one. When I told my gynae I've been having headache everyday she also asked me to take panadol.

princess 31:

i am on No Pay Leave from the time i know i am preggy till sept 13. then return to work. by the it should be week 17 already....quite heart pain cos no income for so many mths...but every day at home also cant spend much...hence quite ok....but since second tri is a better period of time i will go back to work and get back some income...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] save up for the extra cost bb may incur

nm: U opt for no pay leave coz of any particular reason? Like, why not take hospitalisation leave instead? I always thought when pple take no-pay leave, it's for a long period, like months...but urs only some weeks, maybe a month or two ... hmm. It's good your company allow though [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I had hospitalisation leave for about 1 month in my first tri, and also found I saved quite alot of $$ by being at home. Abit boring at first, and I kept checking work emails, but by third week, I realised the rest was so beneficial and I stayed away from work stuff and really got some good quality rest in.

Do u plan to take leave again in 3rd tri? I hope your pregnancy is progressing smoothly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My 2cents' worth of tots. Doesnt make sense to quit now coz we'll be wasting the 4mths maternity leave that we're entitled to. Imagine, get paid & yet can still stay home to look after our newborn, that's a gd bargain. If really wanna quit or take no pay leave, then do it after the maternity. In this way, the pay tat u got during the maternity leave can act as ur savings for the time being....

was also having this tot last nite. Quit after maternity and then return to the workforce maybe 6mths or 1 year down the road.....

Was very busy yesterday.. Now then have time to come in.. Aiyo, really had a hard time catching up.. Please bear with me for the long post coming up..

@Jolin: Congrats to your bb girl.. I wish I could see bb moving in me the next visit coz this time round, I think bb was sleeping [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. I think if your gynae didn’t say anything about bb’s legs it should be fine.. I’m not drinking milk also.. I think it doesn’t affects.. You can check with your gynae at the next visit to confirm..

But the detailed scan is to check bb’s internal organs which are not scanned for during normal scans.. My clinic charges $250 + 7%... Not sure if includes CD or not.. The nurse told me that this scan is normally done between 19-22 weeks..

@Princess31: Haha.. Should have started talking to bb earlier.. Don’t worry, sure can tell at the next visit..

Me me!! I’m going for a short getaway in Batam only .. Haha.. Coz we already booked the resort before knowing I’m preggy.. Valid till March 2011.. But won’t have time to go after birth.. So intend to go during Oct.. Can’t wait to get away from work! Haha.. Coz I’m not going too far, I’m not worried.. And in Oct, I think it will be just nice as stomach not very big yet.. I won’t wanna go if my stomach is too big..

You can get MC from the clinic for the scan, no need to waste leave mah..

I also wished I can stop work now coz everyday also very very tired.. But thinking about the 4 months maternity leave, I will endure!! Hang on too!!

@Cherry: Me too! But I only have a few pieces from my gf.. Somemore say must return after birth coz she also planning for #2.. Haha..

@Valerie & Princess31: I’m also looking for names already.. Was talking to hubby in the car yesterday about bb’s name.. Coz I’m the one doing the search and proposing names.. I then say, to protect myself, we must draft an agreement for both of us to sign so in future if bb ask who gave the name (in case bb don’t like), we have proof to say that both of us agreed so no one pushes the blame to the other.. Haha.. Stupid idea rite.. Hehe..

@Neon: Don’t stress yourself too much.. Relax.. 2 more days only [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Valerie: I support you! Kayden sounds nicer than Christopher in this generation.. Haha.. Your hubby so funny lor.. He must be a 酒鬼 so don’t wish your bb to follow.. Haha…

Now still got 指腹为婚one meh?? Haha.. So old fashion.. My next appt also on 24 Sep.. Hehe.. Can’t wait!!

I think it’s better for bb to not be too active during the detailed scan coz need to measure every part of their body.. If they keep moving, very difficult for gynae to measure leh..

What your hubby said is quite true.. Since your mil already applied leave, believe she is prepared to take care of you & bb.. Then you can occasionally ask your mum to bring food for you lor..

@Little Girl: I’m wearing maternity bottoms already with normal tops as I can still fit.. My mum ask me not to wear too tight bottoms coz our stomach is growing everyday so should wear comfy pants..

@Joanne: Congrats!! I’m still taking folic acid now.. My gynae finally prescribed me with iron, multi vits and fish oil last week.. But since I still have about 10 days supply of folic acid, asked me to finish first then start on the new ones..

@NM: Welcome!! I’m also with Dr Henry.. How come your Oscar not done at TMC?

@Bigflamingo: Congrats!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@ Youlin: Welcome!!

@Mummyb: The gynae took the measurement of bb’s head at last week’s visit.. Coz hubby & me too excited about the gender, also forgot to ask about the measurement of bb.. Haha.. So I suppose Valerie is correct, they should be taking measurement of head only already..

@Judy: Don’t think about it anymore.. It’s just a dream.. People always say if you don’t want the dream to come true, you gotta tell people.. If you keep it to yourself, then it will come true.. Since you have told us, it will not happen... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Princess31: that time i resign from my work.. when i'm around 13 weeks ba..

cuz my MS is killing me.. so i give up on my job..

hubby support me cuz he dun wan to see me so xin ku..

Congrats for those mummy who know the gender already..

I know all MTB might already be looking for CL now, hence I will like to share with everyone.

Blacklist CL - Aunty Ya Fang. (can go to this link to see pic of her - http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8457552/Fang_confinement_list.pdf)

I just gave birth on 6th Aug and currently doing my confinement. I had this horrible CL which was intro by frds. I have high expectation of this CL since she have a link and details on what to buy for confinement. However, this CL was so bad tempered, she always argue and quarrel with me and MIL. She always boast on how many years of experience she had and asked us not to teach her what to do. My baby cannot sleep at nite and she simply blame my baby for being a difficult baby and not letting her sleep! She is such a typical superstitious person that she put my husband's underwear near my baby so that baby will sleep! Worst, she threaten us! I have no choice but to ask her to leave after 2 weeks. Pls reconsider if you are thinking of getting this CL. Just hope all MTB don't suffer the same fate as me.

Recommended CL - Aunty Siew Hoon, Malaysia hp-016 3760125, Sg hp-84203549

Now, I found this wonderful current CL. I think I really make a good choice to ask the previous CL to leave. I simply love her, she is so much different from the previous CL!

Responsible, experienced, good tempered, willing to do all housework, cook nice food, most impt took care of me and baby so well! The previous CL always make my baby cry but this CL is so patient with baby and she sings song to baby to make baby happy! I am really happy to have her.

I know motherhood is very tough especially after given birth, good rest and someone to take care of baby is what we need. A GOOD CL is very very impt. I hope all can find a good CL. Can call my current CL if anyone cannot find any yet. She is really worth your cent.

Enjoy your pregnancy! I enjoyed mine and now I enjoy looking at my baby! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess 31:

my no pay leave is for 3 mths (the entire first tri). My work needs me to be standing or walking constantly and climbing stairs constantly too. thus after discussion with HB, i took no pay leave.

now my preg. is stabilising hence i will be going back to work at week 17 onwards. 3rd tri i will see how first lo....cos i am considered full term by CNY that week so will see how lo...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

precious babi:

i heard that dr henry is very good at detailed scan and OSCAR hence i went to him lo....I am 35 yrs old so i need someone really good to do the scan for me