(2011/02) Feb 2011

Just found out on sat that my little one is a boy!

Time to hit the baby name books!

Jolin,

Don't worry, at this stage all foetuses don't have much body fat. It's not anything to do with drinking milk or not.

Judy, regarding the coverage of baby for life, is it like a life policy? I downloaded the brochure and read, so confusing...

I wonder any other plans from other insurance companies?

If we buy this, we still need to buy hospitalization plan for the baby rite? e.g. incomeshield, healthshield, etc

bigflamingo and Joanne - congrats!

Joanne - that's amazing, 15 weeks can tell the gender already! I m 17 weeks now, i must start to tell my bb to open legs wide for this thur appt!

neongoby: hospitalization plan for baby im not sure.. i think prudential is the first one to offer coverage for mother and baby.. i never check with other companies yet.. coverage for baby is for life.

Congrats, Bigflamingo and Joanne

Wah, so many baby boys, then i need not to worry that my daugther can't find husband liao, lol

congrats to the mummies who have found out they r having bb boys. I have yet to find out the gender of my bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hoping for a bb girl though [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Jolin: My baby's hands and legs also very skinny. I think cos now still very young that's why. Don't worry too much! Hahahahha! You sure you want your daughter to find a hubby that's of the same age as her meh? Haha!

@princess31: I don't mind if it's 30 mins leh. Then I can see my baby longer. Hehehe.. Don't know if the scan will be done better if the baby is moving or keeping still. Anybody has any idea? Then I can tell my baby earlier. Hahaha!

Joanne Tan & Big Flamingo: Way to go!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Wah, 15+ weeks and can identify gender must be quite a bonus surprise for u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I just went for my scan last Sat at 17 weeks and my bb was naughty ... didn't wanna open legs ... haha! now both of u can join Valerie in thinking of boy bb names :p

nm: Welcome, and I hope we're not the only 2 left waiting!! My next scan is only in 3 weeks, time, sigh ... and that's the 20-week detailed scan! Will definitely worry about that closer to the date.

Valerie,

Ok lah, cos me and my hubby same age also, hehe.

As long as the age range is not too big and they really love each other and match in maturity, older or younger is all right to me leh, hehe.

Valerie: I think sleeping better : / Unless your gynae's real patient and doesn't mind sitting there waiting for bb to flip to correct position ... when's ur next scan again?

@Jolin: Haha! Then you find one mummy here to 指腹为婚. Hehehehe.. Lol~

@princess31: Hmm.. But I want to see my baby move leh. Haha.. Contradicting hor? Want him to be co-operative but at the same time want him to move. Hee hee.. My next scan in 24 Sep. 3 days after my hubby's birthday. Heh. So long to go!

just some thots abt the pru plan..

i think mummies who intend to 'buy' the plan should really read the plan carefully..

the selling point is the part where the plan will cover the expectant mother from pregnancy complications and the baby for congenital illnesses which are absent from many other plans..

but i find that the coverage of $5000 is not really spectacular.. plus there are many T&C in order to claim the $5000...

plus the investment part.. i think for the first few years, every $100 we pay only a certain % goes into the investment.. (if it is the same at the normal prulink plans)

i have a prulink plan and after 5-6 years, still cant withdrawn any $$.. cost min withdrawal $1000 and must retain $1000 in the account.

so u must have at least $2000 in the acct to withdraw $1000. i pay abt $150 monthly.

er.. just some thots.. nothing against the plan.

it is definitely good to have insurance for our babies. just that u must consider why u want the plan and see whether it fits your objective.

valerie, ya detailed scan at tmc cost ard $140+ (not sure if inclusive of gst). Coz when i went for oscar, i asked the counter lady while making payment. She told me my gynae has assigned me to the package of oscar + detailed scan with uterine doppler. Maybe diff hospitals so diff charge?

Princess31, i rmb paying ard $400 for my 1st pg for both oscar and detailed scan. The price has went up after 3yrs. Maybe i took it as a package so it's cheaper. Your detailed scanning at tmc also? I vaguely rmb the detailed scanning is slightly longer than the oscar but it's v fun coz i will ask the lady to tilt the monitor so that i can see my bb while she's taking the measurement hehehe..

jolin, i think mine also skinny leh hahaha.. I never drink any milk ever since pregnant also. As long as gynae say bb's growing well, shd be okie [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

joanne, bigflamingo, congrats!! I'm still taking folic acid and this will be the last week i'm taking coz gynae say can stop folic acid at 18weeks.

Valerie: Ah, that IS far away! I am in same boat ... it's ok, we shall while away the time together :p Well, if you pray hard enough, your bb can be awake, moving yet still be in the correct position long enough for your gynae to identify the gender. That is called a "good and cooperative" bb!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Is the 24 Sep scan your 20-week detailed scan? If so, then I think regardless of whether bb is sleeping or awake, person scanning (in my case won't be the regular gynae coz I go somewhere else to do this scan) should be able to identify the bb's gender liao. I will get real upset if they still can't tell me by then!!

princess31, sure can tell the gender when you go for the detailed scan. The person scanning can even pan and zoom the genital part on the screen for you to see hehehe

Charmaine: Ya, my detailed scan will be at TMC, but Level 4 and not at my gynae's place. I'm supposed to get the report then see her straight after that though. Really hope everything's fine with bb during that scan! Sigh, regardless of cost, we still have to get it done!

The last time I did my OSCAR scan there, though, I got a stiff neck from craning to see the screen. The position no good lah..only meant for scanner to see ... in my gynae's office, she has 2 screens - one facing her, and one facing me :p

ah ching: yah agree.. always read the fine print.. anyway insurance is not a 100% safeguard to anything bad that happens.. as long as it fits ur agenda..

re: detailed scan

what does it consist of? if baby never open leg will the gynae wait until gender can be seen? what if it takes a long time?

@princess31: Hahha.. When is yours? Woah, that one too complicated le. Don't think my baby will understand. Lol~ Nevermind, I'll ask him to move and that morning I won't eat breakfast. In case after eating he fell asleep again. Hehehe.. Ya, it's my 20 week detailed scanning and my gynae will be doing for me unless she said if I opt to do the 3rd level one which scan for hole in heart. But I think don't need lah. The price is double leh. And she said even if got hole nothing can be done also. Have to wait till baby is born.

@charmaine: Actually what does the detailed scanning consists of huh??

princess31, hahaha me too!! I also shifted my head to see the monitor till the neck became stiff after 15mins. But i dun mind coz the excitedness to see my bb overcomes everything hehe.. This will be the final scan required so i'm gg to make sure to make full use of the whole time to see bb. Coz at gynae's clinic, can only see bb for <5mins in his room. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess 31:

i have to wait till for 5 more weeks before the detailed scan...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] its a long wait....which gynae are u with?

Valerie,

Don't want lah, let my daugther 自由发展,hehe

Charmaine

Is the detailed scan compulsory? Cos my gynae didn't mention to me during my last visit. I thought it would be another normal visit next time

Judy,

Most of cases, by 20 - 22 weeks baby gender can be tell already. But i also heard that there are cases where doctor can only see and confirm baby's gender at the end of last trimester. But yours should be able to tell by this detailed scan, hehe

Hi all..

my first post here, though i have been lookin thru this thead for weeks..

today is my 16 weeks..

so envious of all of u as my next detail scan is in Oct (i'm wif NUH).. still gotta wait soooo long.. haiz...

valerie, detailed scan will check for growth of baby such as fetus spinal cord, length & size of bone, head circumference, location of placenta, as well as organ health. Same as oscar, need to "wake" bb up to take measurement..

judy, if the baby sleeps in a position that blocks the organs to be scanned then have to wake them up or disturb them so that they will turn. The nurse will usually get us to walk ard for few mins and try again if bb is sleeping and in the wrong position.

jolin, so far all my friends went for the detailed scan but not everyone went for the oscar test. You want to call your gynae and check?

@charmaine: Oooo.. Then I'll ask my baby not to sleep. Hehehe.. Thanks for the info! =D So usually how long it'll take? A lot of photos will be taken?

valerie, i took ard 20-30mins for my boy. My boy was cooperative so din't take long. I never took back any fotos for the detailed scan previously. Will ask the lady if i will be given any this time.

anyone interested in F1 tix? 24 Sept (Fri)

Last min I cant go so Selling a pair of tix for $150! pls sms 92375402 if u r keen...

Bay Grandstand

row 53, seat 22 n 23

I had my oscar scan at TMC on the 4th floor, the sonographer did shift the monitor to face me, i can see it quite comfortably just by turning my head to the right leh. She even measure my baby, and tell me how long, this is the hand, leg etc... i think it depends on the sonographer bah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Charmaine,

Thanks, will call my gynae to check [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@charmaine: Woah.. After hearing what you said I can't wait for my detailed scanning!! Whereby I can see my boy for a longer time than usual! So excited!!! Hehehe...

valerie, me too. So excited. This time will ask the lady to move the monitor nearer to my view hahaha.. My detailed scan will be on 17 Sep, a friday, hope i dun have to wait very long for my turn.

@charmaine: Hahahaha! Ya have to, if not you have to strain your neck for at least 20 mins. Lol~ Yours is 1 week ahead of mine! So envy!!

valerie

you'll be fascinated by the detailed scan. the equipment can show the inflow and outflow of blood into the baby's heart - you can even see the four chambers of the heart clearly and the valves! the inflow is shown real-time in blue lines and the outflow in red, cos it can even detect the oxygen levels in the blood. cool huh?

Charmaine: The detailed scan so power ah? So if bb still face downwards and cross legs (like last time), I gotta make the bb move around somehow? Jump around? Walk around? heehee ... that will be quite funny ... at the last scan, my gynae didn't bother to try moving bb around leh ... bb was bouncing around on his own alot already .. unfortunately, legs crossed all the way! Ya, come to think of it ,during the OSCAR scan (is that the same type of scan as detailed scan? Coz same place for me), I didn't get to take back any photos either. Hope next round can. Love collecting the scans of bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pootz: Think you're right that it depends on the sonographer ... otherwise, I just have to request for the screen to face me more .. but wait the sonographer can't see properly and do all the measurements! Haiz~ I mean, she was nice and everything (she asked me for my hub's name so she could bring him in to watch), but difficult to share one screen between 2 pple who are facing opposite direction lah!

Alicia Cho: I wanted to go F1 this year, but think bb will go deaf :/

Youlin: Hello there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Oct is MILES away ... how come NUH can't get u a nearer date? Like that become week 21-22 scan liao ... u mean it's fully booked till then?? Go try ur luck for an earlier date? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I just called my gynae clinic and they said they normally don't perform detailed scan unless gynae recommend or we request. The fee is $230 and it will be recorded in a CD and given to us.

The nurse said the reason they don't perform normally is because my gynae already done the scan in our every visit, hence, unless he sees there is need or we request lah.

Hm, don't know if i should go ahead with the detailed scan

Oooh! The detailed scan sounds SO cool! Now the 3 weeks wait feels even longer ....

Charmaine & Valerie: Mine is on 18 Sep, Sat, but I'm thinking of moving it to 13 Sep, Mon, coz my gynae said anytime during that week is fine. Hee, excited! I was thinking of moving it coz I wanted to plan a holiday straight after the scan. To celebrate and to enjoy a "babymoon" before bb comes along [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Is anyone else planning to take a holiday this tri, or anytime before delivering? Where u planning on going? I'm not v comfy with the idea of travelling when pregnany, but lots of my friends are doing it with no problems.

princess31, ya detailed scan quite similar to oscar. During the oscar, my sonagrapher will shake my tummy gently to get bb in the right position. But if bb is sleeping and can't wake up, will need to take a walk and check again. Wow if i'd loved it if i can do the scan earlier, too bad mine's scheduled by the scan dept.

@princess31: Oh I didn't get back any photos taken during Oscar scan too. She only gave me 1 photo during the Oscar scan but I'm not sure if that's the only photo she took for Oscar or what.

Huh. Why all your scans getting sooner & sooner? Then mine now seems super far! =( *sigh* I want to go Taipei to eat!!! =( But my hubby not supportive leh. My gynae already said I'm safe to travel. Don't need letter from her somemore. Haaa~

@Jolin: Woah got CD! Go for it! Hahahhaa! If I were you I'll go for it lah. Cos got CD to keep leh. I wonder does mine has any CD anot. =(

hi nm,

my edd is on 17th feb.. but if possible, hope can be on 14th.. haha..

hi princess,

didn't thk of calling them to check if possible to bring foward... shall try calling them and request for early date..

Valerie,

Yes, after discussed with hubby, we decided to go for it. Ya, got CD to keep which i think quite nice. I can watch at home and in future can show my baby, hehe

jolin, is your detailed scan done at yr gynae's clinic? So good, still got recorded in CD. Hmm.. since your gynae is sure that you dun need the detailed scan, then you decide 1st if you want to do it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Charmaine,

Yes, it's done at my gynae clinic but will be performed in another room by another doctor. Ya, i hope i didn't hear wrongly, the nurse said will be recorded down and pass to us leh.

Charmaine: U sure cannot bring forward? Ur gynae called to arrange it, is it? I think anytime after the 20-week mark can liaos bah, that's y my gyane gave me a whole week to choose from. I originally chose Sat morning (18 Sep) coz didn't want to use leave to go on weekday. But anyway, the scan place is fully booked already so my gynae said to walk in from 8 am onwards (!!) and they can slot me in, just like last time round for my OSCAR scan.

Anyway, now I really want to reschedule for 13 Sep, Mon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Maybe can even secure time slot if weekday not so popular. Half day leave, I think I can spare lah :p Gynae didn't mention anything abt recording on CD though?? *envious* Or about different levels of scan to include hole in heart etc. She didn't give me any detail about what a detailed scan is, and I also forgot to ask abt price :/ Guess I was too preoccupied that day with missing out on identifying bb's gender. Haha! That always happens to me - after I leave the gynae's office, I think of at least 3 questions that I want to ask. Next time must write down liao.

Valerie: Ur scan can move sooner or not?? But I think your EDD is later, right? About end Feb? Then just be patient lah :p At least u already know the gender of ur bb :p

Jolin: So far, I've not heard of any friend who didn't get the detailed scan done. For pple who've never had any scan previously, this is usually the first one and it's a major one, so I think it's quite important. Maybe find out more from your gynae? Maybe he/she trying to save you money? My mum told me looooooong time ago, when she was carrying me, they never do scan AT ALL, so they know nothing at all until delivery - not gender, nothing about development etc. I'm so appreciative of today's technology [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]