(2011/02) Feb 2011

pre-nat yoga

Hi MTBS, I'm from the Nov 10 MTBs thread and currently forming a group to do pre-nat yoga from 18 Sep onwards. The students can opt for 6 wks or 8 wks, as some of us are preparing for birth. kindly let me know if you are interested. Pm me or email me any of your questions at [email protected]

Venue:

Blk 154 Bishan Street 13

#01-22 S(570154)

Timing: Sat 12:15pm-1:15pm

P/S: It's alright to do yoga after the first trimester.

hi all..

just now dinner i ate 2 packet of rice.. omg..!

i think i ate too much.. shouldn't have eat so much..

cuz now i feel so heavy n full..

hope this is the last time i eat 2 packet of rice..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

3sa: I totally sympathise with you!! It was abit disappointing not to be able to identify bb's gender at my last scan, and 3 weeks to the next scan sounds absolutely like a loooong time! When is your next scan? Should be the 20-week detailed scan, right? I think by then, we will get our answers [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Anyway, the last scan wasn't a total waste - it's always nice to be assured that bb's doing fine and growing well ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Valerie: I am also inclined to believe the gynae's call, although she wasn't 100% sure. Anyway, dun wanna give myself false hope lah. I can wait another 3 weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] U thought of bb names already?

Cherry: I wish I had such generous friends/relatives too! I am REALLY in need of some maternity wear, esp bottoms ... tops seem to come by much easier than the bottoms. I wanna buy black leggings but can't seem to find the perfect pair. Any recommendations from anyone? If I do find a good one, I'm gonna buy it in all the colours - gray, brown, black, dark blue :p

Fiona: Growing appetite is good! Don't feel guilty ...

Morning mummies~

It's the beginning of the week again. Weekend passed so fast~

@princess31: I thought of a boy's name quite some time ago. Then that day I told my hubby he said he don't like name starting with that letter. *sigh* Have to think again. Lol~

Good morning mummies,

Didn't sleep well last night, was excited about this coming thur appt, anxious to know the gender...

Jolin - congrats! u know the gender already! I also got hair on my belly, facial features did not change much, nose not growing bigger, no increase in acne, i think i will hv a girl too? I am not sure if I am in the same situation as you (forgetful la), my hubby is the eldest n ONLY son, I m the oldest too, my granny hope i hv a boy, my dad called me yesterday to ask if i know the gender, sigh.... the pressure is there... no wonder i couldn't sleep last nite.

Fiona - got appetite is good, just make sure you eat nutritious food [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my appetite is the same, worse at nite, i worry i don't take in enough nutrients for my BB....

this week is a wk of worries for me

Valerie: Go lib borrow those baby book with tons of names in them .. or download the free iphone apps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Me and my hub have decided, once we know the gender, we'll each come up with a list of 10 names, then those names that appear on both lists will go on to the "finals" and we decide from there. Haha! I hope we have some common names on the list otherwise dunno how :p

wa Princess 31, 10 names for each gender, that is a lot! i only come up with 1 each after consulting with my hubby, haha

Yes, Valerie - go library they have books with thousands of names with meaning for both baby genders, quite fun to read.

@neongoby: Don't worry too much. The gender is already fixed by now, so you worry also cannot change the gender. Just relax and wait for Thursday bah. If this one is a girl then try again lor. Hehehehe.. I also have hair on my tummy, no change in facial features and no acne but mine is a boy leh. So cannot base on hormones to deduce if is a boy or girl. =) Relax ok? If not your baby will feel it.

@princess31 & neongoby: I got dl the iphone apps on baby's names. But too many le. Hahahaha! We see until eyes full of stars and can't find a nice one leh. He said he likes the name Christopher but I said so common. But he thinks this generation not many people will name their kids Christopher already. Hahaha! But I like the name Kayden leh. =p

Morning, Mummies

Noengoby,

No worry, every woman's pregnancy symptoms are different. At first i also thought that i will be having a boy, but it turned out to be a girl, haha. I was quite stressed also. My hubby is an adopted son but his family treated him really well. He only has 1 brother but my SIL gave birth to 3 daughters, hence, i wish i am conceiving a boy as not to let his parents down.

But his parents never gave us stress. They are very glad that we're willing to have children cos hubby told them when we just get married that, we will not be having any child, haha. Actually quite funny, when i was on my way to my gynae clinic, i still thought that my baby is a boy, but just when my gynae about to put the scanner on my stomach, suddenly my mind thought that it is a girl, and ta dah, my gynae tried to look and could not find penis, so he said should be a girl, yes, a girl, hehe.

I was a bit disappointed at first but surprisingly, my hubby is very happy. He said daughter is closer to dad and definetely will be closer to us. Haha.

@Jolin: Now that mine is a boy I'm stress myself for my next one. Cos I want at least 1 girl! Hahaha! Must do proper planning for my next one. =p

If only my hubby also thinks that it's like warrior's name. Then maybe he'll like it. Cos he wants a name that sounds "power". Hahahahah! But usually those names are very funny one leh... =(

Then that night he started again lor. Saw the name "Boe". Then said sounds like "bo lim" (don't drink). -_-||

Valerie: I like Christopher! Abit old-fashioned, but you're right that nowadays it's not so common ... abit more unique like that lah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Neongoby: We wait till the gender is identified before coming up with our 10 names lah :p So like that, work is cut by 50%. Heehee! Trying very hard not to think abt names at this stage though I just can't wait!! 3 more weeks to go ... but by the time detailed scan is done, I think I'll be worrying about more than just names ... hope scan shows baby has all the right parts in the right places!! That bb is healthy and happy ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Loinky: I am ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Not so much cramp like menstrual cramps, but more like twinges in the abdominal area, esp on left side.

me too, recently i hv more frequent cramps like what Princess31 has described, this morning i saw stretch marks at each side of the torso, not on the tummy or bum, die lah....

actually nobody really tells me directly except my granny who said she prays tat i will hv a boy, maybe i create the pressure myself, hahaha... or actually i secretly hope for a boy... anyway, thanks gals! shall not think anymore [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Valerie - Kayden is one of the top 3 popular names i saw from one websites. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@princess31: Hahahha! Orbit hor? But I still prefer Kayden leh. Or Jayden also can. =p

Anyway mummies, I'm feeling so stress now. That day when my mum went check up with me she said she also can do my confinement for me. Initially I thought she don't know how to do cos mine's her first grandchild that's why I said my mil will do. But now since she offers I feel like letting her do. Cos her food is more yummy and I can choose what to eat. Kekeke.. And most importantly I want to eat the vinegar pig trotter! I like to drink the vinegar. But if I do at her place I don't think my hubby will move over with me. I don't want to 1 month cannot see my hubby and he 1 month cannot see his son leh. =(

Valerie - r u staying with ur MIL? else u can ask ur mom to come over n stay with u for 1 month.

i also LOVE vinegar pig trotter!

morning mummies! i had a great weekend. went to resorts world to see the voyage de la vie play..

congrats to those who found out gender/able to guess gender! time for shopping..

re: prufirstgift

OFB is right. the $100, 200 or 300 doesnt start only 3 years later. it starts immediately. then there is an additional ONE TIME premium to activate the mother's coverage. premium is $320. but minimal coverage. but i feel the baby's premium is pretty comprehensive and can cover a lot.. the downside is the cost of premium, the upside is baby doesnt need to go tru health checkup and wait to see if he/she eligible or not.. i think this ensures more baby is covered.. then there is a part in the policy which my hubby likes most.. the investment.. they invest your money and gives you yearly returns. currently it is based on a projected percentage of 7% returns.. it fluctuates like all investments of cos.. but the investment sounds pretty good. u can draw out all the money in the balance every year but each time u gotta leave $1k inside at everytime.. but of cos the more money you leave inside the more interest u earn. not sure about this investment thing cos my maths is pretty bad but hubby says it sounds good.. so we are getting it.. thats all i know.. dont have the paper with me so cannot go into much details.. :)

@neongoby: Popular ah?? Then I think will be very common for his generation liao. Hahahaha! Headache leh. If only I can know in advanced what are the babys' names born in next year Feb. Lol~

I'm staying with my MIL. If I ask my mum come over to stay my dad also will come over. I scared will have conflict leh. LOL~ Especially my dad. His habit very weird one. Hahhaha! I scared later he keeps wake my mil up cos they sleep very late de.

@Judy: The investment policy I also have. And it's helping me to earn a lot of money till now lor. And I've not draw out any money yet. But I think they'll cease my policy once my baby take over. Hmm...

valerie: really ah? glad to hear positive response cos i dont exactly knw if the investment policy will bring good returns.. i check already.. for this prufirstgift investment policy continues until baby 21 i think.

@Judy: Yeah~ Cos I also never keep track of my investment one. Until that time I met up with my agent for review then she told me I'm actually earning quite a lot through the investment. Though they did send me statement lah, but I also never read. Lol~ That means when baby turns 21 my investment policy will cease?

valerie: u got the same policy(prufirstgift)? for my policy it ceases at 21 year of age for baby.. or 25. i cannot remember which one is it. haha.

@Judy: Oh nono, I mean my own investment policy. But I thought I read that don't know baby turns how old my own investment policy will cease and will go to him.

Neongoby: I think it's quite normal, the twinges in the side [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It's just our body growing and all the parts inside us shifting around making way for the growing womb, heehee...as for the stretch marks, have u started using the preventative cream? I'm using the Elancyl brand (can be bought from Watsons) and the smell is really nice. I hope it works too coz not cheap :/ But my friend mentioned you can buy it from John Little and they're having 20% discount.

Anyway I just sms my hubby and asked him if I want to do confinement in my mum's place will he move over with me. He replied with a "huh". Then I told him cos my mummy's cooking is more yummy. Hahahahha~ Then I also said his mum don't have to take 1 month off work lor. And my mum offered cos she said the market is just downstairs her house, if want to eat anything can get easily. Then he said discuss later. Haiz.. Not a good sign. =(

@Judy I thought the cover for mother will cease when baby is 3, but mother can still be able to do the investment portion on behalf of the kid, and draw out the investment until kid is 21 years old. So my hubby and I joked that before he/she turns 21, we'll take out all the money left $1K, to fund uni expenses and then he/she can pay for her own insurance liaoz. hahaha!

But really no need to pay until baby 3 years old ah? sounds too good to be true :p

On confinement:

Yeh, my mum is also doing my confinement and hinted that I should move over for a month. But my hubby confirm dun wan one. Does that means he go home sleep every nite, or should I ask my mum to come over instead? Actually, i would prefer to be in my own house as well, esp, coz my house is fully aircon, mummy's place only room in airconed :p (they say cannot blow fan, but can be in aircon room rite??)

Actually, she only need to cook and help out a little housework rite? Would she need to stay over nite? Can we handle by ourselves through the nite?

@pootz: I think it's still better to have an elderly to be there bah. At least we won't panic cos there will be someone with experience to help us. Actually go to my mum's place got good and bad. Good thing is my mum won't buy so many cny food so less temptations for me. Hehe.. And also every year cny no people will come visit us so I can really have peaceful rest. And most importantly my mum's cooking really more yummy lah. Hehehe.. And market only downstairs. Convenient. But bad thing is my own room is very small. Cos last time I shared room with my sis. So already have 2 beds there to occupy space. I will have no space for cot and a bit troublesome also to move the cot over then back to my place again. *sigh* So contradicting. But my mil's place will have many cny food lor! And many many visitors also. Then I look so dirty. =( And they keep touching my baby I don't like! Pass all the virus and germs to him. =(

pootz: need to pay from start.. not from baby 3 years old.. the coverage on mother ceases once baby is 3 years old.. to summarise things:

- you pay a one time payment of $320 for a $5,000 coverage on mother. it will cover till baby 3 years old.

- you pay a monthly premium of $100/$200/$300 a month for a $100k/$200k/$300k coverage on baby. it will cover baby for life.

premium of $320 is paid immediately.

also, premium of $100/200/300 mthly is paid immediately as well. therefore first month payment is $420/520/620, and subsequent month $100/200/300, depending on which premium u choose.

wah i read already also confused. haha.

Helo mummies,

Can i check how much is the detailed scan @TMC? will be doing it in a mth time, so wondering how much?

are mummies already wearing maternity dress/outfit? cos now i still wearing normal clothes. then last week, went to mum house she say my stomach showing liao, still wear so normal dress, so tight looking, not nice.

I'm new to this thread though not new to this forum, and I'm gonna have my second baby.

I read some of the above posts from Valerie (pinkyval) and pootz (pootz) and I can really sympathise with you two. I had been there and done that and nearly develop post natal in the process.

My hubby insisted his mother does for me, yet I want my own mother to do. His mother has no idea how to do confirment while my mom is totally experienced with it. And, of course, I would prefer my mom's cooking and I can tell her what I want to eat, but I can't tell my MIL. My mom moved in with me for that month, (My hubby refused to let me move to my mom's house as it will then be difficult for his parents to see the baby, he says ) but there were so many conflicts at home. He is a clean freak and can't stand my mother's 'dirtiness', although she cleaned up, he would say it's not clean enough, etc. In the end, I did some cleaning myself. But it was really terrible. Until now, although I am already pregnant, I fear the confinement period already as I don't want history to repeat itself.

So if both of you have supportive hubbies, I would strongly encourage you to discuss with him first.

pootz (pootz), it would be good to have someone help you at night, especially if you are a first time mummy as baby can wake up very often at night. I felt blessed with my mother around.

Oh, oh, and on maternity clothes, you can go to the spree page. There's this spree organised by BBR. Her stuff are all from Taiwan, but good and cheap. In fact, even though second pregnancy, I was vain and bought more pants, and even one pair of jeans! hehe... The jeans only cost me like S$20 plus. I've also bought lotsa bursing bras and tops from her sprees. So it's really worth it, much cheaper than buying locally.

@little girl: I'm only wearing maternity pants. Other tops & dresses I just bought those stretchable and loose one. But I've bought some maternity clothes from a spree and will be receiving them soon. I don't like to wear tight fit clothes, don't feel comfortable and I don't want to suffocate my baby. Hee hee hee..

@wingkei: Hihi! Welcome!! Actually when it comes to experience my mil has more experience then my mum cos she did confinement for her daughter for her 2 pregnancies and my mum has never done before. But I think she knows how to do too if not she won't offer her help. But I have a feeling my hubby won't agree lah. Even if he agrees he also won't be moving over with me. =(

jolin, congrats having a ger! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

little girl, i paid ard $430 when i did my oscar at tmc. This amount is for oscar + 5th mth detailed scan. If i'm not wrong, the detailed scan at tmc cost ard $140. You can call up and check. I'm still wearing my t-shirts and for bottoms, i wore those with elastic band. Can't see that i'm pregnant if i'm in tees but tummy obvious if i'm wearing babydoll dress.

@wingkei - I hear you about not being able to tell MIL about things you dun like! Wah, will get post-natal blues ah!? I've already told my hubby i dun need the MIL for confinement, quoting that she is not going let me bathe for 1 month! Will die leh!! As my parents-in-law are not Singaporean, I can't stop them from visiting, but I really hope they don't try to impose all those traditional restrictions etc. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I agree that our own mother's food is always nicer.. and also we can complain and they'll make the effort to cook to our likings. But I feel kind of bad to make my mum go through the late night shifts with us leh...

@pootz: Ya, I also feel bad to keep my mum awake. Cos I don't think for the first few days I can handle baby crying alone. But if I do in my mil's place I also feel bad to keep asking my mum to come over to visit me & my baby and bring me food. Cos we stay quite far. =( Dilemma dilemma. Help~~~

Dear all mummies,

This is the experience i had during my first confinement and it happen...

August 22, 2007 -

Hi all MTB,

I juz happen to come to this thread and it reminds me of what a great help my confinement nanny is. I agree a good confinement nanny is very hard to engaged and i would like to state my experience with my confinement nanny.

Her name is Mei Hua and is about mid forties...from agency-she was recommended from my Boss too)! Initially we have some doubts about her experiences but she soon familiarize herself and is a great help to us.

The she arrived the day I'm discharge from the hospital, aft putting my bb to sleep, she was introduced to my parents-in-law, my elder son, maid and my hubby... next, she prepare my bath water, longan tea and getting ready to cook dinner. I show her around my house and taught her how to use the vacuum cleaner, washing machine, stove and other electrical appliances and show her the kitchen and also the laundry area. Aft my bath, i went to rest and took a nap too. I woke up during my dinner time and was amazed that she cooked for the whole family and while we're having dinner, she took care of my bb and also give me advise on how to breast-feed my bb. During the ngt, my hubby and I had complete rest and Mei Hua took care of everything. As the week goes by, my bb is able to latch well and her confinement food was really superb. B'cos i don take pig trotters and rice wine chix, she encourage me to try and I ate heartily! On the third week, she also taught my maid baby handling skills and show patience towards my elder boy. She also gets along well with my both my parents-in-law. During the last week, I was worried that my bb will get 'hooked' to latching on during feeding, I ask Mei Hua to help me... She show great patience and care during the process and I'm really please with her performance and help rendered greatly.

As our family members really missed her when we realise it was already her last day with us, I gave her a 'big' ang pow and tell her that she 'earned' it herself. Till now, my parents-in-law still mentioned about her during our conversation.

She was indeed a great help and I really wish mummies could get this kinda help during your confinement period. Kindly PM me if any MTB interested in getting her contact. For my second pregnancy next year.. it's gonna be the same agency I'm engaging from again. I hope by sharing information... mummies could get more informative about the choices avail and get 'suitable help' during your vunerable period.

I've engaged my initial first CL (58yrs) thru PEM confinement and she kept complaining about her backache and also muscle ache. I've a hard time putting up with her, she also insist on her 'break time' from 2:15pm to 4:15pm and during that hours she simply does nothing even my bb cries! After four days... I simply let her go and the agency 'persuaded me to get a replacement but wanna charge me S$200!' I said FORGET IT!.

Juz one word of caution... mummies needing an extra help during confinement... pls get a reliable agency (b'cos nannies from agency are still more reliable if compared to freelance CL as freelancer might 'fly kite' the very last min. I agree there are still very 'good' confinement lady out there... afterall, she is still a stranger.

P/s: I don get any commission out of this recommendation.

Judy: Thks for summarising the insurance policy thing! Looks alot clearer...after reading the brochure and reading the threads, I became so confused [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But will double-check with agent when we meet up!

Little girl & Charmaine: I think 5 week detailed scan will be at least $200? Forgot to ask gynae at my last scan, alamak! But I was told it would take about half hour for the scanning process. So long ah? Normally, scan v fast, like 10 mins or so.

Thanks all for the replies =)

Hi Princess:- I just went for my scan last Sat and so happy Gynea can tell that i will be having a Boy..me in my 15 + weeks le. This is my first bb and i want a Boy for the first =)

By the way doc still ask me to continue Folic Acid wor... Are you gals still on Folic?

Gals are you getting confinement lady ma? My Hubby think not necessary since my in law and my mum can take care =X And my husband say he will settle all the household chores.

Hi Charmaine,

Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, ladies, can i check with you? My baby's legs are very skinny. My gynae took a scan from her bottom to see the gender last Saturday, and i noticed baby's legs are very skinny leh. I say so because i saw baby's legs of those online ultrascan videos (posted in youtube) are so much bigger. Wondering if it is because i didn't drink milk hence my baby's legs are skinny? But gynae didn't say anything though.

hello ladies!

I am new to this thread. I am due end of feb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Have you found yr CL yet? Any comments on getting a CL from TMC? or GPLS? or PEM?

it's nice to be here.