(2011/02) Feb 2011

I'm going off ladies! Have a great weekend ahead! Can't wait for my pedicure session & shopping in Toys r Us tomorrow! Hahahahah! =p

I remember i asked something about this PRUDENTIAL and this is not what i know about.

You pay a lump sum of $320 for $5000 death coverage and protects other pregnancy complications for 3 years, but all the protection is very minimum. It's called PRUmum2be. This one is cheap because it doesn't cover the baby until the baby is born, and the mother cover stops there. Vice versa, before delivery it only covers the mom and not the baby. Note that most of the protection it mentions refers to the monthly premium type, the lump sum type offers very little.

The other type of policy is the monthly premium type, is called PRUlink it is a separate policy if you decides not to get the lump sum type. The monthly premium is $100, $200 or $300 depends how big the coverage is. The protection in this case is $100,000 onwards. That's a considerably big different and the protection are more completed. But of course, it's also not cheap.

It is not to pay $320 first, then 3 years later pay the monthly. It doesn't work that way. Correct me if i am wrong.

OFB: hmm, thats not correct leh, according to my info. i was told at anytime mother and baby are both covered. nvm i will clarify and let u guys knw tmr:)

@Charmaine: sure, no prob..!! I can't wait for mine to arrive too. Really hope they can fit. I ordered 2 batches. The 2nd batch was with your order.

@OFB: I wonder can we request for 2 ultrasound pics instead from Dr Ang anot hor? I will always peek at my bb's pic aft the scan to make sure I can c him/her in a whole.. Haha..

Hi Judy,

I think only PRUlink (monthly premium) covers both, but PRUmum2be (lump sum) only 1. Ok, let us know [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Zanta,

I have been thinking over that too. Especially when the last photo we got from him shows the back of the baby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Our next appt is 3 weeks later, quite a long wait [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Morning mummies~

@zantarina & neongoby: My hubby know the gender already! Hahahahhah! Last night when I went home I showed him the photo. Cos I have 2 photo, 1 is showing the full body, hand and leg. The other is on gender. But my gynae didn't paste the one that's showing gender on the card cos I told her my hubby doesn't want to know. So she gave me separately. Before I showed him I told him got one he cannot see. Then he gave me an unhappy look. So I said cos that one showing the gender. Then I gave him a choice. I covered up the photo and told him "I let you choose. If you want to see then you turn over the photo bah.". And he turned over the photo lor. Hahahahha! So I said "I thought you said you don't want to know???". But he said he can't tell from the photo. He said so small and no bulge. Then I told him "Baby only leh. Of course small lah!". Lol~!!! But he said the photo doesn't look real. And he said he's worried about my weight, a lot of qn for the gynae. So I told him next visit go with me lor. You all are so right lor!!! Hahahhaha! He can't endure afterall. Hahahahaa!

And then last night we were looking at the iphone app on baby's names and there he goes again lor. With all the funny names. Lol~ So difficult to think of a name! Our concept is so different! I want a name that's nice and won't be laughed at. He wants a name that sounds power. Lol~

Valerie,

This baby, I will look for ang mo name that got only 2 sound type. Cse with my experience for my 1st, her name got 3 sounds, find it very difficult to call. End up calling her mandarin name now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Valerie,

Difficult to call. Acacia- Cannot call her cia, cannot call her Ac, cannot call her cacia (my mom always pronounce as cashier :>)

@Valerie: Guys always act act don't wanna know but actually they're just as excited as us.. Haha.. Is he v happy to know that it's a boy??

@OFB: Your bb nv move abt, just keep showing the butt thruout the scan? 3wks consider short le, I waited for 4.2wks le.. Neck v long nw.. Haha..

@zantarina: He very happy. But he said he happy cos me & baby is healthy. I showed him my blood test report. Then I add on "And cos is a boy also right?". Then he said "Boy girl I also happy so long healthy.". Then I said don't bluff. Hahahahah!

@Valerie: Boy or girl also happy. But, having boy he'll b more happy. Haha.. But it's true that the most impt thing is both mummy n baby r healthy.

@zantarina: Hahaha! Hannor. But at least now I don't have to keep a secret to myself liao. Can go shopping openly! Hahahahha~

@Valerie: Yeah!! So happy for u.. I'm counting down for my next appt on this comin fri. Btw, ltr u can also go Fox to c baby's rompers. That day I saw cute ones.. But I can't buy yet.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@zantarina: Hehehe.. Very fast one! Then next Saturday you also can go and buy liao. Hehe.. Later I'm going to toy r us. Hope I won't end up buying too many toys! =p

Btw my sil gave me this website that sells baby's clothes. Some are very cute lor. Haha.. Got the 面包超人 suit. Lol~

http://www.ourlittleoneshop.com/

@OFB: Maybe just nice when Dr Ang wanna snap, ur bb turned.. Haha.. Nvm, take it as a dif pos which bb wanna c when he/she grows up.

@Valerie: Thanks for the webby. Don't buy toys first coz he won't know how to play till dunno how big. But u can buy those hanging toys that'll move so that bb can c while lying in the cot.

For clothings, I got some bb rompers from hubby's bro liao so think I'll only buy 2-3 suits which r for bb to wear when returning hm fr hospital n for bb's shower. Coz bb outgrow their clothes v fast so no need to buy alot too.. I stingy hor? Hehe..

@zantarina: Hahahha! No lah. Not stingy lah. I believe you will buy a lot on some other things. Hahahah! My mum also said don't buy so many clothes cos baby grow very fast. Then my dad even funnier. He said buy now scarly baby born that time very big size like my sis cannot wear how? Lol~ But I scared I cannot resist leh. Some baby's clothes are so cute!

@Valerie: Ya lor, I also worry that I buy the rompers b4 bb is born scarly my bb outgrown the rompers even b4 bb's shower then how ah? Headache!!

Our spree is ready for collection~! My v-post price is $11.89. I guess that is the shipping cost that is being shared? Do check your email~ =)

Hihi morning ladies. Haven't come in for a long time. Was looking at your posts. How's everyone? My MS seems to be back with a revenge n feeling very unwell. I haven't been getting quality sleep for the past few weeks. Sleep is always interrupted. 2nd time mummies, did u encounter ur children getting cranky after knowing that they are going to hv a didi or meimei? During the day, my girl's a bit more clingy and at nites, when she woke up n can't find me sleeping with her, she will bellow at the top of her voice n at times she sounded so scary.

Btw, I see a lot buying new clothes for bb. Try to get from ur friends becos worn bb clothes are more comfy than the new ones. Last time I bought a lot n in the end I used most if the old ones as they r more cooling. U may buy clothes for outing.

Gender: good for those mummies who know their bb gender. I hv to wait for another 3 weeks to finalist the gender again. But one thing for sure, my baby doesn't like me to lie completely flat on my bed. Becos everytime I do tht I can feel the baby limbs poking out from my stomach area..

Bb size: just a quick check with everyone? Maybe I'm paranoid but I think my stomach doesn't seem to be growing. It seems to look stagnant but I can feel the baby moving. Thinking of pushing forward my scan to ensure everything is alrite.

Breast pump: my gf was telling me avent in uk is hving sale thus got her to help me buy the single breast pump at 70 pounds. I think it shld cost ard 150-180 sing dollars depending on currency. But dun knw whether warranty can cover in Singapore. Anyway it s still a cheap buy.

@zantarina: Haha that's when the website comes in useful. Hahahha! Since we can't go out during confinement then we buy online lor. Lol~

@felpoo: Hihi morning! I don't really have a lot of friends that already gave birth. And gave birth one also girl. My cousin has a baby boy but her baby is in Malaysia. Lol~ Maybe I take from my sil those neutral color one. To wear at home. Hehehe...

I think the tummy is growing slowly. I also don't find my tummy is growing but my cousin saw me yesterday and she said my tummy has grown. The last time she saw me was around a month ago. So don't worry, since you can feel baby moving. =)

Hi Valerie, today nvr go out? Hehe.. Tht s very scary to hear tht u guys are intending to buy online while doing confinement. Dun overspend. I m still trying to stop the itch of watching my kdrama series online. Intending to wait for my confinement and then slowly watch while resting at home. Did u guys try to buy at gmarket Korea sites? I bought my girl's clothings at gmarket Korea. Very sweet n classy n cheap too. Spore sprees n shops mark up very high. So I buy things in tht website n use EMS shipping. Vpost shipping a bit ex unless ppl combine and share shipping costs.

Sigh.. Just heard Natas hving fair. The other day I dreamt Tht I was in genting snow city n the decos are so nice. N I was pregnant but without my girl ard.. I think I'm due for a holiday.

@felpoo: I'm working today. Sob sob. I'm working every alternate Saturday. But I'll be going out later lah. Hee hee.. The website that I posted just now I see the clothes $10+, issit consider expensive? Cos I don't know what's the market price. Hee... Ya, the maternity clothes that we bought is from a spree. So the shipping is being shared. Still ok lah. Hehe..

Valerie, u r not the only one.. Hehe.. I m on my way to office now. Hv to go at this hr as everyone has gone back home. Less disturbances n I can max my music volume without disturbing anyone.. Where will u be going? Town?

@Zanta: Don’t worry, your girl will be the rose among the thorns! Haha..

You are not being stingy on the clothes.. It’s the fact.. Though we will want to give bb new clothes but thinking after once or twice they can’t fit already, so best not to spend too much..

Nope, the gender prediction is not accurate for me.. All the charts I used tell me I will have a girl.. Dunno whether I dunno how to use or it’s not accurate.. Haha..

@Valerie: I also dunno leh, gynae say don’t buy until bb is born.. Haha.. My gynae very different from others one.. Tell me can drink coffee but cannot drink milo or milk *diaoz*??

Finally you won!! Congrats!! Told you he cannot tahan one.. He must be very happy lor.. Haha.. Can go slow on choosing of the names.. Don’t fight over that huh.. Haha..

The insurance plan can only start when bb is 18 weeks izzit?

@Mummyb: I think it depends on the position bb is in.. Had my scan done yesterday, gynae calculated bb at 15+ weeks but can tell already..

@Princess31: You will have good news for us too.. Update us after the scan..

@Judy: Please let us know after you check with your agent.. Thks..

@Felpoo: This happens to my friend’s sis also.. Now preggy with 2nd child, the 1st child always very naughty.. Think bcoz they know that someone is coming to share the attention with them already.. But can try talking to your girl so that she understands.. Tell her you will still love and dote on her when didi/meimei arrives..

Think you need not worry about the stomach size since you can feel bb moving.. Or you can bring forward the appt to get confirmation earlier..

Went window shopping at Kaki Bukit Hypermart yesterday.. The price of the cots there are not cheaper also – about $300+.. Now regret not buying from the Taka fair.. Haiz.. Gotta wait for the next one..

@felpoo: Ahhh.. But why you don't want to go in the morning? Then afternoon at least can go out mah. Yeah, I'll be going to town to do pedicure then after that go forum Toys r us. Hehehehe... Then you'll work till what time?

@preciousbabi: Wahahahah~ Hannor! He himself cannot resist. Then see liao still say don't believe is boy cos cannot tell. Lol~ So 嘴硬 lor. Hahahahha!

Your gynae pantang leh. Hahaha! Like my hubby. Till now he still don't want to tell his friends and relatives that I'm pregnant. He said he's scared. Then I said also over 3 months already. He said this kind of things hard to say. Haizz... I'm so unhappy.

Why cannot drink milk & milo? He scared you lacto intolerant ah? But my gynae also never force me to drink milk. She said don't force myself to drink milk. Heng ah..... If she said must drink milk then my hubby will force me to drink milk liao.

Ya, the plan can only start on week 18. But can sign now, by week 18 can start automatic liao.

Anyway, I am going to be a mountain tortoise alr.

precsiousbabi, remember what I tell you. Dr Henry is not not very conventional gynae one. My 1st PG, he also said can drink coffee but also asked me not to drink milk but he nvr mention abt milo. Then he can say those milk for pregnant women are too commercialised .. hehe

Get used to his comments will do. I tell you there is an occasion where I can remember what he said. That was when I was int he delivery room trying very hard to push my baby out, he suddenly made a comment saying tht I'm really like a virgin becos hole too small for the baby to push out even he alr cut my below.. For a moment, I was a bit stoned by his remarks..

How to describe him? Hmm.. anyway, conclusion, he is very different from other gynaes, i would say.

Valerie: Ask your hubby to accompany you to the next visit, then he will truly believe when gynae show him.. Think he also don’t want to pin high hopes and get disappointed afterthat.. Hahaha…

Felpoo: He asked me not to take milo coz it contains milk and drink already will make us feel very full?? Then maybe will contribute to vomiting.. But I no vomit at all leh.. Also cannot.. Haiz.. So I just argue till can drink a few sips once in a while lor.. Anyway whether to listen or not is up to us.. But I choose to lah.. Hehe.. Agree that he is really different.. So long as we are comfortable, it’s ok.. My hubby always very entertained by him every visit.. Haha.. You still can remember what he said that time ah.. So funny, think he just want to make you more relax ba, but it’s lame!! Haha…

@preciousbabi: Ya, I asked him to go with me for my next visit since I'll be doing a detailed scanning too. And he said he has many qn to ask the gynae. LOL~

I'm going off now! Yeah~~ Toy r us here I come~~~ Enjoy your weekend mummies~~ Bye~!!

Congrats Valerie! I m so happy for you and your hubby, I hope ur ah boy will bring both of u closer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Envy u can do go pedicure [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i miss doing so, still got a package which I have newly signed b4 i got pregnant, maybe i will see if i can go next mth. Miss my facial too....

Felpoo - don't work too hard, remember to take short breaks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Have a great weekend mummies....

Hi, ladies.

Finally found out baby gender from gynae today, I am having a baby girl [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For e first time I saw baby's kicking inside me, so happy and teared.

Have a good weekend everyone

Hi Charmaine & Zantarina,

Thanks for the advice.

Which means low red blood count doesnt mean that I am a Thalassemia carrier? How to know if I have? Does the blood test which we took @ 3mths preg test for this? Oh, 平血 is anemia, which is one of the symptoms of Thalassemia, which I read from the web. It's so confusing.

If Im really a carrier & my hubby isnt, what are the chances that my bb wld have Thalassemia?

So confusing...

Hi Everyone! I went for my routine scan this morning. As I'm 17 weeks pregnant, I was keeping my fingers crossed that we could identify the gender today, esp after everyone else's recent good news .... aiyah, too bad...never talk to my bb early enough....only 3 days ago I started t0 ask him/her to open legs wide wide and be cooperative ... this morning, not only was my bb facing downwards, his legs were crossed and he kept bouncing around!! SO NAUGHTY!!!! >.<

So my gynae ended up showing me other parts of bb, like chin, eye socket, heart, spine (v clear), stomach etc...then towards the end, bb flipped ard and my gynae caught a v quick glimpse of his pvt parts ... and said looks like boy! But because so fast, she said we can only be certain in 3 weeks time when I do my 20-week detailed scan. Of course I never saw anything although my hub said he saw what the gynae saw.

SIGH! This bb is really naughty, hor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So nm, will have to delay my shopping and name-thinking for a few more weeks.

Jolin: Congrats on successfully finding out your bb's gender!! Ya,I agree it's always marvellous to see bb moving around inside, although we may not be able to feel the movement.

Gynae was saying bb is so big now that we cannot measure by length anymore, so we shall now go by weight. bb is currently about 140g. Sounds v light???

Princess_cabbage: Don't worry too much about the thalassemia. My blood test also suggested I have the alpha-thalassemia trait, and I just did the DNA testing at KK Hospital to confirm it. Results won't be out for at least a month. Regardless, make sure u get ur hub tested. If hub is clear, then bb just has a 50% chance of getting the thalassemia minor, from your side of the genes. Only something like 5% of the population are thalassemic, so I'm hoping your hub is clear [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Basically, the blood test @ 3 mths is a good indicator if u are carrying the thalassemia trait or not. If it's not flagged out but you have low red blood count, then I don't think it is a genetic thing. More of a temporary symptom from the pregnancy. You are right to say anemia is a symptom of Thalassemia.

Anyway,as I suggested, do get ur hub tested. My hub actually went all the way and did the DNA test to cfm he's all-clear. After that, then I went to do the DNA test myself to cfm my blood test. It's cheaper at KK than at TMC if your gynae can give u a referral to the National Thalassemia Registry ($20 vs $200!).

felpoo: Hope you feel better really soon. While I'm feeling better as each day progresses, there are some days where things just go backwards and I feel terribly ill all over again. It's all those fluctuating hormones inside of us!

Valerie: Quick, think of some bb names! :p

Take care, mummies, and enjoy the weekend [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess31: That's what happened at my scan two weeks back. The baby kept his/her legs crossed and was bouncing around so the gynae couldn't see at all! Sigh.

I think it seems to be better if the baby is sleepy/not so active during the scan. Can see better.

@neongoby: Thanks!!! Actually I also lazy to go but I have no choice. Few years ago I hurt my toe & my toe nail did not healed well. So I need to go for pedicure often to put acrylic to cover up the hole. Haiz.. Don't know when will my toe nail fully recover. =/

@Jolin: Congrats!!! You can start to shop for your girl le! So happy for you!! =)

@Princess31: Hahaha! Gynae very li hai one. If she can say is a boy most prob should be. You also can start to think of a name liao. Haha!

Anyway I bought a stethoscope from Toys r us today. But I can't seem to hear the heartbeat leh. I don't know where to position it cos I dunno where my baby is facing. Haha! Or maybe I dunno how to hear. =(

Valerie,

Thanks, hehe

Actually i was quite surprised and should say that i am still quite declined about the result, haha. Cos all the while i suspect i am having baby boy (due to the hair grown on my stomach), but my hubby is very happy cos he prefers girl.

He said girl is closer to dad, eh..... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

But today it's the first time i saw my baby kicked inside me. I think she was sleeping when the scan done, my gynae tried to turn her to a better position to see the genital part, then suddenly she kicked her leg, maybe she feel annoyed, haha. So cute, and it's a first time i feel the baby is so real (cos she is moving). I teared when i saw that scene [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Jolin: Ya, it's very amazing to see the baby moving & suddenly will feel very touched de. Yesterday my baby was sleeping. Hopefully my next visit baby will be awake. Hehehe... I hope my next one will be a girl. Wahahahaha~ So fast think of next one liao. =p

I'm so pleased. My friend asked me over to her place yesterday afternoon cos she said she had some maternity clothes to pass to me. I thought it'd just be a few pieces but she handed over 1 huge box! I went home and counted 43 pieces in total, lotsa working pants and tops, some dresses, weekend pants, even an office jacket. What a godsend! I was at my wit's end cos I can no longer fit into my pre preg clothes, but I can't stomach the high prices of maternity wear. Now I'm set for the rest of the pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

On another note, my friend managed to lose ALL the pregnancy weight by breastfeeding alone. No diet, no exercise at all. Ate all she wanted cos she was so hungry from the breastfeeding. Her baby's now coming 8 months and she looks fantastic. But her baby is quite big sized (ang moh hubby), so maybe big baby drinks alot of milk? Regardless, there's hope yet!

Val, I read somewhere that you won't be able to hear the baby's heartbeat with a stethoscope until the 20th week. My husband has been trying at home with his stethoscope for a few weeks now, but can only hear my heartbeat or my bowel sounds, hehe. I didn't know Toys R Us sells stethoscopes- did you buy a medical grade one or a toy one?

Hi everyone.

Sorry to intrude your thread.

I am a July 10 mummy. I have one baby plus for sale. Condition is 9/10. Just bought it at March Taka Baby Fair.

If interested, do PM me.

it has been a long time since i last posted. How have u all been? Anybody here start to feel the bb's movement? I am going to be 18 weeks soon and has yet to feel my bb movement. By when can we feel our bb's movement. Btw, is ur tummy showing? I tummy look small and i am starting to put on weight already. I will be doing my scan on the 14th Sept at 20 weeks, hopefully will see the gender.

@Cherry: Wow that's so nice of your friend! My sil also passed me her maternity clothes but I only can fit in some cos she's quite petite & I'm tall & my breast is growing. So most of the tops I also can't fit. =(

I don't know is mine a medical grade anot but it's for kids of age 6+. But can hear my own heartbeat very loud. Just like the real one that doctor is using. My hubby is so amazed by it. Haha! Hopefully by week 20 will be able to hear my baby's heartbeat. Hehehe...