(2011/02) Feb 2011

@pootz: Woah your agent fast? But thought will only be approved in week 18? Lol~ She so fast submit for you already. Haha! So how much premium did you choose? $100, $200 or $300? And the $320 is the one time payment only?

Valerie: Your hubby haven ask ah?? Naughty.. But if he knows is boy he sure very happy lor.. Remember huh, if he dun ask you dun tell.. See how long he can endure.. Haha..

Ya lor, the shot taken also same as yours.. Huh, I didn't think of taking video of the scan.. Must charge one ah? They sure know how to make money lor.. Haha..

Thanks Fiona & Pootz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm also interested in getting the insurance.. Only from Prudential?

@valerie:

We chose $200. Got $320 meh? She's my hubby's agent, so excited to hear the good news that she wanted to meet us up lor. I guess we just got everything signed and perhaps like you say, it'll only be approved at 18 wks lor. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@preciousbabi: Ya lor! Then I told him baby today sleeping, never wave. And I can see the spine & gender! And he never reply liao. Zzz... I think it's me that cannot endure lor. Hahahahha!

Hannor! She said cos the machine don't know what. Actually I just want to take with my own camera. LOL~

Ya, Prudential is the first and only company that provides this policy.

@pootz: Don't know leh. I saw the online brochure the pruMum2be single premium is $320. But my agent didn't tell me about that charges over the phone lah. I'll be meeting her next Friday. But does she require your medical report?

@valerie: thanks for the website.. i actually saw it already.. but thought i get opinion from u.. my agent offer me the $320 one.. tmr i ask and let u all knw more:)

@Judy: Ohh.. Hahha I haven't met up with my agent leh. LOL~ She only spoke to me over the phone yesterday. I'll only be meeting up with her next Friday. But she never offer me the $320 over the phone. Lol~

I think he don't know how to reply me also. Haha! If he asks what then scarly he scared I'll tell him "I thought you don't want to know?". Lol~

Valerie: ENDURE!! Cannot lose to him.. Haha..

I see, I will check out the policy soon..

Gynae ask us not to buy anything before bb is born??? So going window shopping now.. Can see cannot buy.. Haha..

@Valerie: My hubby's close friends also mostly having sons. Dunno will it feel weird to bring a daughter out with those boys ard anot. Hehe.. Sometimes I'll imagine that if I'm having a son, then in case of anything, my son can protect me. Don't think of having a 娘 son when comes to mummy's boy la. Coz I ever heard from a vendor that till now, her son who is 17 or 18 yrs old, will still go hug her de le. So sweet..

@PreciousBabi: Congratulations to you too!! I can feel both your hubby's & your excitement. Hehe.. Is the chinese gender prediction chart accurate for you?

@preciousbabi: Hahahha! Okay I try. LOL~ Lucky we speak mandarin at home. Then I won't accidentally say "he" to him. Lol~

Huh.. Why cannot buy anything till baby is born??

@zantarina: Hahah! That time before I was pregnant his friend's wife asked us faster give birth. If not next time mine is still baby theirs already quite big then nobody play with my baby. Then my hubby said "If next time I have a girl your boy don't keep coming near my girl ah." Lol~

Oh, the chart is accurate for me lor. Lol~ But it's the iphone app chart.

@Charmaine: Thanks for the webby.

@Valerie: I have an idea, since your hubby wants surprise right? Then tell him it's a girl first, see what's his reaction and hide all the clothes you bought for your boy. Then maybe wait till he goes with you for the next visit, or next next visit then let him see by himself. Hehe..

RE: Insurance

I was told by my insurance agent that the lady's plan I bought from him does cover pregnancy complications. So for those who are interested to buy that insurance from Prudential but who had also bought lady's plan insurance, can check with your agent the difference in the coverage b4 buying.

@zantarina: Hahahah! He very smart one leh. He always know when I'm lying. Or maybe I very stupid, will kan cheong when lying. Lol~ So everytime I want to give him surprise end up also found out by him.

Does the plan also cover for baby? Cos for this after you give birth the plan will be covering the baby.

zantarina: my hubby is big size, manly and very MCP but he still hug his mum when his mum cries.. i think thats very sweet.. my boss(who has a daughter and son) also says that son is closer to mummy while daughhter will run for daddy.. thats why the term mummy's boy and daddy's girl..

@Valerie: Try your best la, I think it'll be kinda fun to c your hubby's reaction when he found out bb is actually a boy during the scan on your next appt if he accompanies you. Haha..

Btw, my lady's plan don't cover my bb but I intend to apply FBI from TMC, or the lady's card from MAH which covers the bb for 6mths aft birth. Then maybe from there decide which insurance to get again. The insurance you intend to buy is either $100, $200 or $300 a mth? Then aft giving birth also the same amt or will decrease? If nv decrease I find it kinda x for the $200 & $300 plan..

@zantarina: Haha.. If he goes for scan he also won't want to find out the gender. He very stubborn one.

Anyway, the amount is still the same. The more you pay the higher the coverage lor. It's like life insurance for the baby.

zantarina: this is what my agent told me..

$320 one off payment for first 3 months..

monthly premium after that of varying amounts depending on which premium u pay..

during pregnancy: 80% cover mother, 20% cover baby

upon birth: 20% cover mother, 80% cover baby..

plan will cover baby for life. mother need to give health report. baby dont need. covers baby irregardless any problems.

this is as far as i knw..

freebies: 4 x GV movie tickets while stocks last. though im not very iterested by the freebies. haha.

@zantarina: i think the the premium is flexible, you can decrease it to $100 if you want to. Basically it's something like that...

$200/month premium covers to $200K for life + $200K critical illnesses for the mother and child, plus all those preg complications + congenital diseases for the child, until the child is 3 years old. After he/she is 3 years old, the policy covers solely the child for life and critical illnesses.

i might be wrong... forgive the pregnant brain :p

@Valerie: Hmm.. Then you got intention to tell him afterall?

@Judy: Does the insurance cover death only, or even terminal illness?

My hubby's friend bought an insurance for his newborn from Manulife which also covers the mother's death.

Hi Charmaine,

Thanks for the info.

The clinic nurse said my hubby needs to go for a blood test too. Think they wanna calculate the chances of my bb getting Thalassemia....

Just when i tot the oscar scan result was fine..another prob pops up... sigh....

@Judy: That means the $320 can cover for 3 years? Or every year must pay $320? Har, the freebies is movie tix? I thought is baby stuff. Lol~

@pootz: I thought is until baby 2 years old? Lol~

@zantarina: I cannot tell him just like that leh. He'll get angry one. He'll say "Tsk! Told you don't tell me liao why you still want to say?". So see how things go lor. Hmm...

@princess_cabbage: Is thalassemia = 贫血? If yes, I'm also having it but mild condition. My gynae found out when I did my blood test and my hubby gotta go take his blood test too. Luckily my hubby's results turns out to b ok. Stay optimistic ya. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@pootz: Thanks alot for your info. I shall check with my agent again when he's back from his reservist. But that will b a mth ltr coz he went overseas for his reservist. By then I'll b ard 21wks already, still can buy the insurance if I want to?

@zantarina: i think it covers death as well..

from website:

Key Features

* Offers protection and the flexibility to provide for your child's education and savings needs through investment

* Covers expectant mother against possible Pregnancy Complications3 as well as Death, Terminal Illness and Disability1 before childbirth

* Covers newborn against selected Congenital Illnesses6 as well as Death, Disability and Terminal Illness1, 4

* Offers selected Hospital Care Benefits5 to the newborn

* Add on supplementary benefits to your child’s plan within 12 months of his or her birth and enjoy a one-time 20% discount off the first-year premiums7.

* For those expecting twins, covers both babies against selected Pregnancy Complications3 and offers both newborns selected Congenital Illnesses6 and Hospital Care Benefits5

valerie: yah $320 one off payment for 3 years.. i wished they had more freebies like when u sign savings plan they give like free PSP or laptop.. this one only movie tix.. haha..

princess_cabbage, ask your hubby go for blood test 1st then see how. Dun worry so much. My hubby is a thalassemia minor and i also was v worried coz i've low blood too but turns out my boy has mild thalassemia and he's doing fine, only he takes a longer time then other children to recover from fever.

zanta, thalassemia is 地中海贫血症

@charmaine: Woah, that means after paying $320 then the next monthly payment will only be 3 years later? Like that good leh. No wonder they only give movie tix lah. Cos they lugi in the premium liao. Lol~

valerie: haha.. yah lor but they earn in the premium after that mah cos the premium is quite high. for me im interested cos i feel its like one stone kill two bird(cover me and baby mah). tmr i meet my agent i find out more:)

@Judy: One time payment of $320 is for how much premium? They sld give free gifts like Take, or maternity clothes voucher mah. $50 also good..

@Judy: Ya I'm also interested though my hubby also commented that the premium is a bit high. But I told him sooner or later also have to buy for baby. Then this covers the both of us leh. And it's life insurance. Wonder if it includes savings too. Hehe..

@zantarina: Ya lor. At least give something that is useful for the mummy and baby mah. Give movie tix not useful leh. Lol~

@Judy: $320 only for the 1st 3 years.. yet cover so many things... very good wor! Hahaha, I very pessimistic one... until now, I still think something wrong is going to happen. So insurance is good.. hahah!

zantarina: the one off $320 payment im not so sure how much is the coverage.. didnt ask about that.. thanks for reminding me so i can ask her tmr..

valerie: yah lor. i dont knw if should go for which premium leh cos $300 abit over.. but $100 like i feel im not being a good parent.. haha.. but bcos personally i am not covered by any health insurance i think its about time i get one for myself also. the policy has some investments also.. but returns are based on the market.. i am not sure how it works.. my agent did mention something about savings and investments, but my hubby is better at this kind of thing got to ask him.. lol..

pootz: choy choy choy. haha. i think every mother will worry no matter how healthy they are.. i lead such an unhealthy lifestyle before im pregnant so i am also very worried. looking forward to the day i can feel baby's kick nice and strong.. keep reading so many negative stories.. cant help it.. haha..

PreciousBabi: Congrats !!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm excited for my scan tomm now, after hearing all the good news recently ....

Hi Joanne! Welcome to the forum! I'm new too, having just joined a few days back. But already I've learnt so much from the mummies here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Don't worry abt not feeling any bb movements. I'm 4 mths pregnant and yet to feel anything too ... other than some twinges in my side. I doubt it's bb kicking though :p I'm also 1st time mummy so all this is so new to us. Just relax and enjoy the experience!

I see my gynae every 4 weeks and my next scan is ... tomm morning [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Have you identified the gender of ur bb yet?

@Charmaine: Ic..

@pootz: You are not alone coz me too, will keep thinking if anything will happen along the way anot.

@Judy: You are most welcome.. Hehe..

Buy the amt which you can afford coz there will be much more things which we need to spend on when they grow up..

Hi Ah ching, just went for my check out, gynae can't confirm coz my bb nt yet open leg but gynae feel that is a gal u are having gal oso?

Me nw is abt 70%-30%. Have to wait for the detail scan on 29 Sept then can fully knw so kan cheong.. My hubby i can feel that he wants a boi but is a gal he is ok too but i prefer a gal..mre filial.mre sweet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Judy: Then opt for the $200 one lor. Lol~ Then you can half half with your hubby. Or ask him to pay all. LOL~ I myself also have my policy to pay for. So maybe I'll ask my hubby to contribute. Keke.. Anyway the monthly payment will only execute 3 years later, can start saving up now. Hee hee..

valerie: yah lor.. of cos hubby pay.. i am too poor. haha..

anyway wanna recommend www.gap.com/ for maternity clothes.. like their style and seems cheaper than singapore's maternity clothes

@Judy: You can join the sprees to get the Gap or Old Navy clothes. Choc, Valerie, Charmaine & me got join sprees to buy. Now waiting for our clothes to arrive..

I also agree that their price are cheaper than SG aft converting. But I wonder will the shipping be x.

@zantarina: Our clothes have arrived~! She'll sort them out over the weekend first then email us. The shipping shared among us should be okay bah..

@Valerie: How much did you need to top up for your shipping? I joined another organiser and my clothes have not arrived. Just shipped out from US only this week. Hopefully I can receive mine by next week.