(2011/02) Feb 2011

valerie: so excited for u! like jolin i actually kinda guess urs boy boy but dont wanna say to disappoint u.. but im sure u love ur boyboy to bits! another boy to the feb group.. haha..

jolin: i think to detect gender really depends on many factors. that time i scan my baby like high or something keep bouncing. took doctor awhile to find private part then he zoom in, manage to see 10 seconds or so then baby suddenly flip and backside face us.. so active baby may not be very helpful in detecting gender.. whereas sleeping baby if position is right can see clearly, see until song cos baby wont shift position.. but if sleeping but close leg or backside face screen then.. too bad.. shake ur tummy maybe.. haha..

Val: Congrats!! now got many guys clothes so handsome also!

seems like feb a lot of boiboi mummies to be.

jolin: for mine, my baby was swimming when we saw doc jus need to shift to see the bottom. most important baby dont cross leg...

fiona: yea...like some mummies say i think best way is arrange transport from sch to your mother hse..

Little girl: i alrdy sign up tmc mdm wong class! starting 23 Oct..

@jolin: Oh, I did drink half a cup of coffee as usual in the morning. But he still can sleep leh. Lol~ My baby is like me. Drink coffee but still can sleep. But my gynae said I put on weight. She asked me don't eat so much food with high calories. Sobz... And today onwards I have to do the urine test on the strip every visit and she gave me fish oil supplement today too. So for now I'm taking prenatal (iron) pill, calcium pill and fish oil. Next visit will be doing the detailed scan le. But she gave me 2 choices. 1 is 2nd level, 1 is 3rd level. 3rd level is check whether is there hole in the heart. More detailed. But she said I'm so young, just do 2nd level can already.

@faithnhope: My gynae didn't mention anything about the umbilical cord leh. She seems very sure that that one is pte part. Lol~

@judy: Hahahah! Actually in my heart I have a feeling that is a boy too. But I refuse to believe until I see for myself. Lol~ Okay, now I believe liao. Haha!

Thanks alot for the advices.

Hm, i think i will go and do the scanning as per normal bah (before breakfast and any drink). Whether can see baby's gender or not, depends on luck le, hehe.

Hopefully baby's cooperative [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Valerie,

Okok, in fact, i've been asking my baby to let me see his/her gender on this coming scan every night. Sometimes i even had this silly idea to ask my baby to let me know his/her gender via dream, very stupid lor, haha

Congrats Valerie!! Boy/girl same lar just that boy be closer to mummy lor! Think in a few months time we can organise gathering to go shopping Liao :p

@jolin: Hahahha! No lah, you are just too anxious.

@choc: Hehe.. Thank you.. Boy closer to mummy meh? Girl closer leh. Lol~

Wah.... this thread moves SUPER fast!! Had a hard time catching up.

Thanks for your recommendation, princess! I'll do some research on it.

My Blood test result just came out & turned out that my blood count is low. Have to take iron tablet. Yucks! Now Hubby may have to take blood test too, to see if the baby would be affected not. Will seek 2nd opinion when we know which gynae to change to.

Anybody knows how would it affect the baby if the blood count is low??

Valerie: congratz.. having boiboi is also very nice..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@fiona: Hee hee.. Thank you. But I don't know what toys or games to play with boy leh. Lol~ Sound very silly hor?

@Judy: Huh? How about you take and monitor yourself? Cos for mine, the weighing machine is just at the clinic entrance. But the nurse got record down my the reading lah. Maybe the next visit you can check with your gynae?

princess_cabbage, if yr blood count is low, you need to take the iron tablet everyday. My sil never take any med or supplement when she's pregnant. When she's 6mths, gynae say she has low blood count and must take iron tablet otherwise not good for the baby.

fiona, you may want to call and check 1st. My boy's previous childcare and pre-school got offer schoolbus svc.

@valerie: i got take myself lah.. up till now no significant gain or loss(gained back the 3kgs lost during MS) but i feel that if he never take like cheat my money ah. haha. its okay lah. not very important. i will bring it up to him when i see him.

judy, did they measure your blood pressure for each visit? Coz i need to take my weight and blood pressure every visit before go in to see my gynae

@Judy: Haha! It's very important leh. He must know so that he can monitor your weight. Like mine, 1 month gain 2kg she said a lot then ask me don't eat so much. Sob sob.. My mum said I don't look fat leh. Only can see put on a bit weight. My gynae said is worry next time I become auntie auntie. LOL~ I think till now I've gain around 5kg weight le. Really a lot ah?

I am new to singapore mother hood and will be a Feb Mum, Nice to meet all of you!

By the way may i ask if you will feel baby's movement at this stage of pregnancy? I am in my 14th week and i worry everyday if my bb is ok , this is my first pregnancy.....

Because nausea and vomitting has somehow reduced my worry increased naturally ...

And dear all how often do you see a gynea? in 3 weeks?

Cheers All,

Jo

Judy,

Same as Valerie, normally before go in to see my gynae, the clinic nurse will ask me to take my weight and record down.

For blood pressure, sometimes my gynae will help me to take, sometimes not.

valerie, me too, now also taking the urine test.. I heard that the purpose of taking the weight is to monitor for gestational diabetes when the mother puts on too much weight. My 1st pg, i put on 10kg by 5th mth and 6th mth i failed the glucose test and got gestational diabetes.

@Joanne: Hihi!! Welcome!! I'm in my 16 week now but I still can't feel my baby moving. Like you, when my MS went off I also very worried. Cos it's like there's no sign to tell me if my baby is ok. But don't worry! Your baby is fine! Now I see my gynae once a month. =)

Hi Joanne,

Welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am first time mummy too and is in my 16 weeks now, haven't feel any baby's movement yet so far, hehe. It's said that for first time mummy, we might only get to feel the baby's movement in 18 - 20 weeks onwards, so not to worry ya.

About gynae visit, i visited my gynae once a month.

@charmaine: Huh?? But is there any way to get rid of the diabetes? I thought only the urine test is to test for diabetes.. Hmm.. I'm quite worried actually. But I can't resist to food! =/

re: weight taking

gynae will take my blood pressure most of the time, but has never taken my weight before. my gynae is dr adrian woodworth. anyone visiting him but has their weight taken?

joannetan: welcome! when is ur edd? this one my first too.. some of us can feel baby move liao. i only feel very slight movement. started last week at 16 weeks. i visit my gynae every 4 weeks. as for nausea i think normal to decrease a lot during 2nd trimester.. ask ur gynae if you worry?

Joanne: hi.. welcome! dun worry much about the movement as u r first time mummy..

u will feel ur baby around 20week..

Valerie: boi boi also got lotz of toyz ma..

can ask ur hubby to play with him..

if gal den can play dolls n kitchen thingy..

but my gal gal also dun like to play her toyz now..

she like to play my HP n all other stuff that is not toyz.. haha..

valerie, my diabetes is gone after i delivered. For the glucose test, i failed by 0.2 points nia but my gynae dun wan to pass me coz my mum is a diabetic. So dun worry, you may not get it anyway [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fiona87: i dont knw how to adapt and teach my child when he comes out.. i was born in the generation where the most most advance electronic game is probably the colourless gameboy.. and classroom games are collecting rubber flags. nowadays i see kids playing with iphone, PSP.. my niece once asked me a primary sch question.. i couldnt solve it.. haha..

@fiona: My hubby where got time to play with him. Haha! But even I have girl I also won't let her play barbie doll. Cos I don't like barbie doll. LOL~ And, I'm not going to let my kid play with iphone. If possible. Hee hee...

@charmaine: But I want to buy 1 policy. If I'm tested with diabetes I won't be able to buy. So I'm quite worried for now.. But what will happen if you fail the glucose test?

@Judy: Ahh same same! Haha! I also don't know how to teach my child. Cos personally I'm very ignorant. So I don't know how to teach him also. Lol~

judy, no worries, you will eventually learn how to teach and play with your child. When my boy was still a newborn, being a 1st time mum, i knew nothing about bb. Once my mum visit me and my boy was crying and i just looked at him. Got scolded by my mum "carry him, hug him and sayang him lah, why u still look at him?!" I'm that jialiat lor. hahaha.. So you will learn along the way as your child grows.

valerie, do you need to submit any report to your ins agent monthly or regularly? Coz even if tested with diabetes, it will be gone after you delivered. So can 'hide" from your agent. When i was tested +ve, i have to rent the glucose test machine from the hospital but can buy from pharmacy also (ard $100+) and need to test your blood before and after meals. Initially i test 7x a day, after 2 mths, i controlled my diet well so the last 2mths, i only need to test 4x a day.

@charmaine: My policy is to protect the mummies and baby after birth. It's the prudential that I mentioned in my earlier posts. And if I opt for the one with higher premium, I have to submit my current medical report. So I'm quite scared actually..

Val: boy boy can play with the famous thomas! with the train set up i think can keep them in place...den got barney also...

Ah Ching: ^5..meme! im having a baby princess too!

Judy: mine also leh...took weight n urine test after week 12. maybe u check with yr gynae..den after taking the weight they will write in my appointment card. like that i can mointor too.

valerie: 5kg? i also abt there le 4.6kg..like a lot leh..within 1 month i gained 2.4kg..i so shocked..dont know wat i ate also..lol...but your gynae ask u dont eat too much? hm..maybe i shall check with my gynae for the next check too..

Joanne: Welcome on board! me at week 16 also can feel my baby movement yet thou i feel some porcorn popping feeling.with your ms goes away u be able to better enjoy yr pregnancy! enjoy! =)..my check up now is within 1 month.

OG maternity nice mah? I had a hard time finding decent non-auntie clothes! I've spent almost $500 at Modern Maternity, after using a 15% membership discount card and getting stuff from the 30-50% rack. Another $100 at Spring, for those at 20-50% discount... !

Haven't spend on small one, spend so much on myself liaoz, jialat! ;p

valerie, dun be worried coz you may not get it anyway. And from wat i know, some of my friends dun even need to take the glucose test coz their gynae never ask them to take. Do you have a family history of diabetes? If not, you shd be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Amazing: Hahahha! I don't like barney. Lol~ Ya! I also think a lot! When I saw my weight I got a shock also. Ya, she said eat little bit little bit. Don't eat too sweet stuff. But the thing is I also don't like to eat cake. And I have not started eating mooncake also. Then she said don't eat so much chicken rice, nasi lemak & hor fun. Lol~ Those with high calories one.

@charmaine: My family history don't have but I don't know my daily food intake high in sugar anot also.

Hihi & welcome to all the new mummies!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Valerie: Congratulations!! Boy is also gd coz maybe your boy will b a mummy's boy n b v close to u just like a girl girl does? I think your hubby will b v happy upon hearing this news, but just keep it a secret for the time being..

@Charmaine: OMG!! You mean gestational diabetes is linked with wt gain? Not too much sugar intake? I'd gained 4-5kg till date.

@Bigflamingo: Did you take the guiness stout cold or in room temperature?

Valerie: u will let ur kids play with iphone ar..

rich.. i think i will just let them play my PSP..

dun wan to buy too much toys also..

later they grow up liao also throw away..

@zantarina: Hahaha! Ya, I think if he knows he'll be very happy. Anyway most of his friends all had baby boys. Only 1 that I know had a girl. So coincident lor. Sometimes I also will think lah. If mine is a girl will he feel not so happy cos all his friends have boys.. But anyway, since he didn't ask then I'm not going to tell him. Hmph! But I will keep hinting him to ask. Wahahahaha~ Anyway, very contradicting leh. If my boy is a mummy's boy I don't think I'll like it leh. Cos boys are supposed to be strong and independent. I scared mummy's boy later like very 娘 leh. Heee.... =x

@fiona: Nonono. I mean I'm not going to let my kid play iphone. I don't like the idea of kids playing with this kind of advanced "toys". They will be very distracted. They only can play educational computer games. Lol~

I’m back from my checkup.. I too have a baby boy!!! Hehe.. Gynae was scanning and asking me and hubby to guess as he paused at bb’s private part.. Coz we didn’t know how to see and we didn’t know that’s the private part already.. So hubby and I say we dunno.. Then gynae say so obvious still cannot tell ah? Then we know – there’s a ‘bird’ pointing out.. Haha.. Think bb was sleeping during the scan as there was no movement.. Gynae had the shot taken from the bottom of bb’s buttock as bb was back facing us.. So we could see the buttock, 2 legs opened and something sticking out *shy*..

I then asked gynae how many percent confirm is boy.. He say that I ask stupid question lor.. Say that thing pointing out so obvious already still got bluff one meh.. Haha.. Then say we must treat him coffee.. Hubby quickly went to packet coffee & drinks for gynae & staff.. Think we were too happy and forgot to ask all the questions I have prepared during the 1 month wait.. Haiz.. But nevermind lah, next month then ask.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congrats Valerie.. We can start to choose names and get stuff for our boys.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

valerie: is the coverage of the prudential insurance good? i am actually meeting my agent tmr.. thinking of signing the insurance but not sure if coverage is good enough..

@preciousbabi: Congrats too!!!! Hahhaha! Actually I've already thought of a boy's name. Hehehehe.. But I must also think of a girl's name to discuss with my hubby cos he don't want to know the gender. Haiz... My gynae also took the shot from bottom! So it's like a "U" facing right side and something stick out in the middle. Kekeke...

Actually I asked the gynae can I video down the ultrascan. Cos I want to show my hubby mah. But she said she has to charge so I never opt for it. Lucky I never. Imagine I opt for it then baby today sleeping never wave, never suck thumb then I waste my money. Lol~

congrats to all the boiboi's mummies! =D

i got the prudential insurance too.. even though i'm not even 18 wks.. my kiasu agent :p