(2011/02) Feb 2011

@neongyby: Yeah, should throw the ball to my hubby and let him decide. Since it's his mum. Hehehe...

Ya lor. Hopefully mine end on weekday. Cos most prob will be holding the baby shower on weekend. Then I still have time to go doll up. Muahahaha~

@charmaine: Weird leh. Why issit bad luck? We also never drip any blood or what in their shop.. If they scared then we put the money into a red packet and treat it as ang pao and give it to them lor. But confinement better not go out also. For our own health purpose. Not good to 吹风.

cecelia, or you ask your mum to come over your hse during your confinement and you pack her an ang bao? Will it helps? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Kind of like if we never do our 1st confinement well, we can make it up during the 2nd confinement.

Charmaine: First time I hear this lor.. Then they got business also don’t want ah?? Haha.. Anyway we shouldn’t be running around during our confinement also.. Just make sure to get things ready before delivery ba..

Cecelia: Don’t have to feel bad lah.. You dunno at that point of time mah.. Now what you can do is bring her for good massages frequently lor.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Neon: I think she purposely bring up the price due to CNY.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

cecelia, or you ask your mum to come over your hse during your confinement and you pack her an ang bao? Will it helps? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Kind of like if we never do our 1st confinement well, we can make it up during the 2nd confinement.

Charmaine,

Yar, tat's wat I tink too. My mom will still come and teach the CL her style in preparing the bath water for me and baby, intending to give her then.. (At least i dun feel so guilty also..)

valerie, i asked my mum and she say confinement ladies are considered "dirty" coz never shower and still have menses. Confinement ladies can't shower is an old custom passed down. They are not allowed to go to temple or pray to gods.

Just to share, i ask my filipino maid if she got shower when doing confinement. (she has 3 kids) She say she was not allowed to show for 1st 2weeks. It's part of their customs too coz it's bad to their health

@charmaine: Cannot go temple or pray to god I can understand. But go out buy things the shop owners also will give us a dirty look. Haiz.. I don't understand. Lol~ But anyway her shop haven't collapse right?

@preciousbabi: Ang mo don't do confinement de. After birth the next day they already shower and bring their babies out to gai gai liao..

charmaine: those celebrities not human lor.. they dont need to do confinement wan.. so scary how they can slim down like within 2 months after they give birth. we are humans, different.. haha.

valerie, no hahaha.. but she will surely look out for me this 2nd confinement coz she know that i'm pregnant now hahaha

judy, hahaha ya.. But ang mos body structure different from asians. Maybe tat's why they dun need confinement.

@charmaine: Then you should go away. Hahahahah! Since the bad luck thingy not proven mah. You went to her shop but her shop still haven't collapse. Maybe who knows after you patronise her business got even better? Lol~

@preciousbabi: Cos our body weaker as compared to ang mo. Since baby ang mo also never like over protect their baby. They want to crawl on floor, let them crawl. Then maybe their weather and diet also play a part bah. Good mah. Confinement no need to do anything leh. Just lie down there and only duty is to feed baby. I watched those Taiwan variety show those celebrities wish their confinement period is 2 months cos they feel like queen. Lol~

valerie, haha i think i can't get a chance coz this time they will sure "guard" me liao haha..

Taiwan celebrities really good life. They dun hire CL. They directly live in a luxurious confinement centre. I saw one show and a celebrity revealed that her centre per day charge is NT15k, equivalent to SGD 750. Wah sei..

@charmaine: Issit 郁芳? Lol. She rich leh. Married a rich hubby. I wonder if Singapore has this kind of confinement centre. Maybe they should build one in Singapore. Then don't have to crack the head to source for CL.

me n hubby have decide to come over my mum's house to do my confinement..

actually wanted to do on my own..

but think it will be very stress to do it alone as hubby will be working all the time..

Valerie: Huh.. I think after we go thru it we won't wish for it.. Coz 10 out of 10 around me say that giving birth is not tough, the toughest period is the confinement month.. Like will drive people crazy like that.. Haha..

Charmaine: Got money anything also can..

Valerie: Even if have will be meant for those super rich people lor.. We won't bear to pay for that unless reasonable price..

Fiona: Ya, should get help.. Don't force ourselves or we'll regret later on..

Charmaine, valerie:

Yar, I did check pou confinement centre before engaging CL. We have 1 centre, running by PRC I think, from the web-site look (all in chinese words). After discussing with dh, still prefer home sweet home..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Malaysia also very fashion confinement centre nowadays, my cousins say around 5000 ringgit for 1 month. Just stay there, pump milk, eat and sleep. baby taken care at nursery by the staffs there. Really can relax.

@preciousbabi: Huh why? Issit cos not enough sleep as have to keep feeding baby? Or cannot 吹风? I very scared of hot leh. If I cannot have a bit of wind I think I'll die. I think the tough part should be that bah.

@charmaine: Oh Singapore has it? Any idea where and what's the name?

Valerie,

The price can get 2 CL liao.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Onli those very very rich, money no where to spent de can afford bah.. :p

cecelia, ya heard that the whole centre is run by PRC. Min 28days for SGD 5500. Can get 2 CL [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@cecelia: But even if it's cheap I don't think I want to go there also leh. Very China leh. But hor, their room provided is air con room that means we can sleep in air con room during confinement?? =D

Valerie and PreciousBabi,

My mum was in the UK when she gave birth to me, and she didn't really have a "confinement" but the hospitals gave her lots of Guinness Stout. It's their version of rice wine. Also to heat up the body.

Valerie:

Actuali compared to blowing directly to fan, air-con is still better accepted according to chinese sinseh perspective?? Dunnoe where I heard it from.. My mom initially also allow me, but coming to EDD after checking with her so-called friend, I was totally banned from everything.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Imagine no rain, no wind, eat hot hot food, and gotta drink wine before sleep and can only bath ginger water.. AArrhh!!! I dun wanna go through tat again... Oops! forget to add on, breastfeeding with sweaty breast and sweaty baby.. Wa ha ha!! Can still recall the smell.. :p

CL

After checking with several, they charge differently during CNY. Fr Chu Yi to Shi wu, some charge $2800-3000, but others only charge premium if it's before Chu jiu, after Chu ba it's normal confinement rate ie $ 1800-2000. So when doing the booking, remember to double check!

Facial

Ok to do facial throughout pregnancy but just need to confirm with therapist that the products used are safe.

valerie, the centre ard hougang area.

cecelia, yes yes, i also heard about this frm my friends! I told my hubby this time round, i will obey, guai guai dun shower for 1st 2 weeks and wear long sleeves, long pants but must on aircon hehehe... My 1st confinement, i will wipe my body with hot towel every nite so that i won't feel so sticky. And i shower with herbal water every 3days. But my body still got wind after each shower. Coz whenever i shower the previous day, the next day my jamu lady will massage me and ask me if i had shower coz my body got alot of wind.

Valerie,

Yes, I am English, but a Eurasian. My dad is English, but my mum is a Malaysian Chinese. Poor thing, she had no family there then to help her out. She also gave me Guinness for my confinement, made me sweat buckets!

@cecelia: Ahhh.. Lol~ I think my sil got tell me before can on air con. Haha! She said air con is better than direct wind from fan. Ok, I'm going to on aircon everyday. And the electricity fees is going to be super high for that month. =/

@bigflamingo: Woah so cool! You must be very pretty!! And your kids will also look like Eurasian! But then do you still follow the tradition confinement?

Pretty i dunno lah... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My husband is Chinese so my son looks 3/4 chinese, hehehee. I had a confinement lady for 2 weeks then we let her go. She was very old and feeble (had to hold onto walls and door handles for support) plus she kept sneaking formula milk to my son when i took naps, which I was very angry about. This time, we already have maid, so no confinement lady! yay! Maybe I will ask her to learn some confinement dishes to cook.

By the way, i took showers every day. and washed my hair, haha.

Charmaine: you have to take qu feng wan bought from medical hall. When bath cannot bath too long, then when out from bath drink red date water with the qu feng wan. Actually got more strict de, eg water must leave to cool by itself, and not adding cold water to hot water. Cannot bath at 12pm to 1pm, both mother and baby. Very traditional style by my mom.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@bigflamingo: Hahahha! See! "ang mo" don't care de. Will shower the next day. But my sil told me can wash hair but hair must be blown thoroughly dry. You washed with herbs? Or normal hot water?

haha...i guess I can't accept the logic of some confinement practices... Yes, but I compromised and blew dried my hair, but no herbal water.

I was told that this practice of not washing hair and no bathing for a month came from China, where it is very cold. So it makes sense for them not to catch a chill, but Singapore is so hot, I think it is not necessary, as long as the aircon is not too cold or you have a fan blasting right at you. I had a shower the next morning after delivery in the hospital, felt soooo good!!!

@bigflamingo: Haha! But so far you have no rheumatism all those right? Lol~ I hope I can on the air con during my confinement. If not only me, my poor hubby will be suffering too. =p

No rheumatism, but in that first year I did fall sick a lot, but I cannot confirm it was due to my bathing, because the people in my office at that time fell sick a lot, maybe due to bad air circulation.

Now that I have changed companies, no problems at all....

But now the problem is hair. I have quite oily hair. If I don't wash for a day will be quite oily. Imagine I can't wash for days~~~ Omg~