(2011/02) Feb 2011

Morning, Ladies

It's a raining Friday, nice weather to sleep, hehe.

Can i check with you ladies, do you feel "pocking" pain around your abdomen area? I started to have this feeling these few days. At first i thought it was cramps or womb expanding pain, but then i realized that the feeling is very short (about 1 second) and it's on one point only. Sometimes it will come on and off for about 30 minutes. I asked my clinic nurse, but she said if the pain is very short, then should be fine, but if it lasts for quite long then i need to go to see my gynae even there is no bleeding.

How?

Judy,

Congrats. Wah, so nice, can see baby's gender already. Can't wait for my turn.

Valerie,

Our appointment is just next week. Relax, relax, hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Jolin,

I do feel poking pain, sometimes it's below my belly button, sometimes side... Usually if it's gone quite fast, but sometimes if it lasts more than a few minutes, I will quickly go for a bedrest and, and it will subside...

@Jolin: Haha! Like waited very long liao leh. Especially when I see so many mummies already know liao. Maybe we should include the baby's gender in the table that choc prepare for us. Hehehe...

Hi Melody,

Ya, mine is poking at "different area" also, sometimes near centre, sometimes slightly side, but normally it's very short, like 1 - 2 seconds only. I think it should be fine hor?

Hi Valerie,

Haha, ya, the waiting is sometimes torturing.

Hi Jolin, short poking pains on and off are fine as I read it could be due to ligament expansion. I get that too.. But if you feel prolong pain, then you should alert your gynae.

Judy, glad you already know gender! Yah, all doctors will add a disclaimer clause one hahah!

I agree with Valerie and First Mum about CL. Initially I was also only thinking to just order tingkat food (my hubby will take 2 weeks leave to help). But I think we deserve the good one month rest so as to build our health back, whether for beauty or for subsequent births ha!

Valerie, sometimes I also feel I wasn't hungry as before haah! But I think should be fine.. perhaps we are still adjusting. In fact, though I'm into 2nd trimester, my appetite still hasn't picked up, and I'm still eating small meals. I've been weighing myself everyday and I haven't gained much weight.. When I weigh in the morning (before breakfast), I am only 0.5kg heavier than before I was pregnant, and when I weigh at night after dinner, it's at most 1.5kg heavier than before I was pregnant.

@Judy: Haha! Then you'll be very happy le lor. If it's umbilical cord means is a girl liao. Haha~

@faithnhope: Thanks for the assurance! At least I know my baby should be fine. Hee hee.. Actually I should buy a weighing machine at home too. Now I also don't know how much weight have I gain since I got pregnant cos I don't really know my weight before pregnancy. Hmm...

Valerie, when you see your gynae, do they weigh and check your blood pressure? Mine does, together with a urine test strip which will indicate glucose level.

@faithnhope: Ya mine does. But it's like once a month lor. I don't get to monitor my weight like everyday. Hee.. But I haven't do the urine test leh. I only saw those pregnant women with very big tummy doing the urine test in her clinic. Maybe I'm still early bah.

HI everyone!

R.E. holiday...I'm off for a trip to Hanoi in Oct too! This time without my toddler, because I know once number two comes, I will find it hard to have time to ourselves! I'm gonna miss him so much though!

I'm also waiting for next sat to fins out my baby's gender...aargh... such a long wait. I wanna search for baby names already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gd morning Mummies!!

@Valerie, dif clinic/doctor dif practice. The 1st gynae I went to gave me the urine test strip on my 1st visit when I'm in my 7th wk. Then this Dr Ang clinic will give the urine test strip aft 12th wk. Maybe u can ask the clinic nurse next fri c what they say.

@First Mum, will it b ok if my mum helps me to cook n look aft the bb during day time n I look aft during night time? Will it b ok?

Re: Appetite

I also felt that I snack less in between meals n can tolerate slightly longer to take the next meal. B4 this, I will feel weak if I don't eat when I'm hungry. But I still need to take supper almost every night unless I'd a v filling dinner that day which made my wt go up even faster. I already put on 4kg till date..

Re: Antenatal Package Claim

I read somewhere that we need to keep the receipt till we r giving birth then bring it along to the hospital n the nurse will help us to do the paperwork. At most can only claim up to S$450. In cash form or goes to medisave, I 4got le.

@Judy: A big congratulations to u!! And u can start to think of a name for your boy boy le. Btw, does your bb's gender tally with the prediction chart? Like Valerie, I'm v v eager to know if that chart is correct or nt..

Aiyoyo.. So many of u will get to know your bb's gender by next wk but I still need to wait 2 more wks to know mine.. Heart itchy but can't scratch is v tong ku.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I sld have requested for an earlier date..

@Zantarina: Nevermind, I'll wait till the nurse ask me to do the urine test then I do. Hee hee..

Phew~ At least I know I'm normal for not being hungry frequently now. =p

I also forgot how much can we claim already but delivery can claim more. They will split for you in a bill then you just have to pay the balance in cash or credit card.

Gd Morning Mommies

Re: BreastMilk

For first time mommies, you might want to decide after your bb is born as it an investment (both money and time) and ur bb must coorperate too....So for now, u can do some research on which pump u wld like to hv so to minimise stress level ">

I've chked with the TMC BF Hotline, and the consultant has told me that each pregnancy is diff hence the quatity of ur breastmilk diff.

I sure hope that I've enough Breastmilk for my current one. ">

zantarina: no.. actually i checked with both the english and chinese gender charts.. both said i will have a girl.. i even did those online quizzes and my symptoms were pointing at girls.. however, if taking into consideration hubby's family history(since gender is determined by sperm), i have a high chance of getting boy cos hubby side 90% guys.. i guess different people different.. of cos, the doctor's prediction ysterday may be wrong(ie umbilical cord). my instincts tell me its boy though. :)

Judy, congrats having a boy!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It does pays to be early ya hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: Antenatal Package Claim

Keep the receipt which shows you paid the package amount. When you go for your delivery, you must bring this receipt along to claim for medisave. The medisave amount will be further deducted from your hospital bill.

@Judy, believe your instincts bah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Do u look the same, prettier, or uglier than b4 preg? Alot of ppl said if look uglier, then most prob is having a boy..

zantarina: uglier! nose bigger, face wider, feet like wider, hair everywhere, my MIL say i grow taller though i dnt notice and im unsure of my height anyway. look like shemale!

Hi everyone out there wish to see the gender but i guess have to wait til 5mths then c oh ya btw u all have any recommendation of maid agency coz i find tat mre worth to enGage a maid rather a cl lady although i dun wish to but no choice have to engage one to take care mybb

Re: Baby's name

My hubby said he has gotten name for our baby.

If it's a boy, then it will be Daniel Tan (Chen Da Niu) Da Niu = Cow

If it's a girl, then it will be Chaniel Tan (Chen Qiao Niu) Qiao Niu = Pretty Lady

-.-"

valerie: thats what i feel lah. but i ask my hubby he always say no, i look still the same. but i dont have the pregnancy glow or what. overall my skin condition and outlook looks worse than pre preg. my appetite also chnge. i eat more meat and savoury food. i used to like those veggy and soupy food.

Judy, when i'm having my boy, my nose is bigger and hair and face condition also no good. Heard ard saying coz it's due to the male hormones inside your body if you are having boy. Vice versa, mothers will have glowing skin and look prettier if having ger.

Hi mtb

for those mtb that had taken Oscar test and had seen the gyna for the 4th month checking, do the doc give us back the u/s photos that is taken during the u/s?

@Judy: Hmm.. My appetite didn't really change leh. But I seldom eat meat nowadays though. Before pregnancy my fav is veg but I'll still eat meat. But now, if you let me choose I'd rather not have meat and all veg.

@charmaine: Hmm.. What if looks the same? Hair and face condition same but I don't seem to have glowing skin though. =/

Valerie,

My sis when she was expecting my nephew, her skin condition improved alot. She used to have acne problem, seeing doctor also no use. But when she conceived my nephew, her skin condition become so good, no acne and smooth.

i think everyone's condition is different

valerie: oh yah, my pimples. very sad. they like having party on my face. i used to be blessed with smooth skin. im in my twenties, ppl still ask if i am 17-18. during puberty i never had acne outbreak. but i never particularly take care of skin. abit complacent cos i thought i will forever have good skin. haha. i was wrong. now my face like acne birthday bash like that,

But i think i agree that if conceiving boy, mother will become more hairy. Most of friend are like that. Maybe due to male hormones

Morning mummies, it’s Friday!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BABY FAIR @ ROBINSONS: 20 Aug – 5 Sept!!!

HOLIDAY: Me & hubby only planned to go for a short getaway in Batam coz we already booked a 3 days/2nights resort stay at promo price of $80 before preggy.. So we’ll just utilise it and the next trip on air I guess will be far far away [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. We initially planned to bring both side parents for a trip to Taiwan and purposely brought them to renew their passports.. But lucky we got to know preggy before booking.. So have to postpone the trip.. They must be feeling disappointed but in exchange for a grandchild, it should be worth waiting lah.. Haha..

Sovrana: Glad that everything went smoothly.. Actually we felt comfortable with Dr Henry maybe bcoz we both very “cold” sometimes too, especially my hubby.. So everytime they amused each other with their cold language *faint*.. If you are comfortable with him and don’t mind the journey then I advise you to stick to him.. If not, then you’ll have to find another gynae near your area..

CL: It’s good to have a helper during that one month so that you can concentrate on building up your body.. But I feel that if you are engaging a CL, you will have to be mentally & physically prepared for the kind of service they can provide.. As different people have different expectations, so doesn’t mean that they can work the way you want them to.. If they do things the way you don’t like, end of the day, you will feel upset and even have to do it yourself.. So it’s better if you can get recommendations.. This happened to my gf.. She’s not happy with the way the CL work and told her, expecting her to change.. But the CL carried on her way (like they feel that they are the experience ones, so who are we to tell them what’s right and wrong).. This pissed my gf off and asked her to leave after a week.. And got another helper which came like 3 days later after the first one left.. So during that 3 days, gotta do things herself, but lucky her MIL is around to help..

BB GENDER: So happy for those who have already found out your baby’s gender [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].. I’m feeling so excited and can’t wait for my visit next week.. Hopefully baby will cooperate so we don’t have to wait for detailed scan in week 20..

Valerie: Me too!! During the past 2 months, I get hungry every 2-3 hours.. Now I can tahan for 4-5 hours.. Think baby doesn’t want me to eat too much also.. Scared mummy cannot slim down later.. Haha..

Zanta: Wait patiently.. Even if you request for earlier date might not be able to see too..

Jolin: Your hubby so funny.. And you agreed to the names?

Mummyb: I had my Oscar but not yet the 16 week scan.. My gynae gave photos (6pcs I think) of baby in a file together with the Oscar result..

Valerie & Judy: My face also full of pimples.. So sad.. I didn’t have very good complexion before preggy, who knows it got worse now.. Haiz… My hubby also say my nose getting bigger yesterday.. But I don’t feel it leh.. So curious to know the gender [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sorry ah.. Long post coz busy in the morning.. Haha..

hi Val,

All expecting ladies' breast will start to grow to prepare for milk... however, I do encounter some friends who breast grow by 2 cups and yet unable to BF their bbs.

Smaller cup size can produce lot of milk too, look at Zoe Tay... I think it depend on the food u consume during the confinement as well as your determination to bf ur bb.

I've friends who give up within 3 mths due to disappointed BF flow...so BF support gp and ur determination is important

@Jolin & Judy: But my face still the same. *fingers crossed* Only dark circles got darker.

@Jolin: Errr.. But I'm already quite hairy to start of with. As in arms lah. Hee hee.. Then now only tummy got hair lor.

See! You all got symptoms to guess whether is boy or girl. But my symptoms are just vomit, vomit & vomit. =( Want to guess also don't know where to start from.

@baywater: Zoe Tay small cup size meh? I thought hers quite big during pregnancy. Hee.. But I heard have to pump regularly like every 3 hours to have more supply of milk.. Even if don't have also must try.

@Judy: Like u, the pimples on my face also like having party/gathering!! Argh..!! These flatten, then the next day, another few pop out again. There is nv a day whereby I don't c new ones forming though I don't used to have great skin b4 preg like u. My mum even commented y my face condition so "jia lat" nw. *sad*

@Jolin: You reminded me of my hubby's ans when his friend asked if we have chosen a name already or not. My hubby's ans for:

If it's a boy - Jin Long

If it's a girl - Hong Long

Because my hubby is into rearing arowanas aka Long Yu. Haha..

@PreciousBabi: Ya lor, that is y I nv change n I kept telling myself that by that time, I'll b in my 17th+ wks so my bb's genital nub sld be more well developed then hopefully it's more obvious.. Haha..

RE: Mummy's Looks during Pregnancy

Actually from what I c from my friends, those who r having girls really tends to have better skin condition. And 1 of them really got the glow. Aft she gave birth she told us that she missed her face during preg. Haha.. And another 1 of them broke out alot which shocked me coz she face was flawless pre-preg. And she gave birth to a boy. But sometimes, it's still up to individual I think.

@Valerie: another old wives tale is, having boy don't experience much MS. But having girls will experience terrible MS.

Does this give u a little idea on where to start? Hehe..

@ PreciousBabi: are u going to Robinsons baby fair?

@OFB: may I know the brand of the baby cot which u bot @ taka? I saw 1 @ kiddy palace n I kinda like it. It's also made of wood (abit obit but is durable mah), can be converted to playpen n also junior bed when the bb grows up. It's much higher than those nice nice baby cot which I like so that I don't have to bend down so much to carry bb, or change diaper for bb. Retailing @ $399 I think.

@Zantarina: Woah!! Thanks for the info!! Hahaha! You make me so happy lor! *full of hope* Lol~ Hope you are right! Hehe..

Does the cot have 4 levels to adjust?

Valerie & Zanta: Got to know from today's Straits Times.. Erm, I might be going to take a look coz from the papers, I see their offer like cheaper than Taka Fair.. Dunno I remembered wrongly or what.. Haha.. No harm looking around anyway..

Zanta: Can believe the tale?? Coz I totally no MS from start till now (touchwood).. Hehe.. And my face looks like shit now.. So can assume it's a boy?? Haha..

@Valerie, I know u r pinning for a girl so I told u this. Glad I made your day. Hehe..

I 4got can adjust how many levels but I saw 4 pics which got dif usage. I only managed to rem 3 types. I think it's quite worth the $$ considering the child can sleep till ard 4 yrs old (gauging on my niece's size). Did u saw it @ take fair?

@preciousbabi: Oooo.. I'm going to read the papers now liao. Hahahhaa! And, I chose to believe the tale lor. Hee hee hee...

PreciousBabi,

No la, no way to use those namas, hehe

Zantarina,

Jin Long = Golden Dragon?

Hong Long = Red Dragon?

Haha

Jolin & Zanta: Your hubbys so funny lor.. Can think of these names.. Haha.. Me also browsing thru website for names already.. Since dunno boy or girl yet, searching for both.. Kan Cheong spider.. Erm, let me ask my hubby tonight and see what names he will propose.. Haha.. Maybe he will say something like Xiao Yu, Xiao Zhu or Xiao Xia??? LOL..

@PreciousBabi, I dunno le, read/heard it from somewhere. But 1 of my hubby's friend told us when his wife is preg with their son, oso no MS. So I sorta believe too. Haha.. I consider my MS to b mild (keeping my fingers crossed), and I find myself looking uglier too, and my instinct tells me it's a boy. Haha.. Maybe I think too much le but alot of ppl r guessing I'm expecting a boy too coz my looks sux..

Btw, can u pls help me to check the price of the pigeon steriliser which is selling at $199 @ taka if u r going to robinsons fair ltr?

@Zantarina: I saw cots at the taka fair that has 4 adjustable levels and also can convert it to junior bed. Also selling at $300+. Since OFB that time said can request for delivery date maybe I'll go have a detail look again on Sunday. Hee hee...

Btw I saw the robinsons ad le. They put up very little things leh. And actually not cheaper than taka fair. The Avent sterilizer set though selling at $199 but it never comes with the food warmer like Pigeon. And the Medela single pump selling $300+ I also find it quite ex leh. But maybe I'll go and see if they have other brands of breast pump.

@preciousbabi: Haha~ That time my hubby said if is a boy then name him Mike Lim. Cos in hokkien it sounds like "mai lim". Heh.