(2011/02) Feb 2011

@faithnhope: That's what I told him too! I told him so many pregnant women also travel what.. Then he asked me "Safe meh? How you know?". I'm going to ask my gynae in front of him. Hmph!

valerie,

Hi 5, I want to go taiwan. I missed the local delicacies. Esp Da chang Bao Xiao chang in Shilin and the food in Jiu Fen... wah drooling now...

faithnhope,

Can bring bb along... just that you will have to swap some of your iternary. For those bb not walking yet, all the more easier, either u use pram or sling or carrier.

If breast feed, alot less hassle. Just bring along diapers, wet wipes, xtra clothings.

If express bm, wah.. alot of things to bring along ah....

For troddlers, abit more tired coz they may not want you to hold them, or dun want to sit in pram, wanna roam about or be carried. Have to keep very close watch lor.

I always find that F&E trip with bb/troddler much more easier. Need not wake up very early so can travel with the group. Can take own sweet time and will not hold down the group.

Most impt, do not be over ambitious, to cover only a few areas within the trip. If not will be very taxing and exhausting.

Valerie, your hubby is concerned about you and baby lah.. hehe... my friends also discouraged me to travel but grounding myself doesn't mean nothing will happen also mah.. :p

BPC.. I think bring bb travel very tiring hahaha!!

@en xuan, hihi, welcome on board.

@ST, my hubby went for blood test aft my results r out as my result showed that I got mild "ping xue". Luckily my hubby's results showed ok. Don't worry k. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Charmaine, I so envy u la. Gotta feel bb's movement, n also gotta know bb's gender today. R u able to c his look thru 3D scan? I heard ppl said b4 that boys r more active, thus mummies will b able to feel the movement earlier. But not sure how true isiz..

@Fiona, r u with Dr Ang for your 1st preg? Did he do the 3D scan for free for u?

@felpoo, don't worry so much. I also had a nightmare few days back dreaming that I had menses n I stained someone's bed in my dream. And this few days I keep feeling my stomach like v heavy for a moment, like something is gonna drop out so I talk to my bb n ask him/her to grow healthily inside me. Kinda worry too n feel like visiting the gynae earlier as my next appt is 2 wks ltr. Or sld we 'believe' that dreams r always opp fr reality??

Rem to pray to ur grandma n bro asking em to "bao you" the bb in u to b healthy during ur visit to the temple. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nashita,

Not sure when your headache will go away. Maybe try to do things that can make you happy, so divert attention?

I also using vick vapour rub, my colleagues jokingly say i using Old Lady Perfume. LOL.

Charmaine,

I tink i also have short nipple leh. My boy is a very stubborn, fast and furious drinker, I tink my flow is too slow for him.

Had latched him direct after birth, he screamed like hell lor. With the help of lactation nurse, managed to latch only 5mins.. before he screamed down the house. Offered him FM in hospital, he dunk half 3/4 bottle within 5mins, shocked the nurse lor.

Even when back home the newborn teat is too slow for him, my mil had to enlarge the hole! A normal 80ml, he can finish within 5mins. (Hee.. my mil say very good to feed...)

I dunwan to stress myself then, bb keep screaming or rejecting my nips, very demoralising. Since EBM is working fine and my hb, sil and mil can help me feed him after I pumped, so it work out fine for me.

I pumped very religiously every 3-4hrs lor. Shag i tell you. But i niao lor, dunwan my breast pump to go wasted and want to prove mil wrong that I HAVE BM....

@BPC: I also miss the night market's food lor. The corn, fried mushroom, fried chicken, intestines. OMG! Can I go now??? Argh~

@faithnhope: Ya but sometimes I find him a bit paranoid leh. I know he meant well lah but I very sad leh. This one cannot eat, that one cannot do. So deprived! =(

@BPC: Ya, I also think travelling with baby is very tiring. Can't really enjoy yourself cos you have to look after your baby and have to make sure he/she is alright drinking their water. Scared will they 水土不服.

Felpoo & PresciousBabi: I did my CVS with Dr Henry on Wed. Thank God, Everything went smoothly. I would say Dr Henry is very professional but somehow me and my hubby felt that he's a bit cold. We were impressed by the nurses there especially Sharon. She is a patient lady and explained every details. One thing I need to consider the distance from my house to the clinic at Bishan. I am staying at Yew Tee and my office is at Bras Basah. If I schedule my regular check up during weekdays, I can go from my work place and I can take circle line which is convenient to me. But my hubby prefer to go during weekends when he can accompany me. I am in dilemma now.

I think I have to made the decision by early next week when the result of CVS us out.

faithnhope and valarie,

Yes, indeed tiring. But when see the whole family pic against the nice scenery, all worth it lor.

wrt drinking water:

Gee.. i kia si and kia su. This is wat i do, dun laugh at me hor...

I bought along at least 3 bottles of local tap water and 1 bottle of cooked water (using those 1.25L soft drink bottle. Then I also bring along my own travel water boiler. (dare not use hotel one, dunnoe clean or not)

Upon reaching the hotel, will look for convenient store 1st. Buy distilled water, will either boil mix local water + distilled water or give boiled local tap water for BB lor.

Super kiasu hor.. but i just wanna be safe.

Then gotta take med from PD in case bb sick also.

@BPC: Lol~ No lah, not kiasu lah. But actually you bring boiler can already mah. The bottles take up a lot of space and weight limit leh.

Sovrana, glad to hear that everything went smoothly. Dun worry abt his coldness. Hehe.. I think he aged alot since the last time I saw him. When I scheduled my appt with him during late afternoon, he always seems to look tired.

I would say he has rather humorous in certain way but u must know how to catch his dry joke. Sometimes when he talks, he seems to by mumbling and cannot hear what he says. Overall, I feel he's ok.

Zantarina: ya.. 1st one is with him also..

but that time no good timing..

n baby dun wan to show face to take photo..

so in the end no photo.. only see 3D on the screen..

@BPC: And last time when I was still flying when I go for long flight I will also bring along 2 1.5ltr bottles of distilled water. So you are not kiasu. Hehehe...

Valerie,

Heheh.. told u i KS liao.

Anyway, the bottles will be thrown away once finish mah. Gee.. the empty space will be for my purchases lor.

wont affect weight limit ah, coz all the water will be used up or thrown away when gg back home time. Coz alot of xtra space coz utilise alot of diapers also mah..hehehe

by the way, has anyone started to engaging a confinement lady? any good one to recommend?

@BPC, I hope my bb will drink like your boy. Fast & furious!! Hehe..

@Valerie, try to bring your hubby along for your next gynae appt n ask as many doubts as possible in front of your hubby for him to b "xin fu kou fu"!! Coz my hubby used to don't let me eat this n that, but aft my gynae said everything also can eat, my hubby nv restrict me fr eating the things which I want already. B4 gynae visit, my hubby nv let me eat sotong coz he say ltr bb come out will b blur like sotong.. *roll eyes*

felpoo,

*pai seh*, super auntie rite? LOL

But i dun care, as long as bb have enuf diaper to wear, enuf milk and safe water to drink. Only then i can enjoy my trip mah...

Now thinking back, hahaha.. really like on the run lor when travelling with bb.

@BPC: But when you depart Singapore the weight limit leh? Lol~

@Sovrana: I won't be using any cos my mil will be doing for me.. But I think previously the mummies have provided a few websites on CL.

@Zantarina: Ya! That time when my mil cooked black bean with soy bean soup then he told me cannot drink soy product. Then me & his mum asked why cannot, he said he watched on tv those Chinese Physician said pregnant woman cannot drink. Then I said bean curd cannot lor. Bean curd also made by soy what. And I got so sad and start to sulk. Hee hee.. Then he got angry and said things like "You want you eat lor. I nothing one mah. I'm not in the losing end anyway.". But after that I think he knows he's being too harsh so he treats me very nice. And just nice he went gynae visit with me so I asked the gynae "Oh, can I take soy product?". And she said "Ya! Why not?". Then I stare at my hubby. And he starts saying he saw on tv blah blah. But after that my turn to be yaya and tell him "See! Told you can drink already. Hmph!". And last night he told me cannot eat guava. Cos I ate a piece in the afternoon. -_-"

@Valerie, what's his reason for cannot eat guava?? I thought it's high in fibre n aids in constipation?? I heard fr ppl cannot eat too much orange n papaya, n 1 type of banana only mah.. Hmm..

valerie,

wt limit before departure ok leh. Gee.. mayb just breeze thru... so far had been away to several trips with #1, all no problem leh.

Wrt: Food during preggie

Maybe its my 2nd pregnancy now, not as careful as before, all things i eat in moderation. I only refrain from alcohol, raw and cooling stuff.

My only worry now is I crave for peanut butter. Faint! I dun even like peanut butter prior preggie lor :x

@Fiona, ok, I shall check with him on my next visit. Btw, have u signed up the package with him?

@BPC, u don't like but I think ur bb likes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Grant him or her a slice of peanut butter spread bah.. Hehe..

so cool. it will definitely be a nice pic for ur BB to see when he grow up. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

guess those pics are taken when BB is much bigger.

Sounds like some of us are planning trips! My hubby and I are taking our "babymoon" in October. We both love to travel and hence must take the chance to make one last chid free trip before the baby comes! We'll be taking a cruise in the Mediterranean, that departs from Venice and goes to Croatia and a few ports in Greece (Athens, Mykonos, Santorini). Will also spend 3 days F&E in Venice. Will be about 22 weeks preggy then. Can't wait!

Think post baby, trips will likely be to child friendly places like Club Med beach resorts, so must enjoy first! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@little girl, I also think that it's nice to show our kid the 3D pic when they grow older.

@Fiona, my next appt is 3rd Sept, so long!! I'm waiting till neck long long le.

Btw, did any mummies went for dental appt? I wanted to go wash n also do filling but not v sure if can do anot..

Rebonding:

Actually I'm planning to do it b4 X'mas period le. Hubby doesn't allow it initially but aft he heard his SIL did it 2mths b4 she gave birth that time, he allow liao.. So far her son ok ah.

on the topic of confinement lady, do you think we are able to cope without one? of course there is mum's help to cook confinement food... and i am thinking since i am going to breastfeed... is it still necessary to have one...What are your thoughts?

I'm also v worried abt nt having a CL but no choice le. CL r too x especially during cny period. Actually, a cheaper alt is hiring a maid. With a CL's pay, we can hire a maid for abt 4 mths but contract is 2 yrs.. V vexed.. I hope the government can implement to subsidize the CL pay. Haha..

Zanta, my hubby also recently bring up the topic of getting maid which I am not very keen. His reason is to help support our parents who is helping to look after the baby in housework etc. I have never been in favor of getting maid cos heard alot of horror stories [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Actually I'm ok to hire a maid coz I was also brought up by maid. Since ur maid is only to helpout with the hse chores, then it sld b ok coz ur in laws will b at hm rite?

Zantarina: u just see gynae not long ago ar.?

so have to wait until so long to see gynae again..

last month i see him on 21st.. also waited so long..

no choice..

can anyone know what is the normal temp for preg woman? im areadi in the 14 weeks tis sat....i always feel like bubbles in my stomache...wonder is it bb moving???

@ Valerie @ Judy...

Dunno leh, doc says position abit not right but didnt say much... maybe she dun wann to scare me too... she probably wans to see the next visit den decide.... hmmm....

ya, i dun have medisure and my HTB and i nt officially married. so cant use his medisave... probably needs to wait till nov den can ROM. But hes positive abt getting it done b4 BB due...

hmmmm, i dunno .... but recently have been turn off by sex and the smell of my man.... when he sleeps next to me... i wan to puke, but not this way before BB. i also dun wan his kisses... almost like stench to me... really bad that i ask him dun touch me... sad sad....

how u guys ??? can manage???

wonder when can i see BB gender???

@Fiona, ya lor, I juz c him like 2wks back. So 1mth will b 2wks ltr. I miss my bb.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@OFB, it's not written inside but I did asked him b4 n he said got. Maybe u can try asking him on ur wife's next appt. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, the neurogain I saw is I think PB.

@en xuan, u can c bb's gender at wk16 if bb cooperates. If nt then gotta wait till wk20 detail scan.

Me too, I can't stand my hubby's body smell especially when he smokes b4 bed. I will tell him he is smelly n I'll turn the other side to sleep. Haha.. I think it's normal bah coz our sense of smell is more sensitive le.

Morning mummies~

It's Friday!!! 1 more week and I can see my baby le!! =D

@Zantarina: Don't know leh. I asked him why he never say, only say cannot. But nvm lah, I'm not a big fan of guava anyway. I thought that piece is pear that's why I ate. =/

@moomoo: I still think it's better to hire a CL cos it's a very crucial period to regain your health. Some money cannot be saved... Health is more important cos if you didn't do a good confinement it's going to affect you for life.

@susan: Oh, sometimes I'll also feel bubbles in my stomach. I think it's the gas bah. Haha~ But yesterday when I put my hand on my tummy I thought I felt a kick on my hand. Don't know if it's my imagination or my baby is kicking me. Hee hee...

@En Xuan: If your hubby is confident of getting it done before baby is due then you don't have to worry. =) But remember to keep the receipts including the antenatal package. Cos you can claim for that too. There was a period of time I can't stand my hubby's smell too. Don't know issit cos of the things he ate. That day he ate cockles outside but I didn't know. And when he comes near me I can smell a funny smell. So I asked him what did he eat just now and he said cockles. Then I told him very smelly...

For those looking for CL, got to start finding one soon.. I have just engaged my CL a few days ago, and it seems that some CLs are already taken up... For me, I think we need a CL as this is our first bb, and I will be stressed without one...

May I check with u gals, if I want to total bf, do i need an electric pump?

@melody: It's advisable by the mummies here to get an electric pump cos manual many of them said is very tiring and fingers will cramp. So I think I'll get an electric pump too. And Avent there's one which can pump manually and electrically.

Btw mummies, I don't know if it's normal but I've been feeling less hungry recently.. In the past every 2-3 hours I'll feel hungry and if I don't eat immediately I'll feel very nauseous. But now I don't really get hungry every 2-3 hours and even if I'm hungry I can wait and don't have to eat immediately. And I used to go toilet to pee every night at around the same time but now, the time differs and there was one night when I only feel like going to the toilet in the morning. I wonder how's my baby... =(

Hi Valerie, can u share with me about the medisave claims you talking about. The oscar test n detailed scan etc can claim? I didn't know that can claim but even if we can claim I thought the process usually the hospital will auto submit the deductibles on your behalf and send you the bill that you need to pay only.

Moomoo/ Zantarina

Actually I don't like to have CL because the ones I've had are quite messy and stubborn. They are very experienced and may not be pro-bf so cause pressure to the mummy. But I still hire as my mum is very insistent that I rest as much as I can and sleep during confinement cos they believe if don't rest during confinement women would suffer poor health into old age.

I hire CL for the reasons:

1. Newborns tend to wake at night to cry so CL help to pacify without you having to wake up so many times.

2. Cook confinement food as catering is just as expensive

3. Help with housework and cook for hubby and elder child

4 make tonics so by end of confinement my face looks quite rosy and healthy. Baby can also can "Pu" through Bm during this period.

5 do laborious work like bathing baby and doing laundry and changing diapers

For the many reasons above, I say hire a CL if u can afford it. It's only for a month and how many chance do we get to rest while someone tends to the baby. After this one month you won't have this luxury anymore!

@OFB: I'm not too sure exactly how to claim for the antenatal package but for delivery package when you discharge the hospital will do the claims for you. That's what my sil did. Oscar test and detailed test I'm not too sure either. But that day when I paid for the antenatal package I did the oscar test so the receipt actually consists of the 2 and the nurse just ask me to keep the receipt. So I assume can?

@melody: Hmm.. What if you have a lot of breastmilk? I think still have to pump out bah..

Melody

Electric pumps are big investments I suggest u decide after the baby arrives. There are many factors that affect BF and you never know eventually whether you need to pump or fully latch. Also there are different pumps fo choose from, good to try out after the milk comes to decide what's best for u.

Online shopping very convenient now, shops like Cheong Choon also does delivery. So very easy to buy pumps even after birth.

HTH! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning mummies! went for my 4th mth scan yesterday. was the first there, cos i kiasu go wait 1 hr before clinic open(after hearing abt charmaine and the empty clinic.. haha!) when i went in dr adrian like very good mood. usually he wont take longer than normal to do scan.. if i ask for gender and he cannot find he will just say next time.. but yesterday my scan took 15mins.. he was trying to scan for genitals.. then finally.. he said, "looks like we have a boy here". though after that comes the famous gynae line, "of cos, we cannot confirm. we must wait till 5th mth to confirm". 1 min after we saw the bird bird my baby very funny.. took a 360 deg turn and face backside at us like shy shy like that.

my hubby upon hearing that its a boy boy was very happy.. for me im okay lah.. just that i thought girl would be sweeter. results for down syndrome came out normal and my risk are about 1:70000.

First Mum: My sis has a brand new pump to pass to me, but it's manual... I want to buy electric one, but thought that if total bf, no use for it, waste $.. On the other hand, if I need it, I scared after I give birth, will be too rush to buy.. so start to kan cheong already...

valerie: I not very big, got enuf breastmilk happy liao.. haha

@Judy: Woah!!! So cute!! So many of you already went or going for 4th month scan soon but I still have 1 week. Arghhh. So long~!

@melody: Haha! Since you already have a pump then maybe you use that first lor. If really too tough for you next time then you can still buy a electric one.