(2011/02) Feb 2011

@felpoo: Hahahah! Aiyo, I don't mean that lah. What I meant was though I don't have acne but I also have pimple. Though not a lot but also consider have then maybe chances will be girl? Heee.... I also read that ginseng is no good for pregnant woman leh. But I was wondering is 泡篸 consider as ginseng too?

I nvr take ginseng though. Now only take "paosheng" with pork stewed for long hours.. errm.. dun ask me about tonics and food. I only know how to appreciate good food but dun know how to cook :p

My mum usually brewed for me..

@felpoo: Haha! My mil also will add the paosen into bird's nest for me. So I was wondering issit the same as ginseng. Hmm...

I think it's different. Ginseng is very 'heaty' tonic. I dun think I did eat ginseng. I only know that my mum adds 'paosheng' and 'dong cong cao' inside.

Wow.. I can't take bird nest until after the 5th month.. My womb is considered those on the 'cold' type.

Okiess.. I need to log off as I need to brng my girl for her hair cut. Hope tht her mouth is not big to tell my sil, who is taking care of her during the day, that the baby inside is a boy..

*Pray,pray hard*

Felpoo: Thanks for the education here.. Haha.. Will still shop around to see before deciding which pump to buy.. By the way, are you telling me that mine is a girl??? You mentioned “latch on my girl successfully”.. Haha.. Doc oso haven’t say you know already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].. I think so too if the old wife tale is true about having acne means girl.. Coz I’ve got them all over my face, back & chest [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. Your girl’s classmate mum reminds me of my gf who has just given birth in July.. She was asking in FB if anyone wants to buy milk coz she got a lot to spare.. LOL!!

Hmm .. I had a miscarriage before this pregnancy and I was diagnosed by a number of TCM that I hv a cold womb and tht was why I can't sustain back then. One of the TCM physicians was my long distance relative. After the miscarriage, my parents kept brewing me tonics and I did a month of confinement too for the miscarriage as a form of recuperation.

@felpoo: Oic.. I also thought of seeing a Chinese Physicians. Just wanna hear from them what are the things that I can't eat. Hmm..

Preciousbabi, oops, I dun mean tht.. I think, I think of getting a girl until subbconciously, I kept saying girl..

Huh .. Buy .. Do u know tht in year 2010 forum, there is this mum who has so much milk that she has no storage in freezer that she has to give out to ppl? And on top of it, she also feeds the elder child with her ebm.. But you have to provide storage bags for her.. She has the people in forum asking her for it..

Sigh.. If only, my supply can be like her..

Valerie, I think at this moment, if everything is smooth sailing for your pregnancy, dun see a tcm physician.. They will tell you a lot of things cannot eat and drink .. n u can't bear to 'jie kou' and then you will feel bad if you dun do what the tcm physician said.

hihi.. im from June thread.. i've got 5 brand new boxes of Pigeon diaper liners (100s) for sale, selling at $8 per box.. also giving away abt 20 sample sachets of Similac Mum/Anmum Materna/EnfaMama.. Please PM me if interested..

@felpoo: Hmm true but I have question mark in regards of foot. My mil & sil said I can't eat lotus roots cos that time when my sil was pregnant she went to see one & she was told not to eat lotus roots. But my mum said can eat & it depends on individual body. Maybe she's weak or what that's why she can't eat. So can I or can I not? *puzzled*

Felpoo: That mum also very power lor.. Really can have so much meh.. Haha.. I'm contented just to have enough for my baby..

Valerie: I agree with Felpoo.. Whether can eat or not depends on individual body.. If u really wanna know, u have to be prepared to stay away from them including those u love to eat.. Best is take anything u feel like but take the right portion..

Hi yaataa,

we also at TMC for oscar test yesterday. what time were you there, maybe i can remember who i saw. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@felpoo, it's true that daughter more "wu sim" as compared to son. And in future, son will most likely listen to their other half more than their mum unless that son is super wu sim. Heh.. But if I were to have 2 kids, I will prefer to have 1 boy & 1 girl to make the "hao" character. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Your gf's MIL remind me of my ah ma. My mum told me b4 that my ah ma wasn't very happy when my mum gave birth to my elder sister. But when the 1st word which came from my sis's mouth was "ah ma", my ah ma loves her alot since than. Luckily my ah ma don't hate me for being a girl. Haha.. And luckily your gf gave birth to a boy aft that if not, I think her life will be more miserable..

You know what, I kept telling everyone I prefer girl coz I don't want them, especially my in laws to be disappointed if I'm expecting a girl.. But my hubby's friends r guessing I'm expecting a boy just bcoz I got lots of pimples/acnes now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@Amazing Miracle, Dr Ang advised my hubby to go b4 my next appt. Maybe coz so that he can advise us on what to do. I really hope everything will be fine..

I may sound silly to think of this so early but i had a thought recently thinking whether i should host a 1st month celebration with friends and families. I think i will be worried thinking whether any of the guests are sick and the spreading of germs to the baby whose immune system are still building, because you know people will keep touching the baby everywhere HAHA .. and the mother also need a lot of rest. Have you guys thought of this? And how to stop too many people from ward visiting upon delivery? The mom will probably be more busy entertaining visitors rather than the rest she needs most. Hee

Evening should be the time where most of us are free to post but like no one talk at night one, sad ... and i'm bored. I'm addicted to the forum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Haha.. Don't think is no work but perhaps, you r busier than them.. And mummies tend to b v tired aft work. our first baby, your wife don't talk to us?

Haha.. you are fast Zanta. I just editted my post cos i think it's rude to joke that people are too free at office hour heee

She reads all the time at this forum with her iPhone but not so much on saying anything. Heee

Hello dear, are you reading this? Say something to the forum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zanta,

Are you taking the sunward vitamins Dr Ang gave? I'm thinking to suggest to my wife to switch to Obimin because i do not know much about this brand but like very waste money to buy our own again. When is your next appt with Dr Ang? Our is on 30th!! Such a long wait !!

Oh my wife just came into the room and say i'm funny. Now you know how frequent she follows this forum, it took her only 5 mins to see it. LOL

Haha.. Ask her to join us in discussion, etc..

Yup, I'm taking them b4 I retire in the night bcoz the 1st time when I took it aft lunch, I felt nauseous.. But I dunno if it's due to MS or the vit. I think since we chose to c the gynae, then just take whatever he give bah. If not like v pai seh to reject. And anyway, the vit will be included in the package aft we signed up so yup, it'll be a waste of $$!!

gd morning ladies,

@our_first_baby/zantarina, my gynea is Dr Ang too. i started to take sunward vitamins since last thursday. i also feel nauseous every time i took the vit. so i also choose to take it at night. anyone of u experience having acne breakout after taking the vitamin? is the vitamin heaty? i m thinking to stop taking the vitamin but i also worry. are u starting to eat fish oil pill? thks

Hi SLim,

We got the sunward vitamins from Dr Ang 2 weeks ago when she is still in her 10th week. I thought it's too early for her to stop folic acid and start on vitamins so she haven't eat it yet. You feel nauseous after taking it? She is also worried with that so will start taking it this Saturday and see the effect. I think i read it somewhere that it's normal to feel heaty.

She will also start on the fish oil this weekend. Read it's important for baby development esp. from week 12 to 16.

Felpoo, so you confirm getting PEM? Did you call others to compare? What made you decide on PEM? I suspect it's a marketing tactic when they say they have only a few CL left available during CNY haha! :p

Morning everyone~ =)

@our_first_baby: I think if you hold a baby shower celebration not everyone will carry the baby cos the baby is still so fragile, maybe some of them will be scared. And if they are not feeling well I think they will know not to touch the baby.. And most of them will be busy eating than to keep touching baby I guess. Hehe.. And as for ward visiting, well, you can only inform those that you want them to visit that your wife is in the ward. Cos she'll only be there for 2 days. It'll be alright if you just tell them that your wife just gave birth unless they say they want to visit lah. =)

2 more days to weekend! Jia You!!

Ourfirstbaby: You are really a good Daddy & Hubby *thumbs up*… It’s good to have plans but I would suggest that you don’t think so much now.. You should be relaxing and enjoying this stage with your wife.. Don't stress yourself too much, coz the time will come very soon.. So relax now while you can.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Is everyone taking vitamins & fish oil already? My gynae asked me to continue with only folic acid at week 12 and my next visit will only be at week 16.. Now I see ourfirstbaby says fish oil is important for baby's development from week 12 to 16, I was like??????

Felpoo: You have the same gynae as me.. Did Dr Henry prescribe these for you already??

@preciousbabi: I'm not taking ay fish oil. My gynae only gave me prenatal vit (iron) and calcium at week 12. She didn't mention anything to me about fish oil leh. Hmm...

counting down to weekend too...

PreciousBabi - my gynae started to give me fish oil, multi-vit and calcium pills when i visited him at week 12. i started taking after that....

Bought the pigeon sterilizer set from taka baby fair last nite. the rest of the stuff will buy later towards the end of the year.

Ok, I'll check with my gynae this month end..

Neongoby: How much you bought the Pigeon sterilizer set and what does it include? My sil also using Pigeon sterilizer and say will pass to me before I give birth coz her kids not using already.. But I thought if it's not that ex, I rather get one set myself.. Then other brand bottles can fit into this? Coz I'm looking at either Avent or Nuk's bottles..

@preciousbabi: The sterilizer set I find it quite a good deal cos I bought that too. It's only selling at $199 with the sterilizer set which can put 6 bottles of all brands (that's what the auntie told me lah), food warmer, 5 bottles (2 for 0-3 mths and 3 for 4-6 mths), liquid cleaner, the brush to clean the bottles, 2 packet of baby wipes and the auntie gave me other free gifts like water bottle with teat cover, straw cover and another one which is like straw but the opening is rectangle, breast pad and teats if I'm not wrong. As compared to the Avent sterilizer kit I find this better... And Pigeon's teat is softer too as compared to Avent's.

Preciousbabi.. Hehe.. Can understand what u mean with the ????.. I was like u when I first got all the full set of vits from the clinic yday.

When they took the fish oil out for me, I was wondering do the mummies also hv to nourish our brain? Then they told me it was for the baby. Sigh.. 4 yrs gap from my last preg., so much things change. Now I'm starting to read my preg book and caring for baby books.. Gotta catch up if not later months, not much of time as we need to start to clear our work for our replacement at work.

@preciousbabi: Yah, that's what the gynae told me too. That I can eat everything but in moderation. But my sis said overall 'cool' stuff better don't think. But that day I ate 1 small piece of agar agar cos I can't resist! Heee... =p

Valerie, did u ask ur mil and sil why cannot take lotus root? Lotus is considered a warm food n pregnant women shld be able to eat it. Normally my mil will brew soup with lotus n add a bit of waterchestnut..

Yday nite I asked my mil abt lotus can be eaten during pregnancy. She said can leh.. If u r paranoid, u can just pop to those Chinese medical hall and ask them. Dun need to spend $ going to physician.. As Charmaine last time mentioned, everything in moderation will do.

The tcm doctors will tell u cannot drink cold stuffs and cannot eat this n tht.. Can u tolerate or not? I m practically drinking soft drinks every day.

felpoo:haaa..your gynae is so funny! so medicated oil we are to avoid too? yea understand from your point...the education the cost and everything it be tedious for a third one with the increasing cost here in singapore.

oh my the person have overflood of supply of milk! that amazing..i also wish i can have like her..

wonder if u mummies know wat can we eat to help on those milk supply?

previousbabi: for me i only got multi vit and fish oil...no calcium pills.and i took them ard week 12.

ourfirstbaby: i was still telling my hubby abt u yest..say u r so good..come forum and u got all upfront information...for the baby shower some people will want to carry but i once attend a relative one she dont allow people to carry cause baby so small and if keep pass ard baby wont feel comfort too...so she upfront tell people...so people also auto jus go see and maybe they also dont dare carry...

SLIM: i also got sunward vit from dr ang..but for me still ok but i seems to have sore throat today..not sure if its cause of the vit..cause i dont know they went heaty until i hear from u all..and i alrdy started the fish oils le..since week 12..

zanta: dont worry...im sure everything be fine! =)) anyway i call the clinc yest..den the nurse say dont worry if doc nv call u means nothing ...den nv tell me abt my results ...

mummies, u all hear of " di zhong hai ping xue zhen"? my mIL jus test positive by her gynae..and i guess my hubby will have to go for the blood test...anyone know what is it?? or what is the english term? wanna find in internet but not sure wat is it call

Valerie, to ease ur guilty conscience, I tell u what I drank yday. After eating durians, I poured a coke fir my hubby. Can't resist the temptation I tell myself just 1 sip. This 1 sip became my undoing. 1 became 2 sips and I tell myself since thts the case, drink half cup. Half cup became a cup and then became 2 cups. After drinking, I felt so bad that I drank another 2 cups of plain water to flush down the coke. In the end, I woke up 3 times during the nite to pee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@felpoo: Hmm I never ask leh. Cos the moment she know I'm pregnant she already said cannot eat. She said that time the physician told my sil cannot eat. But I don't know has it got anything to do with her 2 miscarriage before this baby.. My mum also said can. That's why she was quite puzzled and don't believe when I told her my mil say cannot eat. Lol. Cold stuff I can don't drink lah. Cos before my pregnancy I already don't like to drink soft drinks. The only food I miss is sashimi~~~~ Haha~! That day I wanted to eat sushi than my hubby said I also cannot eat sashimi. I told him I'll eat those cooked one lor and soba but he don't want. I asked him "You don't want to eat meh??" He said no, I can't eat he also don't want to eat in front of me. Arghh~ I can't even 望梅止渴. Sometimes I'll miss ice lemon tea and those bottled lemon barley too. =p

Val: yea...we just eat everything in moderation should be fine i guess but those general stuffs like watermelon or those we know of, we jus try eat lesser....

agar agar is consier cool stuffs ar?? does yr cool stuffs involve those cold stuffs?

valerie

wah that's a v good deal! the water bottle is already like $10.50 for one, and very useful to have the 3 interchangeable covers.

i would buy if I didn't already have my pigeon steraliser from the first bb. bought from cheong choon, this shop at chinatown that specialises in bb stuff. cheap and good too.

i can confirm that pigeon steraliser can put NUK bottles. i think can put 5 (small ones - 200ml capacity i think). i used nuk latex teats too, but gotta change quite often so quite expensive. but supposed to be most akin to mum's nipple. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Amazing, it's thalasammia.. I think tht shld be the spelling. If thts the case better get ur hubby to test whether he s a major one or not. I hv a manager whose sister and the husband both are major cases. But they didn't know prior pregnancy. When they hv the first kid, the kid also has the thalasammia and has to do blood transfusion for his whole life. Tht was the brief outline from my manager. I didn't ask much from him. Last time did some research but can't remember much. If u dun hv and touch wood if ur hubby has, I think it s 50-50 fir child.. Not trying to scare u.. But test early better..

Morning Mummies!!

Felpoo: you gal is so cute..i like the way she talk. so sweet and innocent.

Jolinr: hope you are feeling better today! and you are a very strong and good mummy!

For the topic on Ginseng, i read before from an article. The HK pple tested on pregnant mice the intake of ginseng..and it was found to be unsuitable. so we cant take ginseng.

i got worried and ask my mum cause she gave me a bottle of capsules to eat. bought from TCM doctor. but she assured me its not ginseng. there's many different kinds of Ginseng and the real ones are very very expensive. The kind i am eating is Dong Cong Cao and Pao Shen, powder and store in capsule. good for baby and mother.

so i guess most of us are taking Pao Shen.

Check with doctor if still unsure ya.

No dang-gui for us too.

Faithnhope: I have decided on my CL. Wun be taking from PEM cause i have a recommended one who agreed on $2800 for CNY season. she also needs work permit. and got to prepare 2 Angpows for her and a CNY angpow too. $$$$.. hahhaa..

but was thinking since same cost as PEM, i will play safe and choose a recommended one.

Valerie: do ask your clinic. my nurse told me fish oil is optional. but i choose to take it. for the development of the baby's brain.

@amazing: I heard of that before but I'm not too sure what issit. I think it's just one kind of "ping xue" whereby you have low red blood count. I also have "ping xue" since young. I'll feel giddy if I stand up too fast and last time when I was young I always black out if I'm out in the sun for too long.

Er, no.. My cool stuff is like watermelon, barley, herbal tea, pineapple. I wasn't 100% sure if agar agar was cool initially. So I asked my sis but while waiting for her reply I ate one small one. Lol~ Then after that she told me Noooooo~ Agar agar is consider liang. Oops! Then that time when I was just 6 weeks preggy I went to have lunch buffet with my hubby then he took a lot of watermelon. I asked him "I can eat meh?" He said can. He said watermelon not as liang as pineapple. But I only ate a bit cos I don't really believe him. Lol~

@felpoo: Haha~ Once in a while it's ok. At least coke is not 'cool' stuff. I hope my baby is ok after eating the small piece of agar agar. =p That day I also drank a bit of sprite cos I have difficulties in burping. But I didn't drink a lot though cos I always have problem in swallowing soft drinks. I think too gassy for me.

@trinket: Yeah, but the water bottle is not part of the deal. It's additional free gift that the auntie gave. Don't know issit while stock last or what. And the bottle very cute looking. Like the cartoon Piyo Piyo like that. With 2 handles. Hehe... Btw where is Cheong Choon? Which part of chinatown? Chinatown Point? Pearl centre?

Good morning, Ladies

Valerie, compared to you, i am much more "disobidient" leh. I ate papaya, watermelon, soft drink, agar2, barley, etc and sometimes the amount is not little. My mum say for the first 3 months, baby is not eating what we eat, hence, most of the thing we can eat but in moderation. Start from 2nd trimester, baby is taking what we eat, hence we need to be more careful.

Valerie: The deal sounds real good.. But coz my gfs all tell me Avent & Nuk's teats are better (like reduce colic or something like that)? So if it can fit other brand bottles then I wouldn't mind buying it.. Will go and have a look again coz I think I shopped with my eyes closed last week.. Haha..

Considering to get the Avent electronic single pump.. Anyone has feedback on the pump?

Felpoo: You so funny lor.. Tout the fish oil for u.. LOL.. Looks like I will get a big bag of vits this month end [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]..

Trinket: So Nuk bottles can fit into Pigeon Steriliser ah? Then I’ll probably get the Pigeon set..

Amazing: Ask your hubby to test soon.. Keep our fingers cross for you..

@gregda: Ya, I'll ask her in my next visit. I'll ask her about calcium supplement too. That day one mummy shared that calcium supplement is not good for us. So I must check with her.

@jolin: Wah, you very daring leh. I scared, don't dare to take. But that time before I found out I was pregnant I went to my frend's wedding in Sentosa with my hubby. I think I was 4th week then. And my hubby took a lot of raw oysters and I ate a lot too. Lucky my baby is fine. Heee... That was the last time I ate oysters and I have to wait for 7 months before I can eat again.. =(

Gregda,

Thanks but stil feeling nausea today, i guess yesterday MS hit too badly and i didn't eat anything until like 2 pm like that. Hopefully today is getting better

@preciousbabi: I didn't get to see the breast pump when I went for the babyfair. After buying the sterilizer kit my hubby said go liao. He said 2 weeks later come back again. Cos I think the kit also quite heavy to carry. I didn't know it was heavy till I reached home I want to bring it to the room then I realise it's actually quite heavy. Poor hubby, have to carry for so long. Somemore we parked the car at Ion cos Taka carpark close. It's such a long walk!

actually on the liang thing... I don't really believe lah. I think so long as you don't eat excessive amts of any food it's ok.

my first pregnancy i ate all the liang stuff in moderation, bb was hearty and healthy! even today my mum made barley for me cos I had flu. drank one waterbottle liao.

and i like watermelon cos it's one of the few things i can stomach was feeling nauseous during lunchtime. 1-2 slices a day, i think it's ok. my gynae said only avoid alcohol and caffeine and raw food that you're not sure how clean the prep is.

on pumps,

personally I swear by the Medela PIS advanced. it really helped me persevere in breastfeeding / pumping. if there is one thing I'd break the piggy bank for in a pregnancy, it's a good pump. heard the medela freestyle is even better than the PIS. i'll stick to my old PIS, but mummies considering making an investment, I'd say get a good pump. stroller, steraliser etc etc all peripheral.

jolinr: papayas shld be fine too right?

coke has some caffine in it, so we are supposed not to take in too much. like coffee and tea too.

valerie

http://www.cheongchoonstore.com/

the lady who is usually in the store is Winnie. It's a very tiny hdb store. but she can advise you on what you need. i got tons of pigeon wet wipes from her.

Blk 34 Upper Cross Street #03-132

Tel 65323855

Opens after 1.30pm (Mon to Sat)

Closes on Sun.