(2011/02) Feb 2011

speaking of milk, is there any way to make plain maternity milk taste nicer? i cannot stand the taste of formula milk but hubby has went out to buy a whole carton, my mother during her grocery trip went to get the same carton thinking i didnt have one, and i also have milk samples from the gynae. i dont knw what to do with them and i hate hate milk..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Faith,

next Monday i will be in my 12 weeks. I think i will opt out for the Oscar test. I do request for a copy of the scan photo. Saw one mummy mentioned that 1st trim is till 14th weeks, i wanna faint. I tot is 12 weeks and am so happy coz approaching soon.

@Judy: Er, add cocoa powder into the milk and make it chocolate milk? I hate milk too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

charmaine, I tink ah ching and mine gynae is e same ba.. hmm nt sure as well.

anyway, tmc oscar test is ard 350 to 400 which i heard.

joy, so good u r in wk 12 next mon.. mine still have weeks to come.

Hi ladies, I am new here at this thread. Hope you don't mind me joining. I am abt 11+ weeks along now, expecting twins EDD is 27 Jan 2011.

Wanted to check with you, does anyone experience bad heartburn? I've been getting bad heartburn since 3-4 weeks back, and its really painful. If you experience this, how do you deal with it?

Judy, maybe your gynae thinks for you, ask you to get a package to save your money [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My Anmum milk powder is chocolate flavor, i also wouldnt like to take plain vanilla flavor.

I will be taking the OSCAR test at TMC, forgot to ask for the price, from the thread here, i think i better be prepared for $300 + [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Irene, neongoby, oscar at tmc is $318.

Welcome working wife! I took antacid tablets to relieve heartburn. U can try. Or see a GP if it's really bad

Congrats working wife! we have the first mummy having twins in this thread [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummyb - i do drink HL milk cos it's less fat ;p

Going to knock off soon, today i gagged a few times, sianz....

mummies who didn't take folic acid this morning, pls remember to take tonight.

BBs is saying 'mummy mummy, i need folic acid to grow...' (in baby's cutie voice), how could you refuse them? lol I always like the voice of babies haha.

take care [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks to all! Charmaine, sometimes when it gets really bad, I will take antacids. But I do try not to take so much medication.

Also wanted to check, do you all know what type of food we should avoid (according to Chinese, those cooling food need to avoid). But I don't know what they are.

And have you all started using stretch mark cream? Wonder what brand you use?

Sorry, so many questions [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]First time pregnant [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Working wife, food/fruits I try to avoid are cabbage, bittergourd, barley, green beans, pineapple, watermelon. I tk all food in moderation.

I'm using palmer's lotion for breasts n tummy. Started using at 8weeks.

Faith,

i choose to opt out becoz it is not 100% accurate. I don see a reason to check my baby and i have confident that he/she will be a healthy baby. I trust that God has a divine plan for me. Hehee.

Irene,

don envy me coz i am suffering from the MS too. Terrible feeling. Really hope that it will go away soon.

Faith my hubby bought is goldkili ginger honey is ginger with honey nice u can try me later after dinner will go n drink a glass to aid for my gassy tummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Working_wife, so far, I've only avoided watermelon, pineapple, old winter melon soup. I've also started stretch mark cream yesterday cos I realise my belly button "opening up". Think my tummy too bloated and waistline expanding though I'm only 10weeks! I'm using Palmer's Stretch Mark Cream (125g for $26 from Watson). You can also get from Guardian.

charmaine, cannot eat barley ar? I just drank barley on Mon :p but only 1 cup..

Joy07, noted.

Sweetie, ok, will go and buy. Hehe.. thanks!

Hi loinky, I'm usually in bed before 11pm. I can sleep but I will wake up at least twice in the middle of the night to go pee.. in a way, my sleep is disrupted loh...

I sleep before 11pm after putting my girl to sleep.. can't really sleep well imagining things (ridiculous dreams)in the middle of the night and i will end up being so tired at work..

loinky - me, last night i woke up to pee and my chest was so uncomfortable, as if something pressing on it, making it hard to breath [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Morning mummies, another day at work [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

working wife, i bought palmer's lotion for $22 at watson.

faith, one cup should be okie. Was told barley is cooling esp china barley.

Neo u can try the ginger drink it works but dun drink too much coz old pple said drink too much ginger drink bb will turn yellow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so moderation

morning mummies!!

hey wroking mummy! congrats and welcome!!

loinky - me me ! i have weird dreams as if throughout the sleep...then will wake up twice to pee and worst is after the last pee ard 4 plus..i cant slp well animore.. be like drifting away only..keep waking up till my alarm rang..very sian n tired in the morning..

every morning is like draggin myself to work .

week 10 now...waiting anxiously for next week to come so i can see my baby! hee

neongoby: can it be indigestion?how r u now?

chamine: im so craving for yakun barley...ren!~

do u mummies feel more pregnant towards end of the day...my stomach be a little more bloated up..

but im somehow upset over my boobs..like not delevoping =(..realli hope to do BF for my kid..

Hi morning ladies. How's everyone today? Went home early yday. Suffering from indigestion. I see that quite a handful of mummies using stretch mark cream. My night time is also pretty disrupted. So I try not to drink too much water before sleeping. So far, I dun really wake up in the middle of the nite to pee. Only wake up if I need to eat.

Loinky, hehe.. Same same here. I had dreamt 2 of my friends getting pregnant n I told them abt it. Got scolded by them becos they alr stopped production. Then I dreamt my hubby with another woman n I was so angry I hit him in my sleep.

morning mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ytd nite sleep is ok.. did not wake up at all.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] congrat working wife.. twin bb.. nice!!!

Amazing miracle, i m drinking kiwi juice now (replace plain water intake), i feel nausea and juz gagged [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] will try to tolerate, otherwise later i will eat some crackers to curb the nausea.

Last night, i see myself in the mirror, my stomach also quite big, haha, although now my BB should be the size of a grape but i guess the womb is expanding for develop the placenta?

Audrey, my hubby and i could not feel our BB's heartbeat, i can only feel rapid pulsing even though i try to stay calm, maybe it's my BB's

I read that dreams is also natural, so don't worry for those who had wierd dreams yah.

Amazing, yes, I feel more bloated towards the evening compared to the morning.. Feel best when I wake up, but by afternoon when the fatigue sets in (esp after lunch) + the bloatedness, I don't have appetite to eat dinner...

Amazing, my boobs didn't grow terribly big too, slightly bigger, tender but not sore. Don't worry yah, I think the milk will set in later.. hehe.. Maybe later you'll complain too big hahah!

congrat working wife on urs twins. Wow

yesterday nite I've trouble sleeping too. The nose block n cough plus my brain is so active tat I've a sleepless nite.

By the way, is stretch mark cream really effective? I've applied it during my first one but mainly cos the it help to reduce the itch. I've so much stretch marks on my tummy n breast area after preg

amazing, dun worry big boobs does not equals to lotsa breastmilk. Me too woke up 2x at nite to pee and drink water.

felpoo, if i dun drink water before i sleep, i will still wake up in the middle of the nite to drink water coz i'm sooo thirsty.

I have started to use body cream (Body Shop Spa Wisdom Shea butter and sesame oil body balm) but donno if it is suitable as a stretch mark cream.

The Palmer's one seems to be popular among mothers, is it good? oily? well absorbed?

morning mummies! i wake up often at night too. mainly just cannot find a good position to fall aslp with(pillow too low, pillow too high, feel dizzy when close eyes, feel nauseous, need to wake up and pee). also, hubby is always not by my side when i sleep and im starting to feel paranoid like my hse got hantu. haha.. so that way i cant really fall aslp that well also..

Neo, mb u can try in few weeks time... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] definitely can hear it

judy - hw cum your husband not by ur side? dun be too paranoid, if not u will suffer pre - natal blue..

judy, keep yourself occupied, read a book, watch tv or do some art & crafts eg do up your baby journal? Once your mind is occupied, you won't think so much [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Workingmum, congrats to you! Twins. I think I overlooked ur thread. How are u feeling now? So envious of you. 2 child at a go.

Amazing, dun worry. My cup size still remains the same, except it seems fuller. As mentioned in my earlier thread, have anyone start to hv colostrum?

I agree with Charmaine. Cannot relate size to milk supply. I hv friends who hv small boobs and they can bf up to 2 - 3 yrs for their child.

Charmaine, you drink water before an hour before sleeping. And before sleep, you empty your bladder. It's also not good for us to drink so much water before sleep becos next morning eyes very swollen.

My stomach also looks big at the end of the day. Like this, ppl can easily identify me as pregnant thus can get a seat easily on the train. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think the stretch mark cream may not work for all. Some swears by it, while others still develop stretch mark despite usage. I guess it's up to individual's skin condition bah.. I've also heard that it's hereditary, then again, even if your mum didn't have doesn't mean the daughters don't get it, and the reverse may be true too. I've also read that none of these creams/oils can prevent stretch mark cos these creams/oils can only treat the first layer of skin and doesn't penetrate into the inner layer which is more crucial to prevent stretch marks.

So, conclusion is, up to us loh.. I don't mind using it.. I chose Palmer's cos it's not expensive, compared to Clarins which apparently is very good but at least twice the price (compared to Palmer's) if you buy from Chinatown (if not, market price is $70+ I think)...

So far, Palmer's not too oily and quite ok on my skin. They do have the organic version which is more expensive - $32.60 for 125g from Watsons.

hi mummies to be,

nice to meet u here. i'm preg with my no. 2. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yeayea juy..will dirnk milk befor eu slp help u slp better? cannot anyhow think if not make yrself stress...

charm : i scare to small to produce enuff milk..mine is like so small for a start le...hee

faithn hope..mine is small to begin with..hee..den even now dont seem to grow..i hope to have the chance to complain its big..haa..now majiam eat for the sake for eating hor...

Neongoby- i tried green apple plus plum and it taste good for me..if u feel like vomiting maybe can try that also...

myproud: congrats! happy for u.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

audrey: my hubby works late most days. even if he is home early he likes to surf web or watch tv till 2-3am before turning in.. by then i would be in bed.. like yesterday i asked him if he could come to bed with me cos i dont like to slp alone, but he said he cant cos he will fall aslp and he cant slp so early as he is working at 5 in the evening today.. we just shifted to our new flat so sometimes i feel like got 'something' in the hse.. haha.. i knw its not true but i cant help thinking that way.

Judy, why do u have such feelings about your house having spiritual beings? You don't scare yourself as it won't be good for the baby. Perhaps you switch on the music. And if you are still feeling insecure, perhaps you put a bible or some religious artifacts around you. I did that during my first pregnancy as I got frightened by an incident during my pregnancy. And it resulted my girl being restless and easily frightened during her 1st year of age.

my proud: welcome!! and congrats...you can update choc about yr details now your gynac and where u going to give birth.

so u r in week ?

faith: thanks for the update..i think i will get palmer n try! hopefully it works..

felpoo:colostrum? no wor..not yet for me...wah ..that good news to hear that abt your friend! hopefully it works for me..hee..wah...den yrs seem big liao..no pple identity me as pregnant still..hee...

Judy : oh ok. dun think this way.. cheer up. have a gd talk with him and see if he able to do something. Can let him know how pregnant liked? Thing are not same as before. He should know and understand what you are going through. For my hubby, nw he at home don't surf nets as i dun really like and we did talk. now mostly he at home, will accompany me chat about baby etc... hope it does worked for you.

amazing, breasts size doesn't matter. After i delivered, i'm cup e but i dun really have alot of milk. Maybe coz i never latch on and i pump 2x a day only and supply keeps dipping. So after you deliver, just latch on/pump regularly for constant letdown to increase your supply.

Amazing, don't worry. My boob size is also small to begin, but I managed to breastfeed up to 5 months for my girl. Back then, my MIL still pressurizing me to stop.

Oh, I need to get input from 2nd time mummies. Where do you express your milk during office hours? Last time, I expressed at home before going to office. I am afraid this time round, I don't have such flexibility.