(2011/02) Feb 2011

I never took urine test at my gynae clinic leh.

I've been visiting my gynae 3 times since found out of this pregnancy.

First visit at week 5 to confirm the pregnancy, only did consultation and scanning,charged $255, but i was told that the scanning is different from normal scan, hence the charge is higher.

Second visit at week 6 to consult and get medicine for my bad MS, charged $180 (if i remember correctly) for consultation, scanning and medicine.

And my last visit was when i am in my 8 weeks, charged $170.

Every visit, my gynae will give me the scan picture

faith, i went to watson and they recommend Blackmores Folate - $15 for 90 tablets. I took it when i'm ttc too. My gynae charge $5 for 1 mth supply so it's same price. Never tried asking guardian yet. But i think Unity shd be the cheapest

Selling my 1yr old amenda dual pump at 120sgd with an extra adaptor, 1 lucky bb warmer and a lot fo bottles and some new accessories.

Please email to peko74@hotmail,com if you are interested. Thanks![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4223356.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4223357.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4223358.jpg]

My consultation is 50 and scan is 40. Normally I will get 2-3 scan photos upon each scan. Folic acid 20 pcs is 2.80.

Yday I was talking to the nurse abt package. Oscar will cost me 420.00 for blood test and nuchal scan. And if pregnancy is alright, they offer me 650.00 for subsequent consultations and routine scans. Will include the detailed scan at 5th month also inclusive of urine test and vits.

felpoo, your gynae charge less than mine for folic acid. Mine is 30pc for $5.

My antenatal package is 600 inclusive urine test and vits and 2 ultrasound scans for fetal growth. Same price for oscar n detailed scan

Charmaine, I thot normally they will do urine test only after the 2nd trimester. As for whether it will leak before pregnancy, I can't answer u. Becos, this pg as compared to the last one, is very different. Alot of things happened in my body currently, I nvr experienced them during my 1st one. 1 drastic difference is the stomach. Not 3 months yet and it already looked like 4 mths. My mum kept asking me whether did I get it correctly.

Talking about folic acid, i really feel very bad towards my baby. I only took it at the very begining when i found out about my pregnancy and only lasted about 1 week. After that, MS kicked in, i stopped taking folid acid and pregnancy milk since then. I tried to take folic acid during MS, but the result is really bad, hence i stopped the folic acid and milk until now. I can only try to get the folic acid from other food that i consume every day, like green vege and egg, but i know that is not enough.

I am so so bad, as much as i wanted to take but i just can't convince myself. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

charmaine, dun quite get you. After ur 2nd trimester, you sign up that package and it only includes 2 (?) u/s scans for fetal growth. U sure? My 650.00 packages includes each scan per visit until the last trimester. N tht price also includes a detail scan.

Charmaine,

I am not sure either, but i did see some pregnant woman (with bigger tummy) do the urine test when they visited my gynae clinic.

I think my turn is soon.

Jolin, U can sound ur concerns to ur gynae and get their advice. They can assure you on alot of things. They might hv alternatives.

Felpoo,

Yes, i already informed my gynae during last visit. I told him i've stopped taking folic acid due to MS, he only replied the folic acid is good for baby and didn't say much.

Hi Jolin, folic acid is not just "good" for baby but very vital for baby.. maybe like the other girls, you can ask for folic acid with Vit B6 which supposedly helps nausea?

Any of you girls taking milk powder ar? Any brand? My clinic gave me samples, don't remember the name off my head now, but I think I have Anmum and Enfa, not sure. How often should we drink ar?

felpoo, i did the urine test after 2nd trimester for 1st pregnancy. But was told to test my urine at week 9. Not sure if is it due i had gestational diabetes in my 1st pregnancy. I had some soft drink before doing the test coz i wasn't aware i'm gg to test urine and the nurse told me next time i can't take sweet drink before i do the test.

For 1st pregnancy, my gynae will do u/s for my bb for every visit so i dunno why he listed this "2 u/c" under the package. Typing wat was shown in the list. Your package also includes a 3rd detailed scan? Do you know wat scan is that? Coz i only know tat we need to do 3th mth and 5th mth scan thruout the whole pregnancy. Dun rmb i did a 3rd detailed scan after the 5th mth detailed scan for my lst pregnancy

Jolin, pls take folic acid. It's vital to bb's growth.

@charmaine: I think Unity is the cheapest one. And sorry for the confusion, I also forgot the name and searched online and only found NTUC healthcare. Hee... But actually I bought from Unity. =p

@faithnhope: I didn't take any milk powder cos I don't really like the taste of milk. Maybe when my ms has gone I'll drink chocolate milk. Hee...

valerie, no prob. Will be get my folic acid from Unity later. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Charmaine: I also hv gestational diabetics but they hv yet to check on my glucose though I know mine is relatively high now.

My package writes begins from 20th week and costs 650.00 and includes the following.

1. All scheduled antenatal consultations during PG

2. Routine u/s scans with detail scan at 5th month

3. Routine Urine Test

4. Routine Vits and calcium tablets.

Hope this helps. I did a calculation which my next visit for FTS will be at the 11th week. They will see on the 15th week and on the 20th week, they will offer me the package if everything turns out to be alrite.

Faithnhope, charmaine,

Yes, i know folic acid is essential. I will take it from today onwards, die die must take. Hope still can make it.

If you ask me that you only have 2 scans, you are telling me that subsequent scans, you got to pay, u know? I think u better clarify with the clinic again.

@Jolin: If you scared you'll feel unwell you can try taking at night before you sleep. Though it's advised to take in morning after food but I guess from now till your ms goes off you can try to take at night.. At least you did take it. =)

Jolin, dun worry. During my 1st pregnancy, I'm also like u. Nvr take becos always can't remember. So I told myself that die die must take faithfully. if you start now, you are not too late.

Just called up my clinic and they told me to ignore the "2 u/s" as it's a typo. My package will include u/s for every visit till i deliver. So it's the same as my 1st pregnancy.

Valerie,

Yes, since MS kicked in, i tried to take folid acid twice if remember correctly. I took them at night before sleep, then next day i feel very uncomfortable.

Felpoo,

Your sharing is so much comforted to me. Thanks

felpoo, if your 5th mth detailed scan is included in your package, so you will be paying $420 for just oscar test? My oscar + 5th mth detailed scan total cost $420. I called up tmc and they said doing oscar alone cost $318.

felpoo, thanks for the breakdown. I guess maybe your oscar cost more ba. Different clinic different prices. I think one of the mummies ah ching posted in the earlier post that her oscar only cost $200 and i tot mine was ex at $318. Maybe you may want to ask your clinic how come your oscar is so ex? It's double of ah ching's oscar cost

hi!

regarding milk, my obgyn says you need one litre of fresh milk a day for best results. I cant stomach milk at the moment...so she prescribed one calcium pill a day. don't need to buy special milk powder.

Felpoo, yes inclusive of blood test. I'm doing both 3th n 5th mth detailed scans at tmc diagnostic imaging n xray centre. $420 is inclusive gst.

Faith,

do u noe y need to take urine test? Dr Fong asked u to go for Oscar test? I am seeing him next Monday. He didnt mention to me on urine and oscar test. I saw your post and realise he didnt tell me abt my bb heartbeat rate. U got the bb's photo from him every visit?

Hi Joy07, Samantha told me I will take the urine test at my next appointment, which by then, I'll be 12 weeks. Dr Fong hasn't mentioned those tests yet perhaps cos still early for now. I suppose he will mention at my next appointment ba... as for bb's heartbeat, I asked him then he showed me.. hehe.. yesterday was the first time I asked him for the scan photo (though it was very blur). When you see him next Mon, you can always ask him about the urine test, oscar tests, show you the bb's heartbeat and get copy of the scan.. hehe. How many weeks will you be next Mon?

Dear mums, im a 2010 April mum and i have the following items to let go,do pm me if you are interested.

1)4 pkts of Mother milk tea @ S7.50 each for mums who intend to breastfeed.(Pharmacy selling at $11.70)

2)1 bottle of GNC feenugreek @ $26.

for mums who intend to breastfeed(pharmacy selling at 29.00)

3)2 brandnew(125ml)avent bottles @ $26.(retail is 29.90)

4)1 pkt of good quality mothercare maternity pad at $16(retail is $18).I have some loose pads as well selling at $11.

5)BN evenflo milk storage bottle selling at $12(retail selling at 15.90)

6)pigeon air filled rubber mat@ $10 (retail selling at $13.90)

7) 4BN Tommy tipee bottles @ $22

please pm me thanks....

hi all.. so nice.. just sleep until now then wake up..

i very kiasu.. 1st visit i already sign up antenatal package.. up till nw been to 3 visits.. but i think the earlier u sign up the more money u save.. alot more..

Came back from tea time. Made a mistake of having red ruby. The coconut milk creating havoc in my stomach.

I am very tired. Eyes closing. Feel like sleeping.

Judy, i asked my gynae's nurse, she also said in general, the package starts from week 20 but subjected to the gynae's approval. I said 'wah, still need gynae's approval ah?' Then she said depends on whether there are complications, or if you have twins or more, etc. How come you can sign up so early? Have you pass your first trimester?

faithnhope: i worked till 6am this morning.. haha.. i dont knw leh, the nurse offered me the pkg. i think all thomson clinics have this.. cant rmb how much it was(hubby paid while i went toilet on the pee stick.. haha)they include ultrascan per visit, normal checkups, prenat pills and those supplements and also common illness like fever, flu, etc.. but dnt think it includes the oscar scanning.. misplaced that piece of paper..

neongoby: hmm.. is it? i dont knw.. but mine got complication at the start and i was put on duphaston leh. then the doctor wont make a loss meh? if i never take the pkg i would have already spent $400+, not including that time i went to take flu medicine.. my gynae is dr. adrian woodworth.. one thing i dont really like is his u/s photo very blur.. not everyone can be a photographer i guess. haha.

Faithnhope & Valerie,

Ya, one litre of milk IS a lot! That's one carton a day! I had to subsitute with hi-cal soy-milk and chocolate flavoured milk so I would not get so bored. Ay...I guess the doc was right, coz my boy was born a very healthy 3.7kg! So I will do the same starting 2nd trimester.

Irene, mummy ah ching also said her oscar cost $200 which will be done at gynae clinic

felpoo, I think yr gynae has over-marked up the oscar test. 50% of mine n 100% of irene's

Judy, if u/s photo is blur, is due to the machine (more advanced machine gv clearer images) not the gynae skill. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]