(2011/02) Feb 2011

Thanks ladies.. Your time to move to 2nd trimester is also coming soon.

Faith: this is not a proven fact though alot of ppl in the internet had mentioned. And the heart beat has to be comparatively high base on the weeks that you are in.

Valerie, let us know how's ur visit tmr morning. Yeah .. I always get excited during my checkup.

Charmaine, actually ur husband very considerate. Even if you are not working, ur hubby engages a maid for you. Not bad, unlike mine. I told him the other day that if I want to pay 3k for the confinement lady, I might as well get a maid. And the balance, I still can get confinement meal package. Guess what he says. If that's the case, he can get his mum to do the hsework and take care of the baby. But my MIL is alr 70+ with giddy spells. And I dun expect my MIL to wash my confinement clothes for me. Sigh .. anyway, it's a long story. Dun want to say so much.

Baywater, you better take care of yourself. But you seem rather chirpy though.

Actually, 2nd trimester only starts after the 14th week. Actually, all of us still considered 1st trimester. Why MS reduced or gone completely is our HCG might hv less fluctuation. Well, tht's my thots. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi felpoo, but you only need to commit the confinement lady for one month, whereas, maid is for long term and I believe with all the maid agents fee and whatever, the first payout will be more than $3k..

If your MIL's health is not good, better not trouble her also.. my mum is also not well so I won't ask her to help.

I thought 2nd trimester starts 13 weeks?

nope.. it's 14 weeks actually. Last time I also thot it was the 13th week. I wish I can faster go into 14th week. At least I know my pregnancy is safe.

I made a fast calculation that if I pay 1.8k to 2k to repay the loan for the maid and 500+ for insurance and all. And with the 170 levy per month, I think it's worth to get a maid than a confinement lady who stay with me only 1 month.

My last pregnancy after the CL went off after the 1st month, 2nd to 3rd month was hell. My wound recovered very slowly and was in pain most of the time. I am afraid I also can't cope during the 2nd pregnancy. My husband dun really help out and my MIL though staying with me, also can't help out much.

felpoo, my helper has been with us for more 1.5yrs and tat time when we employed her, i was working. It's only now i'm having terrible ms tat's why i'm not looking for a job.

Getting a CL has been agreed by both of us even before i got pregnant. The main reason why my hubby has decided that i must get a CL for my next pregnancy coz i kept falling sick (1-2x a month) after my 1st confinement. Tat time i handle everything myself (cooking, handling bb, total breastfeeding etc) but there are things tat i dun expect too. I never expect my wound will get infections, bb never cooperate to sleep after feed and dog so incooperative, always barking. I almost gave up breastfeeding and i had postnatal dep. Is this your 1st time you will be doing yr confinement? Having his mum helping you out is better than no help. In case bb cry, there is someone ard when you are busy cooking, go toilet, pumping milk, etc. You can consider getting a maid but you hv to be prepared to change maid if she dun work out.

Not trying to scare you but i got a terrible phobia from my last confinement and always constantly being sick. If getting enuff rest for 28days can earn me my good health for the rest of my life, i think it's worth it. Doing confinement alone is not impossible and can be done but you will be lacking enuff rest.

felpoo, if yr mil is staying with you, getting a maid is workable. Your mil can guide your maid wat to do during your confinement. But do get the maid before your edd coz there's time to teach her so that she is familiarize with the housechores or if the maid dun work out, you hv time to change to a better one.

Re: Baby's heart beating

During my last gynae visit, i only managed to hear the baby's heart beating, it's fast but i forgot to ask my gynae the beating rate (too excited).

But one thing i know is nowadays, my heart is beating strong and fast when MS kicked in. Sometimes when i lie down, i can even see the breast muscle moving as heart beating. Haha. Even my hubby noticed it.

@audrey: Thanks!! Can't wait to enter my 2nd trimester so that my ms will go off. I'm feeling so horrible everyday. =(

@felpoo: Sure! I'm very excited too! And though the last visit was 3 weeks ago, but the waiting time seems so long~

@Jolin: My heart is beating fast too. Even just a trip to the toilet will increase my heartbeat.

@charmaine: So far mine is 3 weeks. But don't know after tomorrow's visit when will be the next time she'll be seeing me.

Hi felpoo, me chirpy?! Thks I'm constantly being brainwash by my H. I consider myself lucky to be able to b preg, compare to those who hv b trying hard to conceive. So it's a blessing.

Moreover, the gyne say ms = healthy preg. More to celebrate not tat I like it.

Valerie, mine is on monthly basis. Realize that most is on bi-weekly basis. Waiting for my next appt on 23th then can tk up the antenatal package. Finally can stop paying $100 for each visit.

@charmaine: Actually I'd rather mine is bi-monthly. So that I can see my baby's growth more frequent. And can have the ultra scan photo. Hehe.. But true that it's quite ex for each visit. Mine is more than $100. =/

Faith, realized most also 2weeks basis.

Valerie, my gynae dun gv me the scan. He's a bit niao so must ask for it then he will gv.

@charmaine: Haha.. Why so niao.. But anyway I pay for the scan de.. It's not free... Haha! Expensive leh.. But my gynae will give me 2 lah. 1 close up with the heartbeat and 1 general..

For me, i first visited on 6th week to confirm pregnancy, then go back on 8th week, now waiting for 12th week before going back to see the gynae. I will be doing OSCAR before seeing him. I heard initially is bi-weekly, then once the gynae deem ur pregnancy ok then become monthly, come 3rd trimester then become more frequent again. Is it true?

Charmaine, I had done my last confinement and it turned out to be a nitemare. Anyway, that's a long story.

The money you pay for each visit includes the scan photo. He shld give it to you rather than you asking him for it.

Btw, has anyone produced colostrum yet? Mine started to come in last week when I went to squeeze the nipple area.

my gynae only chrg me consultation fee but will do scan for me every visit so I guess tat's y he nv gv me the scan. But he quite well-known for being niao coz even his staff n the nurses at the xray dept also tell me so haha

I also have to pay for the scan. $60 consultation, $60 scan, plus urine stick, GST... sigh... He will confirm give me the scan print out cos then he can charge me $60 mah. lol

@charmaine: Haha! Got money also don't want to earn. Don't know niao what. Next time remember to ask. Then you can keep all the photos in photo album or scrap book. Hehe.. I intend to do that lah. That's why I hope my visit can be more frequent so that I can "collect" more photos. Haha..

@Neongoby: Wah. My scan is $80. Can't remember how much is the consultation. Not cheap too. Cos the first time I went I paid $197. For consultation, scan, folic acid & vomiting medicine. I only remember the scan cos I find it very ex. Lol.

Neongoby, my gynae chrg me $70 for consultation every visit. My last bill was $75 coz I nv tk medicine. So I guess he niao to gv me the scan.

Felpoo, hope yr next confinement will be better. U hv colostrum oredi? Will our breasts start to leak be4 delivery?

charmaine, how much is your consultation fee? mine is $50 and scan is $70. so, minimally $120 every visit excluding progesterone pills.

neon, urine stick also charge ar? so small and like litmus paper haha! The clinic nurse said I need to do urine test during my next appointment.. aiyo.. one more item to pay hahah!!

my first consultation also ard your price. First consultation is $100, cos he talked longer with me n hubby, he also gave me folic acid. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

3 more weeks b4 i get to see my BB again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I wonder if my gynae can see the gender at 12th weeks, donno if he will tell me even if he knows

faithnhope, all the preggies visiting him every time, when they enter the clinic, automatically they will take the urine stick to pee, then take their own weight and report to the nurse, very self service one. Yes the urine stick cost $8! I forgot to ask what the urine stick is for.

Neon, no need to buy folic acid from gynae one.. can just get from pharmacy. I get mine from NTUC pharmacy. 100 tablets for $2+ only.

Don't worry abt gender yet yah..

@Neongoby: Talk longer will charge more? Ah.. I didn't know that.. I thought it's fixed.. Hope subsequent visits my consultation fees will be cheaper. Hee.. Wonder if I can request to see her every 2 weeks. Don't know if she'll tell me there isn't a need to be so frequent. =/

@faithnhope: The one gynae gives comes with vit B6. It helps with the nauseous. Though I still get nauseous feeling. But I think tomorrow I'll ask her to give me another month's supply. I very scared I'll start vomit very badly if I take those normal folic acid. =(

Neon, for the clinic I'm gg, they only ask preggies to use pee stick after 1st trimester, including weight etc also after 1st trimester.

Valerie, ya wonder y he nv chrg me for scan but also gd coz I pay less hehe! 1st pregnancy I always nv ask for the scan photo so now for every visit I will ask for it so tat he will gv. Yr gynae is ex! Do u always pay so much for every visit?

Neongoby, yr gynae chrg u for folic acid? If 12wks can't see gender, u can try 15-16wk

oh too late, i stupidly got the 2nd batch of folic acid (florxine) from him last week [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] each time is 1 mth supply.

Faith, does ntuc have pharmacy? I also want to buy folic acid at the pharmacy coz my gynae chrg me for it. But I nv see any pharmacy be4 inside ntuc?

Charmaine - yes ... 2nd tri, not yet, this friday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baywater - For nauseous, drink both of this will be good.

Hmm, my heart beat faster too.... my hubby actually can hear 2 heart beat from the pulse of my hand... he heard it ytd nite

@charmaine: Ya, I was quite shock when I see my bill cos I never expect it to be so ex. Tomorrow is my 2nd visit. Will let you know how much I pay for it. Haha! Btw some NTUC have pharmacy inside. The NTUC Healthcare. I also bought 100 tablets for $2+ but I have not taken it cos I scared I will feel very nauseous cos the folic acid is without Vitamin B6.

@audrey: Sometimes I can feel I have 2 heartbeat too! That's when my heartbeat is very fast. Like got rhythm one. Hehe..

Yes Charmaine, need to pay for the folic acid, nothing is free [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Although i hope my first one is a boy, but everynite i will pray that my BB is growing healthily, that is most impt. Anyway, the gender is already determined at conception, cannot change already. No matter what, it's still my BB [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

haha so amazing... whoohoo. he heard it n look at me ... n place his ear on my tummy.. lol.. he finally can feel his existance....

Audrey and Valerie, my heart also beat faster too! I read that our hearts needs to pump more blood now that we got BBs, mmm interesting that you can detect 2 heartbeats. I shall go home n try [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Neongoby - oh mine i am very excited ytd... hahah u should try and see have 2 heartbeat ma.. i am very touched and drop tear...

Valerie, i'm okie if it's w/o Vit B6 coz 100 tablets for $2+ is cheap. Wonder if i can get it over the counter from any pharmacy.

Neongoby, ya my gynae also charge for folic acid. Nothing is free at his clinic tat's y he's known for being niao hehe.

No prob, charmaine. Sorry to have confused you cos I couldn't remember the name off my head when I wrote the initial message then I searched on internet and remember the name Unity hehe..

Hi ladies, today i m feeling better ...but still got alot of gas inside my stomach haiz..oh ya the ginger drink is useful to me..i drank a glass of the instant one, the burping part cut down and i can breathe smoothly at night..ladies maybe those with alot of gas inside may want to try this remedy..it helps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

charmaine, in fact, you can get folic acid from Watsons, Guardian or other health products stores like GNC etc too, depending if you have a particular brand in mind. If not, house brand will be fine. But do get the 5mg ones. When I was TTC (on my own, haven't seen any gynae yet), I bought from GNC and I took only 400mcg, but later I found out from gynae that 400mcg is not sufficient. In any case, any excess folic acid will be passed out through pee.