(2011/02) Feb 2011

oh gosh gals.. I am in HR, but am very professional (cross my heart)

My in-laws also forbid maid.

My mil is a housewife and she takes her role with pride that she serve the family well.

Anyway, there's no extra room for maid too. I am residing with my in-laws tgt with my 2 sils in a EA unit with 4 bedrooms. Don't think my sils will want to give up their bedroom for the maid.

My boy will have to go full time CC onces bb arrive. Currently, he is attending half day session. Really heart pain coz given now he attends half day school, will get flu quite often. Haizz. I dare not think if engaged him in full day CC.

@valerie: and u have to resisting the tempation to take mc to jus slp right? heee i had a hard time resisting today! will eating before slp be better ?

felpoo: inspiration ? omg..i cant imagine the dirty toliet bowl..or find those cooking smell..maybe can tigger..sometimes when i keep gagging and i cant get it out and i know it hard to cmoe out, i will have to force it out..if not i be so xin ku..

judy: endure yea..hope abt this ball thing u can not work so latee.

eviangal: your company benefits very good leh...maybe i go check if mine does..

@eviangal: Mine also not covered. But can claim through medisave. Hehe.. Actually after claming the amount that you pay for is not really a lot...

@Neongoby: I've asked my friend, awaiting her reply. Will keep you informed! =)

Btw, anyone out there got take pictures of your stomach? I take it every week to show the progress and load it in my Facebook. Anyway, just to keep it as a memoir. This is going to be the last time I will ever have a chance to do so.

Morning all!

Regarding weight loss, I weighed less than before after the birth of my son. No exercise needed, coz the baby will keep you very very busy! OH i also BF for 4 mths.

Jolin,

Why don't you just take one day at a time now. You are have a terrible time with your MS, so maybe not in the best frame of mind to decide whether to quit or not. Decide later...chill for now!

when i told one of my boss(i have 2 bosses) about my pregnancy, i was also expecting him to keep quiet about it cos i was pretty pantang about the 1st trimester superstition.. plus, i just found out and wasnt ready to be fussed over or looked differently upon.. suay suay on the day i told my boss we had a company lunch cos 2 of my colleagues leaving.. so my boss big mouth suddenly turn to me and announced out loud, "ok guys judy has a piece of news for all of u". of cos i was shocked cos i never expected to tell ppl yet.. and its harder if i have to tell people from my own mouth.. somehow i find it more paiseh.. so i told my boss, "huh what?" and he said, "tell them about ur pregnancy!".. i got no choice but to tell also.. of cos many surprised looks from my other colleagues cos i just got married in april blah blah..

so i understand how u feel fiona.. haha..

I have this stupid idea, that is moving to JB. I think the living cost there should be much more lower than SG, then i can survive with single income from hubby, hahah

@Amazing Miracle: Ya!!! I was thinking can I don't go work.. Then I can have long weekend. LOL. But pai seh lah. Haha! I every night eat before I sleep. At around 9pm I would have been hungry. I will eat then go to bed. But at 1 plus I'll still automatic wake up. Either go toilet first, then hungry, or hungry, while waiting to eat, go toilet. Lol. It's like a routine lor.. And then daytime at work I will be super tired.

cecilia, you had GA c-sec? Can you tell me more about the saline thing which was absorbed by your body? Coz i'll be opting for c-sec this round.

Caretaker vs infantcare/cc - the biggest difference is you dun need to take leave when your child is sick if you placed with caretaker.

sweetie, there are many ways to lose weight. Of coz the most healthiest way is thru exercise and healthy diet. This method sure won't have your weight bounced back de. Breastfeeding also a v good way to lose weight.

fiona, women who nv got associated with pregnancy is v ignorant. Dun let them affect you. V good example is you can always see those v well-dressed ladies who seated at priority seats and dun give up their seats when required.

My hubby was very nice to me yesterday. No quarrel. Maybe becoz i kept quiet most of the times and he must be wondering why. Bought dinner for me some more. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BPC, dun worry. Usually, attending child care you will need to cater 6 - 9 mths for your child to get used of the environment. Mine also fall sick regularly. Maybe once or twice every fortnightly. After that, everything will be fine. And you will be amazed that actually children who attend childcare for the whole day actually can build up stronger antibodies for themselves. Errmm.. provided that you dun enrol them in childcare with aircon.

@Judy: Wah you so fast got pregnant. You don't want 二人世界 first? Hehe.. But your boss very char bo leh. So big mouth. If you want to let them know you will tell mah. No need him to be so "kind hearted".

@Jolin: But JB very dangerous leh. Actually I thought of moving into Ipoh too. Wahahaha.. Cos my mum is from there and my relatives stay there. The food there is so much cheaper and yummy too. I think I will eat until 白白胖胖. Hehe..

jolin, guess wat? I too ever had the intention of moving to JB, but when i'm old and the kids are grown up. Get a hse by the beach and be a farmer, hahaha. The pace is so much slower there compared to SG.

bigflamingo,

Agree with you. Most likely it is the MS effect that pushes me to keep thinking of resigning from my current job, but hor, i sometimes also think that, i've been working for years and really wish for a short break. I envy my friend who can afford to be SAHM or take a few months break before looking for other job after resign.

Initially, i want to take 1 month unpaid leave to pass this MS period, but i can't do that, cos i am the only admin cum hr cum a bit part of account staff in my company. So sad [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Haha Judy, I didn't expect male (boss) to be so "ba gua" too hahaha!!

Jolin, though the living cost may be lower than Sgp, do you already have a property to stay? Will ur hb continue to work in Sgp? If so, I think it's very tiring to travel to-and-fro Sgp and JB everyday leh... that's why I "pei fu" those malaysian workers esp those on bikes travelling everyday, and have to put up with exhaust fumes at the customs...

Valerie,

JB is nearer to SG mah. Though staying there, i still wish my kid to attend school in SG, hehe.

Charmaine,

Me too leh, i also wish to retire at somewhere else, not SG. I love slow pace living style. Everybody is not rushing, just relax relax, walk slowly, travel by bycycle or motorcycle, hahah.

Sometimes i think i am more suitable to live in 60s - 80s era. Haha

faithnhope,

That's my wishful thinking only lah, haha.

My husband will never agree on it. He doesn't like Malaysia, especially JB. He said the place is dangerous, criminal rate high. i don't even ever go to Malaysia with my husband since knowing him. Oh, there's once, but was on business trip and went together with his boss and colleagues

charmaine: she is one of those dun give up sit to pregnant woman de lo..

cuz we r sitting the same bus to work..

den when she see me she just dun care..

Hi faithnhope

like the rest, I support u not gg just to play safe. I did the same when I'm expecting my darling. It's my hubby's close friend n I've to insist n give reasoning to him for not gg. ;) demand for my rites n protect my Bb ;)

Hihi Like BCP, I'm used to b a HR too ( late dated apr 10) lol unfortunately, everyone can b a HR personnel but not all r goods. Sometimes, Ive seem hr staff who is careless with the info they handle as they r immune to it n some lack a little eq n pr skills.

felpoo, my boy attends non-air con CC and am glad for choosing that. As I have childhood asthma myself, so I'm very afraid that my boy will follow my footstep. He has bronchitis past 2 weeks and now is on ventolin pump (monitoring phase), hope can be "discharge" of it soon.

My mil heart pain to enroll him full day CC, that's why still in half day for Nursery 1. I think he enjoys the company of his friends and teachers, so full day shld not pose a big problem.

Jolin, are you able to check with your boss is it possible for you to work on part time basis (every am/pm) for this 1 month till you tie over your MS?

I'm not sure are you able to work from home?

valerie, ya was happy yesterday. Hope he'll understand wat i'm going thru.

Jolin, i love slow pace living lifestyle too but maybe when i'm older. I still believe in having a job while i'm still young, life will be more fulfilling and we contribute to the society too. Being SAHM is possible - either you save hard now and have sufficient savings to put aside for a rainy day or yr hubby earns enuff or simply just downgrading your lifestyle.

Hihi Valerie

How I envy u. Now the word 'food' or anything associate to it make me puke

Hi Neongoby

is there anyone helping to take care besides sending ur Bb to childcare/ nanny? the Bb will b subjected to virus in the Childcare.

BPC: heehee.. never mind..

i go ask my friend see who wan to go with me.. :p

charmaine: wait until she pregnant, i think i won't be working in this company le...

Anyone has metallic taste on the tongue??? Any advise how to curb or reduce it? No matter how i scrap my tongue of brush my teeth, the metallic thingy is still there, very Gao Wei.

Hi Jolin

it's a big decision to make switching from working mum to SAHM.

After working hard for many yrs, I reached a comfortable salary, spend on things I like for the family n myself. (base on my own standard. )

it never come to me tat I'll b a SAHM throughout my 2.5 yrs as a mummy even though I've to send my girl from my house to my mil's every morning n rush to bring her back in the nites n 99% of the time, papa is MIA. Plus all the nite breastfeeding n expression. Each nite, I've only abt 3-4 hrs sleep

It's only after she start falling sick n it's make me heartache to c her in pain tat I've decided to stay off the labour mkt for a while nursing her back to b a health girl b4 thinking of being employed again.

baywater,

me too, me too,

I will stare at my husband if he asked me to eat or suggest food, haha

BCP,

Yes, actually when i informed my boss about my pregnancy, my boss is very supportive and gave me the green light to work from home if necessary. But working from home is quite inconvenient also as the documents and mails are all in office. Hence, i tried to come to office whenever i can. Beside food, i think i also phobia in travelling. From Boon Lay mrt to Clementi mrt, sometimes i still need to alight at the mrt station in between to take some rest before continue the journey. After that, need to take cab to my office (my office is at Bukit Timah). The travelling cost has increased so much since the MS kicked in. But i have no choice leh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Charmaine,

Many times my husband told me that there is always a choice. If i really don't like my current job or feeling very stressed, i can always quit my job. And whenvever i am bored of being SAHM, i can always return to job market. And i feel more comforted after hearing that.

At least it's not the end for me. I always have a choice. It's all up to us

valerie: haha my boss abit the gay gay kind.. haha.. i also want to have 'er ren shi jie' but never expect one time to kena goal. my baby was conceived on our wedding night cos that was the only night we never use protection mah and never expect to goal cos i thought not my ovulation date also. our family planning was to TTC 2 years later cos our income not very stable.. i guess this baby is the wedding present for us lah. haha.

Even though I miss my work, my joy of delivering my projects to my bosses n being appreciated for it

Now, lol no one appreciate my contribution, my gg is treating me as her toy, n papa is now happily concentrating in his work cos I'm at home, holding the fort.

Especially now with the ms, being a crazy gal, I think I'll b better off working at least my mind is off the toilet bowl n the dizzy spells n the out of breath

lastly all the working mummies n MTB add oil

jolin, your hubby is v nice n supportive. Actually, my current financial situation is v tight now tat i'm not working but my hubby also never rush me to get a job now. He just wants me to rest well and be happy during this terrible ms period. Your boss seems like a v nice person. I will hang on if i were you. Coz if you really quit your job, then when your ms subside, you will find bored at home and by then it's more difficult to find a temp job coz pregnant. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baywater,

True, it's indeed a big decision to make.

In fact, i also never think of becoming a SAHM, i don't even think that i would have baby or become pregnant.

I am not going to be SAHM permanently lah. I am just thinking of taking break of 1 - 2 years to take care of baby and return to workforce again after that. But even only 1 - 2 years time, is quite a worry for me. Wonder how we are going to cope with the expenses. We have no car, but just got a house. Sigh...

Hi Charmaine,

I actually wanted a natural delivery, but due to cannot dahan pain, opted for epidural. Once Epidural, they will need to run N/Saline to hydrate yr body, and that urine catherization will be done to ensure that u have lots of urine output. Who knows my baby was too big, and she being pressing on my bladder, therefore my urine cannot be drain out. So all the N/Saline bloated up in my body tissue due to that. I had a tough time then, from epidural delivery to epidural c-sect then finally full GA.

Full GA will definately also need N/saline to hydrate you. But if you have normal urine output should be fine de.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Shouldn be much of a worry. Hope everything turns out fine for you.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Think I'm just the unlucky one. Till the extend that my dh have to go out of my cubicle and read that it's really my name that he confirmed that I'm his wife.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi jolin, I agree with charmaine, gd bosses r hard to come by. If can tahan, tahan first. Wait for the 4 mths ml ;) use the ml to try out mummy life.

Resting is gd as it prepare u for more things ahead. Tat y I resign in the first place. But I did hv the rest I tot I can hv. I'm a poor time management person at home. Haha

hi Charmaine, u become SAHM too?

Cecilia, thanks for the detailed explanation. Sorry to hear wat happened.

Baywater, I tested positive 1day after I left my company. So lucky huh? Currently Sahm till this giddy/ms subsides then will start looking 4 temp jobs.

Charmaine, Baywater,

Yes, my boss is a very nice person. He is kind and chin cai to every staff one. I feel bless to be able to work here also. That's one of the reason that makes me hestitate to leave my job.

I will see how first la, if can tahan, i will tahan. If can't tahan, then bo phian also. Haha

Today is a day when I feel like dying. Until now, I still can't vomit out and my stomach is already feeling queasy.

Felpoo,

Are you feeling your stomach is fulled of gas?

My friend told me that having 100plus drink can help to burp the gas out.

Charmaine, ur Bb know when to let know know he/ her is here n provide u with lots of resting period [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

relax, things will fall in places. At least u hv a supportive family behind u;)

@Fiona: I don't mind the peng kang smell. But I don't like to go seoul garden cos I always kenna 喷by the oil.

@Baywater: Jia you~ The sickness will be gone soon and then you'll be eating double. Maybe try eating something sour? And eat slowly cos digestion is very slow..

@Judy: No wonder lah! Gay very kpo and like to gossip one. Haha!

I'm so tired now. Just now I went to dig and photocopy a lot of invoices. Keep standing, squatting, sitting and take files. I'm so hungry now. But lunch time is approaching.. Argh.. Should I eat now... =(

@Neongoby: Btw the childcare that my friend send her kids to is in Harbourfront. It's called Cheriehearts.

Hi Valarie, I've bad gastric n is not able to take anything sour. From orange to lemon.

I've tried Ginger suggested by some mummies. It just not working. I'm just praying tat it will get better as time passes.

Trying hard to keep myself occupied to avoiding thinking/ missing toilet bowl

@baywater: Is your folic acid together with vit B6? Cos I think it helps and maybe you can ask from your gynae for some naseous medicine. Mine gave me and asked me to eat half an hour before eating. Cos I used to vomit a lot. Even water. But I hardly take tat medicine cos it cause drowsiness...

baywater, ya my bb sure noe coz 1st pregnancy i also got pregnant after i quit my job. So coincidence.

Ginger tea/sweets dun work for me too. My gastric will be very bad if i take any food that's acidic and i can't take my favourite spicy food as well. I can only take plain/soupy stuff.

Btw, anyone here with 1st/2nd child - can your kid/s sense that you are pregnant even before you told them? The same day i tested positive, my son will lying on my stomach and he say "mummy, got bb inside" Both me and my husband were so shocked coz we have not tell him yet.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

long time no post... I also wish to take some ginger tea but dun like the smell or taste.

Thanks Baywater for suggesting to take with sweet potato soup! :>

Happy weekend all!