(2011/02) Feb 2011

Faith, nowadays Malay families r earning alot too. I think it's more on wat lifestyles the parents want to lead n wat the parents want to give to yr kids. My neighbour has 3 kids n surviving on her hubby's single income as driver. She dun gv them branded milk powder like friso, similac when they r young - she gv them nespray. Her kids dun go kindergarden too. For me, infant formula milk is necessary n so is kindergarden education. I can do away with shopping n other personal expenses but not deprived of giving wat my child needs.

Amazing Miracle, I think you refer to the wrong person isit.. hehe.. my gynae is Dr Fong, not Dr Ang... I'm also feeling sleepy and looking forward to going home..

Was hungry and went to buy a char siew bao to eat haha!

Welcome baywater, rest as much as you can. It's your privilege!

Audrey, take yr meal on time today? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

welcome baywater, Sorry I'm curious. Yr gynae ask u to bedrest due to ms?

You're right, Charmaine, about the things we want to give to our kids. I think there are more affluent chinese families, and hence they are also more concerned with giving the child the best they could.

Charmaine ... hav a quick sandwich on the cab... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hahah but think the car is moving, eat also feel like vomit out.. -_-

many thks for the welcome ;)

hi charmaine, my gyne is Paul Tseng from TMC. Hv being vomiting non-stop, dizzy spelling n I must look like a ghost when I visited him yesterday. Lol

charmaine:I was 58kg before #1 pregnant , then gain ard 18kg...before give birth was 76kg...so within the 6months i reach 58kg lor...in fact was shred within first 3month

scary hor!

baywater479240: welcome!! let me know ur EDD later k...will go update table [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just rest and chit chat with us ba... else be bored staying in bed/home.. heheee

Thks choc ;) I'm already feeling very bore. Lol

n Choc u lost 18kg within 3 mths? Wat did u do? I took me abt 8 mths to go back to my org size tat after 8 mths of full breastmilk to my darling.

baywater....i didnt do much leh... i take care baby, latch on or pump milk every 2 hourly...

do some simple housework...maybe stress ba...

yeah...coz when i go back to work, back to normal weight..just waistline abit thicker nia...

i got record down mah...so quite sure the loss was in fact within 3 months...but after that i went exercise abit lor...etc...

u bored can go spree or BP section mah... lol...alot to buy...

hi all!! this thread is moving so fast n couldn't reali catch up on everything!

have been soo bz last weekend. Brought my boi on his 1st 'overseas' trip to Malaysia! hehhe...

come back then bz preparing for his 1st bday....aiyo...sooo tired til sick of feeling tired also!! haha...

choc, great job at the tabulation. Could u please update my info too?

Gynae: Dr Lawrence Ang

Hosp: TMC

Child: 2

tks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Su (ducki),

Yr baby also turning 1 soon? Mine too. This months 19 will be her 1st bday.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] When's yr EDD?

Baywater, oic. Take lotsa care n rest well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] bored n come here n chat with us.

choc, scary coz u lost all 18kg in 3 mths haha!

Hi choco, sure hope I can do lots of shopping at the spree n bulk n my papa wld kill me. Cos i've stop working to take care of my girl whose health need lot of tlc n when i'm really to go back, I'm preg. So I'm struck being a SAHM for another yr with no personal income. 

hi charmaine, I'll definitely b active ;)

by the way, any mummies/ Mtb know where I can get disney princess cake, my girl's bday is coming n I dun think I'm in the condition to bake her a cake as promise. 

Welcome baywater!

I went Guardian to get the sea band, hopefully it works! my nausea is getting worse, i hope this is not the beginning of getting worse!!! I am already close to 9 weeks, will my MS gets worse? nooooo.....

have a good rest Mummies, talk again tomorrow! yay! its friday!

Hi mummies, half a day gone and when I came back to the thread, I almost lost my way.. So many posts and now I am using MS word to write my post [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

To sum up my afternoon trip, the divination lot very accurate and it's a good lot [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and I managed to eat my waffle but not steamboat. That was because I was so tired that I fell asleep on my friend while eating the waffle. Then the giddy spell kicks in. I don't dare to take any cabs anymore as it's becoming a bottomless pit in my pockets [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ω Judy : For a moment, I thought you are working as a punter for the gamblers. I just can’t imagine how you can work until that ungodly hour. I think if I am you, I think I would have drop dead on the table. And are you still in the office now?

Ω pootz : Haha .. Queen, I can’t say much on that. We’re just some common folks and not like those HK celebrities or tycoons where they need heirs for descendants. Those women are the queen. Did you see Cecilia Cheung’s confinement meal list? I see until I salivate.

Ω evian : I stay in Simei thus I need to apply for the PV. I wasn’t a alumni in St. Hilda’s. Anyway, the primary schools that my hubby and I both attended are closed down alr.. Haha.. Most probably, I will get the school bus for my girl then. There aren’t much good schools around Simei area. And being 2xKS parents, we want our girl to start in a school with good influence and foundation.

The age gap was 4. But 2 years ago, I was pregnant but miscarried. So 2 years later, out popped another. I do agree with you with additional child, it’s going to bring a lot of joy to the family and lesser “attention” from my husband because he likes to nag at me. So with a baby, he will focus more on the 2nd child.. hehe..

Ω charmaine : No wonder, he’s very stressed now. I remembered last time when my hubby quarreled with me, he mentioned that he didn’t like to come home to see my crying or having black face. And I ended up crying even louder.. Don’t worry, your husband’s temper will gradually change when he gets older. Anyway, every hsehold has their problems. I see you good, you see me good.

Ω audrey : I think you better don’t try to intake food when you are in the car. I tried that a few times and ended up vomiting out all contents upon reaching the office.

Ω baywater : Disney princess sounds familiar. I think you can get it at Swensen.. You may try bengawan solo. I think more varieties. Below is the link.

http://www.bengawansolo.com.sg/creamcakes_kids_disney.aspx

Ω fiona : I understand what you mean. I wanted to get a maid too but my mil doesn’t like it. Sigh.. my husband’s side all disagreed and even to the extent, when my parents see me suffering from the anxiety of rushing home to do hsework, they even offered to pay for the maid and all her expenses. And because of this, situation got very ugly. Many years back, he mentioned if we are having the 2nd child, he will engage a maid. But until now, not a single word from him. I'm still waiting..

Btw, this HR girl you are referring to is your HR manager or executive? Have you disclosed you pregnancy yet?

When I see that a lot of you guys gain weight during pregnancy, how envious I am. Because of my gestational diabetics, my diet was strictly controlled. I only gained 10 kg and lost it within 2 weeks after delivery. Breastfeeding helps as it helps the womb to contract back faster to the normal size and you guys won’t believe how my stomach looked back then. Stomach usually is flat but mine totally caved in and it looked very anorexic. I think partly I was very stressed back then, because of the problems between my MIL and CL. Now, I am thinner than my pregnancy days. So I tell myself, this time round, die die must gorge myself until I gain at least 15 kg.

Dear ladies, thanks for ur concern [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm back to work today after resting for 3 days. Still a bit of discharge but it's much lesser than before.

I really envy sahm whom can take care of your children during their first few years. It sure is an enjoyable n fulfilling experience to see then from crying babies to first few steps n then to talking toddler. I certainly have miss too much of my first son development but I'm glad he tells me he love me everyday. Now that tge second baby is on the way, n my maid will b taking care of this baby, I'm sure he or she gonna b sticky to her. Sigh. Really don't like this feeling but I have way too much commitment to give up my job.

Ladies just wonder hw to keep slim after confinement ?must do regular exercise /dieting?anyother ways?me so worried i cant maintain my original weightb4 birth?is malay massage lady useful? do the massage help to keep slim ?n is it c section birth difficult to slim dwn afterbirth coz this is myfirst pregnant i m very worried i cant slim down n oso how long after birth can go n do normal exercising like jogging n badminton or even gym ?

Good morning babes,

TGIF... yeah!!!

Yesterday out whole day interviewing, missed so much posts.

I need new clothes, all my bottoms are so tight despite my hb says they look fine on me. I think subconsiously I don't want to cramp my precious. Good reason to go shopping ya :þ

sweetie,

I shed all my weight from breast feeding and not eating well during my ML. I was 51kg before preggy, end of pregnancy around 68kg. But who knows, i suffered from very serious water retension as my baby was pressing onto my bladder. And u know what, I was shocked to see at least >10 pkts of Normal Saline went into my body without any urine. When I went into full GA, my whole body puff up due to the Normal Saline and I really look like a PIG.. All my body is so swollen even my eye-lid. My dh couldn't recognise me just 1.5 hours of post-operation. I had to wear my dh slipper during discharge. I was 76kg after delivery. Can you imagine how sad I was. Everyday cried during CF, but I almost lost all during my 1st month due to no appetite, and not enough of rest.

If u asked me, I find malay massage not very useful. Bcse I went through it, and I didn't shed any kg during the 7 sessions. I started shedding again after I stopped my massage and only when my mom personally sponge me with very very hot onion, ginger water for 1 month until all her finger nails cracked.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] (Now I feel like crying thinking of how wei da she is)

Now I'm abit tramatise by what I've been through that I worried everyday whether will it be the same for this delivery.. Boo Boo.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Vivian, glad to hear tht you r getting better with enough rest. My girl is taken care by my sil n initially I thot she will stick with my sil but you dun worry. End of the day, your child will be closest to you.

U just make sure when u come home, spend quality time with ur son n hv ur maid to do hse chores. At night, does ur son sleep with u?

I want to get a part time cleaner also tough as my mil dun like it, let alone mention a maid. So I always rush my hsework and so tht I can spend more time with my girl

sweetie wong: dun worry too much about the slimming part..

malay massage lady is very useful..

i use it for my first one too..

my first baby i took one month to get in my jean..

den 2nd month my weight is very near to my pre-pregnancy weight already..

before i get 2nd baby.. i was able to get lighter weight dan before..

so no worry.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] enjoy ur first pregnancy..

Fiona, hv u try to let the HR manager knw abt ur pregnancy? Anyway, u can try to ask the manager to keep the pregnancy a secret until ur pregnancy a bit stable before disclosing. But they hv to inform the management. Sorry, I didn't refer back to ur earlier post and if I m not wrong, are you the lady who just started work only a few months ago?

felpoo: i told the HR about my pregnancy already..

they go tell the whole company that i am pregnant..

ya.. i got this job on feb this yr..

den just got confirm on may..

but now really very tired n feel like staying at home n sleep..

Morning ladies~

Finally it's Friday and weekend is coming!!

I've been waking up at 1 plus every mid night to eat. *sigh* At this rate I'll be super tired everyday at work. =(

Morning all, TGIF!

My friend also said BF is the best way to slim down. Well, for a start, I didn't think she put on a lot of weight during her pregnancy lah, but after she gave birth, she said she could eat all and whatever she wants without gaining weight.

Ask you girls ar.. I was planning to go chalet tmrw but the host and his son have just recovered from HFMD. Is it safe for me to go or should I avoid?

Good morning mummies...

I am still deciding when to tell my boss.... hee hee, shall go and check my HR policy if i need to 'report' my pregnancy and when to do so.

faithnhope - if u ask me, i will be kiasu and not go at all, maybe bcos i m a first time mother, a bit anxious, can avoid i will avoid, don't want to take any chances.

Unless you are really close to the host, maybe just go and show face and leave early?

hey bay water...welcome!! hoe your bad ms goes off soon! as recommend by some mummies try some ginger tea or crackers before getting up from bed..=))

faith: if me i also will be a bit kiasu and will not go ba..since they just recovered...

Valeria: wah 1 plus...can u slp well after that? mind sharing wat u eat?? if im hungry at late hrs, my mind only filled with spicy tom yam maggie mee..and i dont want eat too much of that..

Fiona: wah that HR really "efficent" to help u spread leh..

neongoby: for me i tell my direct boss and another supervisor she being a mother of 2 she say she can sense and ask me abt that..otherwise i only told another 2 colleagues..if your job is hectic and need u to run ard, its good to tell yr boss and some may be more than understanding..

sweetie wong: i also scare of not being to go back to my orginal weight..but like fiona suggested i will sure source for a malay massage to help me on that..

cecelia: hope this one will be different from your previous experience! =)) everything be fine!

BPC: haa..since week 7 i stop wearing my usual office wear cause i scare its too tight for the stomach area..heee...and its seem tight to wear now.like u im finding excuses to buy too..aha..but now still no mood to go shopping..

vivian: hoe u have a good rest! rem dont carry heavy things..

mummies!! have a good friday !!

Fiona: Your child is in childcare now?

Neongoby: I think infant care is still cheaper than hiring a caretaker. My fren is passing her baby to a neighbour to care for her after her maternity.. And it costs $700 per month. I think infant care after subsidy is around $600 per month.. Not sure..

Just did a research on childcare, gonna cost me $400 per month after subsidy lorz.. Getting the centre at Sembawang shopping centre area.. Need to pay for school bus somemore.

Felpoo: St Hildas is a good school. It would be good if you could enrol your girl there. Taking school bus is not an issue. I used to stay in Simei too and was ferried to school via school bus. When your gal is older.. You can entrust her to take the public bus by then..

4 years gap should be ok too la.. My bro and I are 3 years apart. Hopefully you get a boy this time. Great combination!

Mummies, do keep us posted when you learnt of your babies gender ya.. I heard from my frens some gynaes can tell gender (esp boys) as early as 11 weeks.

Dual income: Agreed that dual income is essential in today's society.. My current income and hb's income alone is just nice to cover for our monthly expenses and some savings.. Especially with a car in tow and childcare on the way.. We need to rely on bonuses for extra stuff like holidays and stuff.. Cant imagine the additional expenses with no 2 on the way..

Cant afford to quit my job at any point in time now.. Even though I cant see my daughter several times a week. Or we need to keep ferrying her from 1 house to another.. but its still better than me giving up my job.. Cant afford it at the moment..

Fiona - your HR is not professional at all, how can they go and tell the whole company you are pregnant?

Valerie, actually it is good that you have appetite to eat, but don't eat so much maggie mee hor. Maybe you can try drinking milk just b4 you go to sleep, then you won't wake up in the middle of the night to look for food? ;)

@Amazing Miracle: After eating I can only sleep back at 2 plus, then 6 plus have to wake up. I'm so tired~~~ =( Oh, the day before my hubby cooked tom yam maggi mee cos I really crave for the tom yam. Haha.. Then last night when I was awake he happened to be cooking pasta. Haha! Right timing hor? =p

Oh my sister-in-law had this Chinese lady to massage her tummy for her. 10 sessions. And she said can already see the effect on the 1st session. Cos after massaging she'll wrap something around your tummy. So I guess the heat & sweating will cause the fats to burn off. Hehe.. I'm going to get that lady to massage for me too after I give birth. Heh.

eviangal: my girl is not in childcare yet..

next yr den she go in playgroup..

now she is staying with my mother..

miss her.. every now n den go see her..

neongoby: the HR dun knoe.. cuz she never pregnant before..

cannot blame her..

Valerie, I ate curry maggi mee yday. I tell you the taste and smell was divine! But eneded up with indigestion. It makes thing worse today when I woke up. Feel like puking.

Faith, I wouldn't want to go and worry sick myself. Does your friend knw you are pregnant? If so, she will understand as she herself was pregnant with child before thus she will know the risks.

Fiona, nowadays HR Dept ppl very terrible. Not very pro. anymore. You tell them something, they can help u to spread like wildfire. My HR here lagi worse. They can tell other colleagues who are very close to them, what is the salary their dept. ppl is taking.

BPC, same here. I stop wearing all the dress pants and dresses as I cannot stomach the tightness. Dun knw whether is pyschological or what. Wear too tight feel like vomitting.

eviangal - i told my hubby last nite that i want to stay at home to look after my bb for the first year, he is not tat agreeable cos we are really comfortable with our current dual income lifestyle, he is concerned about savings for our retirement, our child's education, insurances. If i cannot get back my current pay after i rejoin the workforce and get a much lower pay, can i accept? sigh... a bit sad after hearing but i guess that's reality lor.

anyway, on a positive side, i downloaded the My Baby Lite last night, it says i will be getting a ger ger.....let's see [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Neongoby: Ya, but I can't rest well by keep waking up to eat. =/ But actually also good lah. Train me. Next time baby wake up in the middle of night I also can wake up easily. Haha! =p Milk helps?? But I don't like milk, maybe I can try chocolate milk instead. Hehe.. Btw, my friend send both her baby and child to the same school. The school has both infant care and childcare. She said after government subsidy it's around 680 for the baby and around 550 for the child for whole day service..

Valerie - i think milk at least keeps u full, gives u some calcium too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

May I know which school did your friend send her baby to? I am trying to do some search, those that i found, whole-day infant care is about $1500 per month, luckily got govt subsidy...

Fiona: Same. My daughter is at my mother in law house now too.. Have to ferry her up and down over the week. Miss her badly when she is not at home.. But sometimes simply too tired to notice. Once touch bed, knock out liaoz.

How old is your daughter now? You have a playgroup in mind liaoz? I think there are quite a number at Wellington area.. My side is admiralty drive.. Not much within walking distance for me..

Neongoby: Ya.. Plus currently, company pays for our medical bills + we gets 4 months maternity after delivery.. Abit suffer now but bo bian lei.. reality... + after delivery company can help cover baby's medical bills too.. So plus points more than cons.. Except that abit more tiring la..

Any of your company pay part or full of your maternity bills at the moment?

eviangal: as early as 11weeks? im so excited to know!! heee..

Valerie: pasta..wah...that very good timing..your bb can smell it alrdy...but that leave u 4 hours to slp afterwhich..really tiring leh...bus or mrt can seats to slp /

felpoo: wah sharing of other pple salary that really bad leh..they r suppose to be the most confidential pple in the company..

@Amazing Miracle: Hannor. Don't really feel like waking up. Somemore when I wake up I can see lightning. My sister-in-law drives me to work everyday. But still very tiring during work.

"Ω Judy : For a moment, I thought you are working as a punter for the gamblers. I just can’t imagine how you can work until that ungodly hour. I think if I am you, I think I would have drop dead on the table. And are you still in the office now? "

haha felpoo.. yah sounds like i am a punter right.. accountant.. or 'accountant'.. then doing the world cup.. but no lah.. my company is in the media line and we are doing some animation thingy for worldcup.. and yes yesterday i stayed till midnight as well.. but its okay.. TGIF! lol..

Fiona, think ur HR person's EQ not very high ;p even though she is not married/hvn't been pregnant before, it's not very nice to make public announcement mah.. basic courtesy leh.. such things usu comes from the pregnant women's own mouth mah....

Neon, Amazing, felpoo, the host is actually my bro-in-law.. they don't know abt my pregnancy yet. HB and I decided I won't be gg, but hb will go lah.. to show face hahah! Afterall, his family lah, not so nice for both of us not to go...

I can't even touch anything which contains milk. My gynae told me it will worsen the nauseous. Now I feel very uncomfortable, trying to find the "inspiration" to vomit now. My stomach seems to have a lot of wind. Should go and find a dirty toilet bowl for inspiration!

i am also in dilemma of whether quit from my current job or not.

There is nobody to help me looking after my child after delivery. Plus my current condition (MS), i really wish to become SAHM yet i have so many commitment now.

My husband is going to further his study this year (commence in Aug) and the course period is about 4 - 5 years time. He is very stressed from his current job yet he daren't to make any move (resign) cos he thinks now the most important thing is to maintain the stability of his income monthly. Really quite heartpain for him.

Whenever i told him that i want to resign, he is very supportive. I really don't know what to do now. Part of me really wish to stay at home everyday, another part tells me to keep going on for the sake of family.

Argh.... headache, headache

Valerie, i am looking at Sembawang / Yishun and worse scenerio around town, i work around raffles area.

eviangal - My company doesn't pay a single cent for maternity bills, all the gynae consultation or delivery all not covered [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I don't think they pay for BB's medical bills, i must check on this...

eviangal: my girl just 18 month..

i got one playgroup in mind.. is just at my house downstair.. my little campus..

faithnhope: she never think de..

i think she wan to tell boss n let my boss kick me out of this company..

cuz she dun like me.. i also dun knoe y..

all the company ppl dun like her..

at first i also dun knoe y.. but now i know already..

she dun like girls that is younger dan her n not married..

n she hate ppl who like to doll up prettier dan her..

this is what i heard from my collegue..