(2011/02) Feb 2011

hi ladies, just for sharing, besides fish oil, you can try taking flexseeds oil.... its rich in omega 3 and has similar properties like fish oil but its exacted from flexseeds.

Normally,I'll mixed it with my oats and eat together. I feed my girl with it during her early bbhood as its good for her brain development ">

baywater,

I've done a lot of reading the last couple of months. If i am not wrong, it improves the blood circulation to the baby if you sleeps on your left.

Ourfirstbaby: You almost made me faint.. So ex?? Then what happens after 21 yrs? Throw?

Felpoo: I know you did your best to describe.. Haha.. Still trying hard to understand though.. Hehe.. Just now my hubby called and ask why I complain about him in the forum.. Then I told him what I said is true mah.. Haha.. He’s spot checking on me lor.. I have to be careful in my words.. Hehe..

Amazing: Thanks, will check out the website..

Zanta: Same here.. I stopped smoking right after confirming preggy at gynae.. Cheers.. We are Wei Da mummies.. Hehe..

always wanted to ask but kept forgetting, is it ok for us to go facial and in-hale essence oils??

Like so mummies here, I've out break of pimples and all the things around me seems to smell bad... thinking of getting some nice essence oils ">

Thanks baywater [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].. Want to compliment on my hubby too (since he is spot checking on me in the forum).. He quitted smoking with me.. Applause for him too.. Haha.. Fake right.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I like to sleep on my sides too, but never care whether it's left or right.. I love to put my hand under the pillow and sleep.. But I can never sleep on my back unless sound asleep then I dunno.. So what happens if we sleep more on the right??

baywater,

i also not very sure le.. haha

Preciousbabi,

are you singaporean? if so you can use your CDA to pay for cordblood storage. the salespeople from cordlife or stemcord will keep telling you it's effectively means 50% discount since it allows you to withdraw from your CDA but then if we do not use the CDA on cordblood storage we could had use the same money to pay for childcare or baby education so i think it's bullshit when they say it's 50% discount.

Ourfirstbaby: Yes, I'm a Singaporean.. I see.. Think I will need to understand the CDA part first before going into the cord blood.. Will read thru the website when free.. Thanks for the info.. You really have all info at your fingertips.. Applause for this daddy!

@preciousbabi: Hahaha! So your hubby does read the forum. I never tell my hubby I participate in forum. I only told him I read forum but never say which one. Lol~

Interesting posts. Thought I'd share my thoughts and philosophy regarding food restrictions in pregnancy. Both hubby and I are both doctors so we're quite scientific people, don't believe in old wives' tales. Both my parents and his parents are quite modern and don't really believe either, besides they think that since we are doctors we know what we are doing when it comes to this pregnancy. Hence I have basically been eating anything I want! No restriction on "cooling food" (not scientifically proven), coloured foods like mango/orange (definitely not scientifically proven!). My gynae even says that sashimi is ok since it deep sea fishes don't carry parasites, so I even eat sushi/sashimi! But of course I only eat very fresh, restaurant grade raw fish. Coffee I limit to 1 cup a day. The only thing I abstain from entirely is alcohol.

As for the hubby accompanying me for prenatal visits and at the delivery itself, it is a MUST!! But as we are both in the medical profession, we're both deeply interested in the welfare of our child and we make it a point to schedule all appointments and scans such that both of us can make it.

Valerie: If I know he will check then I won't tell him already.. Haha.. Too late now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@Cherry: Your hubby is so sweet!!! How I wish my hubby also can accompany me to every visit. =( All sashimi is okay? Even those raw squid?

Valerie: Very troublesome leh.. Then later I change already you all dunno me.. And also if he dun see me posting he sure ask me one lah.. Save the trouble.. Just need to be careful.. Hehe..

nearer the third trimester best not to use underwired bras cos it can cause blockage of milk ducts.

getting a gd breast pump is a real lifesaver lah. can also go check out the threads where babies are 1-3 months, see the mummies' feedback. I remember during my time, some mummies with single electric etc, went out to get a second dual electric pump, so more money spent in the end compared to if you got a good dual electric pump in the first place.

cherrygarcia

what's your take on cordblood storage? I have friends who told me that their doctor friends said that it's quite a ponzi scheme, not 100% proven that it's effective.

Aiyoh .. preciousbabi, what u r doing is extremely foolish man.. U kill me I also won't tell my hubby which forum I am in. He kept digging and each time I surf net at home, I will delete the history, cookies and temp files from the drive.

Cherry, it's so nice to hear someone supporting me on eating sashimi.. During my first PG, I was craving for sashimi and raw oysters. This time, the cravings have yet to come. But I think raw oysters must be prepared and washed thoroughly before eating.

Our first baby, errmm.. 1st child got CDA meh? I know 2nd one, you will have. So, can we use CDA for the 1st time payment? Feel a bit pinch just taking out a 1.6k [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Baywater, we can inhale essential oils but also depends whether will you feel nauseous. But applying essential oil on body is not recommended. I managed to get clearance from my gynae on tea tree oil for my face to hv the acne to clear up.

Sleeping on your side is best while you're pregnant. In particular, sleeping on your left side may benefit your baby by improving blood flow – and therefore nutrients – to the placenta. It also helps your kidneys efficiently eliminate waste products and fluids from your body, which in turn reduces swelling in your ankles, feet, and hands.

For me, I force myself every nite to sleep on the left side. But this way, hv to face my husband every nite which makes me very uncomfortable becos he will snore and blow his breath on my face. So I "accidentally" hit him on the face while pretending sleeping.. Hehe...

Serious? S***.. This govt always like tht.. When the birth rate starts to decline, then they will start to throw in the perks..

Same goes for their election.. When it's approaching, they will give cash payouts to entice the citizens to vote for them..

felpoo

thanks for the info, will take the burning type. ">

U so funny, on accidentally hitting ur hubby, haha, luckily, he doesn't know which forum u go to..haha

Felpoo, I would like to have father maternity package!!! 1 month enough liao, I'm not greedy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just wanna check if anyone is feeling the same as me?

im 12 weeks now and i feel terrible!!!!!! im still having morning sickness, esp at night.

i dun really gain weight but i feel like a hippo. Everyday i feel so floated and i feel my tummy stretching! and it feels like bursting? anyone feel this way?

i feel so depressed when i saw my breast. used to be pink and sweet. and now the nipples look like 80 year old indian granny

I tried to sign the cordlife talk but was told that it was full, they informed us that they had registered us for the next cordlife talk on 2nd October. I guess if you think it is too early in the pregnancy to sign cordlife, probably it will be better timing to attend the october talk instead.

Hi ladies long time din came in liao coz lately bz in wrk n the worst thng is i have got a bad toothache n nw my side face is very swollen i went to the dentist but the dentist dun dare to do anythng due to my pregnancy she just gve my antibotics but stil after eating the antibotics still no improvement the swell is still there so xin ku haiz wonder i can endure to next yr after birth then go and abstract my tooth haiz

felpoo

I think high time fathers got paternity leave, like our first baby said, one month (at least) please! last time they tok tok tok so much abt the role of father in parenting then when announcement, NOTHING for the dads! cheh. anti-climax.

my hubby took 2 weeks personal leave (to top up the measly 3 days paternity leave that he has now) and this time should be taking at least the same.

More cash? well, will be helpful. I don't mind if it goes into CDA, cos preschool/childcare can be really exp these days.

most crucial is care of the child. it's easy to have kids, but getting quality care for them is a nightmare. best case is mother stay at home, but if they want women to work, then gahmen must make sure there's very good quality childcare/preschool at affordable prices. currently, those that are affordable can be quite scary/lousy. those that are great, you probably have to mortgage your house to send your kid there. which leads to over-reliance on maids and all the maid problems.

good morning mummies! it's friday, yeah!

sweetie wong, make sure the antibiotics is safe for the baby,last week i got cough and flu, the doc decided not to give me antibiotics.

why don't u visit another dentist to see if they can do anything to sooth your toothache?

Morning mummies~

Today I started my day with vomiting twice. =( And I'm not feeling quite well now.. Though I'm eating breakfast.. =(

@felpoo: Hahaha! You very funny leh. But come to think of it I also accidentally hit my hubby twice on his face. But it's really accident lah. Lol~ Then can hear his "ouch". =p

I hope fathers can have paternity leave too. Then we can take care of the baby together, see the baby grow. What a joy! ^_^ And of course not forgetting waking up together in the middle of the night to pacify the baby. Lol~

mornin ladies!

Our_first_baby - same as me i sign up much earlier also need to go for the oct one..so will see u den!

val: opss..mus be a bad start for u...yr little baby demand a fri to be a rest day too..hee...u dont finish up the breakfast first just in case ...hope u gets better later...

yeaa! i agree! they should get paternity leave too..it get them more involve and pull in the bond!

sweetie: arg i hate toothache!is there other ways? or u can check up guardian paracmy is they have anything to help u feel better?

Good morning mummies.. It’s Friday!!

Felpoo: Actually I find it ok lah.. Still not too bad.. At least he gets to know what we talk about and learn from here also mah.. Rather than me going back to tell him what we chat about.. Haha.. You very funny lor.. So secretive one ah.. Your hubby must be so curious about what you do and who you talk to everyday in the forum lor.. And that’s a good one – hit him then pretend to be sleeping.. I must try someday.. Hehe..

I would propose all pregnant women work only 4 days week (or less)!! So we can get more rest.. Sat & Sun is really not enough especially for those with serious MS!! Poor mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sweetie Wong: Can understand the pain.. I hate toothaches!! But since now preggy, cannot do anything to it.. Guess you will just have to endure.. Drink more plain water ba..

Trinket, i totally agree with you.

My hubby also going to take 2 weeks leave to take care of the baby, he himself said he wants to help since he is the father [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i m happy to hear that.

@amazing: Oops. I've already finished my breakfast. But as usual, have a funny taste in my taste bud now. =/

@preciousbabi: Yes I agree!! How I wish we have long weekend every week. *sigh*

@neongoby: That's so sweet of your hubby! *envy* My hubby will never suggest that and if I ask he's sure going to be unhappy. *sigh* Now I'm thinking should be sleep in separate room after giving birth cos my baby will be sure to wake up very often in the middle of the night and his sleep is sure to be disturbed. =(

Good morning, Ladies.

Valerie, hi 5, hehe, i also started my day with vomit. I woke up at 3 am and vomit all the way until 7 am. When i vomited, i told myself that really hope this is the last time vomit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sweetie Wong, i also had toothaches. I think it could be due to too heaty since when i pregnant, i hardly drink water. Rest well, drink more water and may it help to reduce / stop the pain.

Regarding cord blood storage- my hubby and I talked about it and we both agree there is little use for it. From our understanding (and my husband did a 6 month rotation in blood disorders so I think he's quite knowledgeable), cord blood is only useful for blood disorders that require stem cell transfusions (such as leukemia), or for genetic disorders that can also benefit from stem cell transfusions. HOWEVER, for genetic disorders, if your child has a genetic disorder, his/her own cord blood also contains the defective genes, and hence is unusable. It will only benefit any subsequent child you have that has a genetic disorder that the child who donated cord blood DOES NOT have.

Hence, cord blood can only be used in 3 scenerios:

1. Your child develops leukemia (touch wood!)

2. Your child's didi/meimei develops leukemia (touch wood!!)

3. Your child's didi/meimei manifests a genetic disorder that your child does not have (touch wood!!!)

The 4th scenerio is that someone else outside your family develops leukemia/genetic disorder and you decide to be altruistic and donate your child's cord blood to the person.

In my humble opinion, the above scenerios are pretty far fetched (no offense to felpoo and her brother). I don't have official numbers, but I have a feeling that compared to the number of cord blood donations, the number of people who actually benefit/lives are saved by the banked cord blood is probably extremely low.

If anyone is going for the next cord blood talk, why don't you ask the speaker that question: how many cord blood donations are in your bank, and how many life-saving withdrawals have been made in the past year?

Anyway, that's my 2 cents worth. I definitely won't be investing in this [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@jolin: Woah, mine not as jialat as you. Mine is once at 6 plus, vomited some bitter yellowish liquid, another time at 8 plus, vomited my coffee. =(

Btw I read somewhere that our gums will be very sensitive during pregnancy. So exercise extra care for your teeth and gums! =)

Hi Mummies,nice see all the comments.....

learn alot from u all....

and so many mummy's complain hehehehe....

hope everything goes well for u all.....

Valerie,

Haha, ya loh, mine very jia lat, woke up for no reason then started to vomit from plain sour fluid to greenish fluid. Last time can not tahan anymore and fell sleep again.

Charmaine,

Thanks, i had a cup of hot milo after just now. Feeling very thirsty after vomit

Felpoo, many thanks for the link on the aroma... "> appreciate if greatly.. ">

Haha, if the govt is to implement the paternity leave for the fathers, most of the employers will faint... the female workers are out for almost 3 mths and now the male ones too.... but its good to think of it... ">

Valerie, my hubby sleeps in a separate room when he needs to work late or hv something important to do the next day as with a bb, there is really not much of quality sleep... even if he decided to pretence to sleep.. LOL

@charmaine: Oops! Didn't realise till you tell us too. Haha! No wonder I had a bad start of the day. Hehe.. Yeah, trying to drink more water. Thanks! =)

@baywater: Haha.. I think my hubby's bil will faint first cos me & my hubby are working for him. LOL~ My hubby is a light sleeper. Somemore he sleeps very late every night. I think his sleeping time is baby's waking up time. Hmm... But if he sleeps in separate room as me I will be very sad leh. Lol~

cherry

thanks! great assessment. totally echoes my beliefs. i understand that it's insurance, and insurance is bought to hedge against risk. but when the risk probability is so miniscule, and the cost is sooooooooooo high. it's just ridiculous.

and every year i see so many parents being suckered (no offense to those who already bought) into it at motherhood fairs and even at tmc booths etc, I just wonder if they have researched from sources other than the promoters themselves (who will of course use scare tatics and emphasise the WHAT IF), and made a balanced cost-benefit assessment.

always good to hear from practitioners. one third of my sec sch classmates are docs so I really appreciate the quick advise they give when i need a second opinion.

thanks Cherry for the many useful insights.

i wanted to know more on cordblood banking too. you provided a good picture on that.

Just to share with all, my brother was diagnosed in the Y1997 and I was found to be a suitable match. My parents wanted to explore more options on getting a suitable marrow rather than from me, the doctor did tell us about the cord blood. But the practice back then in Spore was not popular contrary to those overseas. And we were given the impression that any cord blood is able to be used on marrow transplant, as they should be considered the most "purest" form.

When my girl was diagnosed with an auto-immune disorder in Y2007 and was hospitalised in KK and was under observation for almost a year, she was on a high suspect list of leukemia. And luckily, it turned out negative. So when I was in the hospital, I was surprised to see the number of children patients getting leukemia as compared to adults, the probability is so much higher. And yes, I did speak to a number of parents, most of them didn't expect this kind of tragedy and thus didn't store the cord blood. And being Sporeans, most of them come from a single child family and they can't find a suitable donar and has to be on the waiting list.

Thus, it really depends on individual to assess if the cord blood is necessary given that "touchwood" nowadays children seems to have a lot of genetic disorders when they grow older. But as Cherry mentioned, if the child during birth has genetic disorders, the blood can't be used.