(2011/02) Feb 2011

@Zanta: Congrats!! See, I told you we'll have the same ADD. Haha!

@Jeanie: Same here! I think my ribs also "cracked" after all the pressing by the nurses cos whenever I turned to my side I'll feel pain. Lucky it's ok now. Haa!

Mummies, do you all need to massage your milk ducts to make your breasts less painful? My sil & hubby had been helping me to massage my milk ducts so that my milk will flow out but it's still painful even after massaging. I did manage to pump out an average of about 120-130ml milk for both side in total but I can still pain on certain parts of my breasts. It's so tiring & painful having to keep massaging it. Are there any other ways of relieving the pain? I've tried putting hot towel before pumping but still pain.. =(

And my feet are starting to swell again! Any mummies know what could be the reason for it? Issit cos I walk too much?

Darlest, I am using a Philips one. I find the receiver or parent set volume abit soft leh.. Wish I can turn it up some more.

Wahhh... Our thread fast n furious

Hfang- nope never induced labor--- my gynae pro natural- n said he is only helpig n its god's will tat shld wen bb shld cm into this world. My 3rd has false alarms that time- went to hospital n my pain not so painful... I was warded- was 3cm dilated n ask wether need to induce- he said for wat?? Induce more painful.... He also is a gynae so far i know tat is brave enuf if all is well to allow pregnancies to go till 42 weeks like my sil n baywater. So i cnnt compare pain of induce n the happiness of happydural.... @epidural.... Coz all i had was spontaneous labor for all my 5... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ah ching.... Carrier i have 3 already but the cheap ones n i dun tink will invest in the more ex pikolo or anything lah... Keen in sleepwrap as i see its very snuggly n i love it.... I have my sling from my doter 11 years ago-- the only one i saw so far a sling w a cushion on top- nowhere to b sold now i guess n 2 others which were given as a pressie.... Loved mg old sling but as one sided n now i have my right uppee back prob- tot sleepy wrap is good since it distributes the weight. I too have the x carrier@ hanamugari carrier which is a good buy- cheap n good... Cn be usee when bb head is more stable... Seeriousss?? Cn use ur card?? Thanks... Must ger frm u or use ic no can liao??? Maybe getting it end month....

Hi mummies... Finally after nine mth of construction, our little project is complete.. My little prince JAYDEN has arrived on 11.02.2011.. Still feel tired n drowsy.. Will update my birth story later..

Morning mummies, had a bad dream last nite as I dreamt tat I dun hv milk for my bb and all I squeeze are cloudy plain water & I din give up and squeeze till my breast are distorted & sored! So scary! So now quite worried will I have milk for my bb after she born coz my breast look like the same to me (not big). Should I get Fenugreek and does it really work?

@wishchild & mamaying– tks for the advice will do tat coz I dunthink I can tahan lor…will still switch on aircon at 27 or 28 & on the fan not blow direct to me. How about brushing teeth izit rinise with warm water? Did u guys use dry shampoo? I got long hair & sure super smelly & oily if din wash for one week…guess the most I will tahan for 5days! Wish child – if can wait I may induce on 20 feb too if not induce straight after my check up on 16 feb if possible haha…most importantly will listen to gynae lst..aiyo can’t wait for my check up!

@jolin – dun give up k!

@joanne – good job w/o epi & do rest well!

@mamaying – hmm u haven book for man yue? Neo garden caterer not bad & most likely I will engage them. If u looking for restaurant, better book now!

@kinderbueno – moderation is the key if u can’t resist…I will try my best not to touch (40days the most & not 3mths!) After tat can eat & enjoy.

@Geri – Jia you & all the best & have a smooth delivery!

Dadnmum, Congrats!!'

Yjhls, Congrats!!!

Mrs Ong, relax don't think too much. Hugz it just a nightmare. Still got lot of ways that can boost up MS. The most important is to have good rest n relax. And encourage each other =)

For brushing teeth I will just use tap water. Hehe no need be so troublesome use warm or hot water. Unless ur tap got those warm n hot water function then used warm water.

For hair I advise u to buy those confinement shampoo to wash ur hair. Dry shampoo just afraid if u don't comb away the extra powder dust away later u carry ur bb. Ur bb accidentally breath in the powder wont be good. Some ppls use dry shampoo will cause their scalp more itchy.

Geri waterbag burst n her edd is 2days before me. Wow make me sure excited. I keep talk to my bb please come out on valentine day or else mommy no choice need to induce u out le. But my tummy "drop" more n more low.

We both must Jia you!!

Pinkyval, great to hear all was well. Think our nurse quite rough huh..

Previously for no1, My feet swell like pig trotters after delivery. But it'll resume back to norm itself.. Takes few days.

Mrs Ong, talk to ur bb more n ask ur bb come out early. Tomor I will go walk walk or climb staircase. Haha I will go do some squat if possible. Haha but scare squat half way cannot stand up myself. Haha now I'm like humpty dumpty. Haha

Today is my due date but no sign of little Benjamin wanting to come out yet. I really thought he was gonna make an appearance last night because I felt sick and had Braxton hicks with low level period cramps feelings every 15 min for 2 hours... The anticipation is killing me!

pinkyval, envy you that you can pump double my amount within a short time frame. after 2 weeks, I can only pump about 60 - 70 ml total from both breasts. Disappointed....

Neongoby i am also like tt... dou latch ur baby? i am on full latch so i think this is extra supply.. makes me happier hahah.. dun worry and dun think so much about amount babe... we r all different and some have more milk than others :>

Mrs Ong yeah havent booked, will do at home and this time maybe just relatives and close friends.. dunno if wanna ask colleagues, and have some muslim friends. so thinking of ordering from four seasons which is halal. or neo garden food is nice but not halal then maybe got to order pizza which i usually do for my muslim friends hee

Mrs Ong, I also hv long hair like yrs. I washed my hair when I came bk fr hospital. I used normal shampoo but with herbal hot water for confinement. This is my second bb, so far ok. I tried e dry shampoo but it's itchy after using

Mummies, I've poped!! Can't believe it's gonna be so fast cuz no1 took 20hrs. Now waiting for ward..

Leonard is 3.520kg and 53cm. Just pop at 1213hrs..

Birth story

11feb to 12feb keep having irregular contractions but heck care.

530am had bit show. Bit intense contractions. Bathe and wake hubby up to get ready.

630am went to Mac for breakfast.

730am reach gleneagles. Got enamel and more show. 3-4cm dilate.

900am epidural

10am gynae came. Still 3-4cm. On drip.

1030 - 6cm. Oxygen mask on cuz bb heartrate drop.

1110 - 8cm

1122 - almost full

1130 - start pushing. Rest and push.

1213 - Leonard was out

MamaYing, Four season also nice. I also looking for halal catering too. =)

Jeanie, Congrats!!! Ur bb leonard have same BDay as Geri bb Noah. =)

That day u just told me u haven pop so fast u pop today.. Hehe great!!!Wow ur labour hour faster than ur 1st one. =) Great!! Take care n start ur moo moo duty soon =)

Wow, the forum is moving quickly! Ever since popping on Sunday, I've not had the time to come in and catch up on the news till now. I see many mummies have popped this week - congrats to all of u!! Zanta, u did it!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The past week has been quite a whirlwind of change for me. I discharged on Wednesday as per usual c-section guidelines, but baby Lucas is still in hospital.He has been disagnosed as G6PD deficient, and one of the main problems associated with this is prolonged neonatal jaundice. So no choice but to leave him at TMC where he is under phototherapy and observation. Apparently, for G6PD-linked jaundice, the levels will go up and down very erratically, and it could take about 2 weeks before it is under control and he is ready to come home. Imagine how sad I was to check out on Wednesday afternoon! On one hand, I was glad to be going home; on the other hand, which mother reacts well to leaving her newborn behind? So the first 2 days home was especially challenging mentally, as I was beginning to feel very down. I decided to throw myself into establishing a good milk supply through pumping. Also, twice a day, I would go down to TMC to attempt to latch baby Lucas as well as pass over what little expressed breast milk I had.

I must say - breastfeeding is not easy to establish, especially when baby is still in hospital. Everytime I would try to visit him around feeding time but he would either be still under the light (then no chance to even take a peek at him, much less hold him) or on the days where he is under observation,there's a high chance he'd be sleeping when I went to visit him, even if feeding time was due. I would wait for half and hour or so, holding him in my arms, but he'd be so content that he wouldn't want food, haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hard to be frustrated with him when he is sooo cute though! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyway, any mummies here have experience with G6PD newborns? Any advice would be appreciated.

The other challenge I'm struggling with is the breastfeeding. While in hospital, latching-on was going quite ok, but now that there's this arrangement where mummy and baby are separated, I've been pumping as much as possible (every 3 hrs in daytime and 4 hrs in nighttime) to establish the supply. Been suffering from cracked/sore nipples, rash, engorgement .... and it's only the first week! On top of that, the c-sect wound is also hurting a little so I have to move real slowly. I was so paranoid about taking a bath that I didn't bathe the entire time I was in hospital! But now the weather is so hot, I cannot tahan already.

My energy levels are slowly creeping back up, and I take it as a blessing in disguise that I can concentrate fully on establishing milk supple and recovering from surgery, without having to worry about the other aspects such as diapering and bathing the little one. I trust he is in good hands at the TMC nursery. That said, I'm waiting eagerly for the good news from the PD that baby is cured and ready to come home. Will be gg to see baby at 4 pm and again at 11 pm tonight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hope all you new mummies are coping well with the changes to your body, your lives, your emotions etc ...!

Hi mummies ! Part 1/3 of my Emma's full

Month party is over. 30pax. Part 2/3 (40+ pax) startin in 30min time. V tiring. Shack out. Lying on my sofa now. Heng Emma will sleep til 5pm so I have some time to breathe.

Schedule all haywire but it's expected lah. Everyone wants to see the baby so Emma was drifting in and out of sleep at noon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so I just allow her to do what she wants for today n tomorrow. After all the party is over then I whip the schedule back into shape. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] in fact today I managed the hustle n bustle by giving 100% bottle feed the whole day. So thank God for the stored EBM!!

Headache....

Bb not drinking these 2 days. I tried to feed him every 3 hourly but he refused to drink. I m v worried that he will b hungry n worried that it will affect my ms...

i hv got sore nipples so i pump out my milk to feed her. tis coming Tue i hv an appt w e lactation consultant at mt a to revise on baby's latching, so now i better let my nipples rest. they feel sore after pumping too. today so hungry n thirsty, ate more rice, hopefully can boost e ms.

Hi mummies, I had delivered my bb gal on 8th Feb at 2:23pm. Bb weight 2.925kg. Will update my birth story later.

@choc, please help to update, thanks.

Princess31: my bb gal also been diagnosed as G6PD deficiency. She just discharged today. I also missed her a lot last 2 days when leaving her alone in hospital.

Ur bb still in hospital or discharged already?

mamaying, wishchild and mrs ong - tks for ur advice.. yes.. think i'll ease into things slowly after confinement.. aiyo.. but sometimes really buay tahan.. i had guests at my place yesterday and i was so craving the yeo's chrysanthemum tea that i served them... in the end, hubby ke lian me and gave me a tiny sip.. hahah... so pathetic lor

princess31 - great that u are so positive! must take care and dun tire urself out! hope ur little boy can be discharged soon!

neongoby - actually i think it'll be more tiring to distribute the cakes for full-mth leh. we figured that it'll be more convenient to hv all the pple come to our place, rather than us running round the island giving away the cakes!

btw, is anyone perspiring alot after giving birth? It's been more than 2wks and i'm still perspiring alot... i read that post-partum sweating is normal.. but it's been so long liao and i'm still sweating buckets especially during meals... Anything i can do to stop this??

Kinder, ur hubby so nice. At least give u have some slip of cold drink. If my hubby is strictly no no. Haha.

Sweat a lot during confinement is normal n is good as u can lost most of the water rentation. Ren yi ren. After ur confinement everything will back to normal except ur appetite if u breastfeed. =)

Hello Mommies, do u girl lost the mucus plug 1st then show the labour sign? Or nv saw any lost of mucus plug then go labour? Hmm I'm still waiting to see the mucus plug since now I'm week 39 le.

hi mummies..

Here my delivery update..

3pm Thur to admit TMC..

3.40pm insert for softening cevic at labour ward..

4.50pm back to ward n wait..

8pm back to labour ward..

8.30pm dr arrived n break water bag.. Check only 2 cm dilate

contraction started

Very fequence.. Every 3 mins.. Endure till 3am.. Nurse check STILL 2 cm...

OMG.. Motivation lost..

Start to feel pain already..

4.15am ask for epi..

4.30am dr came for epi..

6am check again.. STiLL 2 cm..

6.30am dr came n say hav to c section...

6.45am in operating threater..shivering like crazy ..

Epi csection fail have to op for GA..

6.58am.. BB Jayden is out..

After that the whole soo dowsy.. Heard nurse asking wat milk to give BB ... Wat package for injection.. And Hubby asking me this n that.. Was like in my dream.. Only till today morning then everything back to normal except the pain wound.. Manage to walk ard in the afternoon..

so sad ... Try bf BB but BB too lazy to suk or maybe he is use to bottle feeding already..

So try the second n third time.. Still cannot latch.. So stress.. Hopefully by the time we when back

Congrats to those mummies who had given birth!! Enjoy your time with your lil bundle of joy.. And to those mummies who're waiting, enjoy your time while your bb is still inside.

Thanks all mummies for your well wishes, I'm still trying to settle down and get use to my new life so you all will hardly see my post. =p My ms have not really kick in yet but I'm trying to latch on demand as much as I can and my ms doesn't seem to satisfy my girl's demand so I'm still supplementing with fm especially in the night.. I'm now waiting to bf my gal, so tiring!!

@Princess: Hope bb Lucas gets well soon and rest more while you can. Like you, my wound still hurts at times and I also walk veerryyy slowly. I still don't dare to shower though I really would like to and I only use hot water to wipe myself.. Does your wound feel anything during shower?

@mami B: My binder is the same brand as yours and it's giving me rashes and abrasion!! Am I binding it too tight? I find the size land quite low, below my my hip bone and I really feels like taking it out!! May I know how do you wash it?my hubby threw the box away and I got no idea if it can be wash or not..

Zanta, just handwash it. N hang dry. I m not sure if machine washable coz I also threw box away 3 years ago. Not sure why it cause rash for u. Hm.. U can adjust how u want to wear it. I use it to slim targeted area. Sometimes I tie it high up below breast. Other times I wear it low covering half my pantry to target lower ab.

Yesterday's full month party went well. Took alot of lovely pictures with my little girl n the guests. Today lunch time one more round. Yeah! Can dress up again. Still thinking what outfit to wear (me and my gal). Last time just have to think of what to wear for myself. Now have to additionally think of what to put on for Emma. Heh.. But I love it lah. Quite fun! We wore lotsa pink yesterday. Actually I shouldn't have worn pink becoz when we took pictures, my ger like camoflauge into my dress as she is wearing same color and she is so tiny.

Half way thru the party, I got a stiff neck. Really funny. I could not turn my head to the left. Up til now!? Hope it gets better later on. Hard to BF when u cannot turn ur head. Pain siah...

It will be nice if some of the mummies who have completed confinement start a mini gathering. Maybe in two weeks time? Sashimi ??? Hohoho!! :D

By the way, went to weigh Emma yesterday since 满月 full month. She is now 3.38kg. One week ago, she was 3.04kg. (birth : 2.34kg). I am happy with her weight gain. Hope she continues to feed well, sleep well and grow well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Finally she can wear some of the 3m size outfits I bot her.

Went for checkup yesterday. 38 weeks and baby's head is still not engaged. According to doc, that is normal for subsequent pregnancies. But I have been getting more false contractions. Estimated at 3.18kg.

Anyone who has induced labor with no epi vs natural with no epi? I am trying to decide on which one I am going for. My hubby may not be around for this birth since he is overseas.

@dadnmom: Congrats! Don't worry. It is possible to go for breastfeeding even if formula is introduced! My girl was supplemented at birth and by full month, I managed to bf her exclusively. Just rest more.

@kinderbueno: Quite normal to sweat. The sweat glands are more active when you are breatfeeding at least for couple of weeks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@neongoby: I have more success expressing milk by massaging my breasts than the machine for my second born. Maybe you want to try that instead?

@princess: jia you! I can imagine how hard it is too leave the baby in the hospital. Stay strong!

@Jeanie: Congrats!

Hv encountered show & contraction ard 230am. Regular contractions at short interval ard 430am. Told hubby n I quickly shower n admit hospital for accessment. On duty gynae checked tat I was 1cm dilation. Nurse asked me to stay or admit tonight. I decided to admit tonight as pain still bearable but the regular contractons is killing me as it come in every 5mins n last for 30 sec! On the other hand, I dun wan to waste time at hospital so nw at hm resting. Wish me luck n will update after I give birth!

for distribution of cakes, we r thinking of passing to our parents n ask them to distribute to who ever they want to give, since we r actually doing for their sake.

my left breast usually feel engorged so i will massage them b4 i pump, then half way, i will stop n massage then pump again. must drink lots of water since i also perspire so much, when i eat, even when i sleep w air con on!

Mrs Ong:

All the best! Don't drag too long. Admit into the hospital if u think the pain is getting intense.

Mine was still "bearable" and asked to go home first & admit at night. Who knows when i admit at night, already 5cm dilated. Then immediately call for epidural. 1 more cm & I cant administer epidural anymore. HENG! But that's for if u want epi. If u opt out, then i think its fine =)

I have a brand new pair of Mothermates Hydrogel dressing which is used to prevent nipple soreness. It is made up of two discs which you insert into your bra after nursing. It is washable and can be used for a week. It was prescribed by my gynae and I bought extra.

Here is the clinical study on the use of the dressing in relieving pain:

http://www.mothermates.com/mmclinical.asp

It retails for about $18.50. I'm selling at $10 for self collection at Queensway.

Mami

U must b having a good time!

I need ur advice again. My bb keeps zzz n not drinking much even I tried feeding him 3 hourly. I m having transition milk in my 3rd day. I thou when I reach home tmr I wanna jump to routine fr week 2-4. So that at night he skip his feed n day time feed more. He is 3.1kg. My breasts a bit sore cos of block ducts. If I move on to routine fr 2nd weeks, I wonder will it affect my overall ms or I should pump once in e nite as my breasts will accumulate milk fr abt 1030-630.

What say u? Thx, dory to trouble u..

Mrs ong.... I just put in fb outstanding mummies who havent popped.... Ur turn already.... If u time is too close.... Immediately admit as nurses only estimate.... Bt diff mummies r diff like mine when they think head still high n 7cm dilated- gave me 1-2 hrs more n nvr call gynae n alas gynae was nt in time to deliver me ard 30 mins later......

Wish child- i never had show for all my pregnancies except my 4th-.... It was contractions for 1st 3.... N waterbag leaked for the last 2.... This time went hospital/-- peed n wiped then gt bloody discharge like tat....

Mami b... All those 9mnths of bed resf made u itch for out time..... Hehehehe.... I am actually on 44 days confinement myself but mine is nt so strict- no one cares abt me actually-- i self restrict n this n that lor.... I was also thinking of a gathering 1st for mummies who popped earlier n another maybe end march when most mummies would have finished confinement...hahah.... See who wanna meet? Accessible mrt places or a home which we cn call delivery? At least no need to

Think of breastfeeding places n all??

@kittyki - may i know how many cm dilation were u & how ur contractions interval like before admission?

Baby Benjamin finally arrived this morning, 13 feb at 2.28am, and weighs 3.78kg, 54cm long!

My birth story

7.30pm on 12 feb, decided to go to the hospital after experiencing irregular painless contractions especially since I knew I was almost 4cm dilated for a week.

9.30pm gynae came to assess. Was 5cm dilated but contractions had become weak. Decided to induce as gynae was worried I might not make it to the hospital on time if I went home.

12 midnight, 13 feb contractions becoming very painful after I was given drugs to quicken labour. Laughing gas did help to cut the pain by half, I went into a giggling fit once when I sucked on the mask too hard! each contraction came with back spasms. Hubby massaging back helped a lot.

2am 9cm dilated and pain is unbelievable as I did not have

an epidural. The urge to push is almost unstoppable but the nurses are urging me to just breathe in and out and let the contractions push the baby down. Husband looks very upset

seeing me in such pain. Between the dizzy feeling of the laughing gas and the pain I felt like I was having an out of body experience!

2.15am gynae arrives and was told to push. The pushing part actually numbs the pain but feels like I am having the worst constipation in my life and have to push out a giant poo.

2.28am After just a few pushes he is out! Instant relief!

Sorry to be so graphic!

I have given birth to my daughter, Alyssa on 5 Feb 2011, weighing 3.135kg at TMC. My gynae is Dr Benjamin Tham.

Here is my birth story:

8.30am : go for CTG test. contraction was weak.

9.30am : seen Dr Benjamin Tham. Check for dilation and was about 2cm dilated. I request for inducing the baby as tummy was really heavy during then.

10.30am : went to observation room and check for contraction.

11.30am : put in the pill to induce the baby

2.45 pm: Doc came and check for dilation. Only 3 cm dilated. Doc proceed to break the water bag and i scream like mad

3.30 pm : Epi given and was pushed to labour ward

4.00 pm : Feel contraction was very painful and could not control my uterus and could feel myself pushing the baby even though I didnt want to. Nurse check and I was 6-7cm dilated. Told the nurse to quickly call the Doc as I am feeling very uncomfortable. Nurse increase my dose of epi but still was not of any use

5.00 pm: Doc finally came, and i was fully dilated. BB's head was very low and doc start to instruct when to start pushing. In less than 10 pushes, bb is out. But as the nurse had increased the epi and was too strong for me, i start to shiver non stop and almost could not breathe. in the end, i totally had no strength to carry my bb.