(2011/01) Jan 2011

Hi mummies, did anyone read abt a few bb deaths in japan recently due to some vaccination? There wasn't much info abt it, but I was asking my doc abt it that day and he said it was related to the pneumococcal vaccination. Those who planning to do the Pneumococcal vaccination may want to find out more from their doc/PD before doing it.

Chelleybaby

Yah damn ex lor the Lumimi bodysuits n girdle. I wear d girdle faithfully every time I go to work, it gives a nice shape with our uniform. I m sorry to hear tt your son has reflux. Hope this phase will pass soon.

Xiaopang

The shop is somewhere in chinatown. I went there 2 years ago to trade in new girdles. Let me try to search for the contact lady n I will Pm you?

Chercat,

thks.. pls pm me the contact. i would like to change a new suit. hehe.. thats the good things about lumimi.. can change when our size changes. but need to topup abit anot that i not sure hehe..

elekos - yeap, thats the one. The doc also mentioned that those who died took multiple vaccinations together. Anyway i dun plan to send my gal for the pneumococcal vaccination so soon, only when she older.

puix2: I took domperidone before as I KS and scared not enough supply cos after latching I have no more to pump.. but I do not need to supplement my girl with FM though. So I tried for a week, there's indeed an increase in supply but I ended up with bad engorgement and had high fever cum blocked ducts cos I m out most of the time and can't pump and I think is too much supply for my girl to help empty my breast. Lesson learned: Don't be KS if BB is satisfied so be it ....

My son had GER as well. He was admitted to Kkh and dr comment to have frequent feed in less volume. ( Formula: weight x 150ml /12 ) this is to feed baby at every 2 hours. Try to bottle feed the baby because u are able to monitor how much he/she is drinking. This takes 2 weeks to settle down than slowly you increase the intake and lengthier the time ( weight x 150 / 8). This will take 12 to 24 months to subside as read in the Internet. Most important, burp your baby after every feed... Hope it helps....

Mitch, my boy does not want to latch hence i m pumping ebm for him, now my supply is not enuf for him...i can pump at most 100ml but my boy drink every 2 or 3 hrs needs about 110, 120ml..sometimes 150 if he sleeps longer. So i got to top up fm.

I always have block duct so i also worry if taking domperidone will i be in a sorry state [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] scary.....after taking the med, roughly how much you increased?

normally i dun have much to pump aft latching... aft which i can still pump abt 50mls.... so not bad huh... but have to keep pumping if kana block or engorged jiat liat..

Hi puix, u shd try to latch till BB get used to latching..

I'm quite opp. BB too used to latching till dunno how to suck from bottle. Am training her once per day to bottle feed..

BB are the best breast pump.. ESP if engorgement, just get ur bb to latch on. 5mins will work miracles!!

Also, for mummies who wanna increase milk ss, can try this.. Stew black fungus [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my ss drop drastically as I was too lazy to pump after each latch. Used to be able to pump bottles even when she 100% latch, now left side still not that bad, able to get 60-80ml out. But right side super jia lat, when full only 60, after latch sometimes nothing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yesterday took a lot of black fungus n ss increased [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but I still gotta keep up the pumping ESP for right side.. Now can feel my breast lopsided!! :-/

jia you everyone!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hee... My angel today 10wks old [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

got a fright, 6.9kg already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chubby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

loves to play a lot now n responses to us already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

California Baby Calendula Everyday Lotion

I've got 5 brand new bottles of it.

Bought extra from Agape (online BP) previously, with the intention of using on my baby, but end up husband say the smell not nice...

Sian half...

So now i'm trying to clear stock, selling cheap... $12 per bottle, buy 4 get one free??

Anybody keen?

Can self collect at Punggol...

***Do not PM me, cos my email account with hotmail.com has been suspended...

Can email me at [email protected]

Charleen, you mean hei mu er? usually ppl boil it with soup or cook with cabbage?

Hey mummies, past 2 days i try to pump out after latching Andrea. but i only got time to pump out after 30mins or 1hour later. then i realise my supply come slow. i feed Andrea every 2-3hourly. is it because i pump out too late after i latch her? but i got no time to pump straight away =( and Andrea is not full at all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so i give up pumping out now. >_<

HI mummies...

if i give ebm 100ml each feed n he finishes up.. is it too much for a 14 day old baby boy? is there a formula to calculate howmuch milk to give baby based on weight or age?

tks!

karen,

yes i'm here!

there's a formula based on weight.

150ml x weight in kg gives u total amt to drink within 24hrs. divide by no. of feeds, usually 8 if feeding every 3hrs to get amt per feed.

but this is just a guideline, some bbs drink more and some drink less.

btw, hv you heard of bb being over feed? my CL says if toomuch milk, the bb also wont suckle.. wonder if it's true..mmm.. now trying to catch hold of Lactation consultant but not sureif they are the right person to speak to... now my bb stomach looks big.. tis morning dr says its wind.. cl says not likely to be wind cos if wind , will hv problem giving him milk...???

Grumpus,

is my calculation correct? Andrea weighs 4kg so is 150ml x 4 = 600ml. so 600ml / 8times = 75ml each feed?

but i fed Andrea 4oz+ now wor. is like way too much.. >_<

Xiao pang, domperidone needs dr prescription. Any mummies can take...i have not taken as i m afraid of engorgement as i got mastitis few days back...will see how thing going on n then decide want to take or not. U can ask ur gynae or pd to give u......

Karen my boy is 2 mth old now. Infact if i give him 125ml, he can finish as well...but i can only pump 100, so give him 100 unless he is still hungry after bm, then will top up fm. Average he drinks 100 to 120ml evey 2, 3 hrs.

Puix,

i cant just buy from outside ar? i never visit gynea til 3months later wor. now my gal is 7weeks old. and my gal goes to ploy clinic. no pd wor.. how sia? >_<

My lac cinsultant did told me u can get from unity but they normally dont sell if u tell them u want to boost ur milk supply...but this med, ppl also used for stomach wind, so u tell them need for stomach wind n they will sell to u..this is how the lac consultant told me. I din try myself not sure if it works.. U can try. Coz i got from hospital from pd prescription [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xiaopang,

it's a guideline given only. some bbs need to drink more. if yr bb needs more then still hv to give mah

Xiaopang: donperidone is actually motilium and is OTC .. U can get it from any pharmacy at the pharmacist counter. U start off with 1 tab 3x a day...

Hi xiao pang,

yes, hei mu' er [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my Hubby stew it w pork ribs n also chicken feet plus mushrooms [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

realised tat my CL cook lot of it for me during my confinement too. So think shd b it boosting up my ss. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

does your baby hair got *dandruff*? I think it's quite normal to has it cos those cousin tat my mom help look after long back has it. How you mummies clean it? I scratch it slowly to remove it. Today, i bath for my baby and when i dry up her hair with towel, the so called dandruff drop, so i continue to rub it since it's easier after bath due to wet, then my MIL saw and say those are baby's skin, dun anyhow scratch..seriously, she dunno all these and comment, i really very tired cos she will never understand. Hair need to breath also mar, if i dun clean it, how the hair can breath? I feel like asking if her nose stuck with mucus, can she breath? Something i will remove khloe's mitten, teach her how to grab things and teach her to play with her toes, MIL ALWAY say baby still small, dunno all these things...of course they dunno, tat's y must teach...she always forgot tat khloe is my precious baby, will a mother harm their baby? She always comment, i rather she pay more attention on hygience and cleanliness, those milk bottle tat she wash 90% of them have to re-wash cos still oily...can i say she harm my baby? I very upset leh..when i tell her still oily, she will say Have meh..i already give up, so i will always check those bottle tat she wash, if still oily, i will re-wash secreatly..how sad!

Haiz...just wan to vent out..

hi kimmy, my boy has it when he was younger too.. we asked PD, he say its becos his scalp oil clot, and we never clean his scalp properly. my MIL and mom taught me to apply baby oil or baby lotion to the affected area 5 mins before his bath, let the oil soften the dandruff.. then during bath, rub a few more times and it will come off.. it cleared within a couple of days.. dun need to scratch.. =)

as for MIL.. sometimes my MIL will comment comment.. i will 'orh orh' her lo.. then if it doesnt make sense, i will just ignore.. so dun be bothered too much la.. they also took care of their own child in the past, so they think they know more than us.. but whatever you think dun make sense.. juz ignore.. dun be stress or upset over it.. as long as you know you're doing the best for ur baby!

kimmy,

sounds like cradle cap. u need to check her scalp and those area where there's very thick skin build up, u do need to remove it. gently and slowly rubbing like wat u're doing. can also use some olive oil before bath to soften the dry skin so is easier to rub off. then just wash off the oil during bath.

Hi Ladies, not sure if is late to share this offer with u all... beside the mamypoko diapers offer, pampers also having buy 2 offer at ntuc. and is cheaper compare to mamypoko offer comparing the per piece price. this is the first time i bought the pampers size S diaper. it seem more comfy than mamypoko diaper. if i haven had stocked up mamypoko diaper, think maybe i will stock up the pampers diaper :p you may wanna check out.

:-o

Julia, thot website selling at $18.3 (+$3 delivery) compare to ntuc $20.65? isn't it cheaper? or have i overlook anything? :S

Some time back I posted to let go my extra Sophie the Giraffe teether toys, and there were many inquiries. Sorry to disappoint alot of you when I ran out of it.

It's a really safe and stimulating toy for babies 2 months onwards, even now at 10 months my boy still enjoys biting it! I managed to get friends to buy a few more, those interested please email me your address and orders to:

Selling at S$28 each, will include normal local postage or COD at a convenient location e.g. MRT, malls.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5243504.jpg]

Anyone tried nepia? Is it better than mamy poko? Seems like with the ntuc promotion, mamy poko is the most expensive.

My mom just happen to pass me a pamphlet from Nepia.

Free delivery service for orders with min. 4 packs. $15/pack for the following:

Diaper tape: NB (up to 5kg)60s, S(4-8kg)54s, M (6-12kg)48s,L (9-14kg)42s

Diaper pants: L (9-14kg)30s, XL(12-19kg)26s

You can call their branch office at 62262650 to order

My bb has been drinking lesser amount and frequency. Anyone encounter this before? She still poops and pee still ok. Just that will not poop for 1 day on and off.

Thought of supplementing her with formula cos worried she might not be absorbing much. PD also suggested to do 1 mixed bm and fm. Her 2nd mth weight gain isn't double of birth weight but still borderline gain - 20g per day. Her birth weight was 2.9kg, at 2 mths is 4.3kg.

Anyone tried Friso Gold for under 6 mths bb? Any recommendation as well?

Hi flying pig,

My gal is born at 2.9 and when discharged drop to 2.6 and when at 2mths she is also 4.3. Doctor say good weight gain. And now she is 2.5mths going to 3mths and she is around 5.3. My is on 100% BM and poo also not regular. I suppose its normal?

Hi Lily,I have yet to weigh her. She is now also 2.5mths old. How much is your bb drinking? Mine initially was 80ml but I am trying to see if can increase to 100ml or not. Sometime she finishes but most time got leftover.

HI Flyingpig

My gal drinking 110-120 per feed for 7 tiems daily. yrs gal feed how many times? and how many hours? if 8 times shld be ok for 80-100ml [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] as diff baby diff amt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]