(2011/01) Jan 2011

Was chatting with some mummies on fb earlier. Told some of them abt my bleeding earlier. So freaking scare.

Called my gynae, he says he wants to see me today but I told him bleeding stopped and I will b seeing him tmrw morning. So he told me to monitor and see him at his nite clinic at Bishan if pains oocured. But my gynae not keen cos he says still early. Now I am going into 36 weeks. He is happy if I am in my 38 wks. But what can I do if bb choose to come early rite? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Not my fault wat.

Scare its anytime for me now.

Hang in there Pooh...we will pray for you...just stay calm and stay in bed...

I am in my 39th week now (officially 38 weeks plus 1 day), stop gaining weight already...gynae din say if BB was gaining though. Heard from gal friends that if BB not growing then Gynae will suggest inducing to deliver. After reading some of the posts here, I kinda get the impression that contractions from induced birth is more painful. Is it true?

Any mummy who is also intending to work till you pop? Folks in my office keep asking...it is like the only thing that they are interested in! when are you due? When are you going on ML? How many months of ML are you taking? Is the nursery ready? yaddah yaddah yaddah...

chercat: i think your birth story is amazing too. burn human flesh smell! i did not prepare myself on what should i feel when they open me cos my past op has been full anesthetic.....

perhaps kimmy's threshold of pain is rather high.never hear her say v pain. mine is rather low i think.

did your hubby stay with u throughout from ' epidural to back to ward?

mummies help....

i cant find the nursing bra SP link..need to buy new nursing bra cos i underestimate my cup size...any mummies got keep the link?

kikapo,

I'll be working until my baby comes![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hehe...so that i can save the full 4 months for my baby!:p hehe...now hving sch holiday (am teaching), will b bk in sch begining of jan only!:p hehe..

hi pooh, i had some bleeding on last fri (wk 34+) also, i was panicked as well, coincidentally i was at NUH when bleeding started, went for all the scans and dr said everything's fine, it js stopped after a day...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thank God! I think you should be fine...bb should be able to wait for a while more!hehe...jia u jia u!

Maumau

http://fluffyheartz.blogspot.com

hi gals, any of ur confinement nanny-to-be give u a list of herbs, etc to buy? can share what r they?

My previous CL asked me to buy a whole list of items. But my current one only ask me buy the basics for red date tea tats all... abit worried..

Thanks mummies for the link..

Anyone know if BRAVADO selling in SMH? Missed the train last time cos dunno if I will have milk..Now difficult to go out cos of confinement month...

whoami

welcome. my EDD is 9 Jan too. likewise, i'm feeling insomnia for the past few weeks. i suspect one of the cause is me being paranoid and thus not being able to sleep.

i had pain at my pelvic area but it got better. it still hurts quite badly when i toss/turn in bed or wear bottoms though. but no difficulty in walkin. can still shop. din take any HL.. so i dun think i'm in the same boat as you on that.

Good luck w ur c-sec on 1st jan.

kimmy

what do you mean by passbook for CDA and baby bonus? the one whereby the baby bonus will be credited in is it? do i bring that to hospital or only do it (bb bonus n CDA) when i discharge?

chercat

congrats on ur smooth delivery. wish for your smooth recovery too. =)

siti

cld it be a false contraction?? it can be any form and vary for individual. call ur gynae clinic to ask perhaps?

pooh

rest well in bed and dun worry too much? like you say, if it wan to come out, u can't do much. but the gynae can give u some jab to delay the delivery and speed up the bb lung maturity if it's coming out early.

kikapo

it seems tat i'm doom for induction next week. baby is 3.6kg at 38+weeks. i heard that induction is more painful. but wat to do.. resign to fate. sigh~

mummies...

I have a question here...normally after breastfeed the baby, will u pump out the remaining? If i pump after feed my baby, will only pump abt 3plus oz...and i now freeze all pumped milk..fridge not big enuf to store leh..how? If i pump with full breast, will have abt 6oz..and if baby wake up, i will feed her with remaining and it seems enuf for her...the only issue is i dunno wat time she will wake up..haiz...now i din pump regular cos baby wake up time still not v standard yet...but im worried if i dun pump regular, might reduce the supply...experience mummy pls share ur opinion and idea...

chabby,

there is a OCBC counter in TMC, i open the CDA and settle baby bonus account with them. There will need a copy of ur bank statement or passbook which show the account number and account holder name..so bring along to save time ..

Hi....Congratz to mummies here who have popped!! Me waiting to burst oso..juz cme bk fm causeway pt, did bit of shopping..bought toys for my elder ds..afta bout 3hrs plus..soo feelin damn tired..

duno y today have 3 ppl comment wen they look at my tummy..1 old aunty @ ya kun kaya saw me & say it boy rite..i say yar...den another indonesian lady oso ask me hw many mth oready..wen i say tis few days la waiting for time only..den she oso say it a boy rite?? another sales lady oso like very shock c my tummy..guezz fm the look of most ppl they saw me like want to burst oready still can jalan jalan..waah..aniway my tummy is the very obvious one to noe wether boy or gerl. since las few mths many oready said it a boy..coz my tummy was soo pointy & now so low..

tmr will be my 38wks chkup...

last nite had a dream was in a cab with hb wen i saw a young black kitten at my hb foot..den i signal him..aft dat forgot oready..

hmm wonder wat the dream cud b..mayb its a sign im gonna pop?? is there any chinese predict on this kind of dream?

oready feeling cramping pain ard tummy + heavy sore at V area..havnt pack my things yet..tmr will do..

Early Gd morning....... advance New Year wishes to all u lovely ladies, mummies, mtb.

How's everyone doing? Read on some having insomnia problems.... It is common to be sleep deprieved towards the end of pregnancy. I had it for my #1 and right now too. Yesterday I woke up at 3am and couldn't get back to sleep till 5am.

Just wondering, anyone done the VE? What is the after effects?

I had one done yesterday and I complained of horrible pain and pressure at the V area and backpain. But I have not dilated yet. But yesterday evening, I started having terrible cramps and this morning some discharge. I was wondering if a VE can cause us to start dilation or effacment or even trigger labour?

I am already at Week36 to be exact.

Anyone can share ur insights on the VE?

But it is very painful when the doc does the VE exam, as my gyn is on vacation leave another male gyn was doing the check and he doesn't seem to do the check with patience.

I also have insomnia prob nowadays. After going to the toilet break in the middle of the nite and it took me a long time to go back to sleep.

I have done VE twice and there was no after effects after the first VE but after the second VE which was done few days ago, I experienced brownish discharge till now, jus wonder is the sign of labor of after effect from the VE.

I am not sure myself whether VE can start dilation or even trigger labor.

luckymummy11,

ya today went in for a 4 hour assessment for my BP and to check if I have pre eclampsia. Everything came back ok and I was allowed to go home. Now wait for next Wed for my appt and then see how. It's not that I wanted a 2011 baby - I just am not mentally prepared to give birth today or tmr (by 31st)! .. Haven't washed baby's clothes and now all my girls are down with the flu and cough .. I Don't want my newborn arriving home to a houseful of sick kids. lol.

Will update when I see my gynae next Wed.

Hi cel, wats VE? you mean to induce for labour?

Congrats to mummy who have jus pop out, recover well and regain your figure asap ok.. Is a relieve i suppose.. Unlike some of us keep thinking is it time for labour.. Last night i have cramps again and my bb keep moving vigorously i was so worried didn't slp well...

Frankly i hate counting down, i prefer my bb to be out.. My appt is next wk and if by then bb nt out i will have to induce... Looks like induce is more painful?? Is it true?

Ivftwins, hoshi, lily: 加油! Will get to see your darlings soon.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Luckmummy: same boat as u.. Gynae did the VE yesterday and said cervix still closed n baby still quite high up even tho he head down already.. Looks like my boy is very very comfy inside n dun wan to come out yet..

Lalitha: just slight discomfort for me when my gynae check (btw my gynae is a male).. Just relax and wld be ok.. Dun worry too much.. But my gynae say only if start stretching the cervix (for easier delivery) might trigger contractions and labour... He din stretch mine cos my cervix was still closed...

Lin: VE is vaginal examination

chercat,

Burning flesh?! Somehow I wasn't expecting that...Yikes! Suddenly GA sounds like a great idea...

Congrats on your new arrival!

kimmy/chabby,

Is the passbook the record of an existing account you have with any bank that you want the cash gift to be credited into? So could be a savings passbook, or the monthly statement? That's what I understand from the back of the envelope of the MCYS baby bonuspackage handed out by TMC.

chabby,

if your hospital can settle everything there while you're staying it will be best. Don't think you have the mental energy to go and deal with all this admin stuff once you discharge.

I thought the consensus is that induction doesn't hurt that much more until they start the drip thing? So keep your fingers crossed about the need for the drip. Anyway if you're going for epi it should be manageable?

VE,

can someone pls explain again what the procedure involves? thks! Like a pap smear? Or worse?

kristal,

oic...wah 4 hours to check sounds like serious business. In your case definitely delivering within these few days would be very difficult for your family to cope. Hang in there!

Discharge,

Sorry if I'm grossing anyone out, but I've been having extreme amounts of milky whitish discharge. Almost like a menstrual flow sometimes. On and off, but definitely throughout the day. Is this anything to worry about, or totally normal at this stage?

To all mummies and mummies-to-be,

I am actually from the DEC 2010 MTB thread but now my due date has passed since 26 Dec 2010 and I am going to be a jan 2011 MTB.. hehehe...

I think my princess is too comfy inside and simply refuse to come out... so have scheduled to induce on 1st Jan 2011... any mummies here in same situation as me? Really looking forward to seeing my little princess but was wondering how is the induction going to be like? I was reading some forum and some other website which suggest that contraction is going to be worst if by induction? dunno wat to expect and wonder if I can handle it...

I am a first time mummy so bear with me .... hehehe...

Any other mummy popping on 1st Jan 2011 here?

luckymummy

the gynae will stick the fingers into your v area to feel for the bb head and then stretch the 2 fingers apart to check for the cervix dilation if any.

remember to BREATH and try to relax.

i read that there will be increase discharge closer to delivery but i dun really have much discharge thro'out. guess it varies for individual. you may wan to discuss/ask your gynae when u see him/her?

wendy

welcome. there are a few other mummies down for c-sec n induce labour on 1st jan too.

if the cervix dilate and contraction sets in smoothly/naturally, it will be like all other natural delivery. but if drugs are required to speed things up then the contractions will be stronger and more painful. regardless, be open to pain relief methods if you feel that you need it. my gynae seems keen to induce me next week also. looks like i've to resign to fate.

Hi Chabby.. Guess both of us share same fate too, my gynae say give my gal a chance this week if not coming out she will induce nxt week. My EDD is 6 Jan.. How about u?

Hi Wendy, welcome too.. Ya seems like a lot of 1st Jan baby.. Hee, i am actually hoping for 1st jan too but looks not possible as my gal is too comfortable inside..

Shannon,

I did that last nite. Dunno why my baby so hungry last nite. I feed her BF+fomula at 12am - 60ml and she manage to finished it all. So I though she will sleep for at least 4-5 hours like previous nite. End up she only sleep for 2 hours and cry for milk at 2am!! So I feed her with one side then she fall asleep, another side of breast is swollen so I decided to pump out. End up only 2oz..2oz hard to freeze...quite depress about this..:-(

Miaiko,

Thanks for the email address. I drop them an email, hopefully they can get back fast...Currently all my nursing bra hae to underwire..Worried it might reduce my milk supply..

Luckymummy,

Guess that passbook or statemene of account is for first time mummy. If your is second child & above, they will just use the existing one. They wan a copy of that to prevent wrong account number given. and yes, this is for the cash gift. As for the CDA account, It will be another account number. I gave them my POSB saving account for the cash bonus, then open CDA account with OCBC. Now still waiting for them to update me once everything completed.

Register birth cert at the hospital will have surcharge, but it's really convenience, cos after u discharge, hardly got time to go out due to the irregular feeding time. I closed one eyes to settled all in the hospital..

Welcome Wendy!!

I joined Jan2011 thread but end up poped in Dec 2010..haha

Jia you to all mummies..I really dunno who have pop, who still waiting now.

eeks...fingers in the V sounds really uncomfortable lor..and feeling for bb's head..will gynae accidentally break out water bag? Oh man....I am freaking out just imagining it...

I have been getting heavy discharge since a couple of weeks ago...every few hours will have to change my panty liner!! arrghh...

I really dunno whether to induce or not...initially had wanted to induce on 3 or 4 Jan but am chickening out now...will ask gynae to recommend, my gynae seems like the sort who does not advocate inducing.

My gal friend says her gynae told her she had a few hours to walk about after they inserted the pill for inducing birth but she had to turn back mid-way cause the contractions were coming in fast and strong...not exactly very natural like what Chabby mentioned.

Best wishes and smooth delivery to all mummies delivering on 1st Jan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

juz finished chkup. Bleeding cause by infectn.

May opt for c sec now cos gynae feel tat my blood pressure is high n pelvic is narrow. So its betta for me.

Chabby (pfy)

hahaha.. thanks for explaining to me.. I told my gynae I would like to at least give it a try before resorting to epi...

Wonder if I will see any mummy from this forum doing c-sect or induce on 1st Jan at TMC.. haahahaha... was told to go to the admission at 8am... think its going to be a crazy 1st day of 2011... hehehe...

Good luck to you too. hope you dont have to be induced like me...

Lin (clel)

I thought my gal wil be a christmas baby but seems like she likes to be a new year baby and not a year end baby.. hahahah...

kimmyksc (kimmyksc)

hihi, haha.. everything is so unpredictable right?

I was reading the DEC 2010 MTB all these while and sud I have to switch to Jan 2011 MTB... BUt I guess all we hope for is a smooth delivery and a healthy baby...

Good luck those mummies who haven pop and happy new year in adv to all mummies and mummies-to-be in case I have to countdown in the labour ward..

Lalitha, I am due tmr.

Lin, VE is vaginal examination. It is not to induce labor. Is for gynae to check whether the cervix's condition(dialted, effaced or not).

Wendy , welcome.

I am hoping that I will have natural symptoms before I head to hospital tonight else I will go ahead for induce which I do not really want to as I heard and read that it will be more painful than natural. The contractions will b strong. Anyway, I will hv a positive mind and looking forward to c my little princess.

Jiayou all mummies!! You can do it!

for those panicking about inductions: from babycentre.

What is a hormone drip for?

If moving around doesn't speed your labour up, and breaking the waters hasn't had much effect, your midwife will consult a doctor. She might suggest putting up a drip to make contractions more effective (NCCWCH 2007: 238). This is called a Syntocinon drip and contains an artificial form of the labour hormone, oxytocin.

If you have Syntocinon, your baby's heartbeat will be continuously monitored with electronic sensors strapped to your tummy or a clip attached to his head. Continuous monitoring is recommended (NCCWCH 2007: 238) because Syntocinon can overstimulate the uterus, producing very strong, frequent contractions which can sometimes distress your baby.

Syntocinon will make your contractions much more frequent and intense so you're more likely to need help from pain-relieving drugs to cope with these artificial contractions. For this reason, your midwife should offer you an epidural before she starts a Syntocinon drip (NCCWCH 2007: 238).

Is this the drip some of you have been referring to?

My gynae did the VE for me using a dildo like thing inserted into the vagina. Not painful at all.

BTW, for those who have stayed in TMC single bedded room before, i know if hubby tell them wanna stay overnite they will charge. But if we dun tell them and hubby still stay overnite, will they still charge? I mean, if hubby stay over, they sure can see one cos at nite they will also bring bb to me for bfeeding. Then if they see he sleeping there will they just charge?

Kikapo: VE won't burst water bag.. They need some hooklike device to burst it.. Like wat Cel say, it's to check cervix condition.. So dun worry too much.. Think also better not to induce if no need for it.. Let nature take it's course.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dreamz - i just had mine done, abt 37 weeks, together with the strep B test. No extra charge for the VE, just the strep B test.

kikapo,

ur fren is quite lucky as the contraction kick in naturally w/o the drip. i dun think i can move about since i'm GBS positive. i suspect i'll have to be strapped to CTG for monitoring. =(

luckymummy

ya, that's the drip i'm mentioning. that's wat cuz induce labour to be more painful.

sputnik

mine used fingers.. was painful but lucky din bleed.

dreamz

seems like the norm for gynae to do it at some point near the last 4 weeks of your EDD. i did mine for the first time in 38week but some had it earlier. so it depends on ur gynae. Neh, no extra charge for this.

dreamz, my gynae also done VE for me from week 37 and another time at week 39. It does not add extra charge to the package.

hey hey all!

Thanks for the replies..

so the dilation will see how soon u will deliver??

How does gynae measure amino fluid level? I read somewhere tht the level is impt..

Went for my chkup today..38wk1d..doc say no nd do VE today..but my blood pressure was a bit high..had to rest outside & retake again..still bit high..so had to wait c if nd to retake again..luckily after waiting for sometime, consultant finally approved i can go back & need me rest well..if not i might surely kena admitted..

hoping today will b my last chkup..last time my 1st ds born exactly @ 39wks so if bb wanna come out b4 nxt chkup on thurs will b good too.. (*<>*)

Dreams,

I had VE at 37th and 38th week today. No extra charges.

However, I did CTG today. Dr Ang said I'm not dlated although I have many contractions (but I dun feel the contractions at all?)

Any1 knows what is CTG for? Oh it cost 16 buck!

Dreamz: i done VE on 38wk , hmm but is an extra cost for me..

Looks like induce is very painful.. Hope all mummies who are gg for induce, contraction can come naturally even before going through it.

Jia you everyone...

spunik,

no they dun charge...my hubby came back at 12am, the nurse ask him for room number and he saw them check on some paper..but he ignore n just walk in to my room..i dun see them charge me..my hubby pull the curtain and get the chair to block a bit..actually cant really see one lar..those midnite nurse is busy pushing all crying baby, they dun have time to care.

happy new yr in advance mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

going to be a interesting one with so many giving birth tmr.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hehe..

Hi CL

Where did u do your CTG?

I had mine at TMC costs me $4+ after FBI discount

I also dunno what is contractions... diddnt feel it!