(2011/01) Jan 2011

The video about child birth played at Mrs wong's class last sat was quite freaky to me. I am csect with half body. Will doc carry baby to me with cord on? Sound silly but me not so brave with blood and all.

Nimkulut,

Wah, ur baby at 30weeks is 1.6kg?... Just had my checkup last Thur, my baby weighs 1.5kg at 30+week, and my gynae says bb is overweight, and I gotta watch my food intake.

As expected, I failed my OGTT so now gotta watch my diet... the final reading was 9.0, (mitch, i'm higher than yours). But will not be doing all the finger pricking thingy. My no.1 OGTT reading was 9.5, which was even higher and I controlled under pure diet only. Haiz... Now my gynae will be monitoring me on a 3-weekly basis... so going back to see him end of the month again...

Hi Hoshi,

Do take care..anyway think its normal now that doc will see us 3weeks? as my check up is now 3 weeks too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi ivftwins, after yr baby is out, they will clean yr baby first and wrap yr baby in a cloth before bring over to show u. Of cos the cord will already be cut. You won't see any blood at all. Not to worry.

Haha. Daphne. Thank u for assuring me. Guess Singapore hospital and overseas behave differently. The video was showing natural birth mother was passed the baby cord on as well! Haha.

Count down for everyone.

Hi Daphne,

Jaundice check is happen when baby is 1 week old? If the price is so difference, I also think to bring my baby to polyclinic tat near my house, more convenience & save the journey time. my fren who gave birth at TMC was telling me tat gynae will *assign* a PD to us and we must bring baby to see PD when baby is 1(cant remember) week old. So the jaundice check that experience mummies mentioned here is the first baby doctor visit? PD visit is fast, short time and expensive!!

ivftwins

I plan to tell my doctor upfront, not to bring baby to us b4 they clean baby up. I dunno if I can take it but my husband confirm cannot take it. haha

yeah...count down for everyone...mine 6 weeks more...

sorry to interrupt mommies,

My girl is coming to 8 mths and I have decided to stop steralising her bottles. My philips Avent electric steraliser is in very good condition as my helper washes it every other day! No stain and rust.

If u are thinking of buying a second set to be put in care-giver house, can consider mine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/4703587.html?1289194167

Hi kimmyksc, cannot remember around when I bring my #1 for jaundice check. Think it's either the next day after my discharge or when 1 week old.

Actually for jaundice check, it's very fast at polyclinic also. They will give you priority so dun need to queue.

Think even if TMC assign a PD to us, we can choose not to use the PD rite? Cos my SIL who give birth at TMC also did not use the PD there.

Anyway, I went for the hospital tour last thur. Was told tat the 4 bedded room increase to 3 from 1 last time. So now it's harder for free upgrade. So, I change from 4 bedded to 2 bedded instead cos worried about the toilet part.

Hoshi,

i just got a call from the gynae clinic.

sigh~ didn't clear the OGTT also. my reading is 7.9 while cut off is 7.2..

so they want me to go down tomorrow to teach me how to use the blood monitor machine i guess and advice on diet.

Hi MTB,

It has been a long while since I do any posting, the thread is moving so fast.. had a hard time following..

My checkup last week show that my gal is now at 30 weeks weighing around 1.5kg.. Gynae did not mention anything about being overweight. Hopefully still within the range.. I ask my gynae whether the bb has turn and apparently she has.. wow so excited and scared.. that means I can go natural. Next check up will be in another 2 more weeks..

Please advise when will we start our weekly check up?

When do you MTB tend to start your maternity leave? How long before the due date?

Its been almost 1 over mth since i last posted.

Are u guys having fears of labouring esp those first time mummies? I cant imagine myself in labour ward pushing away in abt 11 weeks' time or less. When should we start packing our bags huh

Hi Smurf

I think the weekly checkup will start when u r in yr 36 wks or so. Can any mummies correct me?

Hey all, I'm emerging again after a long silence.

On cleaning the baby, I think Singapore hospitals' practice is to clean the baby up before handing to mum. My pilates instructor actually kept telling us to include in our birth plan to have the baby come immediately to mum before cleaning up! Her thinking was that baby is very comfortable in the womb and once out there's harsh light and its cold etc so baby's stress level goes up and its best to let mum cuddle rather than put it on a cold surface, be scrubbed down and whatnot. I'm not sure I'll be all that loving a mum when baby's handed to me all covered in blood! She also said something about looking at the baby and going "oh so cute" which will stimulate the breastmilk producing hormone, which again I'm thinking the "oh so cute" reaction will be much stronger with a clean baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, I also failed my OGTT like hoshi and mitch (anyone else?) my final reading was 8.7. And I "cheated" cos I kept feeling very thirsty and drinking a lot of water during the 2 hours. Have to monitor blood sugar once a week now. The thing is, I don't even like sweet stuff. Ok, I like cakes and am ok with the occassional cookie or frozen yoghurt but I actually find chocolate and ice cream yucky so why me? Sorry for the whine!

Btw, my baby is enormous, 1.8kg at 30mths 1 day. Worried.

Regarding our maternity leave,

Do any of you ladies know if gynaes will give us Mc to cover the last few days or even week or 2 before we deliver? Very reluctant to start maternity leave, but the thought of working right up to delivery is even more sian. As it is now already feeling big, hot and bothered all the time, energy levels are also super low.

lilyh,

Yah, I'm looking at getting a second hand brest pillow. Might be useful as a standby. Did you change the cover? Anyone knows where we can buy a new cover? only seem to see the whole set being sold at shops.

Nipple shield,

Has anyone tried these things, and do they really help with painful latching? I still can't imagine how they work.

Hi Daphne,

You opt for c-sect rite. How much is the hospital stay for c-sect epidural 2 beded room? I need to book mine by next week.

Dun think its compulsory for us to bring baby back to TMC's PD for jaundice check bah..If dun need to wait then I will just go to polyclinic..Thanks for the info

poohpooh,

Me Me!! Really scared about it esp cos it's an unknown quantity of pain. Watching the birth videos also did not help. Is it true that labour contractions are like menstrual cramps x 10? Or is too conservative?

I think you can start putting together a few items in a bag...just in case. Maybe the bare essentials? Clothes, undies, skincare (if you're allowed to wash at all!)

My mum-in-law says the first few days at least shouldn't wash hair. I interpret "few days" to be 3-4 days?

Looking on the bright side, at least she also said that if want to wash face n body after delivery can, but using those ginger water or whatever. I'll take whatever I can get.

How closely are you ladies going to follow these guidelines?

reia,

I'm thinking that if I survive labour I will be quite happy to hold my baby in whatever bloody or unbloody state she's in. =P

Don't worry too much about baby weight, if your gynae didn't say much then maybe your baby is just ahead of the growth curve. All of our babies will put on a lot in these last weeks, just a matter of how fast I guess.

Luckymummy,

Guess we can request from our doctor..agreed with you, getting more n more tired nowaday. I walk real slow to lunch and walk with umbrella as support. Walk up stair case is even worse, need to sit when shower..morning still ok cos we had a long rest at nite. Battery gone low from noon onwards..I lie down on bed right after my dinner n shower.

Hi pooh,

im the first time mummy, will be pushing into OT in 6 weeks time. Mixture feeling I would say, happy, anxious, excited..fear yes, but not bcos of the delivery, is more on adding new member into our lifestyle, worried cant do well and dunno if can handle baby well..Recently feel a bit *sian* when neighbour's kids/baby making noise..

lucky mummy,

Those tat I heard is menstual cramps x 100, not 10 :-S but not pain all the way..only when open till 8cm, then the pain is non-stop...before that is on and off, still bearable..

kimmy,

your situation sounds bad. I feel horrible only towards the end of a long day at work. It's not that my job is actually using physical strength, but the emotional drag of having to go to work, put up with nonsense from other people who want to milk you dry before you go off on maternity that gets me down.

I'm actually kinda looking forward to the new member and the new set of challenges. Quite tired of work nowadays. Is anyone planning on becoming a SAHM?

Yup, the best part of every day is lying down after dinner. But even that is slowly disappearing cos I keep feeling uncomfortable when lying down and need to sit up.

oops, ok, menstrual cramps x 100. Is it cos these pple have quite painless cramps? hehe. I sure hope so. My cramps used to be quite bad.

reia,

the cause of the high sugar level could be due to many things. Now for all my food intake, I control the no. of carbos going in. Carbos will translate into sugar.... And my sis (a dietician) advise that for GD mummies, we can take 2 exchange of carbos for our BF, Lunch and Dinner and 2 snacks. 1 exchange of carbo=15g. I read up and saw that one plate of normal chicken rice = 6 exchanges. So can u imagine how much carbos we are taking in?... Also, I try to drink more water and walk more... coz exercising can help to digest the 'sugar' level. Switching to brown rice and multigrain bread...

Your baby weight is big could be due to GD and partly due to boy?... Boy's bones are heavier..

Btw, for mummies with GD, my gynae advise is that the latest for delivery is 38 weeks, earliest is 37 weeks...

luckymummy,

u need to check with gynae... I'm also thinking of taking MCs one week before and after christmas. then hopefully after that, I can give birth and start my maternity leave.

Kimmysc,

u are fast.... u mean in 6 weeks will go thru C-sec?

Hi Kimmyksc mummy and lucky mummy

I went for the hospital tour last mth at gleneagles. A Sister nurse told me if I am having epidural, the pain will be relieve by 80-90%. But still, its the process before the epidural which i m scared and the injection of the epidural into my back.

My friends who has given birth b4 told me the injection is nothing as compare to the pain.

My hubby told me dun be scare as he will b there for me. And told me its not pain one (of course lah, im the one in labour wat). What he says its quite true - i m not the first nor the last woman giving birth. If others can go thru so can I.

My hubby prefer natural cos he feels c-sect is consider as a surgery. There are more or less risk. sigh.

kimmysac mummy: jiayou. u can do it. your bb is yr flesh and blood. You carried him/her for the past 9 mths wor. The sacrafices u made while u carried him/her.

Went for 30 week checkup and gained almost 14kg since prepreg weight andbb is 1.6kg but doc also never asked me to diet. Sugar level is also ok. Dunno whether I shld start to control carbo

pooh,

I also delivered in GlenE for my no.1, and will be delivering there again.

Don't worry abt the epidural. You won't get to see the needle nor see the process. Just think of seeing your baby soon, and it's over quite fast.

I don't remember the pain from epidural, but I remembered the pain from the enema (for clearing the stools)..

This is the suggested packing list from babycentre.co.uk

Some items aren't so applicable to us, but I thought this was useful as a checklist.

What to pack for labour

•Your birth plan and maternity notes.

•Dressing gown. This will be useful if you end up pacing hospital corridors in early labour and you'll need one on the postnatal ward. Hospitals can be very warm, so a lightweight one may be better.

•Slippers

•Socks. Believe it or not, your feet can get cold during labour.

•An old nightdress or a T shirt to wear in labour. It will probably get a bit messy, so don't buy anything specially to wear in hospital.

•Massage oil or lotion if you would like to be massaged during your labour.

•Lip balm.

•Snacks and drinks for you while you are in labour. Isotonic sports drinks are good (NCCWCH 2007: 86) or bring some glucose tablets to keep you going.

•Things to help you relax or pass the time, such as books, magazines, games and so on.

•A hairband. If you have long hair, you might want it tied up.

•Pillows. The hospital might not have enough to make you really comfortable.

•TENS pain relief machine, if you are planning to use one.

•Toiletries

•Music to listen to. Take a battery-operated machine, as most hospitals won't let you plug things in. Some hospitals provide their own CD players or radios - again, check first.

For the birth partner

•Water spray, or a hand-held fan to keep cool down the mum-to-be while she's in labour.

•Comfortable shoes. You may be pacing the corridors!

•A change of clothes

•Watch with a second hand, to time contractions.

•Swimwear, if you want to join the mum-to-be in a birth pool.

•Digital camera or camcorder. If you want to bring a camcorder, check with the hospital beforehand, because not all of them allow them in delivery rooms.

•Address book or a list of phone numbers. You and your partner will be able to use a mobile phone in parts of the hospital, but bring lots of change or a prepaid phone card just in case, for all the calls you may want to make. [And your handphone charger too!]

•Snacks and drinks. You don't want a dehydrated, hungry birth partner looking after you and if you take some with you, they can stay with you rather than leaving the room to search for food!

For after the birth

•A going-home outfit. You'll need loose comfortable clothes to wear while you're in hospital and for the journey home. It will take a while for your tummy to go down, so you'll be still wearing maternity clothes when you come home - sorry!

•Nursing bras. Take two or three.

•Breast pads

•Maternity pads. Bring a couple of packs.

•Nightshirt or T-shirt. Front-opening shirts are useful in the early days of breastfeeding.

•Toiletries

•Towels, hairbrush, toothbrush and toothpaste.

•Old or cheap knickers, or disposable knickers. Don't bring your best ones as they will get messy. If you end up having a caesarean, the NCT sells brilliant stretchy knickers that are comfortable to wear over your scar.

•Arnica tablets to help with bruising after the birth. Although there's no conclusive evidence that they work (NHS 2007), many women report that taking arnica helps reduce bruising and helps the healing process.

•Ear plugs, in case you end up on a noisy ward!

For your baby

•An infant car seat. Some hospitals won't let you leave by car without one.

•One outfit for the trip home (all-in-one stretchy outfits are easiest).

•Two or three sleepsuits and vests for baby to wear while you are in hospital.

•Baby blanket. Take a warm one if the weather is cold.

•Nappies

•One pair of socks or booties.

•Hat

•Jacket or snowsuit for winter babies.

•Muslin squares

Hi kimmyksc, I book mine through my gynae's clinic. Think is $260+ per nite for 2 bedded. I check the rates at the counter and it's the same as the internet ones. And C-sec supposed to stay 3 nites. But my gynae say his practice is usually 2 nites for C-sec. So, I will just stay for 2 nites. For the other charges, think will depend on how much yr gynae charge. Did u go for the hospital tour already? Think they include a list of hospital charges in the bag they gave u before the tour.

Daphne,

I'm really impressed with Dr Tham. If c-section only needs a 2 night stay, then natural delivery is...1 night? hehe

But seriously I like him a lot...even though he keeps telling me to stop gaining weight so fast.

Luckymummy,

Thanks for the encouragement!

The perception of pain may depend on the individual but there's always epidural?

I'm not following any confinement "no washing" guidelines. My mum seems cool about it and if she approves then it must be ok because she surely doesn't have any aches and pains that other elderly women complain about.

On MC, may depend on the practice of the individual obstetrician, ask yours about it? I went to a talk where the obgyn said that with so many months of maternity leave these days mums should not push themselves and should consider going on maternity leave early, which seems to indicate to me that he doesn't give mc pre-delivery.

smurf:

welcome back [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I only intend to start maternity when I pop. Haha did the same for #1 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i think the checks will only be weekly during the last mth. cant remember exactly but about there.

luckymummy:

I bought a new bf pillow from Kiddypalace. Think they dun sell separate case so I chose the one with extra casing.

Anyway, contraction pain is like the kind of cramp you get when you get food poisoning. Starting still quite bearable but when the contraction gets closer, then its more jialat. If the nurse strap you the machine which measures your contraction, you can see the graph when the contraction comes and can prepare for it.

reia:

Dont worry about the big baby k. The ultra-scan may not be totally accurate to estimate the weight. My cousin's baby is supposed to be 3.8 at the last visit but come out only 3.4. The most important thing is that baby is healthy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Luckymummy, I'm not sure about natural delivey. For my #1, I only stay 2 nites at KKH with c-sec. Actually he did mention tat if this time round, I choose c-sec in the morn about 8am, he should be able to discharge me the next evening, which means I only need to stay 1 nite....

I also like Dr Tham as he's really a very nice and caring gynae, therefore I follow him from KKH to TMC...

Chancy & Hoshi & reia:

We are less than 2 mths there so jia you. Now I am monitoring 2 times per week and each time gotta prick myself 7x a day. I had switch all my diet to brown rice or wholemeal and low fat. So far my post meal 2hrs never exceeds 6.8mmol/l. Will be seeing my diabete dr tml to see if I still need to do the bld sugar monitoring.

My gynae will Wana induce me ard 37weeks not because my gal is big but due to the complications I have. Wondering can I choose a date to do so haha..... If can I Wana deliver on 5th Jan cos on a sat

mitch,

that's good to hear.

you can ask your gynae about the c-sec date. just be prepared to pay for selecting date. that's the case for my gynae.

will be going down to my gynae for the GD issue. sigh~

pooh and kimmy

my colleague describe each contraction as bad food poisoning case. gets worse as the contraction intensify and as you dilate.

i'm still dreadful of it even after reading so much books that covers specifically on birth and labour. Am reading a book call "the best birth" by Sarah Mcmoyler.

there's a chapter for the husband on how they can help in labour and act as a doula.

http://search.barnesandnoble.com/The-Best-Birth/Sarah-McMoyler/e/9780738211213

I also hope to go natural delivery with epidural.. my gynae says it's still possible. My no.1 was also induced, so shld be quite ok...

Yah, now I also try to eat less, but more frequently. Like this morning, had 1 slice of multigrain bread with lettuce & tuna, then one hour later, one cup of soymilk with no sugar. That's my breakfast!.... hehe... Lunch shld be soupy stuff like yong tau hu/fish soup with less meehoon.... hmm... dinner is more challenging coz hubby always big eater and always eat all my favourite food... haha..

HI MTB,

I am planning to give birth without epidural and C-sec, it means all natural if God permits. But after reading your comments quite impressed with epidural thing, but also heard that it has side effects like back pain few years later? My #1 was all natural and I feel no back pin so far.

I am 32 weeks today and enter 33 weeks, DD born at 36 weeks so for me may be 3-4 more weeks to go [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gd morning all mummies...

I m officially in my 31weeks! In denial totally! Keep psycho-ing myself it's 30 weeks nia..haaa.... I think its e first time mom freaking out syndrome....

:D does anyone also keep rubbing/touching/playing with their tummy? I cannot keep my hands away from sayang-ing my tummy lo... Jus now on train one mummy - also 30weeks preg(are u on this forum also) told me tht her gynae advice against her rubbing her tummy cos it will stimulate e womb or something... Anyone else got similar advice frm gynae? Is e stimulation gg to cause premature womb contraction or something?

:D Tuesday! Starting my bi-weekly visit liaoz.. Tot my little v heavy at 1.6kg.. But seems like many "healthy" weight bb ard also... Lol

lucky mummy,

Ya...May be also due to the long journey on Sunday cos I went back to KL over weekend. Super tiring..Noon normally is after lunch, stomach bcome very bloated..I'm excited about new member but sometime also worried about the *flexible* that we used to have. But I guess with a little one at home, it will be more happy...think positive..hahha

Hi Pooh,

Thanks..I will jia you...now keep telling baby come out cannot be cranky and must have patience...Your hubby is trying to make u think positive, he is very supportive leh...

Daphne,

I went for the hospital tour, but only see the 1 bed premier room, din manage to see the 2 beded room :-(.I got the price list, but somehow it's diff with the one tat counter gave me..so weird. Will check again next week.

Sherill,

Jia you...

Hoshi,

Ya, my c-sect date is on 25 December..So is about 6 weeks 3 days for me..Date haven really confirm, but + - will be around there..

Hi Nimkulut,

Yes my gynae tell me not to rub my tummy so often will cause cramps as tat time i hav lots of lower cramps so they say bette not to rub too hard..

hi Mummies

so no one heard of Playtex Milk bottles??

Lily,

never hear before of playtex

kimmy,

oo...x'mas baby!! excited!

Nimkulut

really? i touch/sayang my tummy quite often le.

Kimmyksc, maybe the price diff is the GST? For my hospital tour, I managed to look into the 2 bedded and 4 bedded when passing by as the door was opened. But I know how 2 bedded looks like as I've been to visit my SIL before.

Wow, yr c-sec date is so close. I'm still deciding on the date as my gynae ask me to choose any day after 15 Jan. So excited....

Lily H,

I used playtex milk bottles before. with the disposable inserts. But I got them only coz I needed to travel and was overseas for a few mths with my girl.

Any more Mummies wana join in this bulk order?

3 days more to closing.

Jan'11 thread Bulk Purchase Order

Discount given till 12 Nov.

A) BRAVADO Nursing Bras & Tanks

* FOC Normal Postage (i.e $1 per pc)

* Special offer: $1 off per bra/tank (not applicable for Boy shorts/Bikini, nor for Allure/Sublime combo

* Your choice of either

i) FREE pair of Bravado Moisture-Wick Washable Breast Pads (worth S$7.50) that is free with purchase of each bra

OR

ii)Get $2 OFF per bra

* The above discounts are given to us when we can collate an order of 35 pcs.

B) Baby K'tan Baby Carrier

* $3 OFF per piece for 15 orders

* $7 OFF per piece for 20 orders or more

Here's the link:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4633865.html?1288314132

Afternoon Mummies!

Miaiko, will give this nursing bras a miss. No time to do fitting and they are too expensive to just anyhow buy leh...

Kimmy, Christmas baby???? Awww... that's so sweet!

I m going into 31 weeks soon.. so scary... But the weight is taking it's toll on me... I feel that I have a perpetual backache! And I can't sleep comfortably also... sigh....just feel soooo tired everyday!

Lily, never tried playtex before. Last time I used to use this Dr Brown bottle, but it has so many parts to wash!

Thanks Miaiko, Chabby and Misty..

As i went to Isetan tat day the sales person was talking so much rave about the playtex bottles and the drop inz.. abt the lesser air bubbles and all..was wanted to ask around and see whether is it really so popular [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Miaiko,

I actually wonder how does the drop ins stay steralise once we open the box? its looks pretty convenient and all..

Lily H,

hmm.. in my personal opinion, the playtex btl is gd for travel coz can juz toss away the drop-ins. Not eco friendly though. The teats still have to wash and sterilise. the teats also much softer than pigeon and avent ones. which some babies don't like.

About less air bubbles.. yes quite true. But it has this problem of not being able to measure accurately the amt of water in the drop-ins.not sure how to explain to you. I wont recommend to use for newborns or young babies. I used it for my girl when she juz turned 1yr.. so I always add a little more water in her milk. For young babies, accurate measurement for the milk is important.

Long term use of the playtex with drop-ins also gonna be costly. And really ECO-Unfriendly.

Oh, another thing.. the drop-ins doesn't help keep the milk warm, unlike pigeon / avent btls.. the milk can stay warm longer.

Thanks Miaiko, think its more for travelling and for convenient wise..

I will stick to my avent bottles then. I actually bought one normal bottle for my son to try out and he say difficult to drink..think the teats hole is too small for flowing of milk and that is already the fastest. And cant really steralise the bottle too base on the instructions manual so i find it difficult plus more parts to wash too..

Hi lily..

Me 1st time MTB, hv bought the playtex drop-ins, primarily cos there is no need to sterilise.. Also bot the ventair range for future use to drink water, juice etc..

Nvr really thot abt how to keep them sterilized once box is opened, but think that so long as it is kept in the box closed shld be ok or keep the box into another ziploc bag to keep the dust out jus to be doubly sure it's clean... In anycase, think that if use frequently, then no worries abt sterilization cos will finish quite fast?

Just my 2cents worth.. Hope it helps..

daphne, chabby, misty

Ya, my doctor suggest to choose xmas day.. And xmas is a saturday, convenience for my family to give more support haha. The only problem is IF i wan to send my placenta for processing, will have to bring home and freeze first cos they dun do collection on PH..still considering if I should eat it or throw it..headache...

Thanks Daphne,Will find out more for the room. I din manage to view the room cos it's not convenience at tat time. I visit to my fren 2 yrs ago. Can remember a bit how the room look likes. Now is my hubby who doesn't wan to take 2 beded, he say later too crowded and hard to rest if next door got too many visitor. :-S cost a bomb if take 1 beded..haiz...

Is time for me to pack my hospital bag...so anxious..