(2011/01) Jan 2011

Applecrab,

Thanks for the info. I have drop mommycozy an email. intheworm will have surcharge if pick up on public holiday. My c-sec date is tentatively set on 25th Dec..Will see which one can collect on the same day without top up much on it, and I'm still considering whether to do or not to do..haha...

kikapo,

wa...you got good buy from la senza...I dun remember if I have fren's birthday month fall in Nov :-(

PJ..

I think i'll go La senza n check out. coz i hardly ever step into OG.

Pinkimum,

me at TMC. Already booked room thru my gynea's clinic leh. and that was 1mth ago. I duno when's the latest to book.

apple79,

MIM is not difficult to use. It's easy to use. But I find it only suitable to use for a short time period like 30mins. And only suitable use for small and light-weight baby.

Maybe coz my girl is big and heavy, so it was not comfortable using MIM. It caused very bad strain on one side of the shoulder after a while.

When I tried my friend's Baby Ktan with my toddler girl in, my girl was swinging her legs. nvr complain leh. haha. so I think she's comfy lor.

She hated to be in the Baby Bjorn too.

I've tried Beco. It's much better than Baby Bjorn, but for breastfeeding and different carrying positions, I find Baby Ktan better.

Mag,

Ok! Yah hope to start class again.

PJ/Nursing wear,

I've been buying random items from John Little, OG, wherever or whatever happens to go on sale. Also 'invested' in a set of PJs from BPs I think the brand is Nissen. Some have built in nursing bra shelf...but support is not really there. Having said that, I'm quite small chested, so might not need to wear a separate bra all the time.

Bought a mix of tops and shorts/knee length bottoms, plus some dresses from all these sources.

Actually if you're breastfeeding in your own room, and the colour is not too sheer, or there are prints in front, or you wear a nursing bra (anti sag device too!), I think should be able to wear anything you like? Even if there are strangers, visitors or fathers-in-law hanging around the house?

kikapo,

My concern about the satin material is the sweaty patches that develop! I always get that...so would rather wear cotton stuff.

Slings,

I bought a pupsik sling. Any feedback on that?

Allergies and eczema,

I developed this mysterious peeling syndrome on my middle finger and thumb. Wouldn't go away and my doctor prescribed mild steroids. Used it for about 2 weeks and it worked.

He also said to avoid the allergens, so I stopped washing the dishes and that made it noticeably better as well.

luckymummy11,

my first sling is a hotsling. exactly like Pupsik. also strain shoulder leh.. coz single-sided carrying. Again, I only manage to use it twice when my girl was 1mth old. After that, cannt use le, coz the material is not stretchable, it cant be used as your child grows bigger, nor can it cover at all when bfg, and the material(double layer) is hot. My girl had rashes after being inside for 30mins. And it causes strain on my shoulder too!

Wanted to sell my Hotsling away, but nobody wanna buy it so far.

back from gynae. the shocking bit..

weight gain of 4.2kg!!! So it's decided that it's my turn to do OGTT..sigh~

Weight gain till date: 10kg

baby weight: 1.4kg

sleeping arrangement?

co-sleeping no good cuz later very hard to get the baby to sleep in its own cot is it? hmmm.. i'm between cot or co-sleep w kiddo in snuggle nest. read that co-sleep has danger of suffocating the kiddo.. has some concern about that.

PJs/nursing wear.

i bought those really big dresses to wear currently as i can't really fit into my usual "at-home" shorts..

currently wearing those aunties-wear-to-market-big-ugly-dresses at home now. checkered print. bought at $6 from Bedok pasar malam just 1-2 weeks ago..

intend to wear this till D-day and till end of confinement. read that if c-sec, it's better to wear dress version PJ..

la senza

i love their bras.. i'd usually wait till their 50% storewide to buy their bras. bought 2 from Robinson expo sale the last time round at $10 each. a STEAL! The robinson expo sale is up again starting this weekend. you may wan to go down and take a look.

Miaiko,

thks for the feedback. Too bad I already bought, luckily it's 2nd hand so not so xin tong.

I was actually thinking of using it together with a light stroller, to get up and down buses for nearby trips. So can temporarily put baby in sling when almost time to board, and can lift up stroller onto the bus. If I ever take the bus again, that is. haha. I don't drive, and taking taxis everywhere will be super siong.

chabby,

I totally understand your sianness about the weight gain. But your total weight gain doesn

t seem so bad leh...10kg in total.

Did your doctor tell you to control weight gain, or he/she thinks since last lap already then it's ok? Cos pregnant women are supposed to put on the most in the last trimester.

Co-sleeping,

Apparently a very bad idea. My colleague allowed her son to sleep on their bed and he absolutely refuses to sleep in his cot now. Like someone else moentioned, it will take a lot of crying(on the kid) and effort (from you) to get your baby out next time.

I dunno if I can hold out, but I will try my best not to allow co-sleeping. *gulp*

re: co-sleeping

Used to put baby in the playpen during confinement and found that its very straining for the back. Switched to co-sleeping esp when I breastfeed @ night. I can continue to sleep while baby is nursing. Haa~ After he ended the night feed, he was ok to switch to sleep in the playpen by himself. Like what was shared earlier, playpen can be quite dangerous when your baby starts to be able to pull himself up and tries to shake it. We went back to co-sleeping for a while. To prevent him from falling off the bed as he will turn 360 degree, kicks and jab us... we got him to sleep on the mattress on the floor now.

re: placenta

How long in advance must we book the service? Still thinking about it.. maybe check with my gynae during the next checkup. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chabby:

Don't worry too much about the weight gain, a lot of it will go to the placenta and water. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] As long as baby is healthy and you eat healthily, it should be fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple79:

Had the MIM sling for #1. Didnt exactly know how to sling it when he at the infant stage. Very buay zha. Although I bought the silk one, he is still perspiring in it. Maybe I didn't use it correctly. Will try it again this time round [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

miaiko>> guess we both suffering same fate.. but mine is only triggered due to food.. greedy me.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

grumpus>> i got the antihistamine when i had runny nose the previous time i went.. taking the piriton.. but at night i'll still wake up from the itch and scratch non-stop.. now the the itch is slowly going away and the swell is finally improving.. bleah..

this month so suay.. first prolong flu and cough for about 2 weeks at the beginning of oct.. than now food allergy..

mummies jiayou! another 2 months or so! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow surprised that so many ppl using sea horse mattress.

I was actually at sea horse just now and purchased their foldable sofa bed at $119 including delivery.

Saw their 3 fold mattress, but it looks rather thin, seems more like for children. U mean the support is sufficient for adults? It's rather cheap, think $35.

Re: weight gain

I'm in my 28th week now, gained 8 kgs so far.

And i'm waiting for my appmt this sat to see how big baby is now.

luckymummy11> i bought a pupsik sling too. It was recommended by my best friend and I tried it on at the expo baby fair, think its ok, so I got it too.

bethel>> sofa bed at $119 incl delivery is pretty good price! will go down and take a look too, then CL no need to sleep on floor if its suitable. =) thanks for the recommendation.

tomorrow is my 30th week appt and will be going for GD test too. Fingers crossed that everything will be ok!

Cookiefleur>> ya quite a good buy n they say they having 50% sale now so i'm not sure this price is valid until when. I saw it at the junction 8 branch btw.

It folds out to be like a thick mattress on the floor, there's no bed frame. So its still like sleeping on a mattress on the floor but its 8" thick. So rather high.

You can see the pic n product description here:

http://www.hecom.hk/upload/big119305063538.12.jpg

http://www.hecom.hk/catalog2_en2.php?id=738&subid=41&pid=33&page=1

Jass and luckymummy,

thank you for your consolation and advice.

my gain per month is average out to be 3 kg every month. plus my grandma has diabetes, my gynae wan me to go down to do OGTT this week. must confess about my craving for sweet and cold stuff. looks like i can only opt for ice-water in mean time.

bethel and cookiefleur,

seahorse have 50% practically thro'out the year. no need to rush down. sometimes they have additional 10%-15% on top of the storewide 50%. that'll be the best deal they offer. check the papers occassioanlly. they doadvertise in the papers.

pinky,

u ok? now sch hols, off-peak. just need to clear the SOWs, etc before we MIA. try to rest as much as possible. you may wan to reduce the air-con for prolong hours. this help in clearing your nose and flu. increase intake of fruits and vitamin c to boost immunity.

Today I have all the appts to see the GDM, diabetic nurse educator and the dietician... conclusion is I have to prick myself 7x a day to monitor my bld sugar with strict diet control... Haiz... 2 more mths to go...

Also started to change to eating brown rice, to my surprise dun taste tt bad... Everything I eat is wholemeal for now ...

Hi Chabby, look like not bad lay the sofa bed, mayb i can consider also.. i also headache abt the sleeping arrangement for CL.

Miaiko: I think hotsling more popular overseas.I think i will seriously consider Baby K'tan. Notice u get the breeze series. Your fren also has the breeze or cotton?

Jass: Oh I think I might be the same case. I am quite lousy at adjusting here and there.

Bethel: I think they have three kind of 3 fold mattress. I bought mine at $99. Quite big leh. single size bed size.

Hi Mitch, you took the OGTT and yr sugar level was high? Can I know wat's the range? I'll be taking the test this thur.

Did you put on a lot of weight?

Daphne :

My Pre is ok @ 4.3mmol/l. My post is 8.6 mmol/l (normal is <7.8). I put on abt 7kg as of yesterday from the beginning of preggy lor.

Hoshi:

Yup supposed to see Fang yee but she is on leave so I saw Cassandra. U seeing one here too?

Mitch,

my sis working there as dietician... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hehe.... but u put on 7kg shld be quite ok....

I had GD for my no.1, only based on my sis's advise to control diet... Going for my GD test this Thurs... sigh... my turn...

Mitch, you are only slightly over and yr weight gain is not much. Still need to prick everyday?

Hoshi, I'm also going for my GD test this thur. My gynae did not ask me to do the test for my #1. So, this time will be my first time doing the test.

Daphne,

You too?... need to fast on wed night after 8pm onwards. Be prepared to spend the whole morning on thur for the test...

For mummies with GD, need to monitor your bb very closely upon delivery esp if you intend to do full BF. I read recently that babies born from GD-mummies may tend to get dehydrated easily and may have fever. Also partly coz the first few days, milk supply haven't come in yet, so may need to supplement with FM.... It happened to my no.1, when I insisted that no need water coz was told that breastfed babies don't need mah coz our BM is high in water-content. Ended up my gal had dehydration on 3rd day, and had to be readmitted to NICU...

so after the first blood test and drinking the glucose, have to wait and continue to fast for another 2 hours is it?

Jan'11 thread Bulk Purchase Order

Discount given till 12 Nov.

A) BRAVADO Nursing Bras & Tanks

* FOC Normal Postage (i.e $1 per pc)

* Special offer: $1 off per bra/tank (not applicable for Boy shorts/Bikini, nor for Allure/Sublime combo

* Your choice of either

i) FREE pair of Bravado Moisture-Wick Washable Breast Pads (worth S$7.50) that is free with purchase of each bra

OR

ii)Get $2 OFF per bra

* The above discounts are given to us when we can collate an order of 35 pcs.

B) Baby K'tan Baby Carrier

* $3 OFF per piece for 15 orders

* $7 OFF per piece for 20 orders or more

Baby K'tan Order

1) Miaiko - Breeze,White size M

Here's the link:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4633865.html?1288314132

apple79, the one I tried was cotton. Got 7 friends using Baby Ktan. 4 got cotton. 3 got Breeze. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Hoshi, need to fast from 8pm on wed? No drinks also? My gynae nvr mention lei. Only say no food and drink on thur morn.

For my #1, I gave him FM for the first few days when my milk supply not in yet. Think only when he started drinking BM, then no need so much water. But I still give like 1 oz of water per day.

Glucose test,

during my 1st pregnancy, I was also asked to take the glucose test. my urine got no trace of high sugar. but it's coz my girl's tummy seems quite big and my gynea worried that it's due to GD. so had to go for the test. Test turned out negative.

Hoshi : oh wat's the name of ur sis?

Daphne: I am already quite big size to start off with and I am also under the cat of high risk preggy so my gyane beri careful with me for this preggy.

Take care Mitch and all mummies that have GD [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

WE are not far liao...counting counting..

Seems like a long way esp when having problems sleeping at nite..hav time clock to wake up at 2am, 4am..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

daphne,

i was told to fast at least 8 hours before the first tube of blood drawn. Can only drink plain water. so go there early.

I'll be doing mine on saturday.

Daphne,

Yes, need to fast the night before otherwise the results may not be accurate... can only drink plain water, and no need to take our vitamins/fish oils. After test then can start eating. How u feed ur no.1 with FM? I'm afraid of nipple confusion if do bottle feed and latch on, and cup feed seems so difficult and troublesome...

Mitch,

she's catherine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lily,

ya, not easy sleeping at night... but think now we 3rd trimester even more tiring... have to wake up and pee... does not help when my bb always kick at 6+am/7am everyday... sigh...

Ya Hoshi, i can understand how u feel as am facing the same problem just getting difficult to get into comfortable position [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Think we dont hav to worry so much abt the FM or BF just let nature take its course bah.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi chabby & hoshi, so guess I will stop eating after 10pm on wed cos my appt on thur is 9am. But can drink plain water, rite? My gynae only say can sip on water on thur morn.

I fed the FM from milk bottle. Actually on the first 2 days when in hospital, I already ask the nurse to feed with FM cos my #1 was already hungrily crying for milk and my supply not in yet. I did not feed direct as he refused to latch on. So, from the start, I had already started pumping out milk to feed from bottle.

The good thing is I can keep track on the amount of milk he drinks.

Hi Daphne,sounds good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]can track but wil this affect the milk flow? always hear people saying latch on will help to increase milk flow or its ok if we still continue pumping?

tat's what I heard too. Latching is the best, but if no choice, then pump out lor... I already bought Medela Freestyle to stand by... but hope can latch on successfully, and I'm determined to try make it work...

Wow hoshi big investment ...i borrow from my fren [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] anyway i also wan to make sure that it work this time..hopefully can latch on and hav spare milk to store..haahh

Brand new items letting go:

1. Tollyjoy breastpad of (42 pcs) @ $7

2. Pigeon baby lotion @ $7

3. Pigeon breatmillk storage bottles 3pcs/set (150ml/5oz) @ $8

4. Pigeon baby cream @ $7

5. Pigeon liquid cleaser 200ml @ $5

6. Avent magic cream ~unopened~ @ $12

7. Avent pre-sterilised cups 240ml/8oz 10x refill cups w/o lid @ $10

8. Hexodane woundwash (expiry: 01/2013) ~unopened~ @ $6

9. Sassy bumbin bee rattle @ $5

10. Asymetric trainers with asymetric cracked effect on upper @ $15 (Brand: mothercare) Size: 3~6 mths

11. Monkey shape slipers with furry outer @ $15 (Brand: mothercare) Size: 6~9 mths

Pm if you interested.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4689560.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4689561.jpg]

Hi lily,

same here... will try to latch on if possible. Then pump out excess or use the pump after gg back to work... bought my pump from the US set coz my sis-in-law is working there can help me ship back... paid US$299 only...

Wow hoshi ,that is a very good price plus now US dollar is low [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i also got Freestyle pump to stand by.

Previous pregnancy for Avent manual pump.. coz tot in case no milk supply then wont waste money. But I was wrong. Should get a gd breastpump to help increase ur supply. I use the Avent manual pump until my hand so tired and cramp.

Hi Lily & hoshi, pumping actually did not affect my milk flow. I pump till around 8 mths but hv to stop when I found out I was pregnant this may. I always got extra to store in the freezer also. But of cos hv to be hardworking to wait up in the middle of the nite to pump. The longer the interval of each pumping, the milk will be less n less. I started with pumping every 3 hrs and slowly push to 4 hrs when my #1 gets older and drink less # of time.

Actually at tat time, i gave my #1 FM at nite so tat can last him longer to sleep. BM is always more diluted and he will get hungry very fast. I use the avent manual pump.

wow Daphne, u can persevere to pump for so long.

U hv no problem with Avent manual pump? for me, i pump 45mins only manage to hv 30ml of BM [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Miaiko,

I heard good reviews abt the avent manual pump. A lot of people said it's fast, and not tiring.. super easy to pump too...

I used medela mini-electric single pump... so painful, and supply very pathetic. Stopped when my gal was 4 months old... coz spent 1 hr pumping only 30ml for both sides...

Daphne,

I will try to do exclusive BF for the 1st 3 months, then last month before gg back to work, will try to bottlefeed. Heard BF can slim down pretty fast... but dunno if pumping and latching same effect...

hoshi,

yah.... i heard avent manual pump is good too.. and it's cheaper than electric pump so i went to buy. But it doesnt work for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Miaiko & Hoshi, I'm quite ok with the avent manual pump lei. I manage to pump quite a lot in just 15 to 20 mins. But of cos my hand can be quite tiring after a while....

Hoshi, I gain about 20+ kg for my #1 and manage to lose quite a lot of weight. Only left 3kgs left to lose before I found out about this pregnancy. So think shd hv the same effect but maybe takes longer time.

This time, I only bought some spare rubber parts to replace for my avent manual pump.