(2011/01) Jan 2011

Lilyh,

ok, if halfway through you can make it can join again, had a classmate who came for the last 3 sessions only. Her fees should have been prorated?

kikapo,

4 ah. wow...I am very tempted...this is called "herd instinct"...haha Maybe if enough pple from our thread are interested we can get some discount from her again, like when we bought the cinch? those bras aren't cheap after all...

applecrab,

if we can get at least 3 more pple we can continue this sat. Email Rita to let her know your interest? Cos she may have received some other new contacts too through our other classmates.

Wa Luckymummy, where is the FOS shoP? i also wan to go there to buy lay..

Oops i bot the medela lanolin cream instead wonder now its good or not?

@apple, i am not signing up with origins as my colic strongly recommend the massage lady she is strongly recommend at Oct 2010 thread wo..she is so hot till i wan to book her for pre natal massage also cant get slot [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Luckymummy: Just told my hubby.. He veto my idea of yoga class. Said since i got swim, so no need to go.. Scared too tiring for my body... Haiz.. If i die die wan to go, he confirm nag at me...

kikapo,

i've been eyeing on a few items to buy:

1. bag organiser for baby bag

2. water proof mattress protector.

worry waterbag may burst at nite while i sleep or when the baby comes, pooh/pee on the bed..

3. breast pump from tanlengleng

luckymummy:

Bishan a bit far.. sorry dear.

am thinking of going over the causeway to buy and standby some diapers. so far they say dryers is good and cheap.

Lily and other MTBs,

i read in a guide that nursing bra shld buy at week 36 cuz boobs may become bigger all the way till it stabilised at week 36. will become bigger when BM supply stabilised also.

but i bought 3 bras already. i bought mine at Jusco. it's only 25RM each. but the biggest cup size is C only. also bought some underwears there cuz it's 4 for 10RM..

Apple: I am buying the Bravado Nursing Bra from a BP spree..the same person whom a number of us had bought the Cinch wrap from. If you guys are interested, I can check with her if she can offer us a discount. At the moment, she is offering free normal postage. On her spree thread, she states that postage is at $1 per Bra.

LuckyMummy - I also bought some maternity clothes online too, some were ok but the quality of some were disappointing but I guess 'yi fen quan, yi fen huo'..that's why I am willing to pay a bit more for the nursing bra..cause cannot compromise our 'assets'..haha...

Chabby - Hmm..the waterproof mattress is indeed something to think about...one way about it is to lay the waterproof mat meant for baby's cot on our bed first in the weeks when we are expecting to deliver...kill two birds with one stone..haha..

Moms,

Just for your info..

Happy Mummy, Healthy Baby

From conception to pregnancy and birth, mothers are prepared to give their little ones the very best start in life with regular monitoring to ensure proper growth and well-being. Thanks to technological advancements and medical breakthroughs, today's mothers are empowered with knowledge and information that will help them achieve a smoother pregnancy.

Join us for an afternoon of sharing from a panel of speakers from the NUH Women's Centre, and gain valuable insights to make your pregnancy a safe one.

Hope For A New Life: Understanding Fertility and Miscarriages

Prenatal Diagnosis: Is My Baby Alright?

Back to Basics: Delivering My Baby The Natural Way

Panel Question and Answer Session

Please click here to view the Event Trailer.

Click here to view the poster.

Venue : Suntec Convention Centre Theatre, Level 2

Time : 2.00pm - 5.30pm

Fee : Early Bird Rate: $11 (Book your ticket by 10 Nov 2010), Regular Price: $16, Event Day Price: $21 (Tickets bought on 20 Nov 2010)

Contact : Buy your tickets through the SISTIC website:www.sistic.com.sg. SISTIC Hotline:6348 5555

Apple / Lily:

You keen in the Origins Jamu Postnatal Massage? Any masseur to recommend? The review looks good so thought of booking. How many sessions are you doing?

Chabby:

Apart from kikapo's suggestion, you can consider getting the kind of absorption sheets from pharmacy in case waterbag burst. The kind they use in the hospital. Asked for some from hospital when I discharge so that I don't stain my sheets haha~

Hi Jass,

I am not signing up origins as get recommendation from my colic whom in Oct 2010 thread say tat her massage lady is good so i booked her already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] most likely signing up for 7 sessions

lilyh,

The outlet I went to was at city square mall very near to the causeway. If you don't mind the labels being cut out etc I find FOS items a pretty good buy. But items are very 'seasonal', sometimes a lot of things to see, sometimes nothing at all.

applecrab n chabby,

it's ok, as long as we are all getting our own form of exercise, it should help with the aches and pains. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mag,

Do you mean the address of the yoga place?

Blk 154 Bishan East Zone 6 RC.

email the instructor Rita at [email protected], or let me know your email so I can pass your contact to her. so she will know if we have a minimum number of participants to start class again.

chabby,

yah in JB diapers are real cheap and our exchange rate makes it even more attractive. will go check out dryers brand next time I'm there.

kikapo,

yah agree that the spree clothes were generally not too great, and I bought from different sources.

I wonder if the Bravado bras offer better support even if there are no wires? I'm afraid of becoming saggy!! But I hear should not wear bras with underwire cos might inhibit breastmilk flow. I think I might get at least 1 bra to test size. But like chabby says, have no idea how big I'm gonna get...don't wanna spend so much on an ill-fitting bra.

about the absorption sheets, I only thought about sleeping on an old towel...all your ideas are so advanced compared to mine. haha

Lily:

Oic, I got a recommendation from a friend too. Freelance lady but she is not responsive to calls and sms. Worried that I will kena fly areoplane. So thought of booking for the origins. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello all mummies.. finally got time to read forum today..

having a crazy period at work now.. >.< practically working 12hour days now.. bleah..

sherill>> your bump is so cute and looks small lehz.. plenty of my colleagues commenting that i look like 9 months and ready to deliver anytime le..

previously those who posted that they have constipation problem can try taking yoghurt! works for me.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i having trouble wearing my bottoms now too.. hubby gets very amused when i changing clothes but i find it super irritating instead.. plus cutting of toenails is such a chore!! i also face problems of handwashing some of my clothes even if i sit on the stool.. bleah..

jiayou all mummies! just about another 10 weeks or so!

i still need to go shop for items like pads, disposable undies for confinement.. nursing bra i'm trying to hold out for another 3 to 4 weeks.. my boobs are still not ballooning.. sad.. need to get some long sleeve tops n long gym pants for confinement to please the old folks at home.. still not ready to pack hospital bag..

bb's clothes>> i always have the urge to buy more esp when i'm at FOS in JB.. but sigh.. i have so many hand-me-downs until i'm "banned" by hubby to buy more new items..

ok.. good night mummies.. i gotta go do more work.. bye! have a good rest everyone!

Hi Luckymummy,

yes that is the one that i went las time for buying gap and all but tot now they dun hav tat much? mayb like wat you say seasonal?

And yes been a JB fan for the longest time, for there for my hair cut, perming, rebonding..i hav a fix harisytlist there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and also massage place and fix pedicure place hahaha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And yes diapers there are cheap and milk powder too. but for drypers i am not a fan wo..for bigger kid yes if they dont hav sensitive skin as my boy tried those before drypers, pet pet got lots of rashes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jass, did you put deposit? if not than forget abt it if she is not responsive later fly u kite like wat you say. See whether you wan to try the one i got recommended or try origins? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lilyh,

yup, JB is cheap and good for services, I do my hair and nails wherever we happen to be shopping. But mani and pedi is very value for money there. Plus husband gets his fix of car washing and grooming, cheap petrol, so everyone's happy!

Did chabby mean dryers or drypers? I seem to recall seeing a brand dryers too. Or there were so many brands that I compared price until my eyes crossed?

on the topic of malaysia,relevant for mommies who are keen with Cloth Diapers. I saw Autumnz at the expo and understand that the main founder is in Malaysia....While shopping at JB, maybe can look out for them. I dunno where their boutique in JB is.

Bought some gap baby clothes online recently when they were having sale. Not bad and reasonable price. I love FOS too but now that I am clumsy,do not go JB anymore.

I am thinking of booking www.jamumassage.com or www.malayheritagemassage.com

I think both have good reviews.

When we shop for disposable panties, are there any recommedation for comfortable type instead of 1 size fit all paper ones which I know sold at watsons. Dun think it is comfortable lah....

Hi Luckymummy, same here my hubb do his car washing servicing and all there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yes the pedi and medi good value for money wit good nice artwork [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh its dryers? hahahah mayb i shld go reki dryers?

HI Ivftwins,

talking abt disposable panties, i remembered last time they do sell those in sizes? anyway i will be wearing those specially for mense type of panty i suppose..

ivftwins:

For disposable panties, try to get the clothes ones. Fits better. Get 1 size bigger than your norm in case bum haven't slim down yet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Can get these from NTUC or Watson. About $3+ for a pack of 5. These are good for traveling too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hate those paper ones. Makes me feel like Ah Ma. LOL.

LilyH:

Do you mind sharing your contacts for Malay Massage Lady with me? Please pm me k. Can share the share the charges too?

Havent been to JB in ages.. hard to go out of country with my boy and a maid. Hahah resign to staying in Sg for a while till #2 is bigger. Luckily I have to travel for work once in a while so I kinda still get to visit countries and their airports (since we don't really have much time to walk walk on work trip) LOL.

My job requires me to walk abt and everyday I will climb stairs and walk overhead bridges...hope it can form part of my exercise :p and hope it will not induce labour. My frd told me not to walk abt for long period nearing labour times. My buttocks ache alot lately.

kikapo - How much did u buy the playmat for? Thinking to get one also, it's really useful when BB is at tummy area stage.

Bravado Nursing Bra - Hmm sounds v good. Hehe Think will get abt 2-3 to stand by, although I have some Ah mah style ones from my previous pregnancy. But wanna get nicer ones for work wear.

Waterproof sheets - Can just get from hospital or pharmacy. Those blue colour sheets. Think when yr water bag burst wont stain yr matteress bah, coz when it happens u will feel the urge to go toilet and alot of water will gush out. Then u know yr waterbag has burst. Some will hear a faint 'pop' sound.

Agree with Jass1408 that the paper disposable panties makes me very ah mah, it's like a big shower cap. Think they are free size ones? I rem mine is v v big then up its quite uncomfortable as the pad doesnt stay near to me, thus have leakage often.

Massage - Origins sounds very good and like have many good reviews... I haven booked mine yet...

For those booking massage, I had a bad experience from my previous one. She fly me kite.

I have contacted her this at my last stage, she smsed responsed and say I only need to inform her after my delivery and can make arrangements from there. So I thought it's confirmed booked already. Who knows when I called her, she said she's fully booked for the month. End up in the very last min, I hv to source for another one and have my massage done only last wk of confinement.

So for those that are booking, remember to get a more affirmative confirmation that she's reserving that slot for you.

Wow, so many posts to catch up....

PM, I bought the disposable panties from Guardian. It's the cotton cloth kind and very comfortable. Just like any other normal panties. And they came in sizes.I will usually go for the biggest size so tat more comfortable.

Btw, last nite I'm having this terrible lower body ache. Got worst when I sit up from bed from a lying postiion. But felt better this morn. Anyone has the same situation as me? I dun remember having this kind of ache for my #1.

Daphne: the pain could be due to tiredness, and if not sometime baby changes position or may be was trying to head down. So i wouldnt worry about that [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have a question for after BF.

I have sagging nipple after I stop BF, does anyone here have this prob? I scare it will sag worst after this round of BF. should I use nipple shield this time?

Hi Sherill, ohoh. Then I think most likely is baby trying to head down. Cos my #1 is breech, so maybe tat's why I dun hv this kind of feeling at tat time. Thanks for yr advise..

To All:

thanks for your comments on the pic i posted. it does look small as compared to the pregnant moms i see around in 8th month. But i think i shouldnt be worried as long as the baby is doing fine. Ya the doc says it is small cos i am tall and baby has space to spread upwards rather than outwards.

Feeling closer and closer to delivery with each passing week.

Hi Jass,

I hav pm you the contact and charges [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Poormummy,

I agreed with you about the the massage lady think mus get those reputable ones..if not they mite fly kite...actually even for CL i also heard of them flying kite..i think it depends on luck?? already so stress up still hav to worry abt people flying kite..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ivf,

same here. I got placenta previa problem. so cannot do squatting, cannot walk too long, cannot carry heavy stuffs..So i diden sign up any classes at all...pray hard my memory for taking care of my cousin still valid.

Pinky,

Dun over stress yourself, take care..:)

nursing bra:

I got 4...hope it's sufficient

Shopping in JB:

I bought baby cloths from FOS in JB too, about RM10/pc. Woodland almost jam whole day, if any mommies just wan to go for shooping, can go via tuas to jaya jusco at bukit indah. Here is the direction:

Tuas custom>Malaysia custom>fist toll fees (RM9.60)> exit307C pasir gudang>bear right follow pasir gudang/Johor bharu sign>exit bukit indah>Jaya jusco is on your left

I like to go there cos not so crowded and avoid traffic jam at woodland.

disposable panties:

Buy cotton type one is more comfortable..

poor mummy,

you mean the LG bumper mat? I also bough one at baby expo, L size at 180, original price is 225. here is the BP

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4428209.html?1282667466

@Daphne, Ok i will go scout ard at Guardian.Thanks!

I have not much experience with the pain, if it persist pehaps could ask gynae during yr next visit.

@Hopefully, have heard of sagging breast but not nipples.

My nipples were quite flat (due to direct latching) Some will be elongated due to expressing. But they went back to shape months after I stop Bf-ing. However not for breast, coz i latch more on my right. It seems abit loop sided (luckily not v obvious) after Bfing, one side is firmer than the other. So this round I will latch more on my left.

HTHs

Thanks Kimmy for the direction via tuas [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] mite try that this weekend heheheh.. alot to shop there?

Kimmy, saw another person selling in Mar 2011 thread her nick is rach tot should be cheaper? she is also selling the LG mat..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Poor Mummy,

Think there are a few online 'sellers' for the LG playmat...World of Korea is the one I bought my play mat from.

There are 2 brands - ParkLon and LG. Think Parklon is the cheaper one and I was told by friends that the quality is not as good as LG's playmat. There are also different sizes and more importantly, thickness. A friend of mine opted for the 12mm version (thinner one) and is now going to buy the thicker versions (15mm and 18mm) cause the thicker ones really feel more comfortable. I bought the 15mm one cause I think the 18mm one is really pricey.

I paid $268 for mine (LG Prime 2300mm x 1400mm x 15mm), as per the price on the World of Korea thread and they delivered it to my door step.

Looks like I might have paid more than those who bought it at the Baby Fair..shucks...oh well..haha...

P.S. My other mummy friends says this is a must-buy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

poor mummy,

no worries...

lily,

tat shopping quite big..i went last 3 weeks, shop for 3 hours already felt tired, i end up skip jaya jusco super market where we can get diapers and milk...with our current condition, dun think we can shop one whole day..and they got many foods there, there is a chinese herbs shop, selling chinese medicine and foods, me and hubby love the porridge there..

Not sure about another LG mat's seller :-(..let me try to search again...

remarks: for those tat r looking for floormat, LG bumper mat is highly recommended. My fren bought another brand, cannot sit long on it cos it's too hot. her son dun like to sit on it and play..then she went to buy this LG bumper mat, now the son will sit on the mat and play by himself. Not cheap but worth it lar..

Good Mid Morning ladies,

Aiyah, you all no good... tempt me to spend money!!!! The nursing bra looks good hor, but I think the most basic one got no padding isit?

Suddenly, I realise that there are only less than 11 weeks to go, and I haven't bought the essential items like cot! Think the cot is the most pressing item now.. pram can wait till baby is born..

Do you all feel your energy level dropping?

Wa kikapo/kimmy, the LG mat machiam a "must buy" lay but the price tag is veri high...phew..i will kiv first already spend a bomb.. :p

I think i am going to buy the nursing bra am still thinking of the size ..scare buy wrong size hahah..and the cost is not cheap [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kimmy, the jaya jusco there similar to Tebrau city jusco? u been to tat before?

@ misty, yes energy level super dropping..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@Kikapo - Thanks for the info on the playmat, I also bot on winnie the pooh design for my #1. But have pass it to my SIL to use liao, wont be getting it back from her.. so now I will get one myself too, yes, the thicker quality is better...

Woah.. all cheong to JB.. hehe

I got 2 big bags of hand me down clothes - Waiting for them to be washed... :p

I also v lazy to shop for things lately coz I get very tired easily.

Yes agree jusco is a good place to get diapers. They have ocassional promos and I managed to get huggies at sgd$2 cheaper for each packet when I compared the prices with those bulk order that can be ordered online.

poormummy,

I thought we are encouraged to walk more especially in the last few weeks before delivery? Apparently helps with delivery.

I hate wearing the paper disposable panties, feel like they don't do much cos they're loose and fit badly, so confirm will leak. I would rather save up those old panties and use them and throw while on holiday. Will go check out the NTUC/watsons/guardian ones as recommended.

my colleagues also recommended LG playmat. some of them actually have 2 mats! Prices differ based on the characters printed on the mat and the thickness of the mat. Any feedback on the recommended thickness?

I'm thinking the mat will muffle the sound of toys being thrown around on the floor...haha...less noise irritation.

Think I will definitely get a bravado nursing bra...been buying so many things for baby that I feel very deprived and left out. Have hardly spent money on my own shopping since getting pregnant. Is this a sign of things to come?

re: LG/Parklon play mat

Yes yes... its quite expensive but its a must buy. Pretty good and worth it. I bought the Parklon one, recently got another smaller size one as I am trying to cover my platform area as its now a child's play corner. Too bad the sizes can't be customized. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] We were reluctant to buy it at first but when we saw it @ a friend's play during one of the playdates, my hubby asked me to buy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hehe. Its really cooling so we let my son nap on it in the afternoon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Playmat

I got the parklon one when i had my gal, it is very good and worth it. Even bot another one to put at my in laws place. Can't remember what thickness it is but it is quite thick. I remember asking the BP seller what is the difference bet LG and Parklon since price difference quite a lot, but she also could not give me a good explanation, so i guess it may be cos LG brand more established so more expensive.

Daphne - i also had back pain on one side, but have been doing pre natal massage and it really helps. The massage lady said it is cos the bb kick more on one side, which is true lor.

underwear

i buy from watsons the cotton cloth type. it's 3.95 for pack of 5. but i find the rubber not good enough especially when you need to put sanitary pads during period. so i bought those elastic cloth type of underwear from Jusco at 4 for 10RM. It's jus a dollar plus more ex than the watson good cotton disposable type. also, i'm sure the rubber is good enought to hold the pad in case of heavy flow after delivery.

Disposable diapers

i think it's drypers. my colleague who goes JB every weekend offer to buy for me. he helps my other parent colleagues to buy back from JB most of the time. he told us that TESCO is the cheapest. Not Jusco. Do take note.

Shopping in JB

Also, stupid Jusco dun provide bags on Saturday. they only give out recycleable bags if you spend more than 100RM.. so bring your own shopping bag if you are going to Jusco to shop.

luckymummy

it's the norm to spend on the baby when pregnant. i'm like that too. this will not give me excuse not to slim down and fit into pre-pregnancy clothes. will shop AFTER i give birth.. muhaha