(2011/01) Jan 2011

miaiko

i dunno the diff between fili and indonesian maid. i chose the indonesian maid cos i tot they might be more 'guai'.

mine is an ex singapore and with experience with taking care of newborns and kids. 35 yrs old and has a 6 yrs old gal herself. both parents deceased. so no issue with sick parents and need to go back hme blah blah...

i duno how to choose a gd helper le...depends on luck. i have my own criteria like matured, no elderly sick parents, older kids, working experience etc. n have a chance to conduct interview wif them bah.

I have the following to let go. Brand new item. Pse PM me if you are interested.

1. Claina Tonic Body Treatment Oil ($70)

A toning, energising 100% pure plant oil to help prevent loss of firmness in the skin. Perfect to use during pregnancy or to complement a weight loss programme.

2. Avent future mother indulgent body cream ($15)

This luxurious body cream moisturies, firms and tones the skin. Regular use helps minimise the risk of stretch marks.

3. Medala PureLan Nipple Cream, 37g ($15)

Soothes sensitive or dry nipples, dry baby skin and dry skin.

Thank you and have a nice day...

Helpers - I am also wanting to employ one.. main duties is to take care of #2.. but i really scare... cross my fingers & legs that I will get a not-bad ones [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi mummies to be,

I'm also a Jan 2011 MTB [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] baby is 16 weeks old now, can any kind mummy help to update my details in the table??

EDD - 13th Jan 2011

Baby #1

I am 28 years old

Dr Lawrence Ang(TMC)

I stay in the west

Went for my 16 wks scan yesterday and doc say 70% is a baby boy cos saw something between the legs but to be confirm during next scan :p

Hi ilovemiffy, PM,

I also don't know is it their communication breakdown or whatever. the CFL contact i got it from forum. i called the daughter to enquire abt her mom's (the CFL) availability. when i first called her i was only in my 2nd mth of 1st tri. the daughter told me the date which i am looking for shud be ok and her mom will contact me directly to negotiate on the details. then i wait lor. i called the daughter again when i still no recv her mom call after 2weeks but the dauhter say should be available. during that month i think i called and sms the daughter afew time and the reply is the same so i thot shud be more or less confirm and her mom will call me when my preg is more stable in 2nd tri. then i put this issue aside until i read on this forum that someone started to talk about CFL again. i called the daughter yesterday and chk but she asked if anyone collected deposit from me. i say huh?? why "anyone" thot only the daughter n her mom?? and i told her i didn't recv any call from anyone to confirm on my booking. then shortly after she hang up, her mom called. the CFL claimed that she already called me to inform me that she is not avail. on the require date long time ago and she still wanna refer her fren to work fo rme. haiz.

actually i got few CFL contacts from my fren but i though of engaging someone else for "privacy" reason. my last CFL was recommended to me by a colleague. she came to my place and keep gossiping about my colleague (her last employer). i not comfortable with that lor. as for agency, i also hear alot of negative feedback from my frens so thot of trying my luck to engage CFL recommended on forum. haiz. anyway i contacted another CFL recommended by my colleague and she agreed to work for me next Jan. c how lor.

ohh.. just saw.. can some kind soul help me edit?

my nick is pinky_j, age 26.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

seems like i'm still kind of the only one confirmed with gender of bb?

yesterday week 17.. tummy growing huge alr.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] feeling FAT..

is it too early to start buying bb's items now? i'm itching to go out and buy stuffs alr! hehe

I read online that chrysanthemum tea is not safe for pregnant mom. Is that true? I just drank once a few days ago n has popped a few buds into my cup of hot water this afternoon.

ivftwins, I also drink chrysanthemum tea for my last & present pregnancy. Think shd be ok as long as u dun drink everyday. Drink & eat everything in moderate will be fine.

ivftwins, I went to those chinese restaurants, I also order chrysanthemum tea.. I think should be ok bah, drink in moderation.

Headache. Saw from Internet that pregnant ladies must stay away from chrysanthemum tea. That's why I was worried. At Chinese restaurant, between Chinese tea and chrysan tea, I tot better to drink the latter. Haiz.

U drank Chinese tea and not chrysanthemum tea. It's the latter that I read we should avoid. I dunno abt Chinese tea effect but I always hear my mom say it's cooling.

Mmm... Am quite hooked on bak kwa now. Bee CHENG hiang fusion ones.

apple79, sigh .. paiseh lar .. everyone having their first or 2nd .. i'm at the FIFTH. lol :p

pinky,

can buy lar ... esp if you see stuff u like :p

hi daphne & sputnik,

are both of u performing the test at the hospital? or ur gynae's clinic? in fact i jus went for my checkup today and i asked him abt the medisave for amnio test. he told me provided i do it at the hospital eg TMC. the costs might be more exp cos we need to use the equipments there....and he claimed that he hardly has any patients doing at the hospital, maybe 1 in a year? his nurse was also sharing with me that my gynae usually prefers his patients to do the test at his own clinic as he is more familiar the things and the nurses 'knowing his patterns' can also assist him.

the cost of amnio test is $950 + $45 (test to find out the gender) + GST. how much do you hv to pay?

I have a high density foam cot mattress - 28" x 52" x 4". Used less than 1 weeks. My new born prefers to sleep with us. Does not like to sleep in the cot.

Very very brand new and in plastic bag.

Retail Sgd80

Sell Sgd35

Call 98204176 to transact.

Shalan,

wow that's a lot more than what KKH is chargin for the amnio test. hmmm they quoted me $670 all in I think. and can claim part of it .. ard 400 plus from Medisave.

It won't be my gynae doing the test but it will be done at KKH. They have a different dept doing these things.

Good Morning Ladies,

Oops, I drank lots of chrysanthemum tea leh... so if too cooling, now I must also eat bak kwa to compensate the "zuak"?

Poor Mummy, maid alone with baby ah? I will worry leh.. maybe can look for infant care?

Can i check with u all if the confinement lady sleeps with the baby at night? The confinement lady I engaged say she will slp with the baby in a separate. Told my mum and she's worried abt baby, not sure what's the usual way??

Vivian

i did not engage a CL for my #1 pregnancy. but was thinking who will attend to bb at night when bb wakes up for milk/comfort? i remember my son woke up 3 times for milk le.

Misty I also worry, but what to do? unless can find a reliable nanny around my place.

Infant care - I scare of immunity, the babies there mostly cough/flu etc etc.. i heartache.. to see bb fall sick at such young age.

Vivian - are u breastfeeding - latching on? if not, CL can sleep shld BB, so she can attend at night when BB needs milk feeds.

If latch on - easier for u to sleep with BB.

Hi Vivian, usually CL sleeps with baby so as to let the mother have enough rest. 1 way about the night feeding is that you can express milk into bottles and let the CL feed the baby during the night so that you get enough rest as resting is important to have sufficient milk supply [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi vivian,

jus to share, my CL slept with the baby. when comes to night feeding, i told the CL to give baby FM but i would still wake up into middle of the night to express BM.

vivian,

usually CL will sleep with bb so that mummy can get enough rest.

if bb wake up for comfort, CL will settle.

if bb is hungry, either u instruct CL to give FM or expressed BM or if u want to latch directly then u can instruct CL to bring bb to u for feeding.

having headache today not sure if it is cos of the 2 glasses of chinese tea i drank yesterday. think i better avoid those cooling food just incase ...

Vivian, usually bb will sleep with CFL at nite. but if bb sleep with CFL, bb maybe attached to CFL and you may face problem after CFL left. i hear my fren say their bb can't sleep at nite when they don't find the CFL...

Thanks for all the replies to my doubts, it helps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Will let my mum know that's the usual way then :p

Vivian

if u are bfg, then bb will surely stick to you like super glue. my #1 slept with my helper during confinement and still prefers me... cos he likes to latch on.

juz came back from my 16th week checkup. though the info may come a bit late, but i confirmed with my gynae tat HIV test is not compulsory. n my risk level has decreased from 1:2038 to 1:7936 (in combination with blood test)... so hapi : )

It's so nice to have experienced mummies around here. Can read all the advise. Keeps me awake in the office.

I'm always sleepy in the office! Feels terrible when I can't tk a nap.

And my office blocks forums so I got to read from my iPhone. So restricted.

Any mummies got remedy for pimple breakout during pregnancy? I look horrible!! My face looks as though I hv some skin disease! I know it's bcos of the hormones but was hoping the pimples could be healed faster! Anyone experiencing the same problem?

Good coconutz! congrats [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Was it your anatomy scan? How come my appointment is only on 11 august after 7 july [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] at 19 weeks plus.

Bethel, I'm also having outbreak but not alot kind... However my skin used to be clear thus now I can't stand it even with with 4-5 zits on my face..

I use my normal pimple cream without steroid it helped to heal but new ones will grow faster than it heals.

I try to keep my hair away from my face n not apply anything..

bethel..

i used to have acne problems but took medication to heal it.. now it's back with the pregnancy.. sigh.. i'm trying out new products from the brand TACT. so far it helps a little..

Hi Ladies!

Am helping my Confinement lady (a Malaysian lady) spread the news. She is now free from end Nov to mid Feb as she cancelled her job in Australia as she dont want to travel so much (she is going Hong Kong then Dubai from now till Nov and is tired of traveling for jobs...she is highly sought after).

I love my confinement lady, and thats why am helping her. Here's what I like about her:

1) Speaks good English (and malay & mandarin)

2) Excellent cook (really...her food is super yummy and I am a picky eater)

3) Very good with baby

4) Very Clean

5) Not calculative sort (unlike some CL)

6) Pleasure and cheerful person

So far, my friends who used her services all love her (and her food). For myself, I hired her for 2 months (but regretted coz its too short!).

If you want to know more, pls PM me. She is usually booked out but because she decided not to go Australia, hence dont mind taking a job in SG.

Her rates are S$2300 a month ($3200 during CNY period).

Again, I want to reiterate that I am in no way related to her nor have any benefits from 'promoting' her. But because she is really very nice and excellent at her job, hence I am sharing. She just completed a month at my friend's and again received rave reviews.

So if you have not found a CL yet and is looking, and if your timing is right, I say you are in luck. ;)