(2011/01) Jan 2011

Charleen: same same! My FIL say my little Ariel is like an angel lo.. Mom mom liaoz zzz... So guai... He jus dunno lo...

At nite I also like fight battle like that... Feed for 5-10 min she will zzZ for 30-40mins then cry for milk... Cos I wan to let my hb rest more so I jus keep satisfying her to keep her from crying lo.. Whole nite no sleep Le... We are worse lo..no CL so everything zi ji lai...

My hb also insist he change bb if she soil it at nite cos that's e only time he can take care of her.. He also super sensitive to bb cries.. will jump up to carry her to me... I Xin tong her lo

Re: TMC red date tea

Can i check for those who has given birth in TMC, do they give red date tea instead of water for u to drink while u are staying there?

Re: Placenta consumption

I recalled some of you are considering to process ur placenta for consumption.

Can I check with mummies who have given birth, hv you kept ur placenta? How did u process it?

Am trying to look for contacts to help me process it but not sure how trustworthy they are. I dun wish to end up consuming someone else's placenta!

ivftwins,

i'm using nan now. but was advise by my boss to switch to friso as nan is the most fattening. have not make the switch yet as i've 1 more unopen can of nan.

Nimkulut,

same as u.. day time angel, nite time devil.

my mum keep saying it's the characteristic of a tiger.. rest in day, hunt at nite. sigh~

i realise that if my lil tiger not full, he'll keep fussing. maybe u an to monitor how much is needed to keep ur Ariel full?

amount to feed:

how much did u feed ur 2 week old baby? mine can eat a range of 3.5oz-1oz of FM.. this is giving me a headache. cuz when i BF, can't really monitor how much is being fed. so hubby went down to KKH to buy a freestyle for me.

is 3.5-4oz too much for a 1+ week old?

mummies using medela

do note that u shld use water of ard 60 degrees to sterilise the parts. if not, the parts will melt.

i got a Medela Electric Plus Dual Pump Singapore set bought from Kiddy Palace at $309 with 10 percent discount on the 24 Dec 2010. Used less than 5 times, condition very good with a pair of brand new valves. Now still under warranty. Now selling at $250 with 50 Lactagreek (Fernugreek) pills bought from my gynae @ $30 for increasing breastmilk supply and 3 ebm glas bottle with a bundle of plastic caps. Will throw in 2 boxes of Pigeon Diaper Liners too.

package at $250

-Medela Electric Plus Dual Pump

-50 Fernugreek pills

-3 ebm glass bottles and a bundle of plastic caps

-2 boxes Pigeon Diaper Liners

interested email me @ [email protected]

thx!

Any mummies here taking fenugreek or motilium to increase milk supply? I am thinking if i shld take something to increase my supply cos i can only pump 60-90 ml each time. Dun think i can satisfy my baby for long when he increase his intake.

He is 16 days old now and drinking 90 ml each time. So I need to feed him formula milk for some feeds. And he doesnt seem to latch well he only latch for 5 min then he will sleep and then cry when i put him down, Very tiring esp at night!!

I just brought my bb gal hme yesterday morning. She was warded in hosp for 1 day for jaundice. Last night was the the first night, my hubby and i took care of the bb ourselves. So tiring. Now having backache. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Having problem in BF, my gal doesnt want to latch on my left breast. She will suck for abt 2 times, then she gave up. v patient. Seems like my left breast is 'out of order'.

No problem with my right breast. She can suck for 20-30 mins. Hopefully she is sucking out milk. Need to top up with FM, she is drinking 40-60ml at 6 days old.

Any advise on BF?

Hi mummies, do u all do total breastfeeding during ur hospital stay after delivery? I did cup feeding at night, if not really have no time to sleep ler... How come my bb likes to sleep during breastfeeding? Once I wake him up n make sure he does not want to suck again while he was still latched on, i put him down to sleep. But then who knows he cries. So no choice I let him suck again, but after 1 or 2 suction, he sleep again n don't suck anymore. Seems like he to sleep with me carrying him... How????

Ivftwins,

I'm giving mamil as recommended by pd. Actually are the different brands all that different? Very confused by all the claims.

Chabby,

bb intake depends a lot also on their birth weight. Urs is a big bb so shdbe taking in a little more. But pd keeps telling me as long as poo and urine frequency is ok, weight gain is fine, don't worry abt absolute amt taken in.

Littlepigpig,

I'm taking both fenugreek n motilium. Not bad as I've gone up from measly 20ml to ard 80ml if I'm well rested. Still not enough to meet bb needs totally but I'm just counting all the small blessings.

luckymummy,

how old is yr baby now? if u latch baby on, do u top up with formula milk and how much??

i scared the baby not enuff milk so i m guilty of giving the baby formula milk more than my breast milk.

BTW, for those of you who are bfeeding, does yr breast feel hard and painful? Even after i pump it still feels like this.. wonder if it is becos the breast is not emptied.

ivftwins,

i m using nan pro. But i dunoe why my baby seems to poo a lot , maybe 6-7 times a day. But the colour and consistency of the poo looks fine to me.

Chabby : I think u are not alone lor .. my darling sleeps in the day and wakes up often in the nite too.. as I m on full latch on I m beri beri tired. What's make it worse is she always wanting "comfort nursing" where she nibble on ur breast to sleep. But I dun wana intro a pacificer so reading up on how to wean this type of behavior off...

pooh,

the flow on yr left breast could be slower so yr girl doesn't want to suck. also bb do tend to hv a favourite side due to how we carry them to latch etc, one side tends to be more comfortable for them. try latching on yr left when yr girl is more hungry, she may be more willing to work for her food then. u can also try pumping a bit on the left to stimulate the milk flow more.

puix,

all bbs love to fall asleep at the breast, it's comfortable mah. i always keep disturbing my girl so that she sucks continuously. only when bb stimulates the breast enough then letdown will occur and milk will flow freely and they'll really be drinking. i always observe my girl's sucking motion to make sure she sucks till letdown occur. sometimes after latching on one side she'll fall asleep but i know she won't sleep long cos she's not tat full. so i'll put her down, open her diaper, disturb her until she's awake again then latch her on the other side and make sure she's really drinking. if u're having difficulties, do visit a lactation consultant. i had a one hr session with one and i learnt so much from that session.

sputnik,

sounds like u hv some engorgement which is normal when the milk supply kicks in. just keep latching frequently. if it gets to uncomfortable, apply cold pack or cabbage leaves to reduce the swelling and pain. but not too much cos that will reduce yr supply. before latching or pumping, apply hot compress to soften the lumps and massage while pumping/latching. dun pump too much cos that will lead to overstimulation and it becomes a vicious cycle. the lumps won't go away overnight, but they'll slowly get less hard and painful as yr supply regulates. hang in there!

hi jan mummies,

Im frm the march thread, was wondering if i shld purchase my breast bump now or shld i wait for the baby to be born then see if she can latch properly anot first. Becox i have a hand-me-down avent manual pump. Was thinking if i shld invest in a medela freestyle.

what pumps are u all currently using?

pooh

i've the same problem as u. baby can't seem to latch on left side. it could be the position of us latching the baby of the shape of the breast. i muz admit my left n rite side not balance in size. this is also another possible reason why my baby have difficulty latchin on the left side.

it took me over a week odd to figure out a comfy position for baby to latch. be patient to trial n error. if u r still worried, get a lactation consulatant to come down.

belinda,

i jus bought a medela freestyle today. i've an avent manual pump which i buy 3 mths before i deliver. but i waited to ensure i've breast milk before i buy a freestyle. u see wha is your preference. but i must say that medela is very comfy as compared to avent manual.

puix/mitch

keep disturbing the baby to keep it awake. i use a damp hanky to clean his limbs or face to keep him awake. try changing diaper. this trick wakes my baby up also.

grumpus - thanks! Was getting quite worried cos my breast keep feeling hard and not emptied even after pumping so was wondering if something was wrong.

chabby - saw that u say medela parts shld not sterilise... are u referring to the bottles only or even the breastshield/valve/membranes? My breastshield is the hard plastic type, not the softfit.

Chabby

Glad tat I am not alone. Feel so tired and wanna to give up on BF. My gal gets very angry and impatient when she is unable to latch within 5-8 sucking. So very difficult for me to get her to latch properly.

#Lumpy undernealth the left armpit:

I juz realised thats a lump under my left armpit. Could it be cos my left breast is not emptied? Anyone have this same problem?

grumpus, once I disturb my bb n put him down, he starts crying n shouting till no sound... I feel panic. Then today is only my 2nd day. So still producing colostrum, don't think I have the letdown effect even after bb simulation, I only see the nipple is wet when I delatch him... Just latching him on for 1.5hr... Sooo tiring...I wonder how to cope with the moo moo job after I discharge tomolo morning....

Mummies, when u change diaper or unwrap the bb to disturb them, will they cry or just wake up? Once I unwrap my bb, he will cry [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi all: does anyone's bb latch for ~1hr before being satisfied? I have milk to provide her.. But really wonder why she need to feed for one hr..especially at night.. She seems very hungry... Is it some growth spurt thing? She also get hungry easily - right after she poo poo.. Is there something wrong with my milk? Do I need to supplement with fm?

My bb is 11day old today... Anyone same?

Pooh: yes it is due to milk in that breast! I also got engorgement in first week n those lumps under both armpits , super painful! Then massage n used hot compress n once milk started. They disappeared in 1-2 days!

Pooh - i also have a lump in each of my armpits, but i already had them when i was preggy, my hubby said it could be the lymphnodes. I was also wondering if it could be due to engorgement cos my breast was engorged yday. But my lumps not painful tho... just lumps.

Need some advise - i hv been expressing BM for my gal cos she tends to fall asleep if i latch her on. But last nite, when my CL fed her my EBM, she did not want to drink at first and keep crying, my CL said could be becos she prefers FM cos i hv been supplementing with FM since my SS still not sufficient. What should i do if bb really prefer FM to my BM?? Very sad leh... working so hard to increase my BM SS....

Found this info when surfing, just to share :

Formula doesn't necessarily "last longer", it's just that because it is not breastmilk it is more difficult for their tummies and guts to digest it. Formula takes more work on their bodies to digest and takes longer to go through their system, whereas breastmilk is digested in like 90 minutes or so . That's why breastfed babies like to nurse more often. It is so easily digested (because it is made perfectly for their little bodies), that is doesn't take much work for their guts. So that's the info on why formula "lasts longer".

Littlepigpig,

she's 13days today. Drinking ard 90ml every 3 hrs butmy pumping can't quite keep up. I stopped latching for a few days as my nipples were very sore n started pumping cos she wad dehydrated had jaundice n had tobe admitted. Since then I've not trusted my breasts to supply everything. Will try o latch then follow immediately with pumping today as nipples

seem better again.

I can see the amt expressed so I just top up fm till she's willing to sleep again.

Don't feel too bad abt giving more fm for now. I also felt terrible that I was indirectly starving my bb whenmy production level is low and still insisted on latching only. Take it as a temporary measure while you try to increase bm

production. As long as bb is fed n adjusting I'm happy.

Puix,

since u're stillin hospital ask to see the lactation consultant while it's still free. They are usually quite helpful at correcting our beginner errors.

Nimkulut,

mine also getshungry after a poo job. Probly cos they have a "small tank"? I just top up with a few mins of latching if I'm outside or fm until she's willing to sleep again.

Puix,

Oh 2nd day only, still colustrum, milk not in yet. So could be yr bb really still hungry. U may want to consider supplementing with a bit of FM for 1-2 days until yr milk comes in.

My girl was like tat on day2 too. Supplemented with some fm until my milk kicked in on day4 and now she's happily drinking.

U can also pump a bit to stimulate the milk to come in faster.

Sputnik,

Dun listen to yr CL nonsense. Bb r too small now to hv such preferences. Just ask yr CL to persist in offering her ebm. Dun worry she will learn to love her mummy's milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also never top up with fm.. Just latch on every 3 or 4 hours depending on bb.. I'm feeding on demand..

However my hubby and in laws kept asking me to give bb drink water.. I also dunno how? Coz my bb is on full bm, heard no need water.. So how??

From the 1st day even when milk has not kick in I still let my girl suckle and never did use any FM to supplement while waiting as my lactating consultant advise against it. MIlk flow came in 3rd day onwards and now she is happily latching on .. her prefered side is the left breast, so the other breast I pump and store.

i think it depends on bb size on how much store they have.

i also fully intended not to supplement with FM at all and just let bb suckle all the way. but by day 3 my girl was not peeing enough already, plus her jaundice level kept creeping up so i had no choice but to express, feed her watever i could express and top up with some FM.

once my milk kicked in i stopped supplementing.

chabby,littlepig: me using nan as well...heard KKH uses enfa and am thinking of switching to that since all newborns at KKH drink that should be ok...

i am taking lactagreek which contain fenugreek. was given to me by a fren and I wonder where to buy this...

i think its quite good cos i take once a day instead of 3 times a day as instructed and was able to maintain my supply at 100ml or 120ml.

i am planning to increase my intake.

Anyone taking GNC capsule?

hi chabby

hi babe,

im from feb mtb..saw yr comment abt medela parts sterlisnig in 60 degress?? how to know its 60 degress?? i thinking to boil a pot of water den put the stuffs inside and let it "boil for 5 mins..will it do ?

I'm from the mar 11 thread. Can you please recommend me your confinement ladies' contacts if you find they're good? Thanks a million!

Hi airmez my is not bad email me or pm me as u dun accept pm[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Totally empathized with all with sore nips. Me too. 2nd time mummy is not having it easy. My case is because bb has small mouth and my nip and areola are huge. And she is not a natural latcher like her sister. Now nips ate bleeding and I'm still not pumping becos u until she sort out her latching, I don't want to intro bottle. So far I am not supplementing because she is pooping quite a bit and stool colour have changed to yellow. I just assume that if her big sis can learn so can her.

Nimkulut: my girl is also a marathon latcher. One hour is the min. She can latch and unlatch and this can go on for 2-3 hrs coa she's sleepy. Can't seems to satisfy her. So I just give in to her.

Re: lumps under armpit

It's actually swelling of our lymph nodes due to the milk being produced. Mine is quite painful when pressed. Like pimple pain. It should subside in a matter of time. It's not engorgement unless your breasts are hard.

Anyway, bfg is not easy. Need a lot of willpower. Something I dunno where I got last time round. This time round, I actually feels like giving up on latching and express exclusively. Yet part of me very stubborn. Will see if u can get the LC in to help.

any recommended good nipple cream? lasinoh or l something? cant remember?

and how often do we put the nipple cream and do we need to wash it off before latching again?!

my gynae said i may pop any time this week... just wanna get all the info right b4 i pop...

although my edd is 27.

tummy been cramp since last night..though its mild...

Finally baby khloe's full month party is over (yesterday) very tiring.Khloe good lor cos many ppl carry her and she sleep thru whole day till nite time dun wan to sleep. suspect she get used to carry and sleep. Today (as in now), dun wan to sleep after a 3oz feed. I told my MIL and husband that she wants to carry and sleep in the arms now. They dun believe last time, say carry her, after sleep then put her back to the bed..I told them that my job is to feed, they take turn to carry her since they dun listen to me in the first place..

we are all entering into BF topic now.

My method if baby fall sleep during BF

1. Touch her chin

2. pull a bit of my nipple out then put in, most of the time she will continue to suck

3. pat her back to help her burp when she refuce to suck, then continue to latch. normally this work

4. latch one side to satisfied her hunger, then change diaper (100% will wake my baby up), after that continue to latch on the other side

my milk supply seems cut down, suspect is lack of sleep...mummies, do take more rest and drink more fluid..now baby finally willing to sleep after i latch her, i better catch a nap too..

esesther,

I use avent nipple cream, dun need to wipe off..I apply once I latch (last time). now lazy to apply cos baby latch properly..my nipple sore and ache when I first latch my baby, so I apply regular and it works for me. wish you have a smooth delivery.

Hi kimmy finally full month! Congrats [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] rest well and all of us jiayou on BF!!

Hi Esther

me using medela tender care lanolin [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kimmyksc,

time flies right 1 month has passed!! with baby now, day and night seems to fly pass so fast. weekdays and weekends or day and night no diff to us now. very soon our maternity leave will be over and we have to go back to work. Another set of problems then.

Congrats Kimmy...1 month is a huge milestone for new mommies. .

BF-ing mums - When do u see your milk supply increasing? I alternate latch and pump so my boobs gets some time to recover. After latch, I can pump 15ml to 20 ml and when its just pumping it is still the same volume every 2 hours or so...not a lot..and definitely not enough for my son...Any good tips to share?

when kimmy reach 1 month, its another 10days for me! that's how i look forward to the end of confinement.

contrary to littlepig, i did not think time pass very fast.hahaha. in fact i think its very slow. living on a 3 hour interval. trying hard to keep baby healthy during this one month....almost had mild depression from baby refusing to latch on till i give up and do exclusive pumping.

Kimmy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] congrats for full month party !

U know I have same problem as you ! I have a new maid who is very good at job , but too good to carry bb all the time even when she sleeping [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] rest of the time my MIL carry her in arms n pamper . Now she is so used to be carried that she refuses to sleep on bed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I have been telling them not to do this but no success . Now last night almost cried via I have been attending her since 10 pm , make her sleep every time put on bed she wake up n cry loud then swing in arms , sleep n put on bed then again scream ! *cries*

It all went on until 1.30 am n finally she look so so tired that I wanted to anyhow make her sleepy so latch her when lying down on bed n she sleep with me on my bed n throw Hubby outside room ! Me n He were so angry that we instructed MIL n Maid first thing in morning. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

back home now. Baby is 3.55kg at 57cm length. but he looks small, cos those newborn clothing and even mittens to big for him. like he need premies clothing.

for my this 2nd time c-sec, it wasnt as painful after ops (surprisingly). even manageable without binder.

hi hoshi,

if your bb on bf, no need for water at least for the 1st month.

for my 1st boy, I also didnt give water at all, but my mil secretly give him water when she was caring for him in her room. I dunno why the old folks insist on giving water, just bcos he hicups.

I already going to give bf when in hospital. cos this boy super impatient and causing me stress, with sore nipple doesnt help either. now i taking it slowly to express till my flow came in and nip recover.