TTC Terms
TTC: Trying To Conceive
BD: Baby Dance (Make Love)
LMP: 1st Day of Last Menstrual Period
CD: Cycle Days
O: Ovulate
DPO: Days Past Ovulation
2WW: 2 Week Wait (After O, For Menses To Come Or Not)
AF: Aunt Flow (Menses)
TTC Methodology Terms
FA: Folic Acid (Taken Daily To Help BB's Growth)
EWCM: Egg White Cervical Mucus (Appears When Fertile)
OPK: Ovulation Predictor Strips (Used To Test If Ovulated)
HPT: Home Pregnancy Test Kit (Used To Test If Pregnant)
HCG: Pregnant Hormones (Detected In Urine If Pregnant)
BBT: Basal Body Temperature
FF: Fertility Friend Website To Record BBT
www.fertilityfriend.com
BFP: Big Fat Positive (On Pregnancy Test Kit)
BFN: Big Fat Negative
BFW: Bai Feng Wan
Preggie Terms
BB: Baby
MTB: Mother To-Be
SAHM: Stay At Home Mummy
FTWM: Full Time Working Mummy
EDD: Estimated Due Date
MS: Morning Sickness
BF: Breastfeed
M/C: Miscarriage
D&C: Dilation & Curettage (To remove unwanted or unhealthy pregnancy)
Other Terms
DH: Darling Hubby
EPO: Evening Primrose Oil
KKH: Kandang Kerbau Women's And Children's Hospital
TCM: Traditional Chinese Medicine
TMC: Thomson Medical Centre
Recommended TCM List:
(1) Ban Choon Chan [Jandew, Tubby, Angelkitty, Pinkiemummie, Woofmeow, Vio, Blurlet]
Blk 81, #01-636, Marine Parade Central Singapore 440081
Tel: 6344 6718
Business Hours:
Mon-Wed-Thur-Fri: 8.30am-4pm
Sat: 8.30am-3pm
Sun: 8.30am-12pm
Closed on Tue and Public Holidays
(FEEDBACK: My hb & I saw Dr. Tan Lee Kee of Ying Chuan Chinese Medical Hall in Jurong East 4 yrs ago. We spent a few thousand dollars on her and a Gynae at Glenages recommended by her. We were told that I have PCOS and my hb sperms not good.
We saw them for a year and I did not manage to conceive.
After that we also went through 2 times of IVF. I managed to get pregnant on my 2nd IVF, unfortunatly I miscarriage in my 6th weeks of pregnancy. After my miscarriage, I went to this Sin Seh at Marine Parade. He helped me to 'bu3' my body and I also told him I want to conceive naturally. He told me he will help me but my hb and I must follow his instructions and take the herbs prescribed by him. I'm now 5 1/2 mths pregnant after taking his herbs for a few mths. His fees is much cheaper than JE's Sin Seh and my hb & I only need to see him 1 time per mth.
But you must brew the herb yourself.)
(2) Chee Seng Tong Medical Hall
200 Upper Thomson Road #01-02 Thomson Imperial Court, Singapore 574424
Tel: 6251 3268
Consultation Hours:
Mon to Sat:
9am - 12pm, 2.30pm - 5pm , 6.30pm - 8pm
Tue, Thu, Sat: (Evening Closed)
Sun: 8.30am - 12pm
Public Holidays: 9am - 1pm
the physician there is a renowned one(he's also the director of the Chong Hua Free Clinic - from wat I've heard, it's a place where most physicians hv to 'service' after their graduation). The herbs there are clean too and fresh as the turnover is very high since alot of ppl go there to consult him.
(3) Tai Choon Foh & Co.,
Low Wei Meow, Chinese Physician
Blk 465 North Bridge Road #01-5045, Crawford Court Singapore 191465 (Near Lavender MRT)
Tel: 6294 3008, 6294 5068
Mon-Fri: 10.30 am - 7.30 pm
Sat: 10.30 - 6.30 pm
Sun & PH: Closed
(4) Tan Kian Sing Starrz, Sashamama, Purplelace, Webbyy, Jthan, January, Bryest
TCM Healthcare Medical Center
Blk 433, Clementi Ave 3, #01-266, Singapore 120433
Tel : 68723237
930am to 515pm
for evening on tues,thur,fri 7 to 9pm
close on wed and sun
His Thread on SMH:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=next&topic=36738&page=330783
FEEDBACK: The two Chinese physicians are recommended to me by a Chinese physician(from China).
Both of the Chinese physicians are holding doctorate degree from renowned TCM University in China. Both of them had spent at least a year in China hospital for clinical experience.
Dr Tan Kian Sing is currently the head of infertity group in Singapore Chung Hwa Medical Institution. He is mainly solving male problem. There is another female Chinese physician who is the head of infertity group in solving the females problem. As I am not comfortable with a male physician, I choose Dr Tan Siew Buoy to solve my medical problem. She is the expert of solving female problem.
I hear a lot of things about some local Chinese phyiscan who is very unhappy if their patient tells them that they are doing IVF or IUI. Some local Chinese phyisican even feel offend if they know the couple going to see another Chinese phyisican.
Both Dr Tans are very open as they are aware that we are seeing two phyisican. Most of time we will ask them to write their TCM treatment so we can pass to the each other. This will help to provide the best treatment for both of us.
Both Dr Tans are aware that we are intending to do IUI or IVF. They advise us to receive TCM treatment for preparing for pregnancy. The womb must be ready for pregnancy. If your body is not in a good condition for pregnancy, there is no point of trying many cycle of IVF or IUI.
FEEDBACK: I have just tested positive last week. very happy indeed. I have been tcc for almost 3 years. No luck maybe because of my age (38). Started going to TCM in Aug 08 (went to Dr Tan Kian Seng after reading about him in this forum). Went thru 5 months(2 to 3 times per mth bef ovulation) of accupucture and taking the power herbs. I guess it certainly make your body stronger. I am very happy and hope everything will be fine for the next 9 mths.
(5) Thong Chai Medical
Dr Tan Siew Buoy or Dr Chen Siew Mei
50 Chin Swee Rd
Infertility unit
Mon-fri
8.30-10.20
12.30-2.20pm
(can register yourself half an hr before consultation time)
FEEDBACK: maybe you can try seeing Dr Tan Siew Buoy,at thong chai medical institute, i'm currently seeing her but for me the prob is my hubby,his counts were low,she asked him to buy the herbs prescribed by her,and he is taking it now but i'm also seeing her and taking the herbs too cos she said it will make my womb stronger to prepare for pregnancy,she will also ask you to monitor your temperature daily to see if you are ovulating...
(6) Zou Yumin TAM Physician & Acupuncturist
Blk 505 #01-2670 Ang Mo Kio Ave 8 S560505 Opp Nanyang Polytechnic
Tel: 64560833
Closed on WEDS
(7) Blk 603 Clementi West St.1
#01-35 S(120603)
Tel:67776765
Mon-Thurs up till 9pm fri ,Sat till 5pm
(8) Ever Spring Medical Group Pte Ltd Magix
http://www.everspring.com.sg/contact.html
Block 42, Cambridge Road,
FEEDBACK: my MIL only trust the one at cambridge rd. cos the sinseh qt famous & every week she have an article on newspaper.
(9) LEE JIN LONG,
68426110 & 68417920
"famous" chinese acunpunturist at Geylang
(10) Ban Choon Wah medical Hall
Address : Blk 157, Serangoon North Ave 1 #01-434, Singapore 550154
Tel: 6288 7439
FEEDBACK: I had tried for baby since Year 2003, went to see few chinese sinseh which is popular in singapore, tried cromid, IUI and Laparoscopy over last 3 yrs of TTC but no good news. Besides that i have retroverted uterus, according to Gynea this will not affect on TTC
After seeing the sinseh at Ban Choon Wah for abt 3mth, finaly get pregant in yeard 2006, and i just give birth to my prince during this April.
Give this sinseh a try, he realy good
FEEDBACK (-VE): The physician,i tink,is the worse physician that i seen.He didn't chk my pulse n my history n straight away jumped into conclusion by treating me as infertile patient.He started to "hard sell" himself by boosting his achievements.He said he is the 1st person in S'pore who teach ppl how to use BBT temp chart to chk wf O.After i told him my conditions(miscarriages,etc)then he said he refused to treat me.On top of that,he even asked me to give him a token after all the lecturing fr him.I took out $10 note n asked him:"is this enough?" n very pissed off n left.
(11) Teck Chua Medical Hall
Ms Tan S.L
Hougang Ave 5 Blk 322 #01-84
tel: 62810373 (call to make appt)
hours: tues/thur 6-9pm; sat 2-5pm
(12) New Century TCMS Healthcare Clinic
Ms Wu Liping
Blk 408 Ang Mo Kio Ave 10 #01-789
Tel 6456 0789
Wed 9.30am - 8pm Sun 9.30am - 5pm
FEEDBACK: i had 3 previous m/c. Went to see my current chinese physician since june this year n am expecting now. Things look pretty stable now for me.
SMH Threads on TCM
TCM Gynae
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/338646.html?1233586962
Note: Bad Reviews on Dr. Tan Lee Kee of Ying Chuan Chinese Medical Hall in Jurong East:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/91215.html?1154530434
For those who're visiting the TCMs above, let me and the VPs know and I add ur nicks beside the TCM names. Thanks!
BASIC LESSON ON TTC
CD is Cycle Days, counted from 1st day of your AF (menses). If today is your CD19, it means it’s been 19 days since your AF came.
DPO is days past Ovulation. Usually we O about 12-14 days before the AF comes, this is called our luteal phase. For eg, if you have a regular cycle of 30days and your luteal phase is 14 days, then 30 minus 14, which is CD16, is the day you ovulated. This is why there is the term 2 Week Wait 2WW after your Ovulation Day. Cos if after 2WW, AF not here yet, higher chance of being tested BFP (Big Fat Positive).
The gals here usually use OPKs, BBT and monitor EWCM to help us gauge when we O.
OPKs - When tested positive by dipping the strip into our urine, this means we're gonna O in the next 24 hrs and as the egg only stays alive for 12-24 hrs, when OPK is tested positive, we usually BD consecutively for 3 days or at least, on alternate days. Each strip, bought from UK website, costs about 50cents.
BBT - We measure temp the FIRST thing we wake up with the morning. We need to try and maintain the same environmental conditions (aircon/fan) and take at the same time and sleep for a minimum of 7hrs and try to have uninterrupted sleep and not move about too much. Temp during AF is rather low, temp during ovulation will dip very low, and after O, it will increase. If temp stays high for 2 weeks, BFP is almost confirmed. If temp dips when it's your DPO12-14, AF is almost sure to come.
EWCM - Egg White Cervical Mucus. Try stretching the vaginal discharge using your fingertips nearing your O day. (no, it's not disgusting

) If it can stretch for more than 3cm, you're most likely gonna O or is O-ing. This is nature's way of preparing our bodies to create a good environment for the spermies to swim better. If you need lubricants, only use preseed (can be bought from local pharmacies off the shelves) as it is sperm-friendly.
HSG: Some gals go for HSG to check if their tubes are blocked, causing the egg to be unable to come out and meet spermies. And for some gals whose tubes are a little blocked, the dye that flows through your tubes MIGHT help clear up the tubes a little.
Egg Scanning: At a cost of time and money and effort, you can opt for scanning of eggs to check if your egg is about to be released from your ovary as this process measures the size of your egg/s. At about 20mm (2cm), it would rupture, ready to meet the spermies.
TCM: Traditional Chinese Medicine. For some gals, their womb might be too cold, lining too thin, constitution too weak, etc. TCM helps to nourish our body, warm our womb, strengthen our health, making it easier, if not better for conceiving, via herbs (either pills/liquid/powder/brewed) and/or acupuncture.
SA Test: It is also recommended that your DH (Darling Hubby) goes for a Sperm Test to check if he has enough healthy sperms to meet your egg.
That's about all for a basic lesson on TTC [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope the above helps!
For more info on the above or other TTC stuff, try looking through the list of useful webbies in my post or, just google [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]