(2010/11) November 2010 MTB

Jun.. During my confinement days, my cl got mention to me.. So when we clean bb tongue with sterile cloth at the same time will use it to press ard the gums.. I did it until 3mths afterwhich I stopped doing so le..

Hey mummies... I have a dumex mamil gold stage 2 for exchange with enfapro A+ stage 2... 400 grams... Or to sell at $25... Self collect at buangkok Mrt station... Please SMS Valerie 93388073

hammiebao: I saw that u selling drypers M size? I'm looking for those. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jun, I press with fingertips nv use nails ya.. If use nails very painful de I suppose.. My cl tt time told me her son also like that then don't go where and got one old lady uses chopsticks to poke the gum leh.. Olden days and it happen in msia.. She came from malacca de..

my nephew last time gena whole gum.. my mum bring him to msia and poke with needles till full mouth blood! And he was okay after the clearance. Abit torturing leh

Hapiee> upload the avent lid/cap which i mentioned. usually i'll transfer from medela bottle into avent milk bottle after i pump & close with this lid. when i want to warm the milk, then i change to teat. sometimes if nearing next feed and i going to sterilise bottles, then i'll replace the lid with the teat & cap close in the fridge first in case my bb wants to drink milk & the teats is still being sterilised

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5292878.jpg]

wah no time to check forum these two days...the thread is moving fast...

bluesoda: this is how i prepare avocado puree for my gal...i don't add water to it cos if the avocado is ripe...it is actually very soft already and the consistency is just right....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

(http://www.mypregnancybabydiary.com/how-to-prepare-avocado-puree-without-blending)

lim_mui_siew: i bought healthy times brown rice cereal for my gal...so far she is taking it quite well...got it from ntuc...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]i also bought organix banana porridge from cold storage but haven't let my gal try yet...

shan

"read" from other threads that frisocreme is quite sweet...

hairfall

my hair is falling like crazy too...lucky i got a lot of hair to begin with...but my hairline seemed to be "receding"....so scary!

backache

i still have it everyday...my mum "warned" me before delivery of the side effects of epi but i no guts to do it without pain relief..hehe...now suffer liao la...haiz..

mummies here...anyone giving their bb dumex mamil gold or similac FM? i m looking for alternative FM and wondering if these two FM are "heaty" for your bb ornot...any poo problems?...please share...thanks...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am a Jan 2011 mummies. Had just lauched a new Page on facebook. Add me into your facbook and 'Like' it today @ 'thekids chestbox'

More children clothes coming your way. Thanks

Mummies buying mamy poko diaper. Giant having sales for L size. $20.85 for 55pcs pack. My ks hubby grab 4 pack ytd. Today told my maid wan go get somemore cos cheap.. Faint.

Seems tt Giant having promo for diapers nw. I just bgt Pampers at 2 boxes for $48.80. Don't knw whether consider cheap, cos 1st time buying. Bt it was on offer too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cupcakey: i dun buy it from Malaysia cause i have friends' bb whom did that and gotten diarrhea so i dun dare to try but again every bb react differently so i think depends on individual le...

Chris: yes that's much cheaper compare to non offer.. i grab too...

Bam: MP can be cheaper if offer at NTUC 20.65... can earn link points too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cupcakey, heard that the colour of the enfalac from msia is diff from what you buy in spore.. Hence i would rather buy from spore than other countries.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello everybody,

Recently I wanted to install a mosquito screen on the windows of babyroom to prevent these evil insects from harming my baby. Any recommendations?

I saw an advertisement on this product called MagicSeal. Anyone used it before and any reviews on how good/bad?

Thanks again for your wonderful help.

ZSM

enmummy - re : Backpain

I also encountered backpain for abt 6mths after delivery of no.1 with epidural, after tat was ok, hope urs be ok after 6mths. Mine was quite bad that at times when i woke up in morning whole back cant move at all.

Koori: ya i 5 mths liao still feel the pain esp after a long n tiring day...hope it goes away eventually like wat u say...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bam: when does the mamy poko sale last till at giant? Is ur bb wearing l size already? tink my bui thighs girl

hv to upsize liao soon...hehe...

Btw mummies...when to upgrade bb to pants-diapers huh? When they crawl?

zsm: recently my place full of mozzies too..is there a product

that can install at all windows?

Emmymmy, there's no guideline per se when it comes to pill up pants. My no 1 has been on diapers until Jan when he wear pull up to school. He just turned 3. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] pull up are also more expensive than diapers.

Thanks clover [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] tink now can save on diapers i save first...hehe

enmummy - for no2. even when i don take epidural i will still feel back aching esp after a long day, so i figured its overworked not enough rest.

So long nvr log in.. Busy with work lately.. The thread is moving so fast.

Want to ask how to stop breastfeeding? Before we stop, should let baby try FM first to let baby get used to new taste? My baby is 5 mths plus liao, can feed baby apple? How to feed? Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

does any of your bb dislike ebm? My mom and I notice that my son dun really like ebm these days. Unless he is very hungry else He will struggle when fed ebm. He prefer fm !!?!

Here I am struggling to give him limited supply of

Bm and trying to continue Til he is 6mths but on the other hand he prefer fm... Wonder does it got to do with my diet but I did not eat any extraordinary.. No change in my diet at all ...

Ching Ng : I gave my ger apple puree [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] What I do is just steam half of the apple and I blend after tt, very easy and good for bbs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Feed them slowly and let them learn to swallow slower.

Koori: ya i agree abt overworked n not enuf rest...wah u din take epi 2nd time round...i salute u...hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] was it bcos of the back pain the 1st time dat made u decide not to?

Ching: reduce the number of pumps or latch gradually...for e.g last time i pump 4 times a day, now i pump oni 3 times..will be reducing to 2 soon..i intend to bf 6 mths oni dats why...

Jo: healthy times at ntuc finest bt timah is hidden downstairs at the health food section...no wonder u cant find it...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jus happen to see it today...

Enmummy: oh! The organic side? I hardly look at that corner. And I always start from 2nd floor down. So by the time I reach the first floor, I'll grab what I need and go. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ok, thanks for info! Did you see the Rafferty's Garden stuffs?

Jo: the healthy times cereal is meant for bb 6 months and older one onli right?

Babywonder: hw old is ur bb? can start on apple puree le?

My boi is facing milk strike now... wonder if he is teething? used to drink abt 170ml 3 hourly and now dropped so drastically to 100-120ml every 3 hourly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] tried all methods he just refuse to drink..

ZSM: I have magic seal installed at home n I love it cos I m afraid of lizards entering my house. So I install it on certain panels of window so that the windows can be opened. It works with a magnetic frame so easy to remove or put back. Definitely can keep out mosquitoes from entering [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies, I m off for business trip to KL this morning n I planned only a one night trip so that I can be back for baby tmr night. She turned 4 month yesterday n had her jabs on thurs. 5.6 kg n 62 cm. Quite a petite size baby. Hope she guai guai drink from bottle tonight when my hubby feeds her.

Wat do ur mil ask ur child to call her??

My mil ask my boy to call her ma4 ma4, n while i ask my boy to call me ma1 ma1, wouldnt it be confusing for the baby?

OranGeBB: My mil also ask my gal to call her ma4 ma4 instead of ah ma4. Then my maid learn from my mil, but she say ma4 ma4 as ma1 ma1. I dunno if next time my bb will her her ma1 ma1 instead of not..haizz...if i try to correct that..will i sound veri petty?

enmummy: How do u initially start the cereal for yr bb? What is the mixed ratio like? How much cereal to how much milk/water? So far seems like alot of mummies use health times cereal...

hpc > Wher do u gt the magc seal for the window? I will lik to gt sm too.

OrangeBB > Ur MIL is cantonese? I think usually cantonese will use tat for Grandma. Personally I also don't lik it, bt luckily my MIl is a Teochew.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sharon : My bb ger is 5 mths plus coming 6 mths le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] haha..time flies.. I started her with apple puree (a little watery initially) and pear puree [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just let them have the taste of apples n pears.

Mui siew: ya, i was thinking if i ask her to change, do i sound petty? Or i hav to change so that my bb calls me mami instead of mama??? But i prefer my bb to call me mama.... Urghhh!

OrangeBB> if u "try to be funny", though yr MIL ask bb call her ma ma, then everytime u just tell yr boy to call her "ah ma" instead of correcting yr MIL, you just correct yr boy, can or not? How your boy calls yr own mother? Think it's difficult to correct yr MIL, its either you make do with the closeness in the sound or tell yr boy you are "mami" now & change to ma ma when he's older?

You are not petty lah..in fact i think all mummies are "petty" to certain extent. we can get easily irritated over small minor things concerning our bb..

But i call my mum mummy lei! Sounded weird for my bb to call me mummy....

Mummywong: my boy call popo.... Or is it ah ma.... Oh no i forgot!!!

If i tell my hubby, he's goin to laugh his ass off =<

Sharon: ya, healthy times products are mostly from 6 mths onwards. Their cereal are often mixed- barley + oats...

orangebb> i thought some cantonese call "nai nai" instead? sometimes my MIL will tell my boy she's "ma4 ma4", sometimes she'll say she's "ah ma4", so i think its ok that u ask yr boy to call yr MIL "ah ma" even though yr MIL said to call her "ma ma"? but i'll tell my boy i'm "mummy"..i also tell my boy my mum's "ah ma" though..

Jo: then i think i cant start too early for my son.. maybe i can try the "rabbit brand" Brown rice...

Babywonder: when u started the apple puree? my boi is abt 4 months and one week.. thot of trying but dunno if can ?

Christ: My mil also teochew leh..but she ask my bb gal call her ma4 ma4..haha

OrangeBB: if u are petty, then i even pettier?? hahaha..cos i dun feel good when my maid pronunce wrongly and tell my gal to call ma1ma1 instead of ma4ma4..

Call mummy is harder is it for a bb to start calling is it? Haha..btw, my cousin was unhappy when her baby gal called her grandmother first instead of her..

Mummywong,

Suggest you bring baby to doctor to confirm if it's cradle cap. It could be eczema too since HK weather pretty dry.

Enmummy,

No guide that say you must upgrade to pants type diaper. It depend whether your baby still allows you to wear the velcro type. I'd only use pants type for my no.1 when he is about 2 plus and is too big for most changing station outside and faster to change if need to change in normal toilet.

Ching,

Like what is said, you'll need to reduce the no. of pump gradually for your body to get used to it and stop. Baby also need to be introduce to FM. This is ascertain that the FM is suitable. Give it at least a few days to try to ensure baby do not get constipated or diarrhea etc. Initially start by substitute 1 feed with FM and gradually increase till all feed is FM.

As for apple, I would cut 1 whole apple into small pieces and then steam them. After that, I'll use a blander to bland into purée (very very fine). I'll divide into feed portion (freeze the rest for later use, I use petite baby cube). When I want to feed, I'll warm to body temperature and either feed 'neat' or add a bit of water and baby cereal.

Try 1 food at a time for 3 days before introducing something new. In your case you might want to hold back apple if you are introducing FM.

PTB,

Did you just started to feed Frozen EBM ? 'fresh EBM' and frozen EBM taste different. Frozen EBM will have stronger type compare to fresh one.

Sharon ,

Check out this website. Quite good info on introducing baby solid food. http://www.babycenter.com/0_introducing-solid-food_113.bc

My gal Charlyn was given a bit of apple puree to taste at 4 months. Even now, solid food does not replace main milk. It's just as tiny bit of snack.

Oh, thought to share, I like the pigeon weaning spoon (red and white colour). Shape as size just nice and the spoon tip will never touch the table surface when you put on table.

hey ladies

My PD actually commented that babies should not start taking semi solid food till 5.5 mths at least.

anyway, i was reading a book that there was a research to show that starting a baby early on solid food early does not bring much benefit to the baby. and it takes a longer time for the baby to reach the same weight as a baby who starts solid food at 6 mths.

It is also recommended that babies are not be given strawberries and citrus fruits till after the age of 1 and that babies are not be given legumes till after 1 as their digestive system are not able to digest them.

and for babies with family history of eczema and asthma, peanuts should only be given after the age of 3.

just sharing as i just read it in one of the baby books. not too sure how accurate is the info. but fyi

jovialz: I start giving my gal frozen ebm these few days..and it seems that she doesnt like it..so i tried abit and see the difference btw fresh and frozen..fresh ebm has a raw taste to me liao..but frozen one is even worse...how to make my bb gal drink frozen ebm?

Haha, i wonder how babies can drink breastmilk...it taste veri weird to me... :p