(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

shin

Make a time table for Aedan! What time you want him to sleeps n awake ! His total sleeping time per day should be around 16hrs..

Follow strictly to the timing .. Of course you have to do it when he is well !

You have to set a routine for him !

A routine is FIX n sleeping n napping time shouldn't changed frim day to day.... And with a routine fixed, life is much easier as u ll know wat comes next [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]rather than you guess is he tired , hungry or uncomfortable ? The timing should be fixed as it is ! At least when you goes bk to work, whoever is taking care of Aedan will follow strictly to the routine set!

Just put baby in bed and she was asleep even before her head touched her little mattress and she didnt need her paci! I was watching tv with hubby so managed to drag her feeding time till 12.15am. Will see how well she sleeps tonight.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess d,

Very hard to follow strict routine. If baby cries and cries for milk 30 mins before schedule how?

good morning mommies n daddy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry

Of course this routine doesn't comes easy.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I read the book n n get everything understood b4 I starts on Meghan's arrival!

It is best to start from birth !

Many parents associates crying with hunger n therefore give in ! If course some are genuine cases however if we allowed the kids to manipulate us .. Then it will be a Habit rather than a habit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I ve seen it in jade n I don't want it to happen on Meghan !

Even if she cry the house dwn , I will wait for 20mins b4 I access condition ... Difficult to explain...must read that book to understand the whole situation

To a new parents, this might not work bcos we cannot tahan their crying ...your HB have to be in this with you! You. Cannot do this alone...

I'm just glad that I managed to enforced this to Meghan n as well to jade now! And jade is adapting well[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

If you r ok with wat it is now then is ok ...

I'm a bit siao On la.. Lol! HB disagree at first but life isuch easier now n he has no complain at all![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

diamond> totally agree with u..told my wife to 'ignore' xavier if he fusses for nothing, i.e diaper changed/feeding done.. but xavier is being pampered by my MIL..she will go and carry him even with the slightest crying~

Ann,

Agree. nowadays people in singapore are very self centred. When i was pregnant, people don't give up seats especially those dressed in office wear (no discrimation. I also white collar worker) in the morning. surprisingly is aunties, uncles, blue collar worker and sometimes foreigner gave up seat to me. There is once in the packed jam, a caucasian lady needs to speak loudly 'please give way and give up your seat! an elderly is boarding and needs a seat" then someone moved his butt for the old lady.

i was stroller in vivo the afterday. there is a group of students sitting in the centre of sheltered walkway. when i reach them, the boys just sat there and won't even bother to move his butt to let me cross. expecting me to divert my route. so angry.

Princess, yr hardwork paid off. It sure not easy to let bb cry. I hv the book since #1 but hv never work on the routine. It is sure very informative. I agree that routine training should only be done when they are well. I'm still contemplating whether to start routine training. If the infant care willing to follow it will greatly reduce the adjustment period. If not, all goes to waste lor. Now I'm training him to sleep without being carried/rock. Still working on it.

princess d,

I wamt to train my baby, Darius on routine too. can Meghan sleep through the night? what is the longest hour she sleep through at night? is she on BM or FM?

Re: Bringing baby out

With #1, I was afraid that I will be disturbing people or people will say I am a lousy mum when she fuss outside. Now with #2, I become more immune already. Even if he cry, I dun care so much about what other people think. Anyway, I think most kids like to go out so they are usually more well behaved outside. That said, dun go out too long. Start with short trips to peaceful places that he will not get too stimulated (e.g. parks). Build up from there.

Starry:

I will continue for as long as possible. I did 15 months for my daughter (started 3 times at work, dropped to 2 times and eventually 1 time when she was about 1 year old). I find it worth all the trouble coz its really good for their health.

Tinggy:

Do see an LC. It is possible to latch after 8 weeks. My colleague achieved that before. Its not easy but definitely can be done. Blocks feels like hard lumps/blocks in your breast. Do not just press inwards towards yourself to check coz you may not feel the blocks that way. Check part by part.

princess D

really admire you. i tried to put ethan on the Gina Ford routine but he kept on falling asleep during the suggested wake/play times and also cry for milk 30 min or 15 min before schedule. So i shifted to a three-hour feeding routine but i found that it's not so good since his long sleep hours don't quite coincide with the late night (now he goes for a 4 to 5 hour stretch between 10 and around 2 to 3 am), then wakes up around 6am asking for more milk but takes 3/4 of the feed and falls asleep! Think I should persevere with Gina Ford. YOu are right that new mommies find it v hard to tahan babies crying, i always want to pick him up and sooth him. It is okay to let them cry for 10 min, until their voice goes hoarse? I heartpain leh.

re: GATHERING @ JP 2.30pm

VENUE : BAKERZIN (new wing level 2)

Sorry ladies, supposed to confirm last night but was told to call their main office for reservations. If u reach there early, just say reservation under Jacqueline (me) and the waiter will show u the place. Don't think any restaurant will be able to fit all of us with the strollers so we probably have to carry our babies and 'park' strollers somewhere. Let's play by ear okay? I'm excited and really looking forward to it! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hihi mummies and Ian

Jac

Can pm me your no? I scare i get lost in JP. hahaha...

U all bringing strollers? I thk I will just sling my bb. My stroller too heavy. =P

First time out with bb.. hope I can cope!

Gigi: how ur colleague managed to relatch? I seem to be constantly fighting w my boy. The lc method only works a very short while w him. Then hell breaks loose.

Fifi: how ur colleague managed to relatch? I seem to be constantly fighting w my boy. The lc method only works a very short while w him. Then hell breaks loose.

princess d

Thanks for sharing!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

How long is meghan's waketime before her naps??

I find that daily his routine differs slightly by 30mins-1hr becos sometimes in the night he can slp up to 4hrs. In the day if he can slp till 3.5hr interval I let him be then wake him up. So technically the timing differs slightly day to day... It's ok right??

My routine for Aedan now looks smth like that..

Abt 7+ he wakes up, depending on his previous feed, sometimes I feed him at 6am, sometimes 7am then I let him rest before bathing him.

Then I start the feed/wake/nap cycle. Usually after bathing, if it's feed time I will feed then he naps or after bath he naps. If he fussed I will feed some water and give him paci den he will drift to slp.

The entire day I repeat the cycle from 3-3.5hr interval. Evening time I will wash him abt 6+ then wait for him to feed and sleep. If I'm lucky, he can continue his sleep thruout and only wakes when need milk. If I'm unlucky.. Hahahaha... He will fuss and cry and only slp after last feed before midnight.

Thru the night I let him slp until he show signs of hunger.

This routine is ok right??

I only find it difficult to keep him from crying too much esp if he's in sleepy mode. And also difficult to stop the rocking him to sleep part.. But I guess they will soon outgrow and will fall to sleep on his own when they matures [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hopefully!!!!

anyway I find after reading so much... I slowly begin to grasp his sleeping patterns. I understand more abt the light sleep stage and deep sleep stage and work on allowing him to nap better and sleep better. Hopefully it becomes more consistent thru the days..

And my goal is that one fine day I will be as successful as some of u mummies here who has created such nice routines and less fussy babies!!! Hehehehe

Jac

Yeah I hope he outgrow his fussiness soon.. But I learnt that each baby has their own fuss time thru the day. They are bound to cry so now I'm more open and less worried with hearing him cry.. Some babies just simply fuss more then others so I learn lor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nycmum, confirm can go tomorrow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

See you there!

Will most likely bring Josie along, unless if it's raining so heavily such that everyone in my house forbids me to bring Josie.. Hopefully it won't.. Hehe..

May i know where is kiddies palace in JP?

May go there early to buy smth there first. That is if my boy is not fussy after this feed.

Cam i know where is the nursing room too?

probably have to reach at 2 to nurse baby first.

Stella:

so u are bringing logan? hehe.. Me too gonna bring the wrap n stroller. Main purpose of the stroller is to put diaper bag n shopping bag (if can shop a bit hehe)

babydes..

Jiayou. We can do it. Hehe

Hello mummies ...

3rd day without CL but thank god that I am at my mum's place and my #1 is at CC so still not too bad.

Yx drinks at shorter interval in the day (2hr - 3hr) and drink for the longest time at 10am to 11pm then wakes up at 3-4am for 1 feed and then the next will be 6am/7am for another feed. So still manageable.

Was challenging the first night cos my #2 kept waking up to check on us (think he super scared that we disappear again) so that woke Yx up. Last night was much better ...

Brought my #2 and Yx out yesterday to City Square with my hubby and mum cos felt bad that my mum had to take care of the kids for so long. Just a short trip of 3hr already tired us out!! And its really q a chore to have 3 of us pushing 2 stroller and sometimes I sling her cos she was crying in the stroller.

Ok gotta go now ... my #2 is sticky like MAD!!! Now crying cos I am out of sight arrrgggghhhhh

Sorry for diverging, but I still have a couple of extra new Sophie The Giraffe baby teething toy to clear, extra gifts from the baby shower. They are still in their original, sealed packaging. It's made with 100% natural rubber and food paint and squeaks when pressed. It's durable, safe and this toy has been around since 1961. My little one enjoys playing with it since 3 months old. I'm sure yours will too..

I'd like to clear them at $28 each, postage included or COD at convenient locations.

Please PM or email to [email protected]

Many thanks and good health everyone!

NORTH AREA GATHERING

Venue: Northpoint(Meet at taxi stand near XinWang)

Date: THURSDAY 2 DEC

time: 2pm

-nycmum (confirmed)

-Irish

-Trish

-BBlin

-Groovy (confirmed)

-Tiffy

-Claudia (confirmed)

I'll go earlier to recce for suitable place.

princess d,

Thanks for sharing abt the routine. Really takes a lot of patience and perseverance. I can let baby cry, it's actually my mum who can't bear to hear her keep crying. Haha!

Ann,

I think I better bring stroller along too. Everytime sling baby scared she won't be used to the stroller anymore. If wanna buy things also easier..

mommies meeting today..enjoy your meeting and REMEMBER TO POST PIX AT OUR SECRET GROUP!

Diveera,Emma

Yes,indeed very difficult to let bb cry ....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]but i think we have to tackle the problem no matter how bad it is...

Of course,not just by leaving them alone and walked away but must check on them and soothed them as well...nothing comes easy when handling a child..lol..jia you together[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But it is always easy to train the from the start..and of course not everyday is SUN!wahahhahha..sure got hiccups and WAR at times..just gotta solve it in a right way...Im alone with the kids all the time..reading one book is good enough and i refused to listen and follows other way to get myself confused..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]THat way i think it works best for everyone at home...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ian

Very difficult not to let them pick the bb up when they cry lor..Grandparents will be the culprits of spoiling them...but hey..once a while is ok but all the time......uh uh!!nono!!the one suffer the most is the parents but if they are the one taking care of the baby,it will be differnt story...

My IL also like dat when i had JAde...Until i have to be the Bad one to tell them off...of course they buay song with me but no choice!Today they know why m i soo strict to the kids...they understand and they appreciate![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Not easy eh but must at least try...im that type that refused to give up if i ve decide on doing something...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shin

Actually if that way is better for you,you can go ahead..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

There's no right or wrong on how to set a routine for a baby.the best is to suit the parents daily life...

Why not try to get the book and read it up..it's worth reading for sure!currently sold out at BORDERS AND TIMES...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I ve seen my friends babies all grown up with a routine and child are all happy go lucky type..no fussing around when bed time!THat's the best for a parent esp those SAHM like me...Bedtime can be a pain soemtimes..and im that type that totally disagree with co-sleeping (sorry ladies as i don't mean to offend any mommies that is doing so) simply because by weaning them off in a later stage will be 10x more pain than now!

I get myself prepared b4 Meghan's arrival[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Not easy...tiring but i think its worth it!Then you'll have sometime with your HB with no worries...

MY HB is always travelling...time management is very important for me and i love everything to be organized to get my day started.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My days with JAde was quite jialat and i look absolutely drained!Im telling myself i m not gonna let that happen again lor..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

NORTH AREA GATHERING

Venue: Northpoint(Meet at taxi stand near XinWang)

Date: THURSDAY 2 DEC

time: 2pm

-nycmum (confirmed)

-Irish (confirmed)

-Trish (confirmed)

-BBlin

-Groovy (confirmed)

-Tiffy (confirmed)

-Claudia (confirmed)

I'll go earlier to recce for suitable place.

BBlin

I dun have your number.

Princess D

thats good for u...you have been thru once.. thats why u know what works for u and what not... for first time mummies like me.. i am still exploring... hahahaha.. and i agree with u.. not everyday is a good day and sometimes it's like a warzone at home!!!

I shall go get the book if i have the chance ;) hehehe.. okok gtg cos my boy is fussing again!! refuse to sleep [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Shin

Don't worry,we all have to go through this to be a better mom!I am still learning everyday..every child is different!Just have to be very patient ...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Jia you!

War zone!!hahah..tell me about it!when both are not napping in the afternoon!Mine is no exception!mommy here, mommy there..mommy this mommy see, mommy look, mommy come....arrrghHhhhhh!!!!mommy mommy non stop!wahahhahahahahhahhahahah......im numb!Just like now!!cheers!!take care![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry,

just msg u.

Unbeliveable.. I was ready to go at 1. Only now managed to get baby to calm down. He is sleeping now. In taxi to jp

Any kind souls can recommend me your confinement lady if she is good? Do pm m. Thks. I m asking for a frd coz my CL is already booked.

I am from Nov mum group. Wish you all are fine and your lovely one as well.

I would like to get advice from senior mummies. as a first time mum, I am quite blur about vaccination.

Could u pls share what kind of package u choose?

roughly how much it cost?

where to go for vaccination (poly or PD)?

is there any difference between poly and PD?

Thanks a lot!!!

wow...so many outings! would love to join the Northpoint outing but still having a slight cough and cold. So better be civic-minded and not go. Enjoy yourselves. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

talking about routine. Just as I thought he was giving up his dream feed at 10/11pm cos he was sleeping straight through til 2+/3am (happened for 3 days), then last night he decided to wake up almost every hour again! hopefully today would be better.

princess, congrats! your hard work borne fruit now! Meghan is so good!

Stella:

She did it by "try, try, and try again..." Means just keep trying and have lots of patience. Similar to what the LC taught you, you need to try some bluffing, coaxing, and even if you fail, try again time and time again.

Princess D

yah i will keep trying and trying lor.. thats why i say peifu you cos u have 2 girls to gao dim! somemore one is able to speak and move around and confirm sure ask for mommy mommy!!! wait till Meghan also can do the same like Jade.. wah.. i cannot imagine!!! lol

Heya! Nice meeting up with u all today! Too bad Dylan got "drama" else i'd like to stay longer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] do let me know if

$$ not enough i'll trf to whom foot e bill [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wah. Envy envy that u all can meet up. I'm so scared of going out alone with bb. Worried that he fuss n I will nt know wat to do.

This afternoon decided to try bringing bb out for lunch at imm. Hb n I took the stroller n also the sling. When we left the hse bb was asleep. Put him in the stroller when we reach n he slept also. Halfway thru lunch he decided to wake up n cry so loud. Hv to abandon our unfinished lunch n went to the nursing room to feed him.

After feeding put bb bk into the stroller n we went giant. Seems like he dun like n started crying again. End up we just grab wat we wan n pay money n went hm already.

Bk hm, hb say will nt go out so often unless necessary Liao. Haiz.

rachoho,

I came back from nursing room and u were gone! Nvm lah.. We arrange to meet again. I can go west mall find u. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Stella,

Great meetin up with u and ur baby too! Let's meet up again soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I've posted up our pic on FB! Mummies who haven't add me, can find me with this email addy: [email protected]