(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Marrissa, you giving your girl fm/bm? Hmm...i'm giving my boy 100-110ml and he's 8 wks, 4.7kg. I'm worrying if i'm giving him not enough. He seems wanna have more after every fed. But once giving him more, he will vomit the milk. Hmm...i duno when to give him more also.

Marrissa: that's gd! Yes it's common to wake up 3-4 hrs to feed. My boy also wun wake up at night if he missed his naps in the evening but he will be súper cranky before he falls asleep for the night.

Marrissa,

that is good news!!

Maybe when attached to u for 3 hrs she gets lots of milk n can sleep 5-6 hr?

today my boi attached to me for 45 mins after bathr while sleeping.. He naps for 3.5 hours!!!! I also nap for 2hrs n feel weird.. Usually he naps at most 2.5 hr.

Fifi,

ic.. Thanks anyway! Maybe i will check out the novena shop one of these days..

Leaving bby alone,

my baby wont let me leave him alone. Always make cooing sound when he is awake n noone is ard! But after we come near he will ignore us n stretch himself =.=

Is it because he is insecure? or am i growing a party boy?? haha...

Stella,

to get ur son to ltch again,

is using nipple shield going to work? so it supposed to feel like bottle, let ur son b comfy with the positioning first? then maybe after few mins can take off, try latching wwithout the shield?

Shirley,

8-9times is ebm or fm?

Up till now he only eat 3 times today.. Poo 3 times n a lot..

Weird.. But lets see how!! hopefully not dehydrated..... (typical asian parent - worry baby not hving enough hehe)

BBlin> Josie only cries a bit yesterday, the sound of her cry becomes a bit watery sound.. But after that she's ok. Today also as usual. My friend said last time her baby also like that then become very fussy because the nose is blocked..

Looks like Josie's nose is not blocked (hopefully).. Hubby and I yesterday quickly put her in upright position, so perhaps it doesn't go to her respiratory track :S..

Now I scared, if she still looks hungry if she already shows vomiting action then I'll wait like 20-30 minutes before feeding her again.

I'm glad that you also like Dr. Seow. Hehe.. I'm going to bring Josie to him perhaps this Thursday for 6 in 1 immunization and growth scan.

Irene, he doesn't like to be fully swaddle. Will get angry. I swaddle without the hand and place the beansprout pillow on his chest.

Cherry, how do u train yr bb to sleep thru. I'll be happy if he wakes up for 1 feed. Now he wakes up 2 to 3 times.

Shortyncute, tks for sharing.

Marissa

my girl's taking smaller amount of milk compared to other babies. That's why I worry I underfeed. But she has slight reflux so maybe that explains why she doesn't take alot of milk at one go. But she can tahan 2.5-3hr between feed and at night 4hr.

She's 5kg but cos she was heavy at birth so if calculate she gained 1.4kg in 5 weeks.Is that considered little?

Groovy, I at 689 , 65x is opp admiralty? ;) by the way, dr seow is a pd or gp? Good? Want to consider different options besides baby bear.. U bought yr pump oredi?

Nycmum, 1.4 kg in 5 weeks is quite normal. Minimum I read they should at least gained 0.15 kg per week. Josie gained about 1.8 kg in 8 weeks

I haven't bought my pump. Nowthinking to buy from mumsfairy along with the handsfree equipment and the funnel that ian post. It cost 420. But I want to go to next week parenthood fair first to see whether got more promo or not. How is your ameda, is it good?

teoong,

U intend to give bao yin dan till baby is how old? I still have a bit left.. Deciding to use only when she gets cranky after jabs etc.

Emmie,

I don't rub on her gums but directly onto her tongue and give little amts of water in between. He struggles a bit and makes funny faces but she took it quite well and swallowed all.

Marrissa,

Wow! It worked yeah? Glad it was successful. No more chest-sticking. Heh heh! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Diveera,

When Jadelyn doesn't wanna slp much in the day, I'll put her on the rocker and play children's music to keep her entertained. Then there is the paci when she starts feeling slpy and wants comfort.

I realize even though later if Josie sleeps longer, I will still need to pump. This morning she woke up and drink a bit only from my left breast, she overslept, then I sleep, 7 hours later breast feels engorged very uncomfortable [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. I wake her up to drink and she only drink a while also, so need to pump. Out 125 ml...

groovy,

When and where is the parenthood fair u mentioned? Maybe wanna go and see look since now on ML and have time on hand.

Diveera,

I also have to wake up 2x at night to feed Jadelyn. Don't know when will this end. Really looking forward to when she can drink more and sleep longer then just wake up once in the middle of the night. Sometimes at night wake a bit hard to get back to sleep. End up FB-ing and come forum then daytime so tired..

Any mummies interested in meeting up on one of the weekdays?? Or west side mummies wanna meet at JP?

Emmie, I did the same as Jacq, rub some to bb's tongue.

Jacq, I still have some left, intend to feed her as and when we see her as being over-simulated, else hard to take care if she's cranky.

Cherry, how much of milk did u feed ur baby so that it last bb thru the night? very curious leh..

Nycmum, I went to PD check for bb, i remember that the PD tells me that on average bb should gain about 200-300gm per wk.

Ann: I already tried the nipple shield. He hates it. I dunno y he has prob at my breast oso. He is eager to latch but once latch he will suck for awhile then start to whine n cry. Dunno if flow is too slow or what coz wen he open his mouth it's full of milk! Mayb e foremilk doesn't taste e same as expressed milk? I dunno but it's demoralizing.

Groovy,

thnks for the info!

Starry,

im keen for meet up. Im in the west as well..

But no confidence i cn handle bby alone outside!

How??

Nursing Cover,

recently i bought from bp and tried once. Bby does not seem to like it!

So far i have only nurse outside twice.

It ws so funny that my head have to be INSIDE the cover so my bby os comforted. Else he fusses inside. I scared he kicked open the cover!!

Stella,

Shld be the flow then if got milk inside? myebe he is used to the flow of bottle alrdy, shocked to have different "bottle" flow..

I remember someone in this forum mention about leaning back n foward to control bm flow.

If lean fwd flow is faster n backward, flow is slower.not sure how true, but worth trying, see which one that wont frustate ur bby. Jia you!!

stellasr> just like me and Marissa, maybe it's because milk flow too fast! Just be patient, and put your breast inside his mouth when he cry. hehehe.. (but be careful of nipple suck :p)

Woo...a few northern mommies here ^^

Oh parenthood is this weekends. Maybe will go walk walk hee...

Dr Seow is GP/Family physician. When i'm there, quite a few kids there also. He is very detailed and knowledgeable. Ya ya my hubby saw his kids photo and counting how many kids he has! wah! 6!

groovy,

Thanks for the info! Expo a bit far. See how bah. Anyone going?? Maybe can make it a date to meet up with our babies as well?

Ann,

Bring stroller out and put him in it? If wanna meet we can meet after lunch time when there is lesser crowds. Then if baby is hungry or fusses, can bring him to the nursing room. Have u brought him out alone before?

Ann: mayb will try the backwards n forward movement.

Groovy: once he start crying it's like end of the world for him. He wun take back my breast into his mouth. See him scream I oso feel sorry for him. Initially I lie done n latch he had no prob. Now suddenly lots of prob.

Irene,

Just saw ur post abt my hubby being so nice taking over the 3am feed. I appreciate his help also. he was supposed to help with 6am feed also but he surrendered. Haha!! I was also half awake while he was feeding baby lah. 'cos my heart unable to fully let go and let him do his job.

Starry: I'm gg to the fair on Sunday w hubby but dunno if bringing my boy is such a gd idea. Today brought him to my mum's place for e afternoon n he slept poorly throughout. Wen we got hm he was fighting against falling asleep. He finally went to slp n missed his feed. Dun dare wake him up.

Stella

abt latchg- my bb behaves e same. I have been feeding ebm on bottle since birth- nw also try to get him to latch. He wld fuss - suck n let go n cry. He is using m size teat- I think tat e flow at e breast is too slow for him... Nw still tryg to get him to get use to latchg

mummies with more than 1kid

how do u keep yr other child/ren occupied? My no1 is fighting for attentn with my no2. I have tried to get him involve with my no2- like getting him to fetch things or sitting ard to watch while I take care of bb... He has been doing alot of irritatg things to get attention. Hw to keep him entertain?

Do we need to force bb to wake up to drink or can just let them sleep? I tried latching my boy again today n he slept for hours.

This afternoon from 11plua to 5pm and now from 7plus to 11pm. Is it normal? No need feed?

Stella/ woofwoof:

Same here. I've been feeding bb EBM also since birth cos CL ard. Now trying to latch him bk. But he always cries n seems to hv difficulty latching. Will shake n shake his head trying to latch.

Feel so sad that liked force him to he breast. He suck a while them fall asleep Liao. Dunno how leh. Only 1 side lor. I just let him sleep till he wakes up again?

Mummies who TBF, can share wat u all do? Really wanna be able to latch again. At the same time nipple is painful after bb latch today. Isit cos too long nvr latch Liao.?

Diveera,

You are not alone. I also waking 3 -4 times a night to feed bb. super tired. going back to work end of dec. hope to train him to sleep more at night by then.

Starry,

I stay near JP. I can meet in JP.

Ann,

Are you staying near JP? Don't worry. If BB fusses, I can help.

Hi Groovy,

You may want to consider Medela Freestyle. is really good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin,

During the day, you should wake baby after 3 or max 4 hours of sleep. At night, just let him sleep through. this is what lactation consultant told me.

Xin, Woofwoof, and mummies who want to latch,

The initial part of getting baby to latch is the toughest cos baby needs to open mouth wide. they tend to be lazy to do that so need to train.

what i did to get baby to latch. place breast around his lip to get his mouth to open. if he did not open wide enough, don't offer him the breast. keep 'fighting' with him to get him open mouth. once he open wide, bring him near to you. his lower lip/chin should lean against your lower part of breast.

when latching, nipple should feel painful. you may feel pain at Aerola area when baby sucks but not the nipple. if you feel pain at nipple, baby may not latch properly and drink well. to see if baby is drinking, see if he is swallowing ( means there is movement at his chin).

Latching is more tired for baby than bottle. so baby may drink to sleep. touch his cheek to prevent him from sleeping. average time per feed should be 15 -20 min for mummy with enough milk ss. if mummies without enough milk, just let bb latch as long as they can. very soon, your milk ss will increase.

Groovy. 125ml so gd! I can only pump out max total 90ml after sleeping for 4hrs, so little... Day time even less, only maybe 30-40ml. Sigh..

Starry, I can under std. My hubb gets frustrated wen tired, so I m managing 2 babies here, sigh... Of cos he tries to help la, so far he can only help w carry n bot feed, it's always 'tomorrow' then learn diaper changing, 'next week' then learn bathing... So... Sigh,,,

whoah.. Had a "battle" with my boy ytd since late afternoon... Super ultimate cranky.. Thought he would nap properly but the max was 1hr and he woke up super alert type.. Cry and cry for duno what reason so I suspect he was hungry.. Gave him a little milk and he spit out while I was carrying him in the sling.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my sling got milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Change him Liao and couldn't stop crying.. So give him the full amt of milk.. Drink halfway cry again.. Cos he poo! Change diaper Liao he finish remaining milk and I thought finally he knock out... But only for 30mins and start crying again!!! Arrghhh.. So carry and coax etc...

Hb came back and tried to take over... Wail and wail again.. MIL tried.. Also wail and refuse to slp.. Until abt 11+pm I took over again and rocked him to sleep... Super tired by then!!!

Tried so many ways and still giving ridwind.. He's already farting and burping lots but still doesn't seem to help the crankiness! Goodness

i am doing confinement. after drinking use DOM to brew herbal soup, the following pump out milk can feed bb or throw? TIA.

WOof, a bit difficult to give attention to elder one if u take care of baby yrself. For me, when bb sleeps, i try to sit with himand talk to him. Then when feeding, I feed in living rm But it's very tiring cos we dun get to rest.

Mummies, does yr babies have green poo? I googled on e net, seemed tt it's normal but just want to ask cos my first one didn't have green poo.

Woof,

I find it tough too. I will get my mum or helper to bottle feed during crucial timing like when dd wakes up, lunch, nap and sleep time, so that I can do those with her. I m constantly jumping from one kid to another! My mum says I favor my 1st born but wat to do? She can really tear the house down wif her cries lor. I rather no 2 wails abit, at least that is bearable.

Re: assessment at 1st month

I never bring bb for assessment, thinking of doing so only when I bring him for his 6 in 1 jab in his 2nd mth.

Starry, shireen,

i nv go out alone. Hubby or mum will tk care of stroller or diaper bag.

So far when going out my boy hs been a good boy. Only fuss when want to nurse.

I stay quite far from mrt (bukit batok), 10 mins walk, but i cn take taxi to jp.

How abt next week or the week after? planning to buy carrier so maybe after that i cld go out without stroller!! hehehe..

Jp have nursing room? so long nv go to the new jp alrdy..

Destitonia,

my boy's poo is sometimes green. So far maybe 3~4 times. Usually mixture of green n yellow, only few days ago it is like green algae but only once so i am not worried.

Bm or fm normal to hv green poo.